After the Fall Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of Arizona Sunshine comes an epic VR action FPS with intense co-op gameplay at its core that pits up to 4 players against a post-apocalyptic VR world filled with ferocious undead, mutated and twisted by the relentless cold.

    Set in the ice-covered ruins of 1980s LA nearly
    From the creators of Arizona Sunshine comes an epic VR action FPS with intense co-op gameplay at its core that pits up to 4 players against a post-apocalyptic VR world filled with ferocious undead, mutated and twisted by the relentless cold.

    Set in the ice-covered ruins of 1980s LA nearly 20 years after the apocalypse, After the Fall combines an evolving VR world shared with players on all platforms with action-packed co-op gameplay, built from the ground up for VR.

    Venture out into the remains of post-apocalyptic LA, wield deadly weapons and devastating powers with real-life movements as you develop your combat style, and join forces with players worldwide. Go head to head with hordes and towering bosses in a bid to leave the city a better place than your predecessors.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
After The Fall - State Of Play Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 82
    Grab some Left 4 Dead, a splash of the much-loved arcade VR flavor, and mix it up with a hefty dose of frozen zombie apocalypse. The result will be After the Fall: not a perfect game – variety could use some work, especially – but the best action co-op ever developed in virtual reality, thanks to the experience and talent of one of the most skilled studios when it comes to injecting adrenaline and fun in VR.
  2. Dec 23, 2021
    80
    After the Fall executes its vision of Left 4 Dead in VR with gusto, as it brings much of what made Valve's four-player co-op great back 2008. There's still room for improvement when it comes to enemy variation and object interaction, but fans of arcade shooters may have a hard time knocking it on this alone, as it competently brings PC, PSVR, and Quest 2 in one big cross-platform splatter fest.
  3. May 12, 2022
    80
    A fantastic VR horde shooter that channels everything we love about the genre into a title that leaves the competition for dead.
  4. Dec 9, 2021
    78
    It lacks content on release (more will be coming free in next months), but even that doesn't prevent it of being a great "Left 4 Dead in virtual reality", very enjoyable with friends thanks to cross platform play. All works like it should, and putting the grinding element aside, It's a game we'll keep playing regularly in short bursts.
  5. Feb 11, 2022
    75
    Like I said at the outset, After the Fall is a fun game albeit a very short one. Yes, there is an extra PvP Team-Deathmatch mode that is moderately fun if you like VR multiplayer shooters. I found it very passable, no real issue other than I just want a fan; but if you like the VR shooters like Pavlov among many others then you may have some fun in the deathmatch. The story for the game is really just an excuse to team up with friends, and that’s ok because whether you play with friends or random folks like me After the Fall does enough to make your time spent with it feel enjoyable; and really isn’t that all we really want from our video games?
  6. Dec 21, 2021
    70
    I thoroughly enjoyed After the Fall for what it is: a VR Left 4 Dead clone with satisfying gameplay and some cool social VR settings that lay a solid foundation for the future. However, we don't know what that future looks like yet since we don't know how much content Vertigo will release in the coming years — and at what price. The included content is the bare minimum, and the game has a few issues to iron out before I can recommend it. That said, if you've been itching for co-op fun with some friends in VR regardless of the platform, AtF is a good choice if you can see pasts its numerous minor shortcomings at launch.
  7. Dec 15, 2021
    60
    After The Fall is yet another zombie VR shooter in the line of zombie VR shooters. The team that was responsible for Arizona Sunshine tries to build upon that with a cooperative experience that succeeds in that regard, but the overall experience isn’t that satisfying. The gun mechanics with the Oculus Quest 2 mostly work great and the PVP is a nice surprise, but the overall lack of current content and annoying bugs hurt the game at launch. The idea of a VR Left 4 Dead would work better if there weren’t already a ton of L4D clones on the market.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 12, 2021
    10
    This feels like one of the first true, BIG, VR titles to be released. Vertigo Games had plenty of practice with the popular Arizona SunshineThis feels like one of the first true, BIG, VR titles to be released. Vertigo Games had plenty of practice with the popular Arizona Sunshine and follow up with a stunning co-op, survival shooter. If you've played Left 4 Dead, World War Z, Warhammer Vermintide or any of the other survival shooters you'll be more than familiar with gameplay. There's plenty to do at launch but with more content promised almost immediately it's exciting times to own a VR headset, whatever platform you're on. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2022
    10
    The beginning when this game launch, it was rough I must admit but after a few updates it is truly one of the better expierences to have inThe beginning when this game launch, it was rough I must admit but after a few updates it is truly one of the better expierences to have in VR. I haven't felt like this since I first played left 4 dead. I adore what they have done with this game. They made an old idea fresh by making it VR. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2022
    10
    Even though you need a decent PC for this game, it is really good game! So much fun and thrill at the same time. I have seen people say itsEven though you need a decent PC for this game, it is really good game! So much fun and thrill at the same time. I have seen people say its Left 4 Dead 2 but in VR. From a guy who has played L4D2 for years honestly that comparison is inaccurate considering you can't play as zombies as far as i can tell in this game (what i think is Left 4 dead/2 biggest differenciator) This game with its guns and general vibe for me feels way more like Killing floor 2. Obviously it's still a great game and especially at any sale, pick it up! Its tons of fun especially with your 3 other friends! Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2021
    7
    After The Fall is definitely a fun VR Co-op shooter, and it draws heavy inspiration from the Left 4 Dead franchise but at launch, it isAfter The Fall is definitely a fun VR Co-op shooter, and it draws heavy inspiration from the Left 4 Dead franchise but at launch, it is lacking content. I have a feeling after about 50 hrs of play it'll become very boring to keep running the same maps with the same weapons over and over.

    On the bright side, Vertigo Games has confirmed that they are going to provide more content down the line which will keep this game fresh and entertaining for many more hours!
    Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2022
    7
    잘 만든 게임이다. 여러모로 vr을 잘 구현한것같았음
    약간의 멀미가 있고 사이버펑크한 공간에서 총질하는 게임