Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): October 19, 2018
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
8
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TVJerryNov 1, 2018
If you like ultra-violent, brutal combat (bones breaking, knives slashing, bloody organs and severed limbs) THE NIGHT COMES FOR US (Netflix) has the best fight scenes I've ever seen (and that's saying something). Each one is more over-the-topIf you like ultra-violent, brutal combat (bones breaking, knives slashing, bloody organs and severed limbs) THE NIGHT COMES FOR US (Netflix) has the best fight scenes I've ever seen (and that's saying something). Each one is more over-the-top than the next! Forget the plot and ignore the subtitles, watch it to appreciate the high-body-count, spectacularly-staged battles. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AshNeo95Nov 4, 2018
The Night Comes For Us is a combination of The Raid's brutality and The Evil Dead's Gore. Timo Tjahjanto (Killers & Headshot) has done it again with this movie that will push viewers to its limits. It is bloody, visceral, violent, insane, andThe Night Comes For Us is a combination of The Raid's brutality and The Evil Dead's Gore. Timo Tjahjanto (Killers & Headshot) has done it again with this movie that will push viewers to its limits. It is bloody, visceral, violent, insane, and other crazy words you can think of. If you thought the Raid movies is an R Rated, i would call this movie an N7-17. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 5, 2019
My expectations were a little too high for this Netflix original after hearing so many calling it the streaming service's The Raid, and that hurt my enjoyment of it a bit. It's not an unfair comparison by any means. Both are relentless,My expectations were a little too high for this Netflix original after hearing so many calling it the streaming service's The Raid, and that hurt my enjoyment of it a bit. It's not an unfair comparison by any means. Both are relentless, high-octane martial arts movies that will shock and enthrall you with the savageness of each bloody brawl. You just shouldn't come into this expecting the same level of quality as the two Gareth Evans masterpieces. The choreography simply isn't as good in the more crowded throwdowns and there are regular moments of absurdity that can pull you out of the experience.

Enemies seem to wait in line for their butt kickings. Our heroes will walk into a room of thugs only to be attacked one at a time while the other foes stand idly by and watch their buddies get taken out in sometimes hilariously brutal fashion. It makes you aware of how staged everything is and that's the exact opposite of what you want from an action movie. The more intimate encounters make up for this though as the best beatdowns are the ones with only two or three people onscreen at a time. These moments can feel so desperate and real that you may have a hard time believing you aren't actually watching the actors fight to the death. Sometimes less really is more.

The movie is in love with its gore. Seriously, this has more scattered entrails and blood splatter than any torture porn horror flick I've seen. Bones snap in a way that will make you wince and sometimes you can feel every blow. The incredibly gruesome nature of the violence is one of the films greatest strengths, but can also be a bit goofy. The way people gargle as blood sprays everywhere whenever a throat is slit is actually kind of comical. Partially due to how often it happens. You'll also see a lot bodies awkwardly flail about as they are riddled with absurd amounts of machine gun fire in the most cliché of gangster movie tropes.

The plot comes off as confusing and convoluted when all it really needed to do was stick to the simple setup of protect the girl, get redemption. There is a little bit of emotion though and the world is worthy of further exploration John Wick style. There are so many Triad assassin's running around with cool titles it's like an anime in the best of ways.

The Night Comes for Us is a flawed, yet satisfactory martial arts gangster flick that plays out like a sloppier and bloodier version of The Raid. It even recycles two that movie's stars. Joe Taslim really deserves more starring roles after this and Iko Uwais once again delivers another career highlight display of skill in the final fight. There's a lot to like here. All I'm trying to say is don't go in expecting The Raid 3 like I did and you'll have a much better time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeFeb 8, 2020
While the story is nothing exceptional, in fact it's very cliché and quite predictable and the acting performances aren't great either, the movie more than delivers in the action department. With very well choreographed fight sequences,While the story is nothing exceptional, in fact it's very cliché and quite predictable and the acting performances aren't great either, the movie more than delivers in the action department. With very well choreographed fight sequences, interesting and likeable characters and a very satisfying conclusion, "The Night Comes for Us" is a bloody good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MaxPayneIsGodMar 24, 2019
Fan-Effing-Tastic!
Non-Stop, Balls to the Wall action.
Brutal violence, stunning fight choreography and cinematography.
I loved it, found myself a whole new genre of movies to watch and, my girlfriend loved it too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mp303Nov 8, 2019
Cool movie, the action is top notch, the story isn't anything special but being a action flick you just let it pass because its motivated enough to get the film going. Really like Joe Taslim character and the duality with Iko Uwais. TheCool movie, the action is top notch, the story isn't anything special but being a action flick you just let it pass because its motivated enough to get the film going. Really like Joe Taslim character and the duality with Iko Uwais. The support cast also impressed me because you just want them to stay alive with little development they have. Hope to see more if the story is good enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SoulWarfareDec 30, 2018
The movie doesn't have an amazing plot and the ending really leaves a lot of possibilities rather than a complete conclusion. However, the action and fight scenes are so phenomenal even if they don't always make much sense. This movie is notThe movie doesn't have an amazing plot and the ending really leaves a lot of possibilities rather than a complete conclusion. However, the action and fight scenes are so phenomenal even if they don't always make much sense. This movie is not a typical action movie as the gore is extreme but that is what makes it exciting. Additionally, the movie has great casting and solid acting. If you have netflix the movie is a must watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UnReelReviewsNov 6, 2018
The night comes for us is a Netflix original film starring Joe Taslim and Iko Uwais and was instantly on my radar to watch but I was extremely nervous because Netflix films as of late have been pretty bad. So I didn't know what to expect butThe night comes for us is a Netflix original film starring Joe Taslim and Iko Uwais and was instantly on my radar to watch but I was extremely nervous because Netflix films as of late have been pretty bad. So I didn't know what to expect but after watching the film this for me is definitely one of my favourite martial arts films ever. For 1 the action scenes are brutal, bloody, gory and feel so real, throughout the movie I was constantly gripping my hands and chest because every time someone got punched or kicked, I felt it. The acting is really good, Iko Uwais plays a different but similar role to what I've seen him in, he's still a complete badass who does amazing stunts and feels completely invincible at times but plays a powerful and intimidating villain. Joe Taslim is really good as the lead hero and he was also very good in the action scenes. This film is very well passé and keeps the adrenaline going with action scene after action scene. What I really liked about the action scenes in this film was how every action scene that follows from another improves from a choreography stand point and just being bigger and better, we start with 1 v 1 fistfights to car chases and then fighting 50 gangsters in a warehouse with a pair of swords. One major issue that I did have with the film is that besides Iko and Joe I don't really remember any of the other characters and I didn't really care. But other then that this is a fast passed, violent and brutal action movie with great stunts and this is definitely one of Netflix's best original films maybe even their best one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FeudDec 5, 2018
This movie may not have a great story, but i have never seen a movie with action THIS good. An absolute brutal and gory film that takes action to a whole new level. This movie make me want to see more movies with this stunt team. This hasThis movie may not have a great story, but i have never seen a movie with action THIS good. An absolute brutal and gory film that takes action to a whole new level. This movie make me want to see more movies with this stunt team. This has become one of my favourite Netflix movies ( which isn't very hard ). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CameMay 27, 2019
This movie is probably one the best action films (in my opinion) that Netflix has ever done. It's a must see for every action fan due to great martial arts and gory effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews