• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2016
Season #: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    This is comic fantasy operating on the highest level, still capable of ending each episode with a jaw-roping twist that makes you wish you should skip right to the next. [1-14 Oct 2018, p.11]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    Television's smartest--and easily one of its best--comedies, NBC's The Good Place, is set to return for its third twist-filled, morally complex season, and we're all better for it. ... The only show on television of any kind where you can get intellectually stimulating and abstract lessons on philosophy and morality while also laughing hysterically at made-up swear words and pop culture.
  3. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Sep 27, 2018
    100
    The NBC sitcom is still surprising, still meticulously plotted, and still hilarious at an extremely high velocity. ... Since season one, The Good Place has repeatedly rebooted its central narrative and shifted our understanding of its setting and what its characters are capable of doing within it. That it’s still able to do this so skillfully in its third season, without ever becoming remotely predictable, is an astonishing feat.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    Sep 25, 2018
    100
    Season 3 opens up with a quartet of episodes that confirms that this group of cast and writers is equipped to make this story work wherever and whenever things may lead.
  5. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Sep 25, 2018
    80
    The show has radically reworked itself from season to season, and even within them, but its underlying architecture of people striving for goodness and falling short hasn’t changed, and it can’t. Instead of having to work around that limitation, The Good Place has made it its central theme. Unlike most network sitcoms, The Good Place allows its characters to change.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 132
  1. Sep 30, 2018
    2
    Critics give a 96 to season 3...Move over Breaking Bad, Hannibal, Rectify! It would be unbelievable if it weren't for the many failed liberalCritics give a 96 to season 3...Move over Breaking Bad, Hannibal, Rectify! It would be unbelievable if it weren't for the many failed liberal arts major alumni who have to make a living writing for second-grade publications. This show has become too self-aware for its own good, name dropping Kant and Aristotle without really explaining the real philosophy behind (and more importantly their limitation) as if a sophomore nerd were trying to impress a high-school chick. It's become quite pathetic. Plus, not funny anymore.
    PS: Jason storyline: It was always the weak link, but now it has become utterly embarrassing to watch.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2018
    4
    Maybe I'm just over the kitch of this show, first two seasons were pretty enjoyable, last nights premiere bored the hell out of me, see what iMaybe I'm just over the kitch of this show, first two seasons were pretty enjoyable, last nights premiere bored the hell out of me, see what i did there. Turned it off during the Jason storyline. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    6
    I believe we just waited so much for its third season of The Good Place that, when it came, i was waiting so much about everything.I believe we just waited so much for its third season of The Good Place that, when it came, i was waiting so much about everything. Unfortunately, the first episode has a lazy development, and you just wait for more action. That action that was characteristic for the series, because it is a 22 min series that everything happens!! I am sorry about Janet too. The best character of the series has been used to be sit in a chair reading their feedback. The final of the episode has the same mystery than the others seasons, but the result about all the hole episode makes you to be tired and not anxious to watch the next episode next week. Full Review »