Star Fox 64

Nintendo 64
Star Fox 64 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Lylat system has been invaded! Join Fox McCloud and his Star Fox team as they fight to save the galaxy from the clutches of the evil Andross. Travel to many different 3-D worlds. Battle the enemy in the air and on the ground and listen in as Fox McCloud interacts with a cast of characters.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Star Fox 64 Gameplay Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Furious flying, controller-melting action, gorgeous graphics, and weird adversaries launch StarFox 64 into the stratosphere.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    91
    A very pretty reprise of the original Star Fox story, but with new stuff. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Starfox 64, while being a solid title, has one major flaw, length. Although there are separate paths, the game still isn't long enough. Within an hour of booting it, I finished the game, within the next half hour, I completed one of the alternate paths, etc.
  4. 87
    Takes the never-say-die shooter genre to new levels of complexity, sleek design, and gameplay control. StarFox 64 represents the next leap in the evolution of Nintendo games.
  5. The only thing that really kept StarFox 64 from taking off was its lack of difficulty. The game was insanely easy, almost to the point of amazement.
  6. Several interesting twists on the classic arcade shooter bring this game up a few notches.
  7. This game surpasses the 16 bit original in more ways than graphics. Overall, a strong game with some serious flaws.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Ghostbuddy
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Star Fox was a great achievement. Everything from its addicting gameplay, to its ridicious but memorable dialouge makes this a great game. Star Fox was a great achievement. Everything from its addicting gameplay, to its ridicious but memorable dialouge makes this a great game. This was the first game that I played that had multiple plot paths and multiple endings. This was the first game I played like crazy. But it certainly wasn't the last. It has been 11 years since I played this game as a young child. But I still remember this game fondly. Expand
  2. BenjaminP
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Wow! I've never expected N64 games can have perfect graphics! It has wonderful storyline, and it's very addictive. Star Fox 64 is a Wow! I've never expected N64 games can have perfect graphics! It has wonderful storyline, and it's very addictive. Star Fox 64 is a game that never gets old. Expand
  3. May 21, 2018
    10
    El mejor juego de la saga star fox, y uno de los mejores juegos de naves de la historia, personajes carismaticos y batallas extraordinarias,El mejor juego de la saga star fox, y uno de los mejores juegos de naves de la historia, personajes carismaticos y batallas extraordinarias, un must have de N64 Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    Ah yes. Good ol' Lylat Wars. (Or Star Fox 64) Surely one of the greatest games of all time. The gameplay is really fun and it has replay valueAh yes. Good ol' Lylat Wars. (Or Star Fox 64) Surely one of the greatest games of all time. The gameplay is really fun and it has replay value due to its multiple endings. The graphics are great for an N64 game. The controls are responsive and do a great job to navigate you through its challenging levels. The characters are great and have varied personalities even though Slippy is well, himself. Also, luckily Panther isn't in the game. Very lucky. It does get repetitive though... It's still a classic and I'd give a 9.5 if I could, but I can't. Unfortunately for poor of Fox and crew the later sequels are pretty bad (well, Star Fox Assault...ergh...). Hope they return to their glory days. I've also heard that Platinum Games want to make a Star Fox Game. Hope it works if they do get to it... Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Star Fox is one of the most popular games on the N64, and for good reason too; it brought new ideas to the video gaming board. Sure, Star FoxStar Fox is one of the most popular games on the N64, and for good reason too; it brought new ideas to the video gaming board. Sure, Star Fox wasn't the first piloting game, but it was the first piloting game to give the player a 3D perspective of the whole game (Or at least the first one to master it). It may not seem like a huge deal, but Super Mario 64 did the same thing with showing the possibilities of a 3D game, and it was one of the greatest games made.
    The keyword to this whole situation is "Master". For a game to be good, you have to expand and evaluate on the ideas and concepts on a game. To master a game, you have to do that, plus achieve every subconscious way to attract the player. Star Fox did this, and quite well at that. It put its new mechanics to the test, not with gimmicks, but with trivial or optional situations. It found a way to have mini-obstacles in the game for the player to experiment with, like random hoops or enemy formations. It also excelled in the combat system as well. It accomplished great control-ability, and smooth movement which gave the player a feel of complete control, especially with moves like the famous "Barrel roll".
    The main thing that makes Star Fox so great is that it's hard to find anything wrong with the game. Though, there are the cheesy lines and acting, the over-easy levels at times, and the lack of cooperation with teammates, those problems are minor. You have to look at the game as a whole, and look at what appealed to you the most. In Star Fox 64, there is much to appeal to you, and you will most definitely come back to play again (Most likely to find out how to play on those other planets).
    Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2018
    8
    Still the best in the series, sadly (though I highly recommend the 3DS remake, which is technically a better game and features lots ofStill the best in the series, sadly (though I highly recommend the 3DS remake, which is technically a better game and features lots of improvements and enhancements). The gold standard for space shooters on rails, with tons of personality and fun. My only complaint is the lack of a save feature. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2021
    0
    Furries were a mistake. This game is very much broken and there is a glitch where 99.9% of the time near the end of the game, the sequenceFurries were a mistake. This game is very much broken and there is a glitch where 99.9% of the time near the end of the game, the sequence will break and will not let you fight the last boss. This game is overrated as all hell, Wake up sheeple! You have been lied to. Go to your nearest hamburger shop and spread the truth about this game. The government is l y i n g to you about this game. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

4
3
#3 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
2
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997