• Network: HULU
  • Series Premiere Date: May 8, 2020
Season #: 2, 1
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 60
  2. Negative: 8 out of 60
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 11, 2020
    3
    Solar Opposites is plagued by boring story telling and uninteresting characters. Scenes which are meant to be funny and embarrassing just to watch. The only good part of the season are the moments they focus on the tiny people encased in the wall. It almost feels like an episode of interdimensional cable except really bad. Solar Opposites is the Rick and Morty your mom said you have at home.
  2. May 9, 2020
    5
    Rick and Morty comparisons aside, Solar Opposites is pretty boring. It's trying to find a balance between typical animated sitcom and edge lord edginess edgerton. It mostly fails. It's very well animated! The jokes don't really land and the characters aren't well developed, but hey, most first seasons of animated shows are pretty garbage, so maybe it'll get better?
  3. May 8, 2020
    10
    Really funny and crazy, it only gets better as the season goes on. The wall!
  4. May 9, 2020
    6
    It’s just kinda meh... none of the characters are relatable, and the stories are kinda weak. The mini people in the wall is kinda interesting.
  5. May 9, 2020
    8
    Thought it was pretty good, not as good as rick and morty but very easy to get stuck watching the entire season. Pretty fun.
  6. May 8, 2020
    1
    Clear that Roiland is a one trick pony. Go back to working on Rick and Morty. This feels like watching intergalactic cable, what a joke.
  7. May 8, 2020
    8
    It's really dumb but at the same time interesting to watch. But for anyone who is obsessed with Rick and Morty, this maybe the show for you.
  8. May 8, 2020
    1
    Terrible, just Terrible, This is what they were working on instead of making Rick and Morty, what a waste of time that must of been.
  9. May 8, 2020
    1
    Too much like Rick and Morty, too wordy, without the edginess. What's the point, really?
    I couldn't pass a first episode that was just plain boring.
  10. May 12, 2020
    10
    This was super easy to get into. I love the characters. I think I like this more than Rick and Morty. It’s not entirely the same type of story telling. It’s similar, but without the gravity that R&M has garnered since its first season. It’s because it’s not so deep that I feel I can enjoy it more. Not always having to dig through an episode for every morsel of interest and information itThis was super easy to get into. I love the characters. I think I like this more than Rick and Morty. It’s not entirely the same type of story telling. It’s similar, but without the gravity that R&M has garnered since its first season. It’s because it’s not so deep that I feel I can enjoy it more. Not always having to dig through an episode for every morsel of interest and information it has been nice. Expand
  11. May 12, 2020
    10
    Loved this series so much. It wasn't as deep as rick and morty and I was ok with that. It had a lot of the same humor and bigger plot twists that feed into other things.
  12. Jul 18, 2020
    9
    If you are a fan of Rick and Morty then look no further. This is clever and super funny. Would recommend to anyone who needs a hardy laugh.
  13. Aug 17, 2021
    7
    Burned thru all 8 episodes in one morning. Enjoyed them but would've enjoyed 8 episodes of Rick and Morty more.
  14. Oct 28, 2020
    3
    This show is a series of cringe jokes and shock humour, nothing more. It's the 'Big Bang Theory' version of Rick and Morty and the writing is just as weak. In episode 5 two teachers mock children and then rip each other's clothes off to have quite graphic sex while pointlessly dropping F bombs all over the place. I'm not here for hentai, I'm here for humour, and it's missing.
  15. May 18, 2020
    7
    Of course this show is going to be regarded as derivative of Rick and Marty and in many ways it is but honestly Rick and Marty is a great show so this is not bad at all.
  16. JPK
    Jul 19, 2020
    9
    A lot Of Fun
    Even though it’s not as good as Rick And Morty, Solar Opposites is still a crass, hilarious, and smart comedy.
  17. May 22, 2020
    8
    It had some funny and enjoyable moments. I especially loved when the side plot took the entire story for one episode and it had all the great romance , betrayal, etc tropes in other dystopian movies like snowpiercer. Not a bad series from the guys that made that pickle man thing
  18. Sep 4, 2021
    8
    I loved Rick and Morty almost instantly, but this time I needed a bit more time. Solar Opposites relies too much on gore and rudeness, but the characters grew on me and made me laugh a lot; the show is actually more like Bob's Burgers with aliens, and that's certainly not a bad thing.

    As far as I'm concerned, the Wall People don't need to come back. They are not funny, and by that I
    I loved Rick and Morty almost instantly, but this time I needed a bit more time. Solar Opposites relies too much on gore and rudeness, but the characters grew on me and made me laugh a lot; the show is actually more like Bob's Burgers with aliens, and that's certainly not a bad thing.

    As far as I'm concerned, the Wall People don't need to come back. They are not funny, and by that I mean NOT THE TINIEST LITTLE BIT, and are a spin-off about five seasons too early.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Brett White
    Jun 24, 2020
    80
    Solar Opposites is weird enough in its own unique way to separate it from all the other animated comedies out there, and its anarchic vibe might be just the ridiculous distraction you’re looking for right now.
  2. Reviewed by: Garrett Martin
    May 18, 2020
    65
    Solar Opposites is best at its loosest. Roiland’s semi-improvisational style returns on occasion, with the opening credits having a slightly different voiceover every episode. His ramshackle, half-assed delivery is almost always funny, and the show’s concept and storylines are usually so undercooked that it makes Roiland’s off-the-cuff material even more impressive.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    May 8, 2020
    83
    This is a show that rarely takes its time. Watching things escalate from tiny misunderstandings to disasters threatening to destroy a city or reconstitute the fabric of timespace is this show’s sweet spot.