thinkfilm | Release Date: August 3, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
6
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
HughieAug 1, 2007
Uneven, but lots of fun, especially the last segment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Aug 4, 2007
Hilarious sh*t. If you even remotely liked The State or Wet Hot American Summer, you'll be rolling in this thing. To the uninitiated who wants the typical comedy pap that Hollywood Studios churns out like drones, you won't like Hilarious sh*t. If you even remotely liked The State or Wet Hot American Summer, you'll be rolling in this thing. To the uninitiated who wants the typical comedy pap that Hollywood Studios churns out like drones, you won't like this. On the other hand, if you want something a little different, a little off-color, a little dangerous, this is the ticket. I was in pain I was laughing so hard. Why not a "10"? In the true tradition of experimental humor, some of the jokes don't land squarely, but even when they don't, you'll applaud D. Wain's effort. And Gretchen Mol..... damn, kiki, she's amazing. Her segments are incredibly good, esp the bit on taking the lord's name in vain. you'll see. This is the biggest no-brainer choice of the summer. Take it from this Metacritic Advance Scout - if you've got a sense of humor, you'll love this. And that's not a goof. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArthurC.Aug 10, 2007
This is one of those comedies where the funny stuff is so outrageously funny that the minute misfires go completely unnoticed. I think you have to be a State fan to appreciate it. The "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Wife" skit This is one of those comedies where the funny stuff is so outrageously funny that the minute misfires go completely unnoticed. I think you have to be a State fan to appreciate it. The "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Wife" skit (with a plethora of rape jokes) as well as the "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Goods" are two of the funniest things I've seen all year. The weak animation, and the sluggish "Thou Shalt Not Steal" skit are the low points. But bonus points to some very funny narration from Paul Rudd. The guy needs his own movie some day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacquesR.Aug 4, 2007
David Wain & Ken Marino are geniuses. It was great seeing them last Saturday night at the Nuart for the Wet Hot American Summer midnight show. Their Q & A had me rolling, but not as much as this movie did. You'd be a fool for not seeing David Wain & Ken Marino are geniuses. It was great seeing them last Saturday night at the Nuart for the Wet Hot American Summer midnight show. Their Q & A had me rolling, but not as much as this movie did. You'd be a fool for not seeing this. These blowhard critics above who think the movie is blasphemous are completely humorless. Let them go see Hot Rod or Who's Your Caddy or whatever other benign milquetoast "comedy" is out there. I'll probably see this 3 or 4 more times, depending on how long it stays at the Landmark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshB.Aug 5, 2007
Weird but funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkAug 19, 2007
Very funny - Winona Ryder is fantastic in this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregB.Aug 4, 2007
I was blown away by this movie - I wasn't familiar with a lot of the people involved and honestly wasn't expecting much. It's hilarious, like laughing so hard your stomach hurts from beginning to end hilarious. Haven't I was blown away by this movie - I wasn't familiar with a lot of the people involved and honestly wasn't expecting much. It's hilarious, like laughing so hard your stomach hurts from beginning to end hilarious. Haven't seen a movie this funny in a long long time. Smart, inventive, and entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitB.Aug 5, 2007
The humor in this movie is so off the wall it makes 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show" look like a documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidneyJ.Aug 7, 2007
"The Ten' really is amazing. The humor really does take some getting used to but when I saw it a second time (i've seen it three times now, already) I could not stop laughing! Wain and Marino have, again, produced their own brand "The Ten' really is amazing. The humor really does take some getting used to but when I saw it a second time (i've seen it three times now, already) I could not stop laughing! Wain and Marino have, again, produced their own brand of comedy that is unlike any of the other crap that has been shoved into movie theaters for the past several years. This is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful