Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6974 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player storyModern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player story campaign. Special Ops pits players into a gauntlet of time-trial and objective-based missions. Rank-up as players unlock new Special Ops missions, each more difficult. Missions include highlights from the single player campaign, fan favorites from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and all new, exclusive missions. Setting a new bar for online multiplayer, Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer delivers new capabilities, customization, gamestates and modes, including: Create-a-Class Evolved. Secondary Weapons - Machine Pistols, Shotguns, Handguns, Launchers. Riot Shields. Equipment - Throwing Knives, Blast Shield, Tactical Insertion. Perk Upgrades. Bling (Dual Attachments). Customizable Killstreaks - AC130, Sentry Gun, Predator Missile, Counter-UAV, Care Package. Accolades (Post match reports). [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Elite Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next CoD is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here.
  2. Infinity Ward has managed to outdo themselves with this sequel, a tremendous feat in its own right. If the games of 2009 were stacked up against each other, there’s no question that Modern Warfare 2 would be incredibly close to the apex, fighting viciously for the top spot and, for many people, getting there and continuing upward. This is what gaming is supposed to feel like.
  3. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  4. The surprise factor of the first Modern Warfare is missing and the PC version is by far the worst in the PS3, X360 and PC trio. This new Call of Duty iteration exceeds every expectation with its off-line mode, but loses its place among the best shooters of this year because of its poorly designed and badly executed multiplayer.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    84
    A true video-game equivalent of a Jerry Bruckheimer/Michael Bay action movie. The singleplayer is engaging while it lasts, but the game's true value lies in the multiplayer. The online matches are fast, fun and highly addictive. [Nov 2010]
  6. PC Gamer
    80
    Modern Warfare 2's convincing weapons, evil enemies, shock-and-awe set-pieces and beautiful-but-unrelated locales suit nothing so well as co-op. [Jan 2010, p.72]
  7. If you told me three months ago we would be suggesting PC gamers hold off on buying Modern Warfare 2 I would have thought you're crazy. But if you are buying this game mainly for multiplayer - especially if you're contemplating serious competitive play at a high level - that's exactly what we're saying. The single player story is great, and if your idea of multiplayer is a quick zap with mates maybe an hour or two a week then by all means - it's great for your purposes. However if you're a Counterstrike, Battlefield, ETQW or even a COD4 player looking for a serious competitive platform to move to - best wait. Wait and see if Infinity Ward can implement dedicated server support.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. ConR.
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Awesome game, The single player is short but so exhilarating, some excellent actions scenes and the story line is believable enough. Multiplayer is very good too(never had lag). I'm not sure if you're aware or not but there was a atttempted boycott of this game by mostly the clans and modders. If you look at the user ratings for l4d there is still only 1.5k user reviews for it, within a day this page had 2k. All the people who have rated it 0 are the guys who are trying to stop other people from buying it. I think ign should put up a little note saying "Some of the reviews may be part of an attempted boycott by pc gamers" It's not fair on everyone else that just cause they can't have their clan wars or mod the gravity lvl. People might miss out on a brilliant game because of the selfish actions of these boo-boys! Buy it! Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as theModern Warfare 2 is the sequel to the first Call of Duty Modern Warfare who managed to be a revolutionary shooter. The game is produced as the first of Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The first game in the series was simply perfect, but the second failed to be quite so good as some reviews say. The story is not perfect, but it seems for little kids, I would say more but it would be ok to not give spoilers. The gameplay is simply awesome, the game uses the same graphics engine just improved. Graphics is also improved and bring great pleasure over the campaign. Game sound is ok, as well as those who have contributed voice acting. In conclusion the game worth playing, it is a good FPS. Expand
  3. AdamR
    Nov 21, 2009
    8
    IW deserves a lot of flak over MW2, but not an average 1.9 out of 10 user score! First, single player is short but sweet with a dash of IW deserves a lot of flak over MW2, but not an average 1.9 out of 10 user score! First, single player is short but sweet with a dash of replayability, Spec Ops is also a light but delicious snack, and Multiplayer is a thorough refinement on the first MW. Customizable kill streak, death streak, it's all great. That would be a 10 right there. The issue is the 1-2 punch of price increase for losing Dedicated servers and Mods. That's worth a 2 point hit. However, with Steam integration and the party system, playing with friends and clans is still a very viable choice, and there's no problems for those who just want an occasional night of casual fragging. Lag has yet to be an issue for me, I have yet to see cheats anywhere, and I have only encountered kick-worthy players once, not a bad rate, even for a dedicated server. Loss of dedicated server is not the end of the world: It's a loss, and an unnecessary one, and it certainly is enough to shop around for alternatives before you drop 60 bucks (Are you listening IW?). But no matter how other people try to slice it, its still a good game. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    2
    MW2's hay day is gone. Hackers have killed the game. Don't bother buying it unless you are buying the aimbot and wall hacks to go with it.MW2's hay day is gone. Hackers have killed the game. Don't bother buying it unless you are buying the aimbot and wall hacks to go with it. The only thing worth playing on this game is the single player missions. Besides that I wish I could get my money back. To future studio's remember to protect you game from hackers or you may lose players. Expand
  5. BJones
    Nov 17, 2009
    1
    I give it a one simply for the fact its a game. They took away our Dedicated Servers. They took away our ability to LEAN when the enemy and I give it a one simply for the fact its a game. They took away our Dedicated Servers. They took away our ability to LEAN when the enemy and your comrades can lean. The lack of Video/Graphic Options was a minus. The Audio Options...what options?....Speaker Option and a Volume Bar....are you serious? I dont know what happened at the office but some folks need to be smacked around a bit. I am stuck with a copy of this game and can only hope they patch the crap out of this. If they dont then it sits on the game shelf and collects dust while I play Modern Warfare 1 or whatever else comes to mind. Expand
  6. TylerH.
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Lets break this down as to why this game must be advoided no matter what. Dont even torrent it, doing so you acknowledge Activision/Infinity Lets break this down as to why this game must be advoided no matter what. Dont even torrent it, doing so you acknowledge Activision/Infinity Ward created a product you want. I'll compare what features COD4 offered vs. MW2, separated by dashes... networking = client/server - peer 2 peer avg ping (us) = 25-40ms - 100+ console ability = yes - no lean funtionality = yes - no custom maps = yes - no # of players = 64 - up to 18 mods = yes - no record game = yes - no kick/ban hackers = yes - no profiles saved online = no - yes select server to join = yes - no control offensive language = yes - no 0 ping host advantage = no - yes lan pay = yes - yes free demo = yes - no price = $50 - $60 If you think a 3hr, rediculous B action movie style, single player; with a few new perks and the removal of all listed above is worth more than any other game for pc at $60... then you'll only be feeding corporate greed, and you'll be letting them know its ok to raise prices in a recession, completely port a game from the inferior 360, and remove pc components that have always been in exsistance with damn near every game. Let it be known, Call of Duty had died for PC on 11/10/09. Expand
  7. RobH
    Jan 17, 2010
    0
    This thing is a pathetic hack of a second rate console shooter. VAC is a complete joke to the point that cheat sites are openly advertised This thing is a pathetic hack of a second rate console shooter. VAC is a complete joke to the point that cheat sites are openly advertised during the game. For me and the other person trying to play this honestly, it's a waste of time. Expand

See all 1363 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.