Ashes of the Singularity Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Humanity long ago shed its mortal skin and developed into beings of pure consciousness. But the Singularity is a thing of the past and the very future of human existence is being threatened. Though the post-humans wield godlike power, they find themselves at war for domination of not justHumanity long ago shed its mortal skin and developed into beings of pure consciousness. But the Singularity is a thing of the past and the very future of human existence is being threatened. Though the post-humans wield godlike power, they find themselves at war for domination of not just the Milky Way but all galaxies with Haalee, the sentient AI, who is bent on saving the universe from post-human predation. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Jul 11, 2016
    90
    Ashes of the Singularity has limited depth in some aspects, but as an RTS experience, and particularly as a first showing for its Oxide Engine foundation, it is absolutely stellar.
  2. Apr 16, 2016
    85
    Ashes of the Singularity may be a technical triumph, but it also delivers an experience we’ve not seen in this genre for at least a decade. The single player may lack a bit of personality, but the skirmish mode and seven AI levels take RTS to the next level.
  3. Apr 1, 2016
    75
    Ashes of the Singularity delivers thoughtful real-time strategy with tons of units in play, but drab maps and a poor story.
  4. Apr 7, 2016
    69
    A rock-solid RTS with mass battles, but only for fans of multiplayer and skirmish. The campaign turns out to be a sad affair.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 18, 2016
    65
    There’s no time to bother with tactics and individual units when entire armies are dishing it out: you have to keep your control points, expand your production capacity and methodically push back enemy. Warring sides are well-balanced, but that’s because they’re more or less mirror images of each other. Some diversity is brought only by upgrades and commander’s abilities like calling nuclear strikes or teleporting entire divisions. [Issue#209, p.62]
  6. Apr 26, 2016
    60
    If you are a competitive RTS player, I recommend you play Ashes of the Singularity and decide for yourself if it’s the game for you. There is certainly a lot to dig into for a hardcore player. However, if you are a more casual player, Ashes of the Singularity probably won’t engage you for long enough to learn the ins-and-outs of all the systems at play.
  7. Apr 25, 2016
    40
    As it stands, Ashes of the Singularity feels like little more than a tech demo of Stardock's new Oxide engine.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    In my opinion this is undoubtedly one of the best RTS games in many years if you like skirmish and multiplayer games. A game that isIn my opinion this is undoubtedly one of the best RTS games in many years if you like skirmish and multiplayer games. A game that is continually updated and devs that are serious about their game. A lot of strategy and a lot of eye candy. I have previously played a lot of Sup Com, FA and Planetary Annihilation. I have played Ashes about 90+ hours. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    Great game-play. I have a beefy rig and it plays very smooth. I find the game slightly twitchy but very engrossing. This game will eventuallyGreat game-play. I have a beefy rig and it plays very smooth. I find the game slightly twitchy but very engrossing. This game will eventually beat all RTS into the dust. Great game, highly recommended! Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2016
    9
    I've been following this game since before it was early access on Steam. I'm not going to compare it to other RTS games because I don't reallyI've been following this game since before it was early access on Steam. I'm not going to compare it to other RTS games because I don't really care. What I care about is if the game is fun, looks good, and is something I can play for a while going forward. The answer to all of that is a big yes.

    The scale of this game is insane, and when you have large battles going on and see all of those units in battles it's just a "wow" moment.

    I'm usually more of a fan of single-player, but I've been dabbling in the MP and have actually found myself playing more and more MP. Playing with others has been fun, and a challenge at the same time. But again, most importantly it has been a blast to play.

    I'd definitely like to see some things added to the game, but I have been reading the developer posts on their Steam forums, and they have a nice looking roadmap with what they plan to do with the game going forward.

    Don't mind some of these silly reviews here. This is an awesome game and I recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2016
    8
    I've followed the development of this game for some time. One of my first games was WarCraft 2 and I've loved RTS ever since. TA is probablyI've followed the development of this game for some time. One of my first games was WarCraft 2 and I've loved RTS ever since. TA is probably my all time favourite RTS game and apparently the designer of Ashes feels the same way about TA too. While it is clearly not TA2 TA's influence is clear on the game with the slower and tougher units, streaming economy, similar style maps and big armies clashing. Once wrecks and reclaiming is in the game (2H of the year) the comparison will be that much closer.
    I like that you can play with terrain obscured or not, or have Defenders on or not; those little changes can really change up the feel and pace of the game if you are feeling like a change. A map maker is already in the game and modding is encouraged so I think the game will have good longevity.
    The game is not without its problems, the UI needs work, I hope the aircraft get a little love in their movement patterns and I want water and navy asap. From what I have read UI improvements are on the way and navy will be added sometime down the line. But in the meantime the game is fun to play as it currently stands and is worth a go if you are an RTS fan.
    Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2016
    6
    It feels very generic so far kinda boring. This definetly isn't the worst RTS, but it brings nothing new to the genre from a gameplayIt feels very generic so far kinda boring. This definetly isn't the worst RTS, but it brings nothing new to the genre from a gameplay perspective. The whole game feels more like a big DirectX12 tech demo. It's like the team made a big demo to show the DirectX12 capabilities and did not gave to much attention to the gameplay or story, I do not know it just feels very bland Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2016
    4
    As a Red Alert, Dune, Starcraft and Supreme Commander fan I was very excited when this was announced. The final product however is a HUGEAs a Red Alert, Dune, Starcraft and Supreme Commander fan I was very excited when this was announced. The final product however is a HUGE dissapointment. Seriously this is more like a techdemo not a game, it doesn't have a great story (less then average in fact) that's "just" one problem, but it's like an empty husk with no purpose at all.
    The graphics looked promising, but once you observe in realtime on your computer you see it's not that great... The level design is boring - sorry there isn't any: You have a huge map with some resources and trees and snow and mud.
    That said, I still think this engine/technology could be a great base for a future game.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2016
    0
    This is the biggest waste of money i have spent on a game in years. Slow, boring, and massively taxing on a computer yet the graphics areThis is the biggest waste of money i have spent on a game in years. Slow, boring, and massively taxing on a computer yet the graphics are mediocre and the detail isn't that great. I'm shocked at how crappy this game is made. Huge hype for a mediocre game and heres the fun part, it's so full of bugs that you can't ever play a decent round without a crash or some weird glitch happening. Is your PC overclocked? Better turn that off cause it causes crashes. Direct x 12? May or may not work properly. I can't even shut the game down and close Steam without the game restarting over and over. I tried to get a refund but steam wouldn't let me. I am an advanced PC gamer and I build my own PC's. I have a top of the line Z170 build with all the best hardware and I have never had an issue with any game until this one. Very mad about buying this, and even more mad I can't be refunded. This is honestly a more boring version of Star Wars, Empire at War. It's extremely similar in regards to resources and land control to win. I'm honestly going to delete this and play Empire at War again...which is a 10 year old game. Sad...just plain sad. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews