New Yorker Films | Release Date: March 13, 1972
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
jack977Jan 25, 2014
Perhaps the greatness of Tokyo Story lies in the fact that it never judges its characters or their actions. It merely observes, almost making voyeurs of us, the viewers.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Young00000Jan 24, 2023
Não vi mas pretendo mas não que que the godfather perca sua posição e sim marcar com ruim só por isso!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawFeb 19, 2015
The omission of Ozu’s oeuvre is definitely an unerring embarrassment for any movie aficionado, thankfully TOKYO STORY comes to my rescue, presumably Ozu’s most renowned work, tellingly it merits all kudos it gets, gracefully scrutinising theThe omission of Ozu’s oeuvre is definitely an unerring embarrassment for any movie aficionado, thankfully TOKYO STORY comes to my rescue, presumably Ozu’s most renowned work, tellingly it merits all kudos it gets, gracefully scrutinising the post-WWII mental disposition of Japanese people, and quietly tearjerking in eliciting recollections and rumination between parents and their children. Parenthood is not for everyone, but we all have parents, we forever hold a sense of regret towards them, especially in the oriental culture, filial piety is the foremost virtue to measure an individual’s worth, at least viewed by other family members.

keep reading my review on my blog, google: cinema omnivore, thanks!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LelchelseaMay 2, 2015
One of the most raw and emotionally gripping movies that I have ever seen. Truly was one of the rare movies that is able to immerse you into a the lives of others that we ourselves can truly feel related to
Masterpiece that will stand the
One of the most raw and emotionally gripping movies that I have ever seen. Truly was one of the rare movies that is able to immerse you into a the lives of others that we ourselves can truly feel related to
Masterpiece that will stand the test of time
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileySep 21, 2016
Tokyo Story is a beautifully made film with good performances, revolutionary cinematography techniques, and an emotionally engaging story. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a heart felt family driven film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DeanomiteJan 12, 2020
I keep reading how people say how great this movie is, I have watched it twice, 10 years apart. What i see is callous, selfish people. 3 generations of them. They never care one bit about each other, only whether they are personallyI keep reading how people say how great this movie is, I have watched it twice, 10 years apart. What i see is callous, selfish people. 3 generations of them. They never care one bit about each other, only whether they are personally inconvenienced. The daughter in law that is a widow to the son who died was sweet and lonely, everyone else seems only interested in running out the clock until death and being distracted from that goal. There is no love, no depth, only selfish people unconscious of their lives and the world around them, just like real people. Robots judging robots, fake statements, fake emotions. It's like the Borg (Star Trek) had a funeral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JLuis_001Apr 23, 2019
A very dense and slow film. Although its duration is not excessive it feels that way.
That doesn't mean in any way that this is a bad film because without a doubt it's perhaps one of the best dramas I've seen in my life but it's a very slow
A very dense and slow film. Although its duration is not excessive it feels that way.
That doesn't mean in any way that this is a bad film because without a doubt it's perhaps one of the best dramas I've seen in my life but it's a very slow film that needs attention, patience and taste for this kind of cinema to be able to appreciate all its angles and qualities. And I doubt I made it completely.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
angelkld0074734Aug 7, 2019
This movie is a masterpiece! Ozu's works were all worthy of attention and this, as well as floating weeds, are among the best films of all time. Being brief: this film is an emotional journey 100% worth taking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Karl-OskarApr 8, 2020
Tokyo Story is a beautiful work of art with a very important message, to pay attention to everyone, and in this film especially your parents. The film expresses that with showing an old couple visit their children, and you could think thatTokyo Story is a beautiful work of art with a very important message, to pay attention to everyone, and in this film especially your parents. The film expresses that with showing an old couple visit their children, and you could think that it's not enough to base a film around but somehow Tokyo Story make it look so simple and deliver it so perfectly. That's one of the reasons that make this film so special. Another thing is how its made, the film is of course very old and the way of filming was sourly very different back then. The film is so casual and something other films don't tend to include or think about to include is well built-in in this film, and it's those little things which make it so special. I also think this film could not be made again the same way nor some other way then it did, it just so perfect with the time period, the culture, the characters, the atmosphere, etc. But the film still has so much reflection of the reality and maybe more than ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews