• Network: Apple TV+
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2020
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Gregory Lawrence
    Jan 17, 2020
    100
    The series is chock-full of instantly iconic, resonating moments, stories, and filmmaking craft.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jan 17, 2020
    100
    Little America, a beautifully crafted new anthology on Apple TV+, takes the emotion and noise out of one of our most contentious political topics — immigration — and replaces it with poetry, humor, and the compelling stories of ordinary people seeking a better life in these United States.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 15, 2020
    100
    Although each finely crafted, beautifully filmed, well-photographed vignette naturally touches on hot-button social circumstances and issues, “Little America” is hardly some overwrought piece of propaganda advocating extreme takes on either side of the political spectrum. It’s far too nuanced and complex and sophisticated for that. It’s also funny as hell at times, and filled with memorable portraits.
  4. Reviewed by: Saloni Gajjar
    Jan 16, 2020
    91
    The result is a series of heartfelt stories, as uplifting as they are tearjerking. And, though it’s early, the opening credits are among the most fun and inspired of the year.
  5. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Jan 21, 2020
    90
    Every lithe episode is unique and hums with a different tone from one to the next, making this season a thematic quilt as opposed to one bolt of cloth. ... In its execution "Little America" makes a case for, if not fitting in, at least finding a place for one's self and one's culture. It comes by this message honestly, too; every episode brims with a purposeful joy although a few of them aren't entirely happy tales.
  6. Reviewed by: Lorraine Ali
    Jan 17, 2020
    90
    No two journeys are alike in the smart, nuanced eight-part drama, one of television’s best takes on modern migrant culture. ... The beauty of this production is that it never has to make that point with pro- or anti-immigration rhetoric, or with heavy-handed narratives that pit the huddled masses against a cruel, intolerant establishment. The stories breathe on their own.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Surette
    Jan 16, 2020
    90
    It's THE reason to throw down five bucks for an Apple TV+ subscription. Each episode of Little America is based on a true story of an immigrant to the United States, and retold in a 30-minute block of inspiring, unwavering humanity filled with hope, humor, and joy.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jan 15, 2020
    90
    It is the delicate truth of the storytelling here that makes this anthology series stand out. It is moving without ever manipulative, a show that finds narrative power through being honest. ... This is the rare anthology series in which every single chapter has something worthwhile.
  9. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Jan 14, 2020
    90
    None of the stories in Little America — which counts among its executive producers Master of None co-creator Alan Yang — is as powerful or as perfectly crafted as Lena Waithe's "Thanksgiving," but a couple get mighty close, definitively making this series Apple TV+'s first great show.
  10. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 10, 2020
    90
    Smart, generous portraits of lives rarely given this much thought by Western entertainment. It’s a great show — easily the best of Apple’s early output.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 16, 2020
    85
    At a moment when immigration has become such a polarizing political issue, "Little America" feels like a tonic, one intended to inspire and unabashedly celebrate people who chose to make America their home.
  12. Reviewed by: Pilot Viruet
    Jan 17, 2020
    83
    A lovely and emotive series about the lives of immigrants in America.
  13. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Jan 10, 2020
    83
    A heartwarming, engaging, and informative season — all by focusing on story first, rather than famous faces or bottom lines. ... It may not make the biggest splash in today’s crowded TV market, but Apple subscribers are finally getting the quality promised a few months ago.
  14. Reviewed by: Hannah Giorgis
    Jan 23, 2020
    80
    The show undeniably stands out as Apple’s most inspired offering thus far.
  15. Reviewed by: Melissa Leon
    Jan 17, 2020
    80
    It’s a funny and bittersweet series, at once refreshing and achingly familiar—if at times a bit discomfiting in its careful avoidance of the uglier realities of living as a working-class immigrant in America.
  16. Reviewed by: Lucy Mangan
    Jan 17, 2020
    80
    All eight stories successfully straddle many fine lines. They are fleet – just half an hour long – without being insubstantial; uplifting without being schmaltzy; inspirational without being cringe-making. They don’t offer direct commentary on current US and others’ attitudes towards immigration, but they don’t need to.
  17. 80
    There are eight half-hour episodes. Their scope is modest. The stories, which are sometimes delightful and sometimes tragic, are about relatively everyday lives. The show is beautiful.
  18. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 16, 2020
    80
    The individual stories are short and pithy. (One, set at a silent meditation retreat, feels like an extended setup for a punch line.) But collectively, the show’s understanding of the immigrant experience is complex and nuanced.
  19. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jan 10, 2020
    70
    On one hand, it sometimes feels disjointed going from one tale to the next, which makes sense given that the show passes the creative baton every half-hour. On the other, letting another writer or director tackle the material means that even if one episode stumbles, the next is, quite literally, another story entirely. ... “Little America” is a thoughtful show, made with evident care and consideration for doing justice to the heritages depicted.
  20. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 16, 2020
    60
    For the most part, these vignettes are thoughtfully and pleasingly rendered here. But there is, at the same time, something too uniform about them, a predetermined style of grace, ... which tends to undermine the goal of authenticity. The stories have been hammered into the same shape so that they are broadly satisfying and mainly cheerful, leaving little room for surprise or outrage or any other emotion that might overly complicate the structure.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    When the photos of the real people are revealed at the end, your heart swells. This is great TV.
  2. Jan 20, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I tried my hardest to like this, but it just wasn't good. The first episode started off with a bang. It was fantastic. I couldn't wait to delve into this series. It had me feeling ways I've never felt and I teared up a couple times. After it was over I had to binge. But the following episodes were not good much, at all. Episode 2 follows a rude, selfish Hispanic girl whom I couldn't relate to in the slightest. In fact she was rude enough to where I didn't care if she succeeded or didn't. Episode 3 was a try hard cowboy, that, while being probably the funniest of the season just annoyed me by the end. Episode 4 is one of the worst TV episodes I've seen this decade. It was weird, not funny, and I was ready for it to be over. Episode 5 was one of the better ones. I respected her more than most of any other immigrants. Episode 6 was just boring and the mother was obnoxious. Episode 7 was probably the second funniest but it was annoying. The dad was too happy the whole time and I felt like the story and plot were almost nonexistent. And episode 8 was also a decent one, and while it was pretty touching, his friend was extremely annoying, and calling Kelly Clarkson's music "deep" just made me cringe in every way possible. I tried to continue liking it and then it finished with a Kelly Clarkson drag performance and it just made me cringe and feel awkward. Literally no one likes Kelly Clarkson that much. With all the hype around this series and hearing its description was very refreshing and exciting but after finishing it, I didn't care much for it at all. Outside of the first episode, there isn't really anything here I'd call "fantastic," and most just tinker on the edge of bad, and some are actually bad. Extreme letdown. I feel a 2/5 is generous but that's just because I loved the first episode a ton. Full Review »