Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2010
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2066 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,796
Mixed:
175
Negative:
95
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TomdupOct 1, 2010
On the cab ride home, Linda uttered heresy by wondering aloud whether Facebook would still be king of the hill, or even around at all, in, say, ten years. Or, she got me to thinking, would it just twitter away in time, leaving nothing but,On the cab ride home, Linda uttered heresy by wondering aloud whether Facebook would still be king of the hill, or even around at all, in, say, ten years. Or, she got me to thinking, would it just twitter away in time, leaving nothing but, mm, lipstick traces, the wispy remains of once-mighty passing trends like CompuServe, MySpace, Blockbuster, or Barnes & Noble? All we know is this one is a hi-def snapshot of right now. Don't worry. This is greatness. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
JohnQPublicDec 27, 2010
This movie on paper should be a pessimistic disaster but somehow is handled perfectly. It had the light writing/director touch that made a movie like American Beauty work so well. See it.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
BEXOct 6, 2010
Had The Social Network been about something more relevant, say, the anomie engendered by the digital era, it might have warranted its brow-raising critical acclaim. But instead the film tells the rather less interesting but more sensationalHad The Social Network been about something more relevant, say, the anomie engendered by the digital era, it might have warranted its brow-raising critical acclaim. But instead the film tells the rather less interesting but more sensational story of elitist, entitled children squabbling over power and money.

That this unredeeming tale of supersized greed is compelling is a testament to Sorkin's barrage of clever dialogue, so fast-paced that one scarcely has time to reflect on the fact that one is watching a paean to latter-day robber barons.

The film's self-conscious the-geek-shall-inherit-the-earth message is as close as it ever gets to a penetrating social observation, but there's plenty of soap opera serving as a stand-in. Gorgeous groupies and rock-star recklessness are thrown in to distract the viewer, and unfortunately the filmmakers as well, from the fact that there is no there there. The cultural landscape has been forever changed by the economic meltdown of 2008. The very idea that one could make a movie about the most successful entrepreneurs of our time, and not even acknowledge this change is curious, and raises the suspicion that both Sorkin and Fincher are personally invested in the "classless society" myth. That disconnect is the fatal crack in the shiny veneer of this work, and suggests to me for the first time, that Sorkin may have passed his sell-by date.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewUltimateOct 20, 2010
Let me just start by saying that just about everything about this movie is mind-blowing and incredible. With a strong soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, the music goes perfectly with the concept of the picture. The screenplay andLet me just start by saying that just about everything about this movie is mind-blowing and incredible. With a strong soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, the music goes perfectly with the concept of the picture. The screenplay and dialogue are excellent, and Mark & Eduardo both are played by good actors. Based on this movie, you could say that Mark Zuckerberg is a punk-genius-traitor-prophet-billionaire. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
FromTheMiddleNov 13, 2010
"The Social Network" introduces the audience to the main character -- and the speed and originality of the dialog reflecting the speed and originality of the changes portrayed -- in the opening exchange and never looks back...while"The Social Network" introduces the audience to the main character -- and the speed and originality of the dialog reflecting the speed and originality of the changes portrayed -- in the opening exchange and never looks back...while constantly looking back. Just go along for the high-speed ride and a fascinating portrayal of today's brilliant young entrepreneurs and a slice of today's business world. The casting is excellent, the dialog is highly entertaining, and the story feels as real as it maybe is. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Aidoneus1Oct 22, 2010
The Social Network completely deserves its excellent Metascore. Everything about this movie was just done so well, it still gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. The acting was top-notch, the direction was superb, and the interweavingThe Social Network completely deserves its excellent Metascore. Everything about this movie was just done so well, it still gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. The acting was top-notch, the direction was superb, and the interweaving of scenes from the hearings with the often-gritty founding of Facebook serves the movie very well.

I honestly can't think of anything that could have been done better. I was a bit iffy when I saw that Justin Timberlake had a somewhat important role in the movie, but I'm pleased to say that he pulled off his part remarkably well, and his character adds a fun though naughty edge and hilarity to the movie.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
Fulchizzle138Nov 10, 2010
Okay so "The Social Network" was a good movie, I don't think there is any arguing over that based on the fact that it was well directed and acted (although Justin Timberlake was kinda sucky). However, my main problem with "The SocialOkay so "The Social Network" was a good movie, I don't think there is any arguing over that based on the fact that it was well directed and acted (although Justin Timberlake was kinda sucky). However, my main problem with "The Social Network" is how much of the story really happened and how much is a hollywood embellishment. Why would I want to watch an fake story about how facebook was started? Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
istroller2010Nov 15, 2010
It is a place that we lovingly look over, from within the glass-walled offices or the comforts of home or amid the hustle-bustle of an eatery, or in a vehicle on the move. It straddles bits of a social life within â
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
littlemanp32Nov 17, 2010
Great Movie... sorkin's style is genius, and i feel that anyone who didn't like the dialogue just had a hard time keeping up or didn't get the jokes.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaJan 13, 2011
it's a good movie, but, i expected more when i read the reviews but, never mind. The dialog and the script were great. they were beyond great. the characters are likable and Jesse Eisenberg did a great job. it sure was hard to act that role.it's a good movie, but, i expected more when i read the reviews but, never mind. The dialog and the script were great. they were beyond great. the characters are likable and Jesse Eisenberg did a great job. it sure was hard to act that role. well, it's worth seeing i guess.. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
OfficialCarloNov 26, 2010
The Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can really see true emotions of the character. Well, everyone needs to watch this because no one can retell howThe Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can really see true emotions of the character. Well, everyone needs to watch this because no one can retell how the movie flows. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
PipinownsNov 30, 2010
Excellent film. The magnificent dialogue carries the movie, as Fincher takes a new "less is more approach" to his directing style. One of the best of the year.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Schmit93Jan 13, 2011
This is a movie with amazing acting and an amazing script. I'll admit that it's not all that exciting, but the fast paced script and I'd say Oscar potential acting by Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield it'll keep you entertained. It is a tadThis is a movie with amazing acting and an amazing script. I'll admit that it's not all that exciting, but the fast paced script and I'd say Oscar potential acting by Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield it'll keep you entertained. It is a tad overhyped, but it is still great Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
diluukJan 12, 2011
This was like an unfunny Woody Allen movie. Not that good. The cinematography was OK I guess. There was little that was likable or interesting about any of the characters. Meh.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
EinardurJan 26, 2011
THE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many as the film of 2010, and even I, as a skeptic from the start, have to say that it is a brilliant movie.THE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many as the film of 2010, and even I, as a skeptic from the start, have to say that it is a brilliant movie. This not only out of its mastery of film craft such as use of music, editing, cinematography, acting, story and dialog - but also because of its timing. It's released at a time when everybody everywhere knows exactly what it's about; people watching the film are those in reality involved in the film's plot. The screenplay written by Aaron Sorkin is great, and this albeit it revolves around a story that would be fairly difficult if it hadn't been so entertainingly and intelligently written. As a viewer one watches a computer-programmer work out his mind to become the number one internet phenomena of this century, and as fore-mentioned writer Sorkin moves fast, and one has to stay focused throughout to get the entire momentum. The film feels cold, cynical and detached, much like Zuckenberg acts (greatly by Jesse Eisenberg), but it's singularly about something that gathers, interests and matters - Facebook. So there is naturally something very emotional and very human about the entire personification of numbers, codes and data as it has our name, picture and bio in it. The irony of the story is bleak and sad; it opens with Zuckerberg seated in a crowded university bar chatting intensely (to say the least) with a girl, and ends with him alone, almost blankly introspective, tapping nocturnally on the page he created - it's the man who owns the world, but sold his soul. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
MrC3030Jan 31, 2011
By far the best film I saw this year!!! Great storyline, great acting, and well written. Excellent performance by Jesse Eisenberg, who is my picked for best actor this year! Out of the 10 up for Best Picture, Social Network was the one movieBy far the best film I saw this year!!! Great storyline, great acting, and well written. Excellent performance by Jesse Eisenberg, who is my picked for best actor this year! Out of the 10 up for Best Picture, Social Network was the one movie that delivery and all fronts!!! Excellent film!!! A must see!!! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
HEI5ENBERGFeb 13, 2011
Okay I thought The Social Network was a really great movie! This is the only movie in years I've seen twice in a week, so that tells me something! I found it better the second time round! I love movies that have great dialogue. JesseOkay I thought The Social Network was a really great movie! This is the only movie in years I've seen twice in a week, so that tells me something! I found it better the second time round! I love movies that have great dialogue. Jesse Eisenberg was excellent at playing Mark Zuckerberg he made the techno jargon, that I don't understand, sound good! You don't have to be a member of Facebook to enjoy this movie! The way the movie is edited is excellent! I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleOct 4, 2010
It's clearly a good movie, but one of the all-time greats? Not even close. It's probably my favorite Fincher movie, but that doesn't say much because I didn't like Fight Club or Benjamin Button all that much. And Sorkin did better work onIt's clearly a good movie, but one of the all-time greats? Not even close. It's probably my favorite Fincher movie, but that doesn't say much because I didn't like Fight Club or Benjamin Button all that much. And Sorkin did better work on West Wing and a Few Good Men. The story is interesting, but nowhere near techie stories like Sneakers. The Winklevoss brothers are hilarious, Rooney Mara is a revelation, and Mark's best friend (the future "Spider-Man") is terrific. But it didn't come together to make a movie that I felt was amazing when it was over. I remember walking out The Hurt Locker, or Pulp Fiction, or even The Animal Kingdom this year - I had a massive smile on my face and a very "complete" feeling in my heart. This one was simply interesting. The final line delivered by Miss Jones (the a**hole line) didn't seem to have much impact with me. It was all very clever, but not extraordinarily significant in the scheme of things. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticOct 3, 2010
The most dramatic movie of all time! The Social Network tells the story about a young college student from Harvard named,Mark Zuckerberg who wanted to create a website for socialize people around the world called Facebook. This is the perfectThe most dramatic movie of all time! The Social Network tells the story about a young college student from Harvard named,Mark Zuckerberg who wanted to create a website for socialize people around the world called Facebook. This is the perfect film for having some great lines and great dialog,and it has a cool dark setting like a Fincher's groundbreaking scenes,like Se7en,Fight Club,and my personally favorite film of all time,The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Jesse Eisenberg did marvelous job as the character who created Facebook,he's mysterious,fast talking,and smart at the same time. Andrew Garfield did really good in the role,he's charming and he's smooth personality like the other actors. Justin Timberlake did a marvelously supportive job as Sean Parker and that's saying alot for the pop singer. The cast did good roles for the story and it has talking lines between the story and how they focus really clever about they explain how the people who created Facebook and we need show how Facebook became so popular for the website. This is the winner of the best filmaking film about how actors did marvelously job and how they had beautifully chemistry for this movie. It's a nice movie and for all the users in Facebook must love this movie and we wanted to thank the creators who invented the Facebook to socialize and have friends in the same time. Enjoy! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
7
Dajbman22Oct 7, 2010
I sense a bit of a Dark Knight effect happening here... The Social Network was a solid, entertaining movie with some great acting and scripting. It is probably one of the best films this year, but that speaks more about the quality of 2010I sense a bit of a Dark Knight effect happening here... The Social Network was a solid, entertaining movie with some great acting and scripting. It is probably one of the best films this year, but that speaks more about the quality of 2010 cinema than this particular film. Hence the 7/10, not the prefect scores going around this circle-jerk. I liked Sorkin's dialogue, and the opening sequence could not have been penned by anyone else, but I felt it was a bit forced (made it a bit harder to emotionally connect with the characters). Honestly, Fincher did not impress me on this film; cinematography was above average and the movie was very clean, but it didn't have that ability to move me that many better-directed films have. I can't put my finger on what was missing, but I know it wasn't quite right. I know a lot of people loved the rowing scene in England, but I honestly found it forced, too removed from the style of the rest of the film, and completely superfluous. It was masterfully and professionally shot and edited, but I feel the choice to do it at all was amateurish (analogous to the pod race scene in Episode 1). I was also irked by the subplots that faded off and just disappeared (like all of Saverin's personal life issues and Zuckerberg's disappearing Asian girlfriend). I also was a bit disappointed that Fincher/Sorkin decided to go with the "it was all for the one who got away" theme/ending, it is clearly added just for dramatic/emotional weight, but it does not deliver on it's intended purpose, it just adds cheese to the film. Other than those specific grievances, this was a great film. I know I focused more on the negative than the positive, but I think every other critic (professional and not) did enough of that for me. The Social Network is a strong, entertaining, emotive, and intellectually stimulating film. It will be remembered. That in mind, I do not see it as the defining film of my generation nor even my generation's Citizen Kane (which I get the feeling is what the filmmakers were attempting to create with this piece). Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
schmageggeyMar 30, 2011
When I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trashWhen I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trash I've ever seen. My first and biggest gripe was Jesse Eisenberg. He is a absolutely horrible actor. He sucks, plain and simple. He tries so hard to be like Michael Cera, that he ends up failing. His role wasn't the best either. The character of Mark Zuckerberg is to put simply, a douche bag. I'm sorry I don't want to sit there for two hours and watch some guy think his **** don't stink. I was happy that Rooney Mara's role was very short because she is one of the most annoying actress's out there. The film in itself was just generic. I felt David Fincher was selling out so he can appeal to a younger audience. Everything else was just mediocre and overlooked. The only good thing was the script. It was fresh and crisp and the dialogue was witty and tight, but it wasn't enough to save this film from becoming, just like Zuckerberg, a douche bag itself. Expand
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
10
LCWOct 2, 2010
Finally a movie that lived up to the hype. The whole deal - story, script, acting, directing (especially the intensity of the pace) and music were amazing. Do yourself a favor and don't miss this one.

LCW
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
smijatovFeb 27, 2011
"The Social Network" is the most surprising good film of the year for me - who would have thought that the story about the guy who created Facebook would be so interesting and captivating? Wow. Simply great film! The directing is very smooth"The Social Network" is the most surprising good film of the year for me - who would have thought that the story about the guy who created Facebook would be so interesting and captivating? Wow. Simply great film! The directing is very smooth and Fincher just does excellent work (once again) and proves to be one of the most talented directors currently. Obviously, working with such a young cast must have been challenging, and they all did a splendid job, especially Eisenberg, whose fan I never was until now (well, I'm still not a 'fan fan'). The rather captivating and interesting story was well crafted by Aaron Sorkin and excellently edited, in film editing that has not been so good in years, really. All around, The Social Network is definitely an excellent film and provides us insights into the importance of friendship, morals and the drive to succeed and what all can come out of it - excellence in reality as well as on screen. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ShiiraOct 7, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not the eighties anymore, that's resoundingly clear, because if it was, Mark Zuckerberg(Jesse Eisenberg) would have to turn off his computer and row crew just like the Winklevoss twins, then somehow beat them; he and Eduardo Saverin(Andrew Garfield), his best friend, along with a bunch of other social misfits at the Henley Royal Regatta. This was the old template for the nerd redemption storyline; this was the dark ages, way back before computers were cool, so in order for the nerds to change their fortunes, they'd have to win some sort of competition against their adversaries. In Jeff Canew's "Revenge of the Nerds", starring Robert Carradine and Anthony Edwards(as Lewis Skolnick and Gilbert Lowe, respectively), the charter members of Lambda Lambda Lambda took first place at the Adams College Greek Games by defeating the other campus fraternities, most importantly, their arch-nemesis, the Alpha-Betas, and needless to say, writing code while intermittently taking shots is not one of the compulsory events. When Lewis and Gilbert first arrive at the prestigious(but fictional) school, they hang a poster of a computer on their dorm wall that reads, "The sky's the limit," words that are so unerring in its propheticness, they practically build a bridge to what could be considered its sister film, a pretty sister named "The Social Network", a film that documents the moment when "the meek," indeed does "inherit the earth". Case and point: the Crimson Red is facing the Dutch, not rowers captained by Mark, because now it's the jocks, in a cruel twist of faith, who have to play by the nerds' terms. The athletically ungifted never have to "man up" again. Nerds have come a long way since Ivan Reitman's "Meatballs", the Canadian indie with the original Rudy(played by Chris Makepeace), who runs a four-mile cross-country race that helps North Star defeat Mohawk in the camp's version of the Olympiad. Nerds can be ogres, too. When Mark steals the idea for Facebook from the Winklevoss twins, his kind loses the distinction of being underdogs. Nobody ever roots for the privileged white kids born with silver spoons in their mouths, but that's the subversive truth about "The Social Network"; the moviegoer roots for old money, the Harvard tradition, and WASPS. Whereas the moviegoer feels pity for Lewis and Gilbert as the Alpha Betas chant, "Nerds...nerds...nerds...," while the two computer enthusiasts file past the house for "jocks," and ironically enough, "...facemen," Mark Zuckerberg's comeuppance is anticipated with glee, once Cameron(Armie Hammer) decides to "gut the freakin' nerd," after they lose the regatta and learn that their intellectual property has gone on-line in England. "The Social Network" changes the underlying intimation of the moniker "nerd" when Erica(Rooney Mara) calls Mark an "a**hole," in which the nerd is no longer exclusive to the receiving end of the victimization cycle, since the nerd, now empowered by their consummate fluency in the cyberspace language, can buttress the giving end, as well. Mark Zuckerberg is not your father's, or grandfather's nerd. The youngest billionaire is nothing like Lewis, who can't believe his luck in landing a cheerleader(Betty Childs, as played by Julia Montgomrey), since the Facebook co-founder treats Erica horribly for attending an inferior school. He's no dogcatcher: ugly women and BU undergrads(the Terriers), need not apply. Lewis always has Gilbert's back, especially when his best friend gives a speech, albeit hamfisted, about "nerd persecution" in front of the student body. Earlier in "Revenge of the Nerds", Lewis and Gilbert watch in silence through an open window at the emblazoned letters that spell out "nerds" on their lawn, after the fraternity toasts Lambda Lambda Lambda's successful completion of its provisionary period. Conversely, Mark has a knife at Eduardo's back, but he doesn't know it yet, while a silk scarf that the CFO bought for his girlfriend, burns in a trashcan, in effigy, just like the KKK-style threat made by the Alpha Betas in the Kanew film. It reduces Eduardo to nerd status, a nerd with all the old associations connected to the appellation. A loser. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
G-PhoneOct 5, 2010
I give the movie a 7.5 to 8. Seeing all the '10's ' these reviews are from a younger audience than me. It seems from reading the reviews that this is " The Graduate" for the current times. It is not. It is relevant to the times but Face BookI give the movie a 7.5 to 8. Seeing all the '10's ' these reviews are from a younger audience than me. It seems from reading the reviews that this is " The Graduate" for the current times. It is not. It is relevant to the times but Face Book will probably be a memory in a decade. The themes are familiar. The movie was a lot better than I expected. It is well written and paced well. The characters particularly the lead are well cast and acted. There is no deep message here just a fun movie going event. grab some popcorn and enjoy. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
AudiowombatOct 6, 2010
If only all movies were written this well. Everyone walking in knows that its a story of Facebook's success. Most people walking in know that the main character is not such a nice guy. So I was curious to see if the movie could really beIf only all movies were written this well. Everyone walking in knows that its a story of Facebook's success. Most people walking in know that the main character is not such a nice guy. So I was curious to see if the movie could really be that engaging. And it is. Funny, sad, uncomfortable and entertaining.....with intense dialogue that keeps you focused and thinking and laughing and groaning. And most of the acting is really good as well. To quote the wise woman I was with, this movie is a bit like Wall Street of the current generation. Greed and dysfunctionality dancing together. Creative craziness is the new normal. See it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
cockaigneOct 9, 2010
This movie was completely enjoyable. It is a must see - my favorite of the year. All aspects of the film were well done: writing, dialogue, character development, acting, plot, production. I found myself envying and despising Mark at the endThis movie was completely enjoyable. It is a must see - my favorite of the year. All aspects of the film were well done: writing, dialogue, character development, acting, plot, production. I found myself envying and despising Mark at the end of the film - a testament to the skill of writers and director. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryOct 6, 2010
If you're going to have a movie that's primarily people talking, you'd better have a good writer. That's certainly the case here: Aaron Sorkin has crafted a witty, snappy and poignant story of Facebook's creation and the subsequent lawsuitsIf you're going to have a movie that's primarily people talking, you'd better have a good writer. That's certainly the case here: Aaron Sorkin has crafted a witty, snappy and poignant story of Facebook's creation and the subsequent lawsuits among its creators. Add the assured direction of David Fincher and solid performances from every actor. The result is a an enthralling examination of computer nerds, social jealousy and greed. A simply brilliant take on a remarkable phenomenon. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
zxcvbnm022Oct 3, 2010
absolutly loved the social network, great cast great writing and a great story being told. i would recomend seeing it to anyone. one of few movies i would give 10/10
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
espngy15Oct 4, 2010
The Social Network was an amazing movie. the actors were great. jesse eisenberg really showed himself in this movie. the guy who played enuardo was amazing to. i was astounded that this was PG-13. there was a lot of drinking and drugs. theyThe Social Network was an amazing movie. the actors were great. jesse eisenberg really showed himself in this movie. the guy who played enuardo was amazing to. i was astounded that this was PG-13. there was a lot of drinking and drugs. they actually showed coke on screen. justin timberlake did a great job. go see this movie Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
danjakubikOct 5, 2010
I liked this, almost masterpiece of a film, very much indeed. It's very timely, intelligent and absorbing.
The intelligent screenplay has wit and scathing humor. Award nominations are due, for picture, director, screenplay, cinematography,
I liked this, almost masterpiece of a film, very much indeed. It's very timely, intelligent and absorbing.
The intelligent screenplay has wit and scathing humor. Award nominations are due, for picture, director, screenplay, cinematography, film editing and Jesse Eisenberg's lead acting performance as billionaire facebook.com founder Mark Zuckerberg.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ThebangtrainOct 5, 2010
As far as I should not go to say I would give this film the title of "Movie of the Year", it has to be done. In my mind, "The Social Network" went further than "Inception" not in depth, but in pure talent, excitement, wit, and captivation.As far as I should not go to say I would give this film the title of "Movie of the Year", it has to be done. In my mind, "The Social Network" went further than "Inception" not in depth, but in pure talent, excitement, wit, and captivation. These weren't characters that were liked or disliked, it was characters that you could relate to off the bat. Eisenberg (Whom we all know from the acclaimed "Zombieland") rightfully deserves an Oscar for the portrayal of a genius who is as temperamental as he is flamboyant. Garfield could as well receive an Oscar for his supporting role, the business-savvy, intelligent, Eduardo Saverin, who without the character, the movie is not. He brings an attitude the movie that would be unforeseen beforehand. With great supporting characters such as the "Winklevi", Tyler and Cameron Winklevoss (Hammer), Sean Parker (Timberlake), and other programmers and friends that surround Zuckerberg in his daily ventures, this movie bring the new decade of the internet full circle, and greatly explains the hottest fad online over the past few years. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
MoViEgUyOct 5, 2010
I watched "The Social Network" the first day it came out and again the very next day because it was so amazingly good. Listen, I consider myself a pretty critical person when it comes to movies. I'm not going to invest 2 hours of my time onI watched "The Social Network" the first day it came out and again the very next day because it was so amazingly good. Listen, I consider myself a pretty critical person when it comes to movies. I'm not going to invest 2 hours of my time on a movie unless its nothing short of spectacular and most of the reviews I've read are very good. Well, "The Social Network" is in a league of its own! It's been four days since I've seen it and I CAN'T GET THE MOVIE OUT OF MY HEAD! I've never watched something where I was so satisfied from beginning to end. The acting, directing, screenplay, cinematography, score are all flawless. Jesse Eisenberg delivers the performance of a lifetime. He IS Mark Zuckerberg. And even though he comes across as a genius prick, part of you can't help but root for him. The rest of the cast are all fantastic, but its Eisenberg who makes the movie what it is. The dialogue in the movie is the best I seen since "Good Will Hunting", but I would have to say its even better. There aren't any dull moments. The pacing is incredible. I've never bought a soundtrack for a movie but Trent Reznor (score composer) convinced me otherwise. His music in the movie is haunting and genius. I can't recommend this movie enough! And btw, the fact that it is about Facebook is irrelevant. The themes concepts, and relationships make the movie what it is. So do yourself a favor and go see it NOW! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ZombieFan281Oct 8, 2010
Very good movie; great cast. Highly Recommended. one of the few films that my ADD did not make me wounder else where. Great job to the JT and Jesse. Well done
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
bubbaOct 8, 2010
great movie! outstanding acting on Jesse's part and a great and intriguing story with good characters and scripting, go see this one, if your willing to pay attention and have the attention span of someone more than a 6-year old you will love it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
AlxanderrOct 9, 2010
A movie that truly helps define the ambitions of a new generation, and the conflicting ideals we as human beings have. After the movie is over, you are aware that it is dramatized, but the the sudden abstraction of what defines a humanA movie that truly helps define the ambitions of a new generation, and the conflicting ideals we as human beings have. After the movie is over, you are aware that it is dramatized, but the the sudden abstraction of what defines a human eliminates any criticism of its fantasy. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JasonGoalieOct 10, 2010
Let's face it: the invention of a website does not naturally translate into exciting movie material. But the way this movie is presented - storytelling from multiple perspectives, present day-flashback devices etc. - turn it into a genuinelyLet's face it: the invention of a website does not naturally translate into exciting movie material. But the way this movie is presented - storytelling from multiple perspectives, present day-flashback devices etc. - turn it into a genuinely interesting, enormously entertaining experience from start to finish. I can't quite give it a 10 though becuase of a few nit-picks. The major problem appears to be the way the script translated to the screen. While the script was indeed brilliantly written, a ideal script should have the feel of a cast of different characters speaking for themselves. Unfortunately, when this script plays out, it sort of feels like a cast of characters speaking for the script-writer. I know, it's a minor detail, but this excellent movie could have been positively LEGENDARY with a bit more uniqueness in the characters, and character development. Also, when your protagonist is a billionaire, you really have to try harder to get your audience to feel sorry for him/her. Whether or not 'The Social Network' is fact or fiction, I didn't leave that theater feeling any empathy for Mark Zuckerberg. I know, it sounds like i hated this movie, but I assure you I really liked it. You will undoubtedly be entertained. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
AaronMOct 11, 2010
Overall, an interesting movie. BUT unless you either a) are a computer geek, b) have familiarity with depositions, or c) are just nostalgic for the days when you needed a college email address to even have a Facebook account, you probablyOverall, an interesting movie. BUT unless you either a) are a computer geek, b) have familiarity with depositions, or c) are just nostalgic for the days when you needed a college email address to even have a Facebook account, you probably won't find the movie entertaining. Luckily, I could kinda group myself in 2 out of the 3 catergories, lol. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 6, 2011
Credit where credit is due for David Fincher and all that were involved in this film. What essentially is a film where people sit around talking about the development of social networking side has turned out to be one of the best films of theCredit where credit is due for David Fincher and all that were involved in this film. What essentially is a film where people sit around talking about the development of social networking side has turned out to be one of the best films of the decade. I approached the film with skepticism and doubt that this would be any more than a boring film. I even questioned David Fincher's judgement when he decided to adapt Mark Zuckerberg's journey from his dorm to CEO of the biggest social networking site in Europe. People have critiqued the decision to cast Justin Timberlake but I felt he played his part perfectly. Jesse Eisenberg impressed me too. His portrayal of Mark Zuckerberg was amazing.

Overall, this is one of those films that by the end credits, you feel a little disappointed that it wasn't on for longer but 2 hours is long enough. A fantastic film and one in which I will recommend highly to all my friends and family.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
scottmgOct 11, 2010
Blown away. I was skeptical about this movie from the very beginning, ever since I saw the trailer with "creep" playing in the background. I guess I was asking myself what many people were thinking. "How good can a movie about the creation ofBlown away. I was skeptical about this movie from the very beginning, ever since I saw the trailer with "creep" playing in the background. I guess I was asking myself what many people were thinking. "How good can a movie about the creation of Facebook be?" Snore...

However, if this turns you off, don't think of it as a movie about the creation of facebook, think of it as a movie contemplating what is right and wrong. Aaron Sorkin's script is masterfully written, the dialogue flows at an incredible speed (don't listen to David Eckstein, the guy is a dimwit and probably couldn't follow along), and the actors give an outstanding performance. Justin Timberlake...who knew? Bravo good sir, you do not need to make another record, I believe you have found your calling.

This film had me sucked in for the two hours, and it didn't even feel like that long, and I am really finding it hard to stop raving about this movie to friends who have not seen it yet. I can quite honestly say it is one of, if not THE best movie I have ever seen. 10/10 and Oscar nominations to follow. If you haven't yet, go see it.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
TonyOct 11, 2010
A perfect film. Sharp writing and directing. Great performances. Haunting score. I can't say enough positive things about this. It is, at least so far, the movie of the year.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
jim94028Oct 18, 2010
Very entertaining and interesting. Certainly doesn't let the facts get in the way of the story, but shows all sides of the inception of Facebook. The only movie that I remember ever to depict programming as anything vaguely related to actualVery entertaining and interesting. Certainly doesn't let the facts get in the way of the story, but shows all sides of the inception of Facebook. The only movie that I remember ever to depict programming as anything vaguely related to actual practice. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
SeesFineFilmsNov 24, 2010
@peopleofearth

This is quite simply, and quite easily, the best and most quintessentially [and simultaneously] sociable and isolable film of twentyten. Ben Mezrich beams! Aaron Sorkin soars! David Fincher ad-ministers! And Jesse Eisenberg,
@peopleofearth

This is quite simply, and quite easily, the best and most quintessentially [and simultaneously] sociable and isolable film of twentyten. Ben Mezrich beams! Aaron Sorkin soars! David Fincher ad-ministers! And Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake each deserve the Red Carpet treatment for their socially infectious performances! Jeff Cronenweth writes with the camera so impressively. The stunningly interesting score from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross is cerebrally viral and adds new grammar to cinema in the Age of Social Networking. The Social Network does two things beautifully: it boldly reflects all facets of our increasingly digital society and smugly, knowingly, provides the very sort slick social commentary required for pursuits of the modern, ever more global, social milieu. Don't miss it and plan to see it more than once. *wink!
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
filmgradNov 8, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a film about facebook. Nor is it a film about Mark Zuckerberg or a court case. It is a film about what friendship means today, and how the internet harnesses people's base inclination to objectify others, as well as utilize their assets for personal gain, especially in the area of artificial social reputation.
Zuckerberg never understood what it really meant to be friends. Being friends means others use you to get where they want. As he tells Erica Albright in the opening scene, if she is his girlfriend, she would get to meet people she wouldn't normally get to meet, and he would attain reputations he would not be able to reach, since he can't row crew, and since he isn't part of a fraternity.
Obviously she is offended by his robotic approach to "friendship", and breaks up with him, delivering a key like that sets up the rest of the film: "You will probably be a very successful computer person. But if girls hate you, don't think it's because you're a nerd. It'll be because you're an asshole."

In an intoxicated, vengeful rage, Zuckerberg launches a site that allows people to rate girls based on their looks. Immediately he appeals to young mens' tendencies to objectify women, and makes it easy and even fun for them to do so. And breaking up with a girl was all it took to change the history of friendship.

The Social Network is a depressing revelation of the state our society is in, and the way we relate to each other in the informal, impersonal way that is the internet and texting. (When offered a chance to make friends who row crew, he instead took their idea and texted them to keep them in the dark long enough for him to pull ahead and make the idea his own.)

But it is a good film. It is entertaining (thank you, Justin Timberlake), it is witty, well-written, and it feels appropriate to each of the realms into which it delves: modern campus life (not the National Lampoon caricature), modern court cases, and facebook. It's a timeless film that uses the mold of our generation's norms to tell a harsh story that has always been true.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JulverDec 15, 2010
The Social Network is a masterpiece, it's the Citizen Kane of 2st century. The film has dialogues so intelligent and deep, actors are perfect in their roles. Perfect Direction, Screenplay, Cinematography and Edition.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
BathtubTomFeb 23, 2011
David Fincher in my mind, is a genius. I just watched a couple nerds hit buttons on computer and i was spellbound. This is one hell of an emotionally gripping picture and all though i thought the acting fell a little flat at moment IDavid Fincher in my mind, is a genius. I just watched a couple nerds hit buttons on computer and i was spellbound. This is one hell of an emotionally gripping picture and all though i thought the acting fell a little flat at moment I thoroughly enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
JbrizzyApr 16, 2012
This movie was just BORING AS HELL. This is the very first movie i fell asleep in, ( thank god i saw it on a bus road trip) I just don't see the hype AT ALL. Like is this what people consider a masterpiece? Then i want out. Every singleThis movie was just BORING AS HELL. This is the very first movie i fell asleep in, ( thank god i saw it on a bus road trip) I just don't see the hype AT ALL. Like is this what people consider a masterpiece? Then i want out. Every single character is so unlikeable that makes this movie just painful to sit through. Avoid at all cost, if you want to learn about the history of Facebook, just google it or go to Wikipedia. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
JuggernautMar 8, 2011
Worst casting ever! The movie is well done. The plot is extremely poor. The actors are plain. Is a cheap movie that got lucky with some advertising and some bought nominations.
4 of 21 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
10
Trunks378Oct 1, 2010
The writing in the movies is absolutely f***ing ridiculous. I remember sending my friend a message right after I saw it that if it didn't win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay I'd never watch the Oscars again, I'm sticking with thatThe writing in the movies is absolutely f***ing ridiculous. I remember sending my friend a message right after I saw it that if it didn't win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay I'd never watch the Oscars again, I'm sticking with that :smileyvery-happy:

Seriously every bit of dialogue just flows so incredible back and forth, it has a rhythm to it not that uncommon of the best classic film noirs, this is Sorkin taken to the next level, there's not a second dumbed down and the man will pack exchanges with as much humor as venom that helps sketch an early idea of who Zuckerberg will become. I never even realized also until the second time seeing it how perfectly Sorkin bookended the narrative. The film's writing is just, :smileyvery-happy: ..it's ridiculous. The man is able to make scenes in what for the most part is a drama more funny and amusing than most comedies this year while being able to flip a switch and creating tension and action on screen through exchanges that most thrillers this year couldn't even dream to approach. I just can't stress enough how much I love the screenplay for this film.
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
ZeusOct 2, 2010
"The Social Network" deserves every bit of praise that it is receiving! Everything about this movie of absolutely solid - the first great movie of the year. A story about Facebook shouldn't keep anyone from seeing this film. If you hate"The Social Network" deserves every bit of praise that it is receiving! Everything about this movie of absolutely solid - the first great movie of the year. A story about Facebook shouldn't keep anyone from seeing this film. If you hate Facebook replace it with "Company X" or something. The point is...I am not going to see this movie again just because I have an account. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
1
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
A confusing and overlong supposed masterpiece that only serious drama fans will dig. Not my cup of tea at all. Eisenberg gives a dull, robotic performance and Justin Timberlake coasts through the movie on the same motivation.
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
9
kypniloc1342Oct 8, 2010
"The Social Network" could end up defining this generation. It was witty and over the top where it needed to be while still being able to show the "sensitive" side of a boy who really just wanted to create something "cool". While the movie"The Social Network" could end up defining this generation. It was witty and over the top where it needed to be while still being able to show the "sensitive" side of a boy who really just wanted to create something "cool". While the movie ends with Zuckerman searching for friendship, he ended up creating the greatest social networking site ever. It is interesting to think about what today's world would be like without Facebook. Also, Sean Parker's role in the creation of facebook was somewhat unknown until now and while the movie did take some creative liberties it is interesting to see the dynamic between Parker and Zuckerman. The best part of the movie was actually the soundtrack (an amazing job down by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails), which ended up making each scene that Mark Zuckerman an intense thrill ride as he took on the system and later on his colleagues. Overall a job well done. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesJan 20, 2011
This is one of the few films I've ever seen that was riveting even though I disliked the main character. Just goes to show that if a movie is made well it will be totally watchable no matter what. I'm not sure this film has the repeatableThis is one of the few films I've ever seen that was riveting even though I disliked the main character. Just goes to show that if a movie is made well it will be totally watchable no matter what. I'm not sure this film has the repeatable factor for me as far as the story goes, so don't know if I'll buy the Blu-Ray at this point (thus the 9 instead of a 10), but I was absorbed the first time I saw it and couldn't wait to see how it turned out at the end. This is film-making at its finest. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
1111Jan 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. quality film one of the best ive seen , i do understand why i tiny majority dont like it, this fil is about patience and understanding but obviously some people are 'Tards' , the main character may be protentious and a bit of a show off but who wouldnt be if they can make a social network when drunk. i found it entertaining in every aspect when the film unraveled and i found it funny is some parts. but its my opinion that its good (and 95 out of 100 speaks for itself) Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Jul 31, 2015
We can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers least stylish and engaging film so far. No character study / depth or philesophical approach. All we canWe can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers least stylish and engaging film so far. No character study / depth or philesophical approach. All we can see a boring , overrated , dull " show me the money , baby" movie Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
10
TheCylonOct 4, 2010
Aaron Sorkin is the king of writing. David Fincher properly sets the tone from "The Accidental Billionaires". Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield do a wonderful job conveying their emotions. The scene when Facebook is approaching 1 millionAaron Sorkin is the king of writing. David Fincher properly sets the tone from "The Accidental Billionaires". Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield do a wonderful job conveying their emotions. The scene when Facebook is approaching 1 million users is absolutely heart breaking. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
moviegOct 1, 2010
David Fincher's movies are either interesting or beautiful, and this one is no exception. The story is well written, and the ensemble is just amazing in their acting. Jesse Eisenberg really surprised me with his portrayal of Zuckerberg;David Fincher's movies are either interesting or beautiful, and this one is no exception. The story is well written, and the ensemble is just amazing in their acting. Jesse Eisenberg really surprised me with his portrayal of Zuckerberg; remembering him from Zombieland, I didn't think he could pull it off. I was wrong because he could. Justin Timberlake has proven himself to be an all-around talented guy, an entertainer of the 21st century. The cinematography was stunning, the scenes are funny when they need to be, and it's just all around a movie that people must see before the year ends if not ever. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
9
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
A good #4 on my big board with another classic by David Fincher. Eisenberg delivers the second of what I think may lead to be many great performances with good support from breakthrough actor Andrew Garfield. In one phrase: "Fincher did it again."
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
9
MedinaReviewsOct 3, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, I know I'm simply parroting ever other critic, but in a lot of ways this film really was one to define a generation. Like most people, my gut reaction when seeing the trailer for the first time was, "Really? A Facebook movie?" But the more I thought about it, the more I put the pieces together, the more the movie began to make sense. David Fincher, Aaron Sorkin, and Jessie Eisenberg- all the elements where there to make a great film, and say what you will, like it or not, Facebook has become a huge part of pop-culture, and slowly but surly engaging itself in our day -to-day culture.

First you had to have a verified college email, then they added the high-school section. The News Feed was introduced, then all of a sudden anyone and everyone could sign up for Facebook. Now I know a lot of adults and even grandparents that have a Facebook to keep up with family and friends who use it way more than even I would ever do. Facebook has forever changed the way we keep in contact with people and a movie like 'The Social Network' definitely has interest in today's market, and relevance in today's culture. Plus the fact that it was so expertly executed makes it that much more of a statement.

While I have always admired Arron Sorkin and enjoyed his work, I always found his writing to be a little overly dramatic/ bordering on melodramtic. 'Studio 60 on The Sunset Strip' is a perfect example of this: a great series who's only flaw was that it seemed to take itself just as seriously as 'The West Wing'. His screenplay for this film, however, showed a new level that that I have never seen before in his writing. With some of the best dialogue I've heard in years, and an excellent structure, 'The Social Network' was so engaging, yet written so smartly, that I completely believed every performance, every scene, from beginning to end.

There were two specific moments of writing that exemplified why the screenplay as a whole was so strong. First was the opening scene, which was one of the best written conversations have has seen on the screen in years. Not only was the dialogue engaging, but it also gave a very specific voice to Zuckerbergs's character that was essential to setting up the film as a whole. The other scene was when Edwardo's crazy girlfriend gets mad at him for not changing his relationship status on his Facebook page, to which he replies, "I didn't know how to." I just love how they were able to squeeze in a part about the stupid pointless drama that surrounds teenagers on Facebook. Definitely the biggest laugh of the film for me.

This film was so strong because it obviously had a voice, and that voice came from one man: David Fincher. A director revered by film school kids as being cool with a strong visual style, but never really getting the attention of critics or The Acadamy until recently, David Fincher seems to being moving beyond his flashy camera moves exemplified in 'Panic Room' into in a much more refined storytelling director that's bringing a maturity to his work that is astounding. Looking at his move from 'Fight Club' to 'Benjamin Button', we are seeing a new era in Fincher's career in which a lot of a really great work is still yet to come. There have only been a handful of directors over the years that have managed to make a career of garnering both critical and box-office acclaim such as **** or Steven Speilberg, and this is exactly the direction Fincher is moving if he keeps up this pace.

The film was very tastefully executed in that Fincher's camera was deliberately un-intrusive. The only visually flashy scene was in the rowing competition with his use of tilt-shift lenses, which honestly felt a little out of place in the entire context of the film, but undoubtably looked awesome on its own, which was fine for me.

But in the end, what really drove this film and connected with the audience was Jessie Eisenberg's brilliant yet subtle performance of Mark Zuckerberg. Eisenberg has been kind of a dark horse recently, with surprisingly brilliant performances coming from a wide variety of films just within the last couple years. Here is a actor with a unique charisma and style, yet within each film fully immerses himself into a completely different character that brings an honesty to each performance that is impossible to teach. This film definitely is a coming-out party for him on the major Hollywood stage, showing he has the potential to carry some really great films in the future. This is not the last we have seen of Jesse Eisenberg, in fact I believe this is only the beginning.

I mean, we could literally sit here all day analyzing the subtle nuances of the film; it just comes down to how much you want to read into it. For example, I could argue that Mark Zuckerberg was
Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
vernOct 1, 2010
This movie was all-around exceptional and it DOES deserve the hype it's being given. It was so close to a perfect movie that it literally missed it by a hair, but it still deserves the 10 (because it deserves more of a 9.5). The acting wasThis movie was all-around exceptional and it DOES deserve the hype it's being given. It was so close to a perfect movie that it literally missed it by a hair, but it still deserves the 10 (because it deserves more of a 9.5). The acting was great across the board, and other than Justin Timberlake (casting him was one of the film's minor flaws) there were no over the top performances and that made the whole situation more reality based. It's depiction of today's culture was spot-on and its themes of greed, friendship, and betrayal were perfectly realized within the storyline. The direction and cinematography were fantastic as well. It is definitely worth seeing. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
BlobDudeOct 1, 2010
David Fincher and Aaron Sorkin don't disappoint. This movie tells an(maybe not the) amazing story of friendship and betrayal. Don't think that this movie is really directed at the "Facebook generation." The story is one that's been sinceDavid Fincher and Aaron Sorkin don't disappoint. This movie tells an(maybe not the) amazing story of friendship and betrayal. Don't think that this movie is really directed at the "Facebook generation." The story is one that's been since the beginning of storytelling itself. Jesse Eisenberg shines as Mark Zuckerberg. I was pleasantly surprised with how well he was able to portray this kind of character, given what I've seen of his roles in Adventureland and Zombieland (though, to be fair, I haven't seen either of those in their entirety). Andrew Garfield is great as Eduardo, Armie Hammer delivers a really well done, believable performance as the Winklevoss twins, and Justin Timberlake was strong portraying Sean Taylor, the young founder of Napster who manages to worm his way into the Facebook empire.

On top of the great acting, Fincher's expected great directed, and the well-written dialogue from Aaron Sorkin, this movie's score really shines. I have a bit of bias here, as I'm a huge Trent Reznor/Nine Inch Nails fan, but I feel that he and Atticus Ross really portrayed the feel of everything that was happening, while still maintaining the trademark sound they've been known to produce when collaborating.
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
10
RelaxingKyleOct 3, 2010
I may be a bit enthusiastic in saying this, but this movie is the best movie I have ever seen. No, not in recent years as most people are saying, but of all time. The dialogue is absolutely perfect, but the delivery is what really makes this.I may be a bit enthusiastic in saying this, but this movie is the best movie I have ever seen. No, not in recent years as most people are saying, but of all time. The dialogue is absolutely perfect, but the delivery is what really makes this. It's a movie about dialogue that keeps you on the edge of your seat in the way a movie like Inception would. Each line is said in a snap, but not in a way that makes you lose track though. It also helps that the movie has a fantastic premise, fantastic cast and fantastic soundtrack made by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, which I highly recommend you download. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
ChuckEOct 2, 2010
a really terrific, well directed film. jesse eisenberg gives off the perfect **** hole, sarcastic, can't take anything seriously character. he gives off an aura that really shows how mark zuckerberg was in life creating and running thea really terrific, well directed film. jesse eisenberg gives off the perfect **** hole, sarcastic, can't take anything seriously character. he gives off an aura that really shows how mark zuckerberg was in life creating and running the facebook. a really amazing movie. want to see it again. definitely go and see it. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
BHBarryOct 10, 2010
â
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ChonquistOct 10, 2010
Easily one of the greatest films of our generation. This film chronicles the rise of social networking site Facebook, and the legal battles among its founders that followed. This movie takes the amazing script by Aaron Sorkin and turns itEasily one of the greatest films of our generation. This film chronicles the rise of social networking site Facebook, and the legal battles among its founders that followed. This movie takes the amazing script by Aaron Sorkin and turns it into a masterpiece with beautiful direction by David Fincher (Fight Club, Se7en). The performances by principle actors Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield amazed as well. Eisenberg plays the awkward facebook founder Mark Zuckerbeg, who is easily swayed by the idea of power and money, but always has a certain girl on his mind. Garfield stuns as Eduardo Saverin, his jilted best friend going through problems of his own as Zuckerberg slowly muscles him out with the help of Sean Parker (justin Timberlake). Overall, the films magnificent direction, screenplay, and performances let it shine above the many contenders in this years oscar race. This movie is one of the greatest achievements of modern cinema, and a shoe -in for many major awards at this years oscars. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Frmz84Oct 3, 2010
Extremely well directed, written, and acted. Only wish the story was a little better.. writing/acting/directing of this kind could make any movie great. Not a must see in theaters, but definitely entertaining.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
Amnesiac2389Nov 9, 2010
This is the best movie I have seen in a long while. David Fincher is amazing as always with his dark, serious, and moody directing. Clearly this is not an accurate portrayal of events, but instead a dramatic interpretation of what we like toThis is the best movie I have seen in a long while. David Fincher is amazing as always with his dark, serious, and moody directing. Clearly this is not an accurate portrayal of events, but instead a dramatic interpretation of what we like to think happened behind the scenes. The actors are witty, intellectual, and most of the time believable. This is what going to the movies is supposed to be like and should not be missed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
dijavantewowOct 16, 2010
Great movie. Love the dialogue, especially with Mark. I had no idea how much of a jerk he is, but I loved watching it. I couldn't help but root for him while hating him during the movie. Nicely done.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterOct 27, 2010
Although I don't quite see the mass critical acclaim for this film it was still a very good piece of cinema. I was slightly dissapointed as to how they had portrayed Zuckenburg seeing as he is one of the worlds modern geniuses. However, theAlthough I don't quite see the mass critical acclaim for this film it was still a very good piece of cinema. I was slightly dissapointed as to how they had portrayed Zuckenburg seeing as he is one of the worlds modern geniuses. However, the dialogue scenes involving him were snappy, geeky and funny. Timberlake didn't do too badly, a little bit too much hollywood but overall an assured performance to finally rid him of his childhood acting hoodoo. The best acting performance came from Andrew Garfield, who's realism rebounded off the screen through both his happy times and jealous times. The twins were annoying but that added an almost villainous effect to their personalities. The directing was impressive and the screenplay was excellent. It was able to put across the dark undertones of the internet's favourite invention. It was a good film but I'm still not sure what the critics find so 'mesmerizing'. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
The dialogue will confuse some and some may even find it boring, but 'The Social Network' has an interesting plot as well as comedy and sophistication that many modern movies seem to lack.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
sebastianOct 4, 2010
One's movie experience of The Social Network may suffer because the screenplay argues a bit too crisply and coolly--with too much moral ambiguity. Audiences generally want a clearer villain, but even the dirtiest characters in Fincher'sOne's movie experience of The Social Network may suffer because the screenplay argues a bit too crisply and coolly--with too much moral ambiguity. Audiences generally want a clearer villain, but even the dirtiest characters in Fincher's movie earn some sympathy and/or admiration, all while the Facebook content at the center of the movie turns each player into a vessel of societal critique. It's more than a bit troubling that a movie that stares us so sternly in the collective face doesn't know what to say except we're lonely and that's dangerous. We already knew that, but we don't know how to change a single individual anymore than we know how to judge one constructively. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
SusanoNov 30, 2011
Likeable, absorbing....the complete oppossite of the source material, then. The Social Network is a truly great movie, and makes Facebook seem a little less...cynical. If only because it's movie is so ruddy good. Absolutely essentialLikeable, absorbing....the complete oppossite of the source material, then. The Social Network is a truly great movie, and makes Facebook seem a little less...cynical. If only because it's movie is so ruddy good. Absolutely essential watching, and definately one of the top films of 2010. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kk10Jun 10, 2011
One of my favourite films of all time. David Fincher being one of my favourite directors has made his best film yet. The film itself is thoroughly entertaining on the surface and its two hours pass by like running water. But deeper in itsOne of my favourite films of all time. David Fincher being one of my favourite directors has made his best film yet. The film itself is thoroughly entertaining on the surface and its two hours pass by like running water. But deeper in its fast mesmerizing dialogue is a character study of a man who revolutionized the 21st century and the irony that comes at the end of the film is self explanatory. it is a perfect film and very few films deserve that term. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiJan 17, 2011
This movie was absolutely amazing and I was very interested in it from start to finish. To most people, the dialogue were snarky comments. I have no idea what movie they were watching. Anyways the performances by Jesse Eisenberg and AndrewThis movie was absolutely amazing and I was very interested in it from start to finish. To most people, the dialogue were snarky comments. I have no idea what movie they were watching. Anyways the performances by Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield are very good. This movie, I think, will win an Oscar. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
SonicphotoOct 17, 2010
I honestly thought I wasn't going to like it because when critics say it's good, I mostly get bored with the movie. BUT this is not the case here, this one actually is a very interesting movie all the way through! While I admit the intro is aI honestly thought I wasn't going to like it because when critics say it's good, I mostly get bored with the movie. BUT this is not the case here, this one actually is a very interesting movie all the way through! While I admit the intro is a bit slow and the end felt incomplete, this movie is very well written! The acting was also terrific, and it's amazing considering how all of them are young actors. The idea of them talking fast was not my favorite but I think it fitted very well with the personality going for it. This is the kind of movie that can win awards and that I agree it deserves, same as slumdog millionaire. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
joreganoMar 18, 2011
The social network, on having known that the movie was of facebook, I thought that serious as any other movie of teenagers that was stupid, but to it began to see her realized that it is inevitable (for those of high place IQ) to be hooked byThe social network, on having known that the movie was of facebook, I thought that serious as any other movie of teenagers that was stupid, but to it began to see her realized that it is inevitable (for those of high place IQ) to be hooked by this so brilliant script, endorsed with a music that canalizes this simplicity that has with the intelligence. " A movie of a generation " Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
grindhouse83Oct 27, 2010
David Fincher wisely allows the script and the performances room to shine in this intelligent and gripping drama. Eisenberg is excellent as always, bringing remarkable depth and ambiguity to his character, and Andrew Garfield shows realDavid Fincher wisely allows the script and the performances room to shine in this intelligent and gripping drama. Eisenberg is excellent as always, bringing remarkable depth and ambiguity to his character, and Andrew Garfield shows real chops and presence, providing the picture with its heart and soul. In short, a terrific character-study with an Oscar-worthy script from Aaron Sorkin. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MPVahalikNov 7, 2010
I feel like a I give a lot of movies 10s but this one definitely deserves it. Jesse Eisenberg will be nominated for an Oscar. An Aaron Sorkin might be as well.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
JacobOct 30, 2010
In case you donâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SmellyCatOct 8, 2010
I saw "The Social Network" nearly a week ago, and find myself struggling to put together my thoughts on the film together for a review, not because the film was bad, but rather because I just needed the time to process the entire film andI saw "The Social Network" nearly a week ago, and find myself struggling to put together my thoughts on the film together for a review, not because the film was bad, but rather because I just needed the time to process the entire film and ruminate on the different levels of complexities the film has. And it really is a movie that you just need to see to understand the appeal, because on paper it sounds somewhat standard and less than spectacular. However, one thing that stands out in the film as something I feel good enough commenting on are the performances. Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, and Justin Timberlake are almost equally amazing in their respective roles, and all deserving of Oscar nominations. Just go see the movie, and then you will understand my inability to formulate thoughts. Its just that good. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
muzztmtJan 30, 2011
This movie is about human emotion. The way they project their feelings onto each other were very realistic. The facial expressions of its main cast in the movie were the key to its acclaim. I believed every second of it. Thats what dragged meThis movie is about human emotion. The way they project their feelings onto each other were very realistic. The facial expressions of its main cast in the movie were the key to its acclaim. I believed every second of it. Thats what dragged me into it. I've seen not many movies like this. That makes me privileged. Very good movie. Oscar winning fo' sho. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
PopcornNRosesNov 8, 2010
I totally underestimated this film on our podcast's fall preview. Jesse Eisenberg is electric as the self-obsessed college student who turns a passion for wanting to be successful into the huge company that is Facebook. Oscar-worthyI totally underestimated this film on our podcast's fall preview. Jesse Eisenberg is electric as the self-obsessed college student who turns a passion for wanting to be successful into the huge company that is Facebook. Oscar-worthy performances from Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield as Eduardo, Mark Zukerberg's best friend and moneyman, and especially Justin Timberlake as Sean Parker, creator of Napster and Zuckerberg's most staunch mentor, who just oozes "creepy". I was honestly surprised at how good this movie is, and how much I enjoyed it. Definitely a "must-see" on my list this year. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
VGabrieleOct 3, 2010
A film that will become iconic for this generation that it belongs to. A brilliantly crafted film. Cinematography was as good as it gets. Along with the writing. So rating it as a movie that kindly shows others just how well a movie can beA film that will become iconic for this generation that it belongs to. A brilliantly crafted film. Cinematography was as good as it gets. Along with the writing. So rating it as a movie that kindly shows others just how well a movie can be made, it gets a 10/10. But rating it on more on the emotion impact it makes on it's viewer I'd bring it down to about 8/10. So how about 9/10 overall? (91/100) Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
MarkKammelMay 31, 2011
David Fincher directs a film with wonderful performances. It never lets up, and keeps you at the edge of your seat playing a game of catch up, thanks to scriptwriter, Aaron Sorkin..
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Branden_LuceroOct 3, 2010
the movie deserves a 9, because to me, there's no such thing as perfect. no film, no video game, no piece of music, nothing. it can't be perfect because it will "not" satisfy everyone in the world. the movie felt very complexly writtenthe movie deserves a 9, because to me, there's no such thing as perfect. no film, no video game, no piece of music, nothing. it can't be perfect because it will "not" satisfy everyone in the world. the movie felt very complexly written because i was having a little trouble following a somewhat muti-plot story. the performances of the cast were very good, very strong. some of the most unlikeable actors that left you wondering before the movie hit theaters, "is he gonna suck?" turn out to show you how human they can be for a film. and that the media coverage doesn't matter to them. if you are a fan of ambient instrumental music, the soundtrack is rather soothing and a step away from all the orchestral soundtracks you here in films like the Lord of the Rings, ect. this was one of the rare instances to where a film ended in a way where it could have went on forever, if you were that much attached to it that is. i'm not a big movie reviewer, but i have to say, at $8.00 it was a great 2-hour enjoyment, despite the ridiculous cost of tickets. p.s. if someone gives this film a mix review or lower, actually support it (legit if the review isn't spam in this sense). people seem to forget that if user reviews of films that they like are lower, they aren't considered worthy reviews because they aren't 9s or 10s across the board. it'd be nice to see lesser narrow minded people at least across the website who can support both the positive and the negative instead of always just the positive. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
MahonerOct 5, 2010
The Social Network feels so real it's almost scary. Just the quick, smart dialogue that I thoroughly enjoyed. The believeable characters that aren't dumbed down or made to be cookie cut cliches. It really was a refreshing picture that IThe Social Network feels so real it's almost scary. Just the quick, smart dialogue that I thoroughly enjoyed. The believeable characters that aren't dumbed down or made to be cookie cut cliches. It really was a refreshing picture that I believe stands as one of the best for 2010, and possibly the decade. To think of having great movies like this and Inception in the same calendar year shows that Hollywood is actually churning out some decent pictures for the film going audience that demand more than the typical summer blockbusters. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
god-amaterasuApr 15, 2011
"The Social Network" is simply one of the best movie I ever seen, and one of my favourite. David Fincher has directed another wonderful movie. A movie to see, absolutely.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Jan 17, 2011
Being an intense hater of Facebook, my initial instincts were to avoid The Social Network like the plague. However, too much positive buzz and Aaron Sorkin's involvement made me finally see it. WOW, I'm GLAD I did! The direction, dialogue,Being an intense hater of Facebook, my initial instincts were to avoid The Social Network like the plague. However, too much positive buzz and Aaron Sorkin's involvement made me finally see it. WOW, I'm GLAD I did! The direction, dialogue, acting and story were flawless. This is what modern movie making is all about. Perfect execution! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
bishopsringOct 25, 2010
When I first saw that hollywood was going to create a movie about "Facebook," I was disappointed on the lack of ideas. Really, a movie created about this social network. Seeing Zuckerburg's online presentations, reading about privacy issuesWhen I first saw that hollywood was going to create a movie about "Facebook," I was disappointed on the lack of ideas. Really, a movie created about this social network. Seeing Zuckerburg's online presentations, reading about privacy issues related to FB, and knowing just a brief history of how it became; I thought this movie would not have the content necessary to be great. But after seeing Jesse's performance and coming from a graphic designer's standpoint of idea's, common creative licenses and protection for your work, this movie had a profound impact on my world aside from the actual social network itself. The performances were outstanding, though hollywood embedded needless drama for some aspects of the movie, it was great overall and enjoyable. This movie is not an action movie. It is about the details of laws, privacy complaints, groupies, and the dialog. This is not Call of Duty, modern warefare. So, if you have issues about dialog, then maybe there needs to be more dialog as this world itself does nothing but text. I seriously doubt, anyone can look at anyone else in the eye anymore and explain to them via voice without any medium between them to another individual. It definitely shows the lack of social behaviors that are lost through technology as how I take it. Anyone can come up with their own theories and that is great. But, I definitely enjoyed it, especially since I am not ADD and do not need to text, or tweet every two seconds. If you are that person, this is a movie for you. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Man2EnvOct 25, 2010
This a great movie. The only problem is that you have to have a very good knowing of the internet to really understand this movie. Also the humor is a bit dry ,nut overall for those that want an inspirational movie look know farther than TheThis a great movie. The only problem is that you have to have a very good knowing of the internet to really understand this movie. Also the humor is a bit dry ,nut overall for those that want an inspirational movie look know farther than The Social Network. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
hypnowheelOct 3, 2010
Another Fincher classic. Every technical aspect is perfect. Two hours zips by like two minutes. All characters come across as believable and flawed. A word that's often overused - captivating - actually applies here.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
JordyAtkinsOct 21, 2010
Taken out of perspective of real life, this movie provides everything the average person wants from the cinema experience. to start with it's all about the guy wanting the girl, then as the film progresses it becomes much more than just that,Taken out of perspective of real life, this movie provides everything the average person wants from the cinema experience. to start with it's all about the guy wanting the girl, then as the film progresses it becomes much more than just that, the character evolves, gets mislead and understands everything that is happening to him. When viewing, just remember, this is not facebook, this is an account (overly thought) of how one of our dearly beloved websites came around and the trials that ensued during the past several years. For best experience, please view in a cinema, as i feel you get to feel the characters better than in any other circumstance i can think of. Kind Regards Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Oct 16, 2010
"Social Network is beautifully written filled with spectacular peformance's . that will leave you intrigued and interested till the end , this is truly one of the most memorable and best films of the year , David Fincher directs another"Social Network is beautifully written filled with spectacular peformance's . that will leave you intrigued and interested till the end , this is truly one of the most memorable and best films of the year , David Fincher directs another star-studded film" .. A- Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
s1rudeNov 7, 2010
Doesn't quite pull off its Citizen Kane for the 21st century ambitions, but comes damn close. Sorkin's dialogue can seem trite when dealing with the trivial (Studio 60, hello), but works for matters of real import - and, like it or not, theDoesn't quite pull off its Citizen Kane for the 21st century ambitions, but comes damn close. Sorkin's dialogue can seem trite when dealing with the trivial (Studio 60, hello), but works for matters of real import - and, like it or not, the subject matter here is important to these characters and society alike. Eisenberg is grating as Michael Cera-lite, but here he is allowed to create a layered character and he pulls it off with skill. The rest of the cast is matches him step-for-step, and Fincher continues to prove that he can make any story visually interesting and eminently watchable. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Mar 28, 2011
Why can't people love this over Inception? It's easily a far better movie in so many ways. It may even be countless. I don't care or ever cared if a movie was inaccurate. Do you think that Star Wars actually happened a long time ago? JesseWhy can't people love this over Inception? It's easily a far better movie in so many ways. It may even be countless. I don't care or ever cared if a movie was inaccurate. Do you think that Star Wars actually happened a long time ago? Jesse Eisenberg is so goddamn awesome and everything about this is completely amazing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JamesLOct 9, 2010
This is the best Hollywood mainstream film of the year. The weakest link was me , the viewer who did not know the story. Fincher and Sorkin have created a brilliant film. I really enjoyed the way the story was constructed and the threeThis is the best Hollywood mainstream film of the year. The weakest link was me , the viewer who did not know the story. Fincher and Sorkin have created a brilliant film. I really enjoyed the way the story was constructed and the three cameos. Just as he captured the era in Zodiac, Fincher seems to have captured the first decade of this century. A must see film.. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
KingmushOct 3, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/social-network.html

Obviously I was going to write a review on this movie (as well a lot of people probably). But anyway, I went in knowing this was going to be a great movie, as Metacritic had it as
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/social-network.html

Obviously I was going to write a review on this movie (as well a lot of people probably). But anyway, I went in knowing this was going to be a great movie, as Metacritic had it as a 98 out of 100 after 40 critic reviews. That's amazing. So I go in sort of wanting to find something wrong with it and prove them wrong or something of the sort. Well boy was I wrong. This movie was absolutely amazing. The acting was spot on, Timberlake did a wonderful job much to my surprise and I just love Jesse Eisenburg. The story itself was very captivating and I liked how it had past and present scenes sort of like flash backs to the actual events. If you were going to go see this movie anyway, go see it! If for some stupid reason you weren't because "lawl facebook movie lulz" then quit trying to be pretentious and see it as well. Easily a 5 out of 5.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
conschobharNov 15, 2010
The Social Network is a sleek and entertaining take on the origin story. It is a fresh and original film that succeeds on the back of the enormous talent which it employs on every level. David Fincher directs along with his crack team ofThe Social Network is a sleek and entertaining take on the origin story. It is a fresh and original film that succeeds on the back of the enormous talent which it employs on every level. David Fincher directs along with his crack team of technical experts producing a stunning visual effect. Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross developed a gorgeous soundtrack the works seamlessly with the modern and edgy feel of the film. Aaron Sorkin brings the same level of intelligence here that he brought to the West Wing, crafting a full-bodied and tension filled script that, while occasionally a bit too-clever for its own good, is ultimately a master class adaptation of the source material. And finally, the young actors on display here are extremely promising and well cast, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, and Rooney Mara. With all of these things going for it, The Social Network is hard film to deny. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
BoredatWorkOct 20, 2010
Make sure you bring a friend to this movie. I cant imagine how depressing (and ironic) it would be to watch alone a movie about social networking. Peace out.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Stephchan1901Nov 1, 2010
The Social Network, is a well-oiled machine, its on point and is a very neat monster. It doesn't shy away from the point and it is very well paced, I mean i couldn't believe that this movie was two hours long. Witty, Smart, and veryThe Social Network, is a well-oiled machine, its on point and is a very neat monster. It doesn't shy away from the point and it is very well paced, I mean i couldn't believe that this movie was two hours long. Witty, Smart, and very fascinating to watch the story of how one simple idea can turn into a multi-billion dollar corporation. And i wonder if the Winklevosses have facebook pages. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews