GKIDS | Release Date: September 5, 2014
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 19 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
7
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
sanluis20Nov 13, 2014
Loved this movie! It's simple and has a good story, well at least for a kid's movie. I don't understand the other reviews complaining about the story since it's made to easy going for families. To be honest, I don't like movies like Cars 2Loved this movie! It's simple and has a good story, well at least for a kid's movie. I don't understand the other reviews complaining about the story since it's made to easy going for families. To be honest, I don't like movies like Cars 2 and Wall-E, that have political agendas and try to manipulate kids into thinking a certain way. A kid's movie should have humor, a simple, fun story, and likeable characters, which this film does. Overall, it was a great movie and you should definitely check it out! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
NikoZguri1997Sep 11, 2014
i recently saw "Thunder and the House of Magic" and before i start review, let me say this: i went into this movie expecting to shred it to pieces, i was expecting it to be terrible. why? cause it's co-written and directed by the same guy whoi recently saw "Thunder and the House of Magic" and before i start review, let me say this: i went into this movie expecting to shred it to pieces, i was expecting it to be terrible. why? cause it's co-written and directed by the same guy who did "Fly Me to the Moon", and that movie was terrible. so, i was expecting this movie to just as bad. but then, i walked out pleasantly surprised. to be fully honest, i actually really enjoyed this movie. now mind you, it's not a great movie by all means and it's definitely not close to being a great movie, but for what it is "Thunder" was actually a pretty entertaining little movie. first of all, the animation's really appealing and it does deliver some really good visuals. too bad i didn't get to see it in theaters in 3D, but even without 3D it was still good to look at. the characters are cute and appealing too. i cared and routed for Thunder the cat, the side characters were really well-realized too - especially Lawrence the magician and the little gizmos in his house - and also the villain was actually pretty good. now, the problems lie within a few stuff. mainly, the story. it's nothing new, we've seen this done a hundred times before and it plays really by-the-numbers, making it predictable. all that aside, i still enjoyed "Thunder and the House of Magic", it was a surprisingly good effort put into a movie and not like - ya know - the movie with the houseflies. ugh, that movie! so when you're bored and got nothing better to do, just give this movie a watch. by all means, it's not great, but it'll still keep entertained. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
fourthwall99Oct 24, 2014
In all honesty movies like these that are the lowest of all low they should be illegal. I may have complained about allot of kids movies for the same mistakes but this is a modern flick and doesn't do anything better than all the other trashyIn all honesty movies like these that are the lowest of all low they should be illegal. I may have complained about allot of kids movies for the same mistakes but this is a modern flick and doesn't do anything better than all the other trashy poorly written unmemorable slap stick piles of shame. Here's why. Movies about where a lost ginger kitten gets left behind by his owners and stumbles upon a unique house, where he finds a bunch of animals a nice old man stereo type, that loves cats and also a business man willing to buy the house through illegal methods. So most of the movie is about keeping the house from being sold, doesn't this remind you of the plot of Nanny Mc Phee and The Big Bang which if you want to go even further, back rips off the original Wayne's World script, making not the most original movie ever. The main character Thunder may seem likeable at first but he is under flawed and never really progresses throughout the movie, he also has quite bad voice acting. The movie is extremely repetitive its just a bunch of people going into a house then the movie throws physical comedy in your face which isn't remotely humorous and I didn't grin once in this movie. The ending is obvious, the music is annoying most of the characters are predictable, I am sick of this kind of plastic art style and the writing doesn't get any better its offensive to the eyes, ears and mainly the brain. This kind of repeating failure in many kids comedies just sickens me, I don't even know why I decided to watch this movie in the first place, even the trailer sucked there are better movies out there with the same goals but produced much better unless you have no self respect in fact even if you have no self respect go chew your gum and go see something else. Even gently crying into a pillow is better than this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
jasonhhh176Feb 8, 2015
If you want your child to learn how to swear and use curse words, then by all means watch this "children's show". After the word "damn" was used twice, I cut it off. I am aware that curse words bring curses and I would prefer me and myIf you want your child to learn how to swear and use curse words, then by all means watch this "children's show". After the word "damn" was used twice, I cut it off. I am aware that curse words bring curses and I would prefer me and my children be blessed. (Matthew 26:74) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
foxgroveMay 29, 2015
A low key but pleasant entry into the animated film canon. This one is about an abandoned ginger kitten who finds a new home in the, supposedly, haunted house of an elderly children's entertainer. Meanwhile, the old man's unscrupulous nephewA low key but pleasant entry into the animated film canon. This one is about an abandoned ginger kitten who finds a new home in the, supposedly, haunted house of an elderly children's entertainer. Meanwhile, the old man's unscrupulous nephew is trying to remove him to a care home and sell off the property. Inside the house are various pets as well as toys that randomly and magically spring to life. The early scenes keep one enthralled and entertained, but by the end the movie is struggling. 'I think he's out of control' exclaims the concerned pet rabbit at one point as the nephew embarks on his demolition of the old mansion. It is an accusation that could be levelled at the film itself as things do wind up being a tad hysterical.
Still, there isn't really anything to dislike. The 3D is very effective and much is made of having different characters thrust there faces directly into the camera. The technology is best served in one excellent scene that sees a prospective buyer suddenly come under fire from an avalanche of various food stuffs being bombarded at her. All in all it's harmless fun for both kids and adults alike.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Mar 13, 2016
I think it deserves a better rating.The rating given by the metacritics I disagree with. But I do agree with the rating this movie got on rotten tomatoes and I wish a similar rating can be duplicated on another movie rating site.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DaddyO3Feb 14, 2018
This movie wasn't bad but be cautious of it not having a rating. There was some language in the film that I thought was inappropriate for the target audience of younger children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews