Walt Disney Pictures | Release Date: November 8, 2013
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1161 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
858
Mixed:
217
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
cell989Nov 8, 2013
Thor 2 is a huge improvement over Thor 1. Everything about this movie excelled my expectations, The action is truly epic, its a lot more brutal and darker. the Villain was done properly!! finally Marvel!! Malekeith is brutal, heartless, and aThor 2 is a huge improvement over Thor 1. Everything about this movie excelled my expectations, The action is truly epic, its a lot more brutal and darker. the Villain was done properly!! finally Marvel!! Malekeith is brutal, heartless, and a force to be reckon with, his personal bodyguard gave Thor some much needed challenge. Loki is brilliant as always, the movie rarely slows down and the action has a great pace, it has some cheesy moments with awkward humor, but does not distract from the overall experience. Thor uses all his powers and the effects are superb. DO NOT MISS THE BEGINNING CREDITS AND THE POST CREDITS SCENES.

PS: dat shape shifting cameo, genius
Expand
28 of 39 users found this helpful2811
All this user's reviews
2
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
This movie is terrible, I am really unable to understand how anyone likes this. From the antagonist to the main lead (they should've cast a slice of bread instead and still no one would've noticed), this isn't even half the movie that theThis movie is terrible, I am really unable to understand how anyone likes this. From the antagonist to the main lead (they should've cast a slice of bread instead and still no one would've noticed), this isn't even half the movie that the first one was (which I actually liked). The movie is boring and really shows how overrated the marvel brand name has become. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
4
OrangeknockoutNov 9, 2013
i guess this movie being bad or good completely depends on the person's opinion on the matter because it looks like everyone seemed to enjoy this movie; i for one disliked it; why you ask? because this movie failed to excite me or keep me oni guess this movie being bad or good completely depends on the person's opinion on the matter because it looks like everyone seemed to enjoy this movie; i for one disliked it; why you ask? because this movie failed to excite me or keep me on the edge of my seat; thor tries so hard to be intense, epic, and funny and the same time! what thor fails to realize though is that if you try to be funny then you ruin the intensity of the action youre trying to aim for; the epicness was cobbled down by all these comedic one liners the cast shouts out every 5 minutes; thats fine and all if youre trying to be a funny movie; but this movie is trying to get you worried about villians trying to take over the galaxy but when youre laughing the whole time, the worryment tends to fade away; case in point, this movie didnt know what it was trying to be; the movie spouts off in all sorts of different directions and fails to establish itself strongly in a style

case in point, this movie failed to excite me, the villains were forgettable, the plot was uninteresting due to lack of explanation of whats going on; lack of character developement, lack of acting and attachment to the characters,this movie has so much going wrong with it

the only thing keeping me from giving this movie a 0 was the CG effects and thor's brother; thor's brother was like the only character that stood out from the rest; he carried a persona and executed it well through his style
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
3
StriderKiwiNov 11, 2013
Liked the first one even with it's somewhat lackluster second half but Thor 2 isn't very impressive. The majority of the movie is people talking most of the dialogue isn't really engaging nor important. The scenes with Loki are the highlightLiked the first one even with it's somewhat lackluster second half but Thor 2 isn't very impressive. The majority of the movie is people talking most of the dialogue isn't really engaging nor important. The scenes with Loki are the highlight as is the last fightscene but everything else is pretty bland. The rest of the fightscenes are boring and the while the villain, Maliketh is very intimidating, he along with most of the movie is pretty generic. Save your money for Winter Soldier, Days of Future Past and Avengers 2. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Aug 14, 2015
Just like its boring predecessor, "Thor: The Dark World" is filled with heavy-handed sub-par action, dialogue, and performances. Probably the weakest series in the Marvel universe by far.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
iamDec 18, 2013
Terribilmente noioso, film blockbuster con poche idee più complicate che complesse, con un cattivo che non fa paura, con una trama prevedibilissima, senza anima e senza emozioni.
Personaggi privi di risvolti psicologici. Da dimenticare il
Terribilmente noioso, film blockbuster con poche idee più complicate che complesse, con un cattivo che non fa paura, con una trama prevedibilissima, senza anima e senza emozioni.
Personaggi privi di risvolti psicologici. Da dimenticare il prima possibile.
Si spera che Sir Philip Anthony Hopkins faccia altri film in modo da non chiudere la sua carriera cinematografica con questo film.
Saccheggio maldestro di alcuni temi del Signore degli Anelli, film di tutt'altro calibro.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
raviopatraNov 27, 2013
For me, the first movie was more enjoyable. The Dark World has potentials but failed to deliver a convincing act and dialogue. The jokes are often on-point, but some are too much. The production is also a little bit all over the place and IFor me, the first movie was more enjoyable. The Dark World has potentials but failed to deliver a convincing act and dialogue. The jokes are often on-point, but some are too much. The production is also a little bit all over the place and I can't really enjoy the one and a half hour spent seeing the whole movie. It did entertain me, but not to the point where I'd happily give out at least a 7 or an 8. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
fab792Dec 2, 2013
Seen it yesterday very poor movie ,plot and very poor actor I sometimes enjoyed some scenes especially the big battles and thor sequences but that's it you will forget this movie very soon
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
dawen2010Dec 2, 2013
the jokes in it are not funny. The movie starts to get boring from the beginning. I heard the last few scenes are saved by the director of The Avengers, which are the only interesting parts in this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
masseyJan 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half of the film was very boring and did NOTHING to engage the audience. The film only really picked up just before Loki was broken out of his cell by Thor. Characters (apart from Loki) were bland and extremely boring, Malekith was terrible, the Aether just seemed like another Tesseract, his army were a little too similar to the Chitari for my liking and may as well have just been Storm Troopers and the whole "turning the entire universe into darkness" plot line seemed too cliché.

Special effects were special. What was with the weird colour scheme used and the blurry backgrounds? It looked like something out of 300. Asgard still looked nice.

I enjoyed seeing Loki and Thor team-up but Thor's action sequences on his own weren't that good. The final battle was a little too reminiscent of the IM3 final battle for my liking; Thor jumping into different worlds/Tony jumping into different Iron Man suits.

So, this film is only really good enough because of Loki. If it wasn't for the character and his excellent portrayal by Tom Hiddleston, this film would most likely get a 3/10. If you want to know what happens in the film because you want to catch up with the Marvel Cinematic Universe, just read the plot online and maybe watch a montage of the best Loki moments in the film.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
JarodyFeb 11, 2016
Thor: the dark world is the sequel to Thor, and the first Mcu sequel to a character other than iron man. Firstly the action is pretty amazing, as well as the fight scenes. The acting and cast are good, and the comedy was right on point. AsThor: the dark world is the sequel to Thor, and the first Mcu sequel to a character other than iron man. Firstly the action is pretty amazing, as well as the fight scenes. The acting and cast are good, and the comedy was right on point. As well, the character development between Thor and Loki was the highlight of the film. However, this movie has many problems. Firstly the character from the first movie that was annoying, became twice as annoying. Not only that but the over-complicated plot line is very hard to follow and by the end you don't really know what was going on. The villain is yet again boring and underdeveloped and many of the scenes in the film make no sense. Altogether Thor: the dark world is the weakest of the Mcu films and possibly the least important. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
thanosNov 11, 2013
This movie was more soap opera than action adventure and there was way too much comedy. All in all it was pretty boring with only 15-20 minutes of action. There is too much time spent on Jane Foster, Sif, Loki and his family issues, and theThis movie was more soap opera than action adventure and there was way too much comedy. All in all it was pretty boring with only 15-20 minutes of action. There is too much time spent on Jane Foster, Sif, Loki and his family issues, and the nutty doctor and assistant. One of the major scenes is stolen straight out of Batman and the final scene is silly to say the least. It was a major disappointment and even the end credit scenes were weak. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LetoAtreides82Nov 10, 2013
Big improvement in every way over the first one but not perfect yet. The one thing I felt could definitely be improved on are the battles, I felt they were rather lackluster, especially the final battle. The soundtrack, the story, theBig improvement in every way over the first one but not perfect yet. The one thing I felt could definitely be improved on are the battles, I felt they were rather lackluster, especially the final battle. The soundtrack, the story, the settings, and the costumes were very impressive, and this movie is much funnier than the first one but in a good way, the humor doesn't distract from the seriousness of the situation and helps keep the audience awake. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawNov 11, 2013
A crammed cinema-going for the weekend is a belated diversion since not too much going on for the past month in the burgeoning Chinese market. The chapter one THOR (2011, 5/10) and the mega-amalgam THE AVENGERS (2012, 5/10) didn’t lure meA crammed cinema-going for the weekend is a belated diversion since not too much going on for the past month in the burgeoning Chinese market. The chapter one THOR (2011, 5/10) and the mega-amalgam THE AVENGERS (2012, 5/10) didn’t lure me into Thor’s fan base, but this sequel does boost the franchise’s morals by further intermingling the epic apocalypse between the vast Gods’ realm and the puny but ego-maniacal earth, saw it in its over-charged 3D version (nearly impossible to find a 2D screening nearby), THOR: THE DARK WORLD is a massive crowd-pleaser, terrific art production and the trappings of a Marvel vehicle, shrewdly fictionalizes the love-and-hatred bromance between Thor and Loki, which is much hyped as the dominant draw for this action-packed escapade.

There is darkness before the birth of the universe, so as to against the plot of Malekith (Eccleston) to utilize an amorphous weapon called Aether to set the universe back into pitch-blackness, Thor (Hemsworth) has to team up with Loki (Hiddleston) to rescue his earth girlfriend Jane (Portman) who has been infected by Aether and being pursed by Malekith and his toadies, notably, a mutated fiend Algrim (Akinnuoye-Agbaje).

Whiling the most entertaining part comes the polarized tenors of the Asgard kingdom and the contemporary earth, one is solemn, majestic, atavistic and Shakespearean (thanks to Kenneth Branagh for setting the tone in THOR 2011) and the other (this time the locale is an overcast London) is glossy, modern, farcical and doomed to be pulverized. The spectacles are generally gratifying and on a par with the earlier IRON MAN 3 (2013, 6/10) to say the least.

Wonderful comic relief from the earthbound trio, Dennings, Skarsgård and Howard plus a surprising cameo by O’Dowd. Hemsworth and Portman are predictably playing the hero and his fearless girlfriend-in-danger default while Hiddleston easily grabs all the attention by influencing meatier character development, more ambiguous in his stance and a timely twist in the end can suffice to ignite fans’ passion to the next installment, or maybe a Loki-based spin-off which will be more intriguing and anti-trend in its own way. By any means it is a solid sequel which inherits the merits from its predecessor and put more verve into its gods vs. mortals contradiction, director Alan Taylor has well handled a hot potato, next step, sit and wait for CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER (2014) coming this upcoming April.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
starscream97Nov 11, 2013
It has to be hard for the people making these phase two movies to make a movie that works as both a sequel to a previous movie, and as a follow-up to the avengers which is exactly the problem that I had with iron man 3. The Dark WorldIt has to be hard for the people making these phase two movies to make a movie that works as both a sequel to a previous movie, and as a follow-up to the avengers which is exactly the problem that I had with iron man 3. The Dark World however is a perfect example of how that can be done right with a good story, a cool villain (in my opinion), a lot of jokes (maybe a bit to many) and awesome action scenes. The cast is given a bit more to do this time around especially character like Frigga and Heimdall, but the standout here is obviously Loki. My only complaints are that it's a bit too short and the plot doesn't really get going until about halfway in. Still, this is a great movie and a fantastic addition to the MCU. P.S. Remember to stay after the credits! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeFeb 15, 2014
I begin by saying in a simple line, this sequel was just okay for me. I did not find any awesomeness in it or any mind blowing scenes. The first movie was quite interested me because of a new actor, new superhero character and the birth ofI begin by saying in a simple line, this sequel was just okay for me. I did not find any awesomeness in it or any mind blowing scenes. The first movie was quite interested me because of a new actor, new superhero character and the birth of the new franchise from Marvel studio. All together with a mythical Greek character in a modern world, it was something that hit me. Just a few months back, I praised Hemsworth for his best ever performance in the biographical picture 'Rush'. Here he has fallen back to okay kinda performance. The movie was nothing special, but a decent entertainment. Technically, it was rich in visuals with good graphics, no one must dare to doubt it. My problem was the story which followed the usual fantasy movie protocol. One of the disappointment from 2013, completely a commercial purpose behind its creation and production. Yeah, all the movie are but this one is very much visible. So in my opinion, it is one time watch movie.

6.5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
NathonasMay 1, 2014
This is my least favorite marvel film after Iron Man 3. The great villain is unfortunately completely wasted on this very dry, stereotypical, by the numbers film. There is too much humor, and even the action looks boring and uninspired. TheThis is my least favorite marvel film after Iron Man 3. The great villain is unfortunately completely wasted on this very dry, stereotypical, by the numbers film. There is too much humor, and even the action looks boring and uninspired. The final sequence is one of the worst of any action film I've seen. It feels like nothing of this matters, including the characters. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
vpandeNov 9, 2013
To be perfectly honest a lot of the first half of this movie left me lost and not caring to know too much of what was going on, especially as the dark elves and their plans for world/universal destruction seemed more of a requirement ratherTo be perfectly honest a lot of the first half of this movie left me lost and not caring to know too much of what was going on, especially as the dark elves and their plans for world/universal destruction seemed more of a requirement rather than a plot with real motivation behind it.

But all throughout the movie there's plenty of humor, Natalie Portman is a far better superhero love interest than Iron Man's Pepper Potts and when push comes to shove, Thor in action does remind me a lot of Superman (not just because of the cape). That's a personal preference of mine but the character and the movie stand on their own merit mainly because of the second half of the movie where the action is pretty well done and holds your interest.

Not a fan of the shock/twist ending with Loki. Thought the ending would have been better with him left to the fate we all thought he succumbed to.

But still, a good movie and a far better follow up to the first Thor than Iron Man 2 was to the first in that series.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrEpic012Nov 17, 2013
Better Than The First Thor Due to A Engaging Plot, Fun Characters, Humor, Action, SFX, And More but One Thing I Though Was A Little Eh Is The Shoehorned Side-Plot Of Darcy And Ian (Her Intern).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
francisrgoNov 8, 2013
A very fun and high energy movie. Kat Dennings and Tom Hiddleston is what really made the movie. Dennings gave such a great comic relief and glad that she has more presence than the first movie. Hiddleston as Loki is the best casting, I don'tA very fun and high energy movie. Kat Dennings and Tom Hiddleston is what really made the movie. Dennings gave such a great comic relief and glad that she has more presence than the first movie. Hiddleston as Loki is the best casting, I don't really think anyone can do better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
fuulveNov 26, 2013
Thor 2 as second as Second hand. I hope this year is not over I will see probably action movie with an idea or sense! They have shooting a movie which are soulless.
begging your pardon, but I suggest not to see this movie unless you want
Thor 2 as second as Second hand. I hope this year is not over I will see probably action movie with an idea or sense! They have shooting a movie which are soulless.
begging your pardon, but I suggest not to see this movie unless you want waist your time.
You will see nothing original.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KorgarathNov 12, 2013
I'm not sure why the critics reviewed this poorly, maybe I'm missing the point but this movie had everything you'd come to expect from a great Marvel adventure. Great twists, "did that REALLY just happen" moments, fantastic action, humour,I'm not sure why the critics reviewed this poorly, maybe I'm missing the point but this movie had everything you'd come to expect from a great Marvel adventure. Great twists, "did that REALLY just happen" moments, fantastic action, humour, top notch visual effects and Asgard looks more impressive than ever. Ok, some of the acting is a little weak in parts but that's more than made up for by the rest. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MasayoshiNov 12, 2013
This movie was extremely well done especially considering it had to live up to its big brother, The Avengers. This movie was way more action packed and comedy filled than the first one. In the beginning it did admittedly seem to drag on butThis movie was extremely well done especially considering it had to live up to its big brother, The Avengers. This movie was way more action packed and comedy filled than the first one. In the beginning it did admittedly seem to drag on but at the 35 minute it began to really hit home. Personally I'm more of a Loki fan myself and anyone agreeing with me does get a fair share of Loki in this movie, supplying lots of comic relief and even some parody! I recommend anyone that enjoys action movies such as The Avengers, Iron Man or even Hulk to to go see Thor right away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ConjureMar 1, 2014
I liked the first Thor but this one was a total failure.

The plot to this movie is as thin as an 80 Yr Old Pair of Underwear that has been worn by a homeless dude for the past quarter century. I mean thin. The beginning was difficult to
I liked the first Thor but this one was a total failure.

The plot to this movie is as thin as an 80 Yr Old Pair of Underwear that has been worn by a homeless dude for the past quarter century.

I mean thin. The beginning was difficult to understand. I even attempted to use closed captioning to get the drift of the beginning.

The only redeeming features of the movie were Loki and the two subcharacters who worked for Jane Foster.

It sounded like Chris Hemsworth just graduated from Woolloomooloo Grammar given his thick Aussie accent (which was not as pronounced in the first movie).
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
vikesh2206Nov 7, 2014
Derivative as it is, a charismatic cast, witty dialogue and Loki saves Thor: The Dark World from being just a gala of special effects destroying the universe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DJYepesMay 19, 2015
this movie is awesome, all the thing in this movie are badass, I want more of thor and loki
I give the movie an 9.5 out of 10................. the marvel cinematic universe is awesome
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
YellowKirbyNov 25, 2015
Okay, so I enjoyed the first Thor film. I thought the way they executed Thor's fish-out-of-water story was very well done, and Tom Hiddleston's Loki was excellent as a villain. but this forced sequel had some enjoyable moments (mainly fromOkay, so I enjoyed the first Thor film. I thought the way they executed Thor's fish-out-of-water story was very well done, and Tom Hiddleston's Loki was excellent as a villain. but this forced sequel had some enjoyable moments (mainly from Loki, again), but also a slightly underdeveloped villain and a strange, confusing premise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 9, 2015
Not quite as good as the first but still enjoyable. Malekith seems to get a lot of hate as a villain but I thought he was pretty cool. There IS a bit too much CGI but it's a superhero movie so what else can you expect? Plus, the movie seesNot quite as good as the first but still enjoyable. Malekith seems to get a lot of hate as a villain but I thought he was pretty cool. There IS a bit too much CGI but it's a superhero movie so what else can you expect? Plus, the movie sees the return of Loki, Marvel's equivalent to the Joker and he's more badass than ever before. There are quite a few laughs to be had as well as thrills plus, a teaser for the best MCU movie ever-Guardians of the Galaxy! I definitely preferred the first but I liked this one anyway. It's fun! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
Thor: The Dark World is pretty to look at and while enjoyable too, Marvel brings us another Thor movie to pull us out of our seats. I'm like pretty sure the next installment could do a lot better though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MovieLover123Jul 17, 2016
Marvel Studios STOP ruining Thor for future generations! Just stop! Again we have yet another MCU title with no intelligent plot, a terribly weak villain and no character development. All comic-book lovers should consider boycotting theseMarvel Studios STOP ruining Thor for future generations! Just stop! Again we have yet another MCU title with no intelligent plot, a terribly weak villain and no character development. All comic-book lovers should consider boycotting these movies until Feige gets his **** together. Overall, this movie will be forgotten in T-minus one second. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews