HSX HyperSonic.Xtreme Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: All out anti-gravity racing at its best. This game is about speed! Stay on the track and come in first place is your mission. Featuring the exclusive Track Editor option where you build your own track then race on it. [Majesco]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. If this game didn't have such a robust (yes, that's right, robust) track creation engine, then HSX would only be worth a weekend rental.
  2. A nice little blue light special for racing fans. [Mar 2003, p.83]
  3. Despite the average graphics, sound, and gameplay length, HSX: HyperSonic Extreme is a great racing game that will keep you mesmerized for as long as you play it.
  4. If you have younger kids and you want to get them something safe to play, easy to learn, and won’t break the bank than Hypersonic Extreme may be the title to check out.
  5. 50
    Feels like a cheap game... The editor, and just about every other aspect of the game needs to be fleshed out a lot more to be a worthwhile game.
  6. Sure, it's fast and the courses have all the dips and loops that one would expect, but there's no satisfaction in the piloting of the craft. [Jan 2003, p.79]
  7. Someone over at Blade Interactive must have been asleep at the wheel when coding this game's sound effects and music.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. JohnScott
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    This game ROCKS!!! The game is all about speed. The track editor has unlimited posibilities in the game. You can choose from all over the world, and I mean anyhere in the world! And when you pick it you will start building your track. like most level editors like in tony hawk, the track building is total manual control. meaning turning the degrees of your track up or down,left,right,side to side. just how to explain how you make the track is put all of those words that I just said and mix it up. I dont know,its kinda difficult just how the track building works. but its totally like you never seen before. and its vary easy to do. and it has a tutorials so you can lern about the track editor and its easy to lern. its like a 2 step generation of level editors of this day. you can aso put scenery on your track. like different bridges style and a audience and lights on your track and buidings and trees and bill boards and many other stuff. and you can move these objects in any angle and in the world. and you can change the time and weather and track themes. and you can change the ground to snowy or braked earth, themes like that. and you can change the track style to by different track textures and waves on the track and track barriers styles and track barrier height and even to invisible track. it aso has a highlighter track thing to put stuff like that. the game is actually easy! Just press the R2 or L2 for when you are going too fast or hard turns. makes the game a lot easer for me. there's sooo much I havent explained about the track editor but trust me its ReaIIIILLLY BIG!!! so if you like the fucherictic racing with fast speeds and big jumps that just make you feel,wooh! and the EXSLUSIVE! track editor than this is your game! you will probly not find it in stores now but look on ebay. you will find it there. just make sure it has a 100% feed back and in good condition. Expand
  2. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    I love these kind of racing games and there are only two of its kind, and that' s f-zero x. This is a great game for a starting price of 10 bucks, so because it is so cheap i would recommend it. You can also makeyour own cups and tracks which can be very fun. Expand
  3. JigganisZig
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    I like this game very much. The trak editor alone is a reason to buy this game. You could imagine its like F-zero. Eee-yeap. The racing is fun, although when you go too fast or go over certain parts of track, the steering goes outta control, and it was intentional in the game. You get used to it. The trak editor is very fun to play with. Ive spent 40 hours on it so far and i have just started playing the game (well i beat all the races.) The races are very hard even on easy mode. Its pretty frustrating. and you have to race to get more Track editor features. But in the end, it is good. and its $10. Expand
  4. SeanF.
    Feb 20, 2003
    8
    Track editor is well worth the price of admissions. What not many are telling you is that this game only sux if you are a hard core racing gamer nerd. I thought it was very fun with crazy wild tracks and quite a few surprises. Expand
  5. ArtN.
    Apr 11, 2003
    7
    Good racing game for weekend racers. Won't make the hardcore racers happy but it's learning curve is light enough to allow us other have some fun. The track editor is awesome, Excite Bike anyone? Collapse
  6. AndyM.
    Mar 18, 2003
    6
    If the gameplay in HSX was even half as good as the track editor is, the folks who make Wipeout would be truly scared. It isn't, though, and the game isn't much fun because of it. So much potential... let's see if there's an HSX2 that fixes the problems. :) Expand

See all 7 User Reviews