Black & White 2 Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this real-time strategy sequel, you'll reprise your role as a powerful deity in search of a following and return to the once idyllic world of Eden, where the discovery of weaponry and warfare has tainted the beautiful landscape. With the help of your gigantic Creature that you raise fromIn this real-time strategy sequel, you'll reprise your role as a powerful deity in search of a following and return to the once idyllic world of Eden, where the discovery of weaponry and warfare has tainted the beautiful landscape. With the help of your gigantic Creature that you raise from infancy, you must earn the respect and worship of the natives. How you choose to do that, whether through nurturing them or terrorizing them, is up to you. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Black & White 2 Gameplay Movie 8
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. AceGamez
    100
    A shining triumph that looks and sounds as fantastic as it plays. It makes war fun, city building easy and your social life non-existent; but let's face it, do you really need friends when you're God?
  2. The game still suffers in gameplay because you’ve got to micromanage your population, telling people to go forth and do things one at a time, but at least your metropolis gets to be inhabited by a populous and intriguing people.
  3. Black & White 2 takes the same unique play style of the original Black & White and adds a system of objectives to make the game more linear. The result is mixed, but those who enjoyed the original will probably still find plenty to like about the new Black & White.
  4. If you’re a fan of the first B&W and you were just itching to see how your favorite game could get better, you’ll probably be disappointed by the sequel and be left to ask, like me, how on Earth could Peter Molyneaux have released such a game in the first place?
  5. Edge Magazine
    70
    As an RTS, Black & White 2 is less deep, but just as flexible and responsive – and when creatures, miracles, wonders and large armies are all in play it’s arguably the greatest show in gaming. [Nov 2005, p.94]
  6. Even with some warts, Black & White 2 is still pretty good. Heck, no god is perfect, right?
  7. The campaign is lackluster both in terms of plot and scope (even the optional "side" missions, while still present, aren’t nearly as creative or engaging as the original’s – and where’s my damn singing sailors?).

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    best game ever i love it finished it and did it over again via cheat so much fun i could do it every day and i would not hate thisbest game ever i love it finished it and did it over again via cheat so much fun i could do it every day and i would not hate this game............................. Expand
  2. BobH.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    This is a brilliant game! sure it had bugs but who cares when its so amazing!
  3. ZoeH
    May 24, 2008
    9
    What can i say? this game has really impressed me. The first time i played it i was getting a bit bored with the long tutorial that you have What can i say? this game has really impressed me. The first time i played it i was getting a bit bored with the long tutorial that you have to go through every time you start a new game but it does teach you well. A mega huge improvement over the original. The graphics took my breath away, you can really see every single blade of grass which blows in the wind and has little ants crawling in it and every strand of the creature's fur is visible. The water looks real, the sky looks real. The game controls are the most unique ever and again are much better than the original. Black And White 1 was quite frustrating for me and the little people freaked me out they were so weird looking, in this game they look human. The music and sound effects are most stunning, you can hear the wind howl when you zoom out and the peoples' footsteps and talking when you zoom in. The only dissappointment was the game being so easy to beat and it was short, the armies weren't very much of a threat, all it usually takes is simply picking up a large rock and dropping it on the platoon to crush them all or just use the hand forcing ability. All i do to kill the enemy creature is use the meteor miracle on it a couple of times. Nothing to it. The game has lots of humour to keep you entertained. The creature will sometimes poo on people's heads, you can even pick up the poo and throw it around or drop it on people. There's many more good things i can say about this game but i'm not going to write it all. I'm getting the Battle Of The Gods expansion pack soon which will extend the story and add two new creatures (a Turtle and the Tiger). Also i will have an enemy god to fight against. I can't wait! Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2021
    8
    Really pleasant game, I love it as a kid. I have re-played it quite recently, and it was still a lot of fun!
  5. PaulC.
    Oct 25, 2005
    7
    Good game, not as open ended as BW1, but a good game none the less. If i was critical i'd have to say the combat was a letdown - just Good game, not as open ended as BW1, but a good game none the less. If i was critical i'd have to say the combat was a letdown - just have more "troops" and you'll win. Terrain and Height - that was so important up to this point - suddenly is meaningless is a swarm of arms/legs and torso's reminiscent of the"Settler" series of games (Or a low budget "art" movie ...ahem) Also the arbiary and massive nature of some of the specials. _ Siren call = game over. Volcano = game over. You don't see them coming - but when they hit you (normally after you've invested 2 hours into a level) the only viable option is reload - restart. How arbitary is that ? Rule 3 in the "What games should and shouldn't do" could read. - Do not punish your player for just playing the game. It is not funny, and they may not buy another game from you. Pete - If your reading this -of course I will, looking forward to "Movies" just don't do this again. Expand
  6. JesseCarmack
    Dec 31, 2005
    6
    Black & White 2 is incomplete and broken. Besides the spectacular graphics and sound , the game suffers from flaws in every category.Black & White 2 is incomplete and broken. Besides the spectacular graphics and sound , the game suffers from flaws in every category. Whether it be the non-existant and highly scripted A.I , or the sheer lack of any real game. You will not find a great strategy game, or an innovative "god" game here. This game is abysmal. Keep away. Expand
  7. bigtroutz
    Oct 3, 2005
    0
    I have not seen this version of the game.

    However, all should be warned that the original B & W game was filled with fatal crashes which
    I have not seen this version of the game.

    However, all should be warned that the original B & W game was filled with fatal crashes which made playing it to completion impossible. Furthermore, although Lionhead was aware of the bugs, no patches were ever made.
    A big waste of money, IMO.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers