Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 30, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 339 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
210
Mixed:
64
Negative:
65
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RobAug 8, 2004
Is it possible to give a movie a negative score? Cause this one didnt even deserve a 0. It was by far the worst movie i have ever seen. Slow, boring, not scary AT ALL. If your going to advertise a movie as a scare fest....then you better Is it possible to give a movie a negative score? Cause this one didnt even deserve a 0. It was by far the worst movie i have ever seen. Slow, boring, not scary AT ALL. If your going to advertise a movie as a scare fest....then you better come through. OVERALL CRAP Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AmyNozomiOct 26, 2011
The plot was good enough, but the script was horrible and the acting was mediocre. At times the script gave me a headache! It was a pathetic attempt to make the actors speak as if they were in the 19th century.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
AlledmanJul 3, 2013
Boring. Pretentious. Slow. All words that describe this travesty of a movie. The biggest problem with The Village is that it tries so obviously hard to be smart, and that everyone involved thinks they're being really clever. The sad truth is,Boring. Pretentious. Slow. All words that describe this travesty of a movie. The biggest problem with The Village is that it tries so obviously hard to be smart, and that everyone involved thinks they're being really clever. The sad truth is, they aren't. And what the hell was that ending? Really, guys? THAT"S the best you've got? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
annbdSep 29, 2018
Poor story and script, underdeveloped idea and plot, unfinished and not so interesting. I hate describing film as 'boring', but sometimes that's the word. The Village is boring. Some plot scenes would have been much more impacting, likePoor story and script, underdeveloped idea and plot, unfinished and not so interesting. I hate describing film as 'boring', but sometimes that's the word. The Village is boring. Some plot scenes would have been much more impacting, like revealing the big secret of the village or red, not real creature dead in the woods or meeting with people from the town. From such movies you see and learn of the importance of directing and how it affects the whole movie. Because of the lack good directing 'The Village' fails to impact and to be liked by the audience, although there is potential. Points for idea, story and acting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
PatrickM.Jul 31, 2004
Can Shyamalan still be called an "it" director? Let's face it that other than "Sixth Sense", his other two (now three) have been utterly disappointing. Especially this one, that lacked any kind of energy or intrigue. The twist at the Can Shyamalan still be called an "it" director? Let's face it that other than "Sixth Sense", his other two (now three) have been utterly disappointing. Especially this one, that lacked any kind of energy or intrigue. The twist at the end as was already pointed out was obvious. Everything in the movie was done in a nauseating vague manner...... The costumes laughable. The direction was very good, but the script was cumbersome at best. Adrian Brody played a crazy village guy for some reason and Joaquin Phoenix played that character that doesnt seem to want to speak, but then gets coaxed into it. All the elders seemed cardboard. I would bet there was more violin than dialogue. And just a suggestion to M Night: how about trying to make the monsters look somewhat realistic? I nearly fell out of my seat with laughter at the aliens in "Signs" and trust me, very little improvement in this one. Was this a comedy? No, a disappointing movie by an overrated director. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ananymousJul 23, 2006
i did like how the story twisted but i didn't like how it turned out. this movie could have been a lot better if it didn't end up like it did. I did think that it was good at the beginning butwhen I found out that the creatures in i did like how the story twisted but i didn't like how it turned out. this movie could have been a lot better if it didn't end up like it did. I did think that it was good at the beginning butwhen I found out that the creatures in the forest were adults in costumes I was dissapointed. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
JonMar 4, 2006
i gave it a 3 because at least its a movie, but in short. It sucked. no plot no storyline.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LegalsNov 8, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was by far one of the **** horror movies of all time. It amazes me how it has a higher score than better grossing and interesting movies such as the Saw series. A good movie isn't watching a blind woman getting scared due to village people. Honestly, are todays movies critics blind? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
absurdioJun 9, 2012
This movie falls completely under the same category as every M. N. S. -film. Total and utter nonsense. The director continually tries to mystify and over-intellectualise banal drivel. There is so much suspension of disbelief needed in thisThis movie falls completely under the same category as every M. N. S. -film. Total and utter nonsense. The director continually tries to mystify and over-intellectualise banal drivel. There is so much suspension of disbelief needed in this film - as in all of them, that you have to be a brainwashed fanatic not to notice how nothing happens for large amounts of time, how the director always fails to get inside his characters' heads, and how silly, childish and pompous his plotlines are. And still Shamalayan tries to convince us he has a "hidden, deeper message" underlying it all. The message is clear: Steer wide of this waste of your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
The Village began Shyamalan's fall as a director. The Village tries so hard to be something more than what it already is but its sloppily directed and has more "why" then scares.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
S.S.Sep 14, 2005
Good actors and well-filmed, but a truly goofy plot makes for a predictable and boring time-waster by the Shyster. Bergman he ain't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RottenC.Aug 5, 2006
Unbearbly lame, unwatchable tripe; one of the worst "films" I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Louis'sbrotherApr 16, 2007
For all you people who were dissmayed at the fact that it wasn't really a thriller, I know how you feel. When I first go the chance to see this movie, was expecting at-the-edge-of-your-seat thrilling events like monster killing or mass For all you people who were dissmayed at the fact that it wasn't really a thriller, I know how you feel. When I first go the chance to see this movie, was expecting at-the-edge-of-your-seat thrilling events like monster killing or mass murder. But nooooooo, the only slightly exciting parts were in the previews, which in my opinon, was better than the actual movie. The rest of it is just everyday life for people in the 18th century. What I hated the most was the ending. What they say is an , "Astonishing" truth is, in actuallity a big dissapointment. The only money this movie made is a product of flavored false advertising. Don't see the movie and from now on don't entirely trust previews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobA.Jan 13, 2006
Shyamalan seems to officially be more interested in tricking us, than scaring us, which is a shame, considering he's much more apt at the latter. The first 30 minutes (the scary part) produces some of the same quality scares as Signs. Shyamalan seems to officially be more interested in tricking us, than scaring us, which is a shame, considering he's much more apt at the latter. The first 30 minutes (the scary part) produces some of the same quality scares as Signs. The last 30 minutes (the tricky part) are more than obvious and filled with the depth of a junior high writing assignment. The movie is well made with superb cinematography and music, and M. Night continues to prove he's an apt director. But one in need of a screenwriter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DaniellaH.Jun 13, 2006
Terrible! Supposed to be a thriller? Was it heck it wasnt the least bit thrilling! Sure the twist was slightly clever but ever so predictable and made the movie less scart. It was more funny than anything especially the "magic rocks" and Terrible! Supposed to be a thriller? Was it heck it wasnt the least bit thrilling! Sure the twist was slightly clever but ever so predictable and made the movie less scart. It was more funny than anything especially the "magic rocks" and sending some blind girl across a forest and over a wall and into a town just for some medicene! its just stupid! Why not send one of the "elders" they know the secret and they can see! A complete waste of my time!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SeanP.Feb 19, 2007
Yes, believe the reviews. It's a stinker. The reason I'm even bothering to vote is 'cause I noticed James Beraldinelli's review. From what i can remember, this is the only movie he liked that I absolutely hated. Interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyMar 18, 2007
Just horrible. It thinks it's clever but it's just lazy in coming up with a tricky ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
An absolutely anticlimactic disappointment. Even with strong leading roles and a great score, it falls so many times and leaves you with a depressing sense of cinematic displeasure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Apr 3, 2012
This undeniably talented writer-director M Night Shyamalan has been repeating himself with steadily decreasing movies and his latest does nothing to buck the trend. Add on top of that the ending was extremely disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FranzHcriticJan 21, 2015
It's main problem is that it's incomprehensible. And the ending was so typical of Shyamalan that it fails at what it is. It just becomes muddled and puzzling. In the end, it's also highly implausible. The 'Sixth Sense' turns out, not only toIt's main problem is that it's incomprehensible. And the ending was so typical of Shyamalan that it fails at what it is. It just becomes muddled and puzzling. In the end, it's also highly implausible. The 'Sixth Sense' turns out, not only to be more exciting and engaging, but more plausible than 'The Village'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxOct 29, 2020
Je l’avais vu il y a un bout de temps et je ne m’en souvenais pas bien… le seul truc dont je me souviens à vrai dire, c’est… que c’était chiant. Très chiant. Il y a un autre bout de temps, je l’ai enregistré à la télé quand ils l’on repassé,Je l’avais vu il y a un bout de temps et je ne m’en souvenais pas bien… le seul truc dont je me souviens à vrai dire, c’est… que c’était chiant. Très chiant. Il y a un autre bout de temps, je l’ai enregistré à la télé quand ils l’on repassé, puis je l’ai laissé là. Je cherchais à motiver mon motivateur de regardage de films daubés ou fortement pressentis comme tels… puis comme par un mauvais hasard, j’ai appuyé sur la lecture du film que l’on pressent et appréhende plus ou moins fortement daubé !

Et ça n’a pas fait un pli lors de ce revisionnage, car « Le Village » est indéniablement chiant et progresse péniblement comme une tortue retraitée ; non seulement, il est chiant mais il est aussi incroyablement nul à chier malgré une distribution agréable. Et en plus de ça, la révélation, l’espèce d’explication qui fait office de rebondissement révélateur, s’avère finalement incroyablement ridicule et pas crédible une seconde…

Certes, on sait que Shyamalan aime les thèmes étranges et les pseudo-histoires qui vont avec mais tout de même, que c’est maladroit et bancal ! du début à la fin mais à la fin, c’est encore pire ; il n’y a pas à tortiller, « Le Village » est un film toujours aussi nul à chier, tellement nul à chier que s’il n’était pas un film mais un rouleau de pet-cul, on pourrait (au moins) se torcher le cul avec !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
amheretojudgeNov 7, 2019
Bryce Dallas Howard is a gem. It's fine if you don't buy it, just watch her and Joaquin Phoenix share their childhood.

The Village M. Night Shyamalan, the writer and director, over the years has managed to create his own followers, fans
Bryce Dallas Howard is a gem. It's fine if you don't buy it, just watch her and Joaquin Phoenix share their childhood.

The Village

M. Night Shyamalan, the writer and director, over the years has managed to create his own followers, fans with a specific voice and taste. Now I might not be strongly one of the members of the elite group but his grammar is something I understand and occasionally fall for. And this is what I love the most about his films. It is not something that actually makes you think or makes your head spin with jaw dropping visuals, what it is, is a slow burn and what it does is make you fall for it, slowly, like falling in love. It could happen within two hours or just an instant. And his films does spiral out, does advance in a way that every scene lacks a missing puzzle.

And it is always that one missing puzzle. So it can happen that you can fall in that one moment. But this one works somewhat different than his usual films. In fact it works in the opposite direction. Usually his film starts somewhere in the middle of the desert and then finds a proper track as it ages. The film ages and things start to make sense as every element falls into places. What we have here is outrageously arrogant.

Yes, I understand that the storyline asks for the film to make sense, have correct order from the first stage and it also asks for the chaos to flood in and upset the expected outcomes. But when the film shines the light on the hidden matter, where it is anticipated to check off all the avant garde activity into certain mannerisms, the film keeps that vacant and us, strangely alone in the middle of the woods. The Village could not be more isolated, it makes sure you feel the same way after you've had its tour.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FilipeNetoJun 29, 2018
This film tells of a small village where people live as they did a hundred years ago and totally isolated from the rest of the world, fearing nameless creatures that live in the surrounding forest. This idea seems something worthy of a horrorThis film tells of a small village where people live as they did a hundred years ago and totally isolated from the rest of the world, fearing nameless creatures that live in the surrounding forest. This idea seems something worthy of a horror movie and it could have been taken of that way, but no. Night Shyamalan decided to play with one thing: the idea that cities are the source of society's corruption. The whole movie revolves around this, which is to say that you have almost no story. It starts well, manages to create a good atmosphere and I quickly realized that there is something rotten in that village. But the absence of a strong main plot, capable of sustaining the film, causes it to lose its rhythm and crawl through uninteresting subplots, created to "fill the sausage" with anything that would justify it to the end. And even the ending was disappointing, as I expected something stronger and more dramatic, something that would make everything worth it.

Positive things? Yes! The actors did a good job, as far as they were allowed. Few stood out because there was little to do and little to work with. Adrien Brody managed to do it, although his character is poor and Bryce Dallas Howard was the actress who appeared and shone, but was not always the most positive. There are moments when her performance is quite forced. The scenarios were well made, the use of the forest was intelligent, cinematography was good as was the use of colors. But is anyone going to see a movie just for that? Of course not. Anyone who wants a good story will not like this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews