Season #: 3, 2, 1
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 25, 2014
    83
    Disney should be sent to detention for passing off such aural plasticity [laugh track], unfairly fouling the repute of the live-audience sitcom. But the rest of Girl Meets World does its job of bringing tween-based family viewing into the 2010s.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Jun 25, 2014
    75
    Replicating the beats of that previous show isn’t as important to Girl Meets World’s potential for success as reviving the spirit of its inspiration. It’s there in measured doses in the pilot, bolstering the broader jokes, staged performances from child actors, and requisite feints toward classroom puppy love.
  3. Reviewed by: Emily Yahr
    Jun 27, 2014
    70
    This is, without a doubt, a show for and about teens.
  4. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Girl Meets World is a perfectly pleasant Disney Channel show.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Though it is not exactly in the spirit of the original, it should satisfy any "Boy" fans eager to see it.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 25, 2014
    70
    A cute half-hour that capably introduces new characters and sets the table for the new series.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Snetiker
    Jun 23, 2014
    67
    Girl Meets World does improve significantly after the pilot, but it has yet to recapture the warm spirit that made Boy Meets World shine. [27 Jun 2014, p.58]
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 24, 2014
    50
    It has more of the feel of a traditional family sitcom than the louder, jokier competition on Nickelodeon, but the humor is still pretty broad and the plotting blunt for anyone outside that age group.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 27, 2014
    40
    The name recognition notwithstanding, there’s precious little to distinguish Girl Meets World from a parade of similarly themed Disney Channel live-action series, built around life on the cusp of puberty, featuring stars slightly older than the girl demo apt to watch.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 26, 2014
    40
    Girl Meets World is hammier than a Smithfield Foods factory.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 61
  2. Negative: 13 out of 61
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. My theory is that if you hate it, don't comment. Certainly don't insult. Professional reviewers (as opposed to critics) loved Rowan's performance.

    I love it. It captures the spirit of BMW. Like that series this one allows the kids to discover truth and how the "world" works guided and pointed by their parents. It feels good all the way through.

    And while the line "Well done, Mr. Matthews," is poignant, what is left unsaid, though it is very apropos, "Well done, Ms. Matthews."
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I was really skeptical and didn't plan on liking this. I don't I wanted to watch it. It seemed like a stretch and weird.

    I don't just like
    I was really skeptical and didn't plan on liking this. I don't I wanted to watch it. It seemed like a stretch and weird.

    I don't just like it, I love it. I LOVE IT. i LOVE it. III love it!!!!

    This has renewed my faith in television. So good to have a great tv show with a positive message. Really good. Great characters, fun/fresh writing, it appeals to me as a 30 year old, my sister as a 15 year old, and runs the whole gambit.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    It is important to remember you cannot rate an ENTIRE season based on one pilot. I still enjoyed this pilot, and it definitely lives up to theIt is important to remember you cannot rate an ENTIRE season based on one pilot. I still enjoyed this pilot, and it definitely lives up to the original. Also, I have seen the next episode on the watch disney app, and it was even better than the first. So I will stick around, because it is good, even though it is not a BMW remake, it is its own series that WILL stand on its own. Full Review »