Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 6, 2015
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 317 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
186
Mixed:
84
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
shooterbossFeb 28, 2015
I'd have to say that I was entertained but not as impressed as I was with the first movie. Mostly, the climax of the first film was far better; the supposed tear-jerking moment wasn't as strong on this one.

The animation is probably the
I'd have to say that I was entertained but not as impressed as I was with the first movie. Mostly, the climax of the first film was far better; the supposed tear-jerking moment wasn't as strong on this one.

The animation is probably the film's best shining point. It is a tremendous improvement yet also a nostalgic reflection of the first movie. About 4/5ths of it was 2D while the last fifth was CGI, which surprisingly enough was quite good for the art style.

As for the humor, it's been a long time since I've laughed at a post-season 4 joke. The writers decided to drop on the toilet humor this time, and I'm glad. Having watched Spongebob since season 2, I also appreciated the references they made to earlier episodes, including the reef blower and Squidward's interpretive dancing.
Though the rap battle was a little superfluous in my opinion, Pharell Williams's song "Squeeze Me" was surprisingly catchy. I'm glad I stayed during the credits to hear it.

So, yeah. Bottom line: good animation, good beginning storyline, good jokes, but bad ending. Nonetheless, it was a creative effort, and I have to commend the studio for the improved animation, and I hope there's gonna be a third movie as well.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ToFewViewsJun 22, 2015
The new SpongeBob movie will probably sit close to many peoples hearts, expectantly those who remember the first movie a few years ago witch was received extremely well by fans and movie goers. This new SpongeBob movie is just like the TVThe new SpongeBob movie will probably sit close to many peoples hearts, expectantly those who remember the first movie a few years ago witch was received extremely well by fans and movie goers. This new SpongeBob movie is just like the TV show and keeps lots of the same humor that sneaks in those more adult themed jokes well still keeping it Family oriented. Obviously the story won't be anything special but the humor of how they get from point A to B is what makes this film enjoyable. For those of you who saw the trailer of all the main characters on land in Full CGI and got all excited to see a who movie like that will be sadly disappointed because that is only the last act of the film, It's a good last act but it leaves you wanting more. The animation for the Cartoon and the CGI segments of the film are done extremely well, will little minute details all over. Fans of the old TV or Movie should give this one a chance and I'm sure it's even more enjoyable with some buds and beer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DerekSCriticNov 9, 2018
The last SpongeBob SquarePants film in 2004 was one of the greatest animated films based on a cartoon. However, The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is not that great with the marketing being completely mislead. While the animation looksThe last SpongeBob SquarePants film in 2004 was one of the greatest animated films based on a cartoon. However, The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is not that great with the marketing being completely mislead. While the animation looks great, the story was painfully average, the humor was not as funny, and the characters are not at their best. The biggest flaw has to be the misleading marketing because the trailers will make you think that this film is mostly out of the water, but it turns out that they do not come out of the water until the last 20 minutes of the film. Unfortunately, the live action sequences are not quite as memorable as the 2004 film with SpongeBob and all the other characters being superheroes for most of their screen time outside of the water. Also, the story in the water is not good either and goes nowhere for the characters. Honestly, I could recommend this film to SpongeBob fans, but the previous film from 2004 was much better. This was a very average film that does not hold up well to the last SpongeBob film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryFeb 10, 2015
The animated gang faces a crisis when the recipe for Crabby Cakes goes missing. Their frantic search leads them on land to chase a human pirate (Antonio Bandares). As on the TV show, the cheerful pace never slows, but many of these jokes fallThe animated gang faces a crisis when the recipe for Crabby Cakes goes missing. Their frantic search leads them on land to chase a human pirate (Antonio Bandares). As on the TV show, the cheerful pace never slows, but many of these jokes fall flat. I was hoping to find sly references or double entendres for my grownup sense of humor, but that didn't happen. The kids at the show only laffed out loud 2 or 3 times. While it's upbeat and frantic, not much was original or genuinely funny. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Jun 16, 2015
Is it stupid, yes. Is it childish and annoying, absolutely. Does it at times kill your brain cells, of course. But SpongeBob believe it or not as some funny moments that make you believe for a few minutes that this pretty bad film isn't all that bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
parenterFeb 6, 2015
Dis keik is a lai
jal lai zri confirmed
iluminati qonfirmet
BIBA BEJETA SIETE SIETE SIETEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
5
IMAX500Feb 16, 2015
"Would you hurry up? You're making the movie too long!" This Overlong Movie made a lot of changes as they did in the trailer. I don't think kids could understand if the movie is too long. Then you'll child would say. "it's not long, it's an"Would you hurry up? You're making the movie too long!" This Overlong Movie made a lot of changes as they did in the trailer. I don't think kids could understand if the movie is too long. Then you'll child would say. "it's not long, it's an 93 min Movie." Yeah, right. But good things about it it's Positive, some gags are funny, and Perfect 3D Effects. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sonicheroes123Feb 24, 2015
This film is alright. The jokes are sometimes funny the story is okay and the 1 song is amazing.
Pros: good jokes, 1 good song, story, fight scene at the end.
cons: spongebob and plankton are tortured in the film, most jokes arn't funny,
This film is alright. The jokes are sometimes funny the story is okay and the 1 song is amazing.
Pros: good jokes, 1 good song, story, fight scene at the end.
cons: spongebob and plankton are tortured in the film, most jokes arn't funny, bubbles sucks, super heroes only come in in the last 11 minutes and one of patricks worst apprences to date overall 5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JamejarrsFeb 26, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am, and have always been, a huge fan of Spongebob. I grew up watching the show, and the first movie is one of my favorite movies of all time. And I guess trying to connect this movie with older Spongebob was mistake number one.
The humor in this movie is not grounded in reality, it's what I would call very bizarre. While the first movie's humor was based around Spongebob and Patrick acting ridiculously to life-threatening scenarios, this movie's humor mostly comes from the absurd situations Spongebob finds himself in. It's hit-or-miss, really.
The stakes in the first movie were very real, and the story was more coherent. Plankton steals King Neptune's crown and frames Mr. Krabs so Spongebob and Patrick have to get the crown back before Mr. Krabs is executed. In Sponge Out of Water, the Krabby Patty secret formula is magically stolen, and this causes Bikini Bottom to turn into a dystopia for some reason????? So Spongebob and Plankton go through time and space to make things back to the way they were, but in the end, the whole dystopia is resolved by "Oh, we can take these clothes off!"
I dunno. It wasn't really for me, but I could definitely see other people enjoying it. My friend actually fell asleep by the end of the movie.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
AaronDWassermanJun 26, 2015
This movie is better than the original spongebob movie. But spongebob stopped being enjoyable after the season 5 ish of the tv series, this movie did have some and i mean some funny moments. but ultimately, it was not worth redbox
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianApr 13, 2019
Not very funny, mostly stupidity pretending to be comedy. Story is megadumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
slicshuterMar 27, 2015
They advertise the movie as 'sponge out of water' and show the live action stuff, but in reality they're only on land for about 20-25% of the movie, the rest is all still cartoons and underwater. Nevertheless, still funny and stayed true toThey advertise the movie as 'sponge out of water' and show the live action stuff, but in reality they're only on land for about 20-25% of the movie, the rest is all still cartoons and underwater. Nevertheless, still funny and stayed true to the spongebob style. I just wish they'd advertised the plot properly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesJun 25, 2015
A movie that it would be much better if it weren't so goofy, "The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water" is enough to entertain the kids, but not satisfying enough to appease demanding moviegoers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
thefishslapMar 27, 2017
when ape gorillal & spongehag band to gether witch wish to create the untimalte cambodian salad keeps a certain pink trink under the feet of the adience to trick a the adiencee as a whole head, chopping in any opportuneitty to shine a redwhen ape gorillal & spongehag band to gether witch wish to create the untimalte cambodian salad keeps a certain pink trink under the feet of the adience to trick a the adiencee as a whole head, chopping in any opportuneitty to shine a red twintail of hope for future spongbobm continutations. i've always hated/squanted how a past sponge feeling can dig the crater of a lifetimp into worldwide children's chests, surrendurging before and episodia even repostarts. it's a frozen world, and only the can should help int. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
heathermFeb 17, 2015
The Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is an entertaining watch that feels like one really, really long episode of the cartoon. Many of its jokes feel familiar, in a good way, and there's a good balance of jokes for adults and jokes forThe Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is an entertaining watch that feels like one really, really long episode of the cartoon. Many of its jokes feel familiar, in a good way, and there's a good balance of jokes for adults and jokes for kids. Antonio Banderas was great fun to watch in particular. The gag of having them out of water and as super heroes lasted a little too long for my liking, but everything came to a satisfying cartoony conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spongeswiftFeb 11, 2015
Sponge Out Of Water's joke never registered with me. But it's story was still pleasurable in fun. It took WAY to long for the cast to exit the "water" but when they do it becomes a glorious adventure. Overall this movie was pretty bland andSponge Out Of Water's joke never registered with me. But it's story was still pleasurable in fun. It took WAY to long for the cast to exit the "water" but when they do it becomes a glorious adventure. Overall this movie was pretty bland and forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CriticFerJul 18, 2016
The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is not like me as "a Sequel" for The SpongeBob Squerpants Movie. The real problem are the story had 3 differents acts and it dosen't conect with the story. And some of the new characters are reallyThe SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is not like me as "a Sequel" for The SpongeBob Squerpants Movie. The real problem are the story had 3 differents acts and it dosen't conect with the story. And some of the new characters are really annoying. But it still had that SpongeBob comedy with the return of Hillenburg. And also the animation 2D and 3D are awesome. It just for the most part is 2D and not 3D. Who those one who made the marketing, should be fired. But is still a nice film. I don´t think is great as the frist one, but is just good for my opinon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
nahtan1244Mar 7, 2016
I liked this movie more than I thought i would that does not mean i liked it though. While it was not terrible there are moments I thought should have been left out. This movie is strange to me in that its great in some places but horrible inI liked this movie more than I thought i would that does not mean i liked it though. While it was not terrible there are moments I thought should have been left out. This movie is strange to me in that its great in some places but horrible in others. The movie starts off entertaining with a pirate evading raiders of the lost ark style booby traps and starts reading the story of sponge bob to his band of talking seagulls Then we see a food fight against plankton as he is trying to steel the krabby pattty. The movie is on a good streak all the way until sponge bob loses ammo out of a ketchup bottle and it spurts and sponge bob says excuses me like he farted. What? Then this movie is back on its good streak until spongebob breaks out into a very cheesy song about teamwork. Plankton's running joke about not knowing how to say teamwork felt unnecessary and got old quick. Then the movie is on a good streak until we see the part with bubbles the dolphin who has watched over the planets for 10000 years. He shoots spongbob because he let the planets collide. I thought it was an unnecessary scene. There are other instances where i thought this movie had some unssary scenes but those were just some. However some of the jokes worked and It definitly was better than I thought it was going to be but it could have been way better Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Stargirl04May 15, 2016
It was okay. Nothing spectacular, I usually don't like when they make a tv show a movie but it was still cute for kids. I was a bit distracted when I was watching it because it wasn't keeping my attention but I am a Spongebob fan.. meh
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpsonFansAug 11, 2016
The Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is an entertaining watch that feels like one really, really long episode of the cartoon. Many of its jokes feel familiar, in a good way, and there's a good balance of jokes for adults and jokes forThe Spongebob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is an entertaining watch that feels like one really, really long episode of the cartoon. Many of its jokes feel familiar, in a good way, and there's a good balance of jokes for adults and jokes for kids. Antonio Banderas was great fun to watch in particular. The gag of having them out of water and as super heroes lasted a little too long for my liking, but everything came to a satisfying cartoony conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrunoVn00Jun 2, 2019
Why is this movie called "Sponge out of water"? Is it to make a pun on "Fish out of water"? Because to me it's a really misleading title (with false advertising) as the "Sponge out of water" part lasts only like 20 minutes or less in this 90Why is this movie called "Sponge out of water"? Is it to make a pun on "Fish out of water"? Because to me it's a really misleading title (with false advertising) as the "Sponge out of water" part lasts only like 20 minutes or less in this 90 minute flick.

But is the rest of the movie good?
Not really, this is the reason why I don't like movies based on animated shows, they basically feel like a TV movie or a stretched-out regular episode and this is NO exception. Now this feels like a good Spongebob episode, some jokes are funny and reminiscent of classic Spongebob episodes and I liked that but come on, people are paying to expect something above TV quality. The original Spongebob movie was actually a good movie because it didn't feel like just a longer episode, while this actually does.

This isn't bad, but it's no better than the first one. It's kind of refreshing to see 2D animation in cinema nowadays, by the way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EmtheCriticMay 31, 2019
Pros

1. It’s SpongeBob related, and I LOVE the SpongeBob SquarePants franchise 2. It doesn’t torture Squidward 3. The soundtrack is awesome 4. The underwater scenes have beautiful Animation 5. Plankton wasn’t the villain this time 6. Mr.
Pros

1. It’s SpongeBob related, and I LOVE the SpongeBob SquarePants franchise
2. It doesn’t torture Squidward
3. The soundtrack is awesome
4. The underwater scenes have beautiful Animation
5. Plankton wasn’t the villain this time
6. Mr. Krabs’ Superhero Design looks really cool

Cons

1. Everyone in Bikini Bottom wants to execute/kill SpongeBob. When it’s an obvious fact that not every person living in that city would like eating at the Krusty Krab
2. Bad jokes during the live-action and Animated scenes
3. SpongeBob, Patrick, and Squidward are drawn with exaggerated 6-Packs in their Superhero forms
4. The villain “Burger Beard” sucks, and his name is just misleading and gross
5. Sandy and the others are shown as CGI Cartoons when she first ends up on land with everybody else, even though in the Season 7 episode Rodeo Daze, she is played by a live-action Squirrel!
6. There is a scene where Squidward (as Sour Note), plays his Clarinet loud enough to get the kids to leave the area, and when they first see the Main Characters in Live-Action they freak out. But if I saw them in live-action, I’d be all like “Hey SpongeBob, can I get your Autograph?” since he is my FAVOURITE CARTOON CHARACTER!!!
7. The trope of the Main Characters turning into Superheroes (which is fine in this movie, but I’m never a fan of overused tropes...)
8. Squidward doesn’t enough screentime in the film despite being a central character, and Rodger Bumpass (his voice actor) sounds like he doesn’t care. Along with him having uninteresting dialogue
9. No Character Development, as they remain the same at the end of the movie

In conclusion...I have highly mixed feelings on this Movie, but I mostly seem to dislike it. But then again, I can still find the fun in watching it and Bubbles is okay!

- Em
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FlippinSnip3rJun 22, 2020
my expectations were high after watching the trailer, and the movie dissapointed me alot, had i not watched that misleading piece of junk of a trailer, i would have given a 7 or an 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Banjo-RevieweeJul 3, 2019
This one is dumb as all hell, watching this film on the big screen was like toxic brain rot. Much like the newer Spongebob television episodes this movie is absolutely brainless and thus best enjoyed while not really paying any attention toThis one is dumb as all hell, watching this film on the big screen was like toxic brain rot. Much like the newer Spongebob television episodes this movie is absolutely brainless and thus best enjoyed while not really paying any attention to it, which is paradoxical to actually watching something. The plot shifts all over the place wildly and feels rushed. The out of water part is the very end of the film too, which I mistook as this film being a superhero movie parody, but parody is just far to clever for this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews