SteamWorld Heist Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A game featuring space adventures and strategic shoot-outs. Assume the role of Captain Piper and recruit a team of rag-tag robots to explore and scavenge the remains of a destroyed world. Board enemy spaceships and command your crew in a unique variety of turn-based combat, where the outcomeA game featuring space adventures and strategic shoot-outs. Assume the role of Captain Piper and recruit a team of rag-tag robots to explore and scavenge the remains of a destroyed world. Board enemy spaceships and command your crew in a unique variety of turn-based combat, where the outcome is determined purely by your own skills. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SteamWorld Heist - E3 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Dec 22, 2015
    100
    Imagine & Form proved themselves to be formidable developers with the release of SteamWorld Dig, but SteamWorld Heist just takes it to another level in so many ways. It’s simple yet ambitious with a presentation as charming as its execution. Becoming a robotic tactician never felt so good with its stellar combat mechanics.
  2. NF Magazine
    Feb 4, 2016
    95
    SteamWorld Heist is easily the best 3DS eShop game I played in 2015, and one of the best 3DS games I've played, period. [Issue #19 – January/February 2016, p.26]
  3. Jan 3, 2016
    90
    Steamworld Heist is a package full of brightness: addictive gameplay, superb presentation, hours of strategic action, fun characters and a complete space adventure. Without a doubt this is one of the best digital games on Nintendo 3DS for beginners or experimented gamers.
  4. Dec 20, 2015
    85
    SteamWorld Heist is an excellent strategy game. The single player is nice and long, the missions are challenging and there is enough depth to do every mission like you want to. Even if you usually don't like this sort of game, you will probably love this one.
  5. Dec 11, 2015
    84
    Steamworld Heist could be a bit repetitive on the long run, but it manages to offer an interesting and charming turn based experience.
  6. Jan 3, 2016
    80
    The core gameplay might well be extremely simple, but this is a deceptively deep experience, one that manages to effortlessly balance challenge and accessibility.
  7. Dec 10, 2015
    70
    Steamworld Heist is an absorbing world wrapped around a decent game whose technical bits take away from a stellar personality.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    To put it in a sentence, SteamWorld Heist is the best game I played on 3DS in 2015. It achieved everything it was aiming for, to create anTo put it in a sentence, SteamWorld Heist is the best game I played on 3DS in 2015. It achieved everything it was aiming for, to create an enjoyable 2D tacictal RPG à la XCOM in the SteamWorld universe.
    TRPG often tend to be repetitive, and filled with grind (FE:Awakening). However, like XCOM, SteamWorld Heist is neither of that.
    Though the story itself is quite straightforward, the background of the game benefits from a fantastic soundtrack, engaging graphics and funny characters.
    This game is definitely a must have for every 3DS owner.
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2015
    10
    This game is surprisingly good. I don't play a lot of games like this, so it's hard for me to make a comparison, but the gameplay is similarThis game is surprisingly good. I don't play a lot of games like this, so it's hard for me to make a comparison, but the gameplay is similar to Worms. You move your character, you choose your weapon or action, and try to take a shot on the enemy team.

    The loot you can acquire in this game, coupled with the leveling and acquisition of new team members makes progression feel really rewarding. If you're into collecting things other than tactical weapons, you can shoot the hats off of enemy scrappers and wear those on each of your missions.

    SteamWorld Dig is a good game. But this is the deeper and more interesting game, by far, and almost makes their first game look shallow by comparison.

    It's also a beautiful game. The environments are rusty, but the characters are well animated and the backgrounds are really detailed. I hope this game isn't overlooked because it really is fantastic.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2015
    10
    I'd skipped this the first week it was out despite being a HUGE fan of SteamWorld Dig. It just didn't look as good to me.
    Well, I was wrong.
    I'd skipped this the first week it was out despite being a HUGE fan of SteamWorld Dig. It just didn't look as good to me.
    Well, I was wrong. Heist is an essential strategy game with a great light RPG element. It's perfect for gaming on the go with quick levels (~15 minutes) if you play smartly. The visuals are wonderful, and it is one of the few games that JUST SHINES in 3D.
    Strategy is a tough category, but if you like strategy, or SteamWorld games, or masterfully crafted awesome gaming experiences, you should check this game out! I am glad someone convinced me to give it a try, I think you will be too!
    Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2016
    9
    WOW! I absolutely love this game. This is one of those games that you play slowly to savor every aspect of the game, -not wanting to goWOW! I absolutely love this game. This is one of those games that you play slowly to savor every aspect of the game, -not wanting to go through it too quickly as you want the magic to last for a long time.

    Graphics: Excellent! -just stunning
    Sound: I love the way the robots speak, -turn your speakers up loud.
    Gameplay: Challenging, yet not frustrating. Fun, addictive.

    Really my only negative of this game is that there isn't a sequel out! I love this one, -I really wish that it was offered as a physical cartridge, as I do like collecting physical game copies.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    This is a very fun game. It makes me think that the creators of the game played Codename Steam and said "how can we make that game moreThis is a very fun game. It makes me think that the creators of the game played Codename Steam and said "how can we make that game more streamlined, engaging and accesible." The graphics are crisp and fresh. The characters are diverse and their various class skills (which level up with XP) add depth to the combat (which feels fair and challenging). The combat itself is very easy to grasp but as you progress through the game you gain new weapons the combat becomes more nuanced and allows you to play the way you want to.

    I don't know why there would be negative reviews (unless someone simply doesn't like the strategy genre). The game excutes very well at what it intended to do. Enjoy!
    Collapse
  6. Jan 13, 2016
    9
    Loved the game. Took about 17 hours to finish and loved every minute of it. Especially enjoyed the Steam Powered Giraffe songs that playedLoved the game. Took about 17 hours to finish and loved every minute of it. Especially enjoyed the Steam Powered Giraffe songs that played after bosses and in bars. Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2016
    8
    SteamWorld Heist was a game I had been waiting all year for. After playing SteamWorld Dig and being swept away with the characters and lore ISteamWorld Heist was a game I had been waiting all year for. After playing SteamWorld Dig and being swept away with the characters and lore I figured the series could only get better and to an extent I was absolutely right. This game has a certain polish to it that doesn't seem like it would be a "Nindies" title but that definitely isn't a bad thing. This game is brilliantly fun, and a breath of fresh air. Finally something new, this game is a good break away from all the FPS, and Sports games that are in abundance. SteamWorld Heist is well worth your money, and it boasts a fairly mediocre playtime. Longer than SteamWorld Dig. The main reason why this wasn't a 10-10 or 9-10 for me is because in all honesty this game is amazing, it lacks certain customizable features that make the game feel a bit dated,the gameplay can get kinda repetitive, and the loot options are not as different as made out to be. This game would be one of the best games on the 3ds if they could possible add free DLC which adds more weapons, hats, characters and so forth.

    Anyways I hope this review helped some of you. This is only my second review on Metacritic but I try to give my honest opinion. My final conclusion to SteamWorld Heist is that if your sitting comfortable with you money definitely go out and pick it up, but this isn't the game of all games on the 3ds that will keep you busy and busy. It is a great time killer just go into this game with a level head.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers