• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2020
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jenn Adams
    Oct 5, 2020
    91
    Flanagan explores these relationships while delivering a powerful and poignant message about moving on in the face of grief. Bly Manor is not Hill House, but left to its own devices, this Haunting offers a beautiful examination of love and the ways we hold onto what we’ve lost.
  2. Reviewed by: Vinnie Mancuso
    Oct 5, 2020
    91
    Bly Manor might not be scary but it certainly sticks in your brain long after it’s over, because stories—like houses, like people—don’t have to horrify to be haunting.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Nov 30, 2020
    75
    The nice thing is it pretty much works. Oh, there’s a great deal of silliness and some false notes — it is a ghost story, after all and some explanations add up while others just drift away. But in the end “Bly Manor” dares to make at least some sense (which is likely blasphemy to Henry James fanatics).
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 5, 2020
    75
    “The Haunting of Bly Manor” feels like a natural follow-up to “Hill House” in the sense that it’s from a creator who has used the success of the first project to make something that’s intrinsically less eager to please, but that also makes it less thrilling. The immediate stakes of the first project are gone, but they’re replaced by something that’s still valuable and arguably more haunting.
  5. Reviewed by: Aja Romano
    Oct 12, 2020
    70
    Some pointed and strategic tonal shifts throughout the series’ nine episodes also help keep the pace from flagging, though I’d argue that nine episodes was a few too many. Conversely, given proper attention, the series’ climax could have been significantly expanded and dramatized.
  6. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Oct 9, 2020
    70
    While Hill House excelled in its early, grounded episodes before devolving into chaos at the end, Bly Manor only gets going in a second half that, despite some distractingly soapy twists, thrives on productive confusion. And it offers a more satisfying conclusion than the first season.
  7. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Oct 9, 2020
    70
    The Haunting Of Bly Manor is entertaining to watch even during the times it’s not trying to scare the audience, and that’s something that not many horror series can do.
  8. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 9, 2020
    70
    This Haunting is often a blast, even if I wish the storyteller (whose identity is a spoiler) had sustained a bit more mystery. [12 - 25 Oct 2020, p.8]
  9. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 8, 2020
    70
    Once the circle completes itself, the whole thing feels richer than it sometimes does in parts, even if Flanagan, like our narrator, easily could have told this story in a more compact form.
  10. Reviewed by: Sadie Gennis
    Oct 5, 2020
    70
    The Haunting of Bly Manor is an entertaining and evocative followup to Hill House, despite never quite reaching the heights of its predecessor.
  11. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Oct 8, 2020
    67
    “Bly Manor” stands as an ambitious blend of genres and arrives at its ultimate point with proper gravity. It’s not a great ghost story, it’s not a great love story, but it’s still haunting enough to hear out.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 94
  2. Negative: 22 out of 94
  1. Oct 10, 2020
    0
    This is actually the worst show I have seen in ages. Please do not watch it, I have wasted time of my life I will never get back. This is notThis is actually the worst show I have seen in ages. Please do not watch it, I have wasted time of my life I will never get back. This is not only desperate in referencing the original season but it is also attempting to elaborate on every single possible **** detail that it can - it tells and refuses to show. You can literally be brain dead and watch this and still understand the linear message it is trying to send because there is very little room for either interpretation or anything else. Although one episode sticks out as being unique, the one about Mrs Grose, the rest of the show continues to reply on it as a crutch and falls. Also, please keep in mind that much of the show has like a billion plot points that are brought up and forgotten all for the sake of ending the episode or making something seem more interesting than it ever can be. The show sucks, a hundred different writers and directors worked on it and communicated with each other from what I assume was a potato. Literally, none of their plots join, it does not work, and the editing is its only saving grace with that falling short as the show nears its conclusion Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    That's a great example of how "modern standards" can ruin a show. Better to watch the first one.
  3. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    I don't know on what I've spent some hours on. This series has no genre, it's not a thriller, it's not an horror neither a psychologicalI don't know on what I've spent some hours on. This series has no genre, it's not a thriller, it's not an horror neither a psychological horror; there is too much talking and nothing else. Character's individualistic storytelling reminds me the awful The Walking Dead segments with too much talking and excess focus on unlikable characters. Skip this is the best option. Full Review »