• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience the speed of anti-gravity racing with PlayStation Vita's enhanced controls - including front touch, rear touch, and six-axis motion sensors. Optimized for 23rd century racing, you can compete with up to 8 other players on 10 new tracks. It’s a visceral battle to stay atop theExperience the speed of anti-gravity racing with PlayStation Vita's enhanced controls - including front touch, rear touch, and six-axis motion sensors. Optimized for 23rd century racing, you can compete with up to 8 other players on 10 new tracks. It’s a visceral battle to stay atop the online leaderboards. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    92
    If not for the irritatingly long loading times, this might well be the best launch title for the PlayStation Vita Sony has in store for us. The feeling of speed still provides a satisfyingly big wow-factor, while the cross-platform options turn this title into a handheld pioneer. A must-have for every Vita-owner.
  2. 90
    Despite the long loading times (typically 50 seconds before each track) and the excruciating learning curve for non-pros, WipEout 2048 offers a tactically exciting, rewarding and challenge campaign mode with some gloriously-designed tracks and nice variety of events.
  3. Deploying a series of a deadly mines and hearing that soft, distant bang behind you when your opponents run into them is still as satisfying as ever. The same goes for taking the top spot in the final seconds of a race thanks to a conveniently placed speed pad. [March 2012, p.48]
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Some minor multiplayer issues and overly long load times do little to change the fact that WipEout is back in the palm of your hand, and it's better than ever.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    It may not be the most progressive title of the PS Vita's launch lineup, but it's a worthy addition to its stable.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    78
    It's a competent racer, but Wipeout 2048 feels too familiar for its own good. Long loads and underwhelming touch controls don't help the matter, and may dissuade anyone who isn't a longtime fan of the series. [Mar 2012, p.95]
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    It can be hard to look past the game's technical issues, which include insane pre-race load times and a frame rate that tends to rob the traditionally breakneck hover racer of its sense of speed. Toss in a UI that's a little too slick for its own good and you end up with something a little more ho-hum than you might be expecting.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD onI bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD on PS3. The visual play looks awesome, the control is steady. However you may dislike the wait cause every time you must wait for 60 seconds long until the initial race-loading completes. The multiplay is sometime interrupted by sudden network connection losts due to authority server out of sync. On Feb 15 2012, the patch 1.01 has been released with improved load time, various bug fixes, and new audio track: Orbital Beelzedub! Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This Game is Perfect, I Have this Game since 2012 and I'm still addicted to this Race! The Tracks are very detailed and the Ships are veryThis Game is Perfect, I Have this Game since 2012 and I'm still addicted to this Race! The Tracks are very detailed and the Ships are very Amazing! I have no issue about this Game. The DLC is Also Perfect and fix bug where the load Times was to long becomes Short now. In short,its still the Best Racing Game! Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Wipeout 2048 is a cool racing game. It has beautiful graphics and good gameplay. The controls were okay for me on the "Racer" config. TheWipeout 2048 is a cool racing game. It has beautiful graphics and good gameplay. The controls were okay for me on the "Racer" config. The loading takes a bit long time, but it's still good. The game is fun for me, I really enjoy it. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    This is the most impressive game for the VIta in terms of graphics. the game runs smoothly and the soundtrack is excellent. The only problemThis is the most impressive game for the VIta in terms of graphics. the game runs smoothly and the soundtrack is excellent. The only problem with the game is the long load times but you soon forget that when you are racing. Overall this is a must have game for every Vita owner Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    I got this game as a part of the PS Plus membership, and I'm really happy with it. The graphics are great, I love the art style, and the musicI got this game as a part of the PS Plus membership, and I'm really happy with it. The graphics are great, I love the art style, and the music goes well with the fast paced racing and combat. It surpasses both the PSP wipeout games in every way. This game was clearly a passion project.

    My only complaint is that a purchase of the online pass is required before being able to buy the HD DLC. Not cool.
    Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    While a Wipeout game without a 60FPS lock might seem preposterous, 2048 seems to give us quite a lot of other things to like about it, so IWhile a Wipeout game without a 60FPS lock might seem preposterous, 2048 seems to give us quite a lot of other things to like about it, so I can forgive it for the, still, missed framerate lock. In spite of that, we have sprawling beautiful graphics on both systems. This time around the art style feels fresh, showcasing a new direction (which fits right in). Sometimes seeing a sharp turn (or a potential detour) is a challenge on the small Vita screen, but that is more of a hardware problem.
    The soundtrack, ofcourse, is a great selection of speedy electronic tracks that are, as if, created to be part of the game. The option to make our own soundtrack is gone, and is dearly missed.
    The controls are tight as always, with the minor exclusion of the left Vita thumbstick, which tends to be rather slippery. Other than that, the fast gameplay that is a series staple is back and still extremely fun. Older fans of the series might notice a slight downgrade of the speed factor, though that might be due to the missing 60 FPS lock (again); at any case, it's not something important or gamebreaking.
    The massive racing campaign, though in reality quite repetitive, is worth the player's time, as it is well paced with different game modes (including the infamous, awesome Zone levels) and a progressively harder AI.
    Online matchmaking is a bit of a chore, and lacks a lot of options one would expect to be present.
    Another missing feature, that I loved from previous WipeOut titles, was the opportunity to create your own ship skin, but there are a few more ships available through DLC (ofcourse). The aircrafts provided are sufficient and powerful enough to blast through the game.
    Wipeout 2048 is one of the best Vita games, and one of the best racing games of recent years. It deserves a place on the shelf of every racing game fanatic or Vita/PS3 owner. I've found that playing on the go suits the game best, as it seems to be built with portable in mind, so I recommend the Vita version over the PS3 version. If not - get it either way, because it's fast, fun and frantic action that deserves to be experienced, even by those who are not introduced to the series yet. It's a good time to become a Wipeout fan.
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    This game is completely NOT worth the money. In fact I want to hurt myself every time I see a kid on here saying that it 'embodies the spiritThis game is completely NOT worth the money. In fact I want to hurt myself every time I see a kid on here saying that it 'embodies the spirit of PS One.' Um... No? This game has many flaws its un intuitive controls being the first. It turns to sharply or too wide at random points and it handles like a box of rocks on a trampoline. The reason this game has such a high review is because of the lack of experience on real racing games that makes kids say this game is good. Terrible game and I wish I could just have my money back. Smh Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.