• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 24, 2019
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 23, 2019
    50
    Nothing in Daybreak is designed to stick with you for very long and certainly nothing is designed to leave you meaningfully disturbed or provoked. In lieu of going for actual impact, Daybreak is a show that throws a lot of things against the wall, aiming for cleverness of wildly varying degrees.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 21, 2019
    50
    It is, by any measure, a pretty tepid addition to an already saturated genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel D'Addario
    Oct 17, 2019
    50
    It’s the show’s action and social commentary that falls short. The latter is represented in part by Angelica, too forcefully written by half, and in part by a burned-out-hellscape-as-social-scene metaphor that feels overdetermined. The show’s rules don’t really make sense: Most adults were vaporized, but some became zombies, and some were actually fine-ish. It was in flashbacks and in moments where Josh and Wesley were figuring out how to carry on that I saw the show “Daybreak” wants to be, one of fine and granular understanding of the roiling emotions of teen life filtered through the lens of popular art.
  4. Reviewed by: Shannon Miller
    Oct 24, 2019
    42
    Peyton and Coleite’s vision is a hokey, desperately snarky zombie tale that churns out an entirely new crop of characters, only to center on the least interesting of the bunch.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 23, 2019
    40
    “Daybreak” is a show I wanted to like—I would accept the “Ferris” meets Romero pitch in a heartbeat—but I found myself alternately frustrated and bored way too often. It hits so many of the same beats over and over again, and often has the pretentious air of something that thinks it’s much smarter than it actually is.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A fun little post apocalyptic teen drama with some comedy, drama, action, and romance. All the main characters are pretty likeable overall. My biggest beef with it is the woke commentary. At times its clearly jokes, but other times the character is completely serious and it takes you out of the show. A show that does a ton of 4th wall breaking. When they need to figure out how to stop a nuke, I don't need randomly inserted woke commentary about how the nuke is a penis and men used it to **** the world from a 10 year old girl. Overall I'd have given this a higher rating if not for that. You might wonder why I take off so many points for that, well it happened at crucial times and really takes you out of it. If they do a season 2 then I'll watch, but please tone the woke commentary down. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2019
    3
    A faint teenage series that is nothing more than a love story. Enveloped with some zombie feeling.
    I don't know if something like this is
    A faint teenage series that is nothing more than a love story. Enveloped with some zombie feeling.
    I don't know if something like this is still up-to-date today.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2019
    9
    Energetic coming of age story set in a post apocalypse. Part Lord of the Flies, part Farris Bueller's Day off, part Mad Max. End of the worldEnergetic coming of age story set in a post apocalypse. Part Lord of the Flies, part Farris Bueller's Day off, part Mad Max. End of the world has never been so lit. Full Review »