Season #: 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Nov 17, 2017
    91
    Like a super-sized Columbo case, the culprits have already been identified, and they’re shockingly, hilariously tracking bloody footprints across New York City. They, and Search Party, seem like they’re in over their heads at the start, but it only gets better the deeper they go.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Nov 16, 2017
    91
    The internalized guilt of all four leads proves fascinating (and damn funny) to behold as it bursts out in various ways, for various reasons. ... This search is quite a pleasure.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Frontiero
    Nov 15, 2017
    88
    Search Party certainly hasn't lost its sense of humor, which underscores the callousness and posturing many of the characters demonstrate. ... [Showrunners] Bliss and Rogers have an equal adeptness for genre and composition.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 15, 2017
    80
    It continues to hum along wonderfully as an existentialist noir on the millennial tip. Or call it a character study in the form of a comedic thriller that’s geared to provoke anxious giggles.
  5. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Nov 22, 2017
    80
    There’s something casual in the way it is both riveting and fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Nov 17, 2017
    80
    The second season felt like a continuation of what worked for me in the first, with perfectly played awful people continuing to be unaware of their awfulness and generating wry amusement while doing awful things.
  7. 70
    The writers of Search Party know what they’re doing. That’s not to say that season two is as exciting and satisfying as season one; I don’t think it is. But then, I may only be saying that because season two is a strong variation on something I’ve seen done before, in both TV and cinema.
  8. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Nov 20, 2017
    67
    It feels like Search Party has genre-skipped, from a comedy with thriller elements to a full-blown thriller. In so doing, it’s reaching into a more familiar toolkit.
  9. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Nov 18, 2017
    60
    Search Party remains a weird gem for TBS, one that manages to be exceedingly clever and emotionally authentic all at once, with a tense story that begs to be binged. The problem is that in the aftermath of Dory’s search for meaning and Keith’s tragic end, it’s all gotten a little too real.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Nov 21, 2017
    10
    This is a work of a genius. There isn't anything like this on TV at the moment. Characters are so flawed, so irritating yet you can't resistThis is a work of a genius. There isn't anything like this on TV at the moment. Characters are so flawed, so irritating yet you can't resist loving them. You can cut tension with a knife, can't wait for more episodes. Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2017
    10
    Outstanding! MUST WATCH!! I loved Season 1 but Season 2 was nonstop surprises. The cast really shines & turns in brilliant performances.Outstanding! MUST WATCH!! I loved Season 1 but Season 2 was nonstop surprises. The cast really shines & turns in brilliant performances. Portia & Elliot's characters went so far beyond expectations. There were hysterical moments & so many funny characters....all done well & some were truly impressive. The story was gripping....I was glued, the suspense kept building & story kept turning. I'm now a big fan of Alia Shawkat. John Early, Meredith Hagner too. Jay Duplass too.
    Really good stuff to see here.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 2, 2017
    10
    God I love this show. I fought tooth and nail not to watch it too lol. I think it was the Urban Outfitters attire and vaporwave that scared meGod I love this show. I fought tooth and nail not to watch it too lol. I think it was the Urban Outfitters attire and vaporwave that scared me off but I'm so glad I did. I hope this has some legs on it and that it stays on for awhile. Definitely my favorite right now. Underrated af. Full Review »