• Network: HULU
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2023
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kyndall Cunningham
    Jan 25, 2023
    80
    Sharply entertaining. It may not be as splashy or attention-grabbing as Hulu’s other offerings, but it certainly has a level of clarity and confidence regarding its thesis that’s missing from more experimental streaming programs as of late.
  2. Reviewed by: Benji Wilson
    Jan 25, 2023
    80
    Extraordinary’s superpower is its freshness. It’s not always extraordinary, but it’s never dull.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jan 24, 2023
    80
    Gleefully crude, rude, lewd and almost unfailingly likable eight-part series that is quite the unusual thing—a sci-fi-inflected coming-of-age story and a sitcom that’s actually funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 24, 2023
    80
    It has a lot of fun playing with the conventions of that currently dominant genre, but it is equally representative of some other favorite modes of the Walt Disney Company: the sentimental buddy comedy and the inspirational triumph-of-the-underdog tale. There are many ways that blend could go wrong, but the show’s various strains are combined in a charming and consistently amusing fashion by its creator and writer, Emma Moran.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    Jan 24, 2023
    75
    As a whole, this first season does leave room for exploration and improvement. But as a start, it’s more than enough to prove that “Extraordinary” has some special abilities to keep it going, whether or not its main character has them too.
  6. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Jan 25, 2023
    70
    The first episode of Extraordinary sets up a pretty funny premise; we just hope that the joke that everyone in the world has powers except Jen doesn’t quickly wear out when the novelty of it does.
  7. Reviewed by: Abby Cavenaugh
    Jan 23, 2023
    67
    All in all, Extraordinary is an enjoyable comedy with some funny moments and an endearing story at its heart. Maybe you won't laugh as much as you'd hoped, but you will have a fun ride regardless.
  8. Reviewed by: Lucy Mangan
    Jan 25, 2023
    60
    Extraordinary is fun but does begin to feel, once the initial playfulness of the premise has worn off, underbaked. ... But it’s got just enough heart and good, unexpected one-liners (under the spell of a job interviewer who can make people tell the truth, Jen admits “I’m sitting funny ’cause my tampon’s falling out”) to keep you coming back for more and to mark 28-year-old debut writer Emma Moran as one to watch.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 29, 2023
    10
    Oh my goodness this show is so fun and full of joy. It was an immediate uplifter! The cast, the story, the production was amazing. I am soOh my goodness this show is so fun and full of joy. It was an immediate uplifter! The cast, the story, the production was amazing. I am so happy this has been renewed. I highly recommend. Full Review »