Call of Duty: WWII Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 685 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty returns to its roots with Call of Duty: WWII - a breathtaking experience that redefines World War II for a new gaming generation. Land in Normandy on D-Day and battle across Europe through iconic locations in historys most monumental war. Experience classic Call of Duty combat,Call of Duty returns to its roots with Call of Duty: WWII - a breathtaking experience that redefines World War II for a new gaming generation. Land in Normandy on D-Day and battle across Europe through iconic locations in historys most monumental war. Experience classic Call of Duty combat, the bonds of camaraderie, and the unforgiving nature of war against a global power throwing the world into tyranny. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hardcore No Hud Domination Multiplayer - Call Of Duty: WW2 Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 16, 2017
    90
    I can’t help feel (that word again) that Call of Duty: WWII is a definite improvement in the series, and I can only hope that they will choose to remain in this time period. Now that Sledgehammer Games proved they are up to the task, it’s very likely they will continue with some great releases. The community was not expecting this kind of quality from the franchise, especially after the declining trend of the previous titles, but it’s definitely a nice surprise and worth checking out, especially if you’re a PC gamer.
  2. Nov 6, 2017
    90
    As a whole package, Call of Duty: WWII has a little something for everyone to enjoy, but that has been the story of this series for a long time. No, this homecoming is far, far better than the sum of its parts, a true return to form in practically every respect. It feels alien to be looking back on a new Call of Duty release as anything other than enjoyable yet unremarkable triple-A fare, but here we are. Call of Duty: WWII delivers on all fronts: compelling and heartfelt in its storytelling; imposing in its sense of scale and spectacle; and unremittingly addictive in its gunplay.
  3. Nov 9, 2017
    80
    Call of Duty WWII embraces the series’ beginnings and tells its story through a gripping, thoughtful campaign, continued excellence with Nazi Zombies mode and an expanded (but still formulaic) online multiplayer experience. Anybody who remembers the good old times they had with the franchise’s earlier titles should eventually take a look, as Call of Duty WWII is a return to form.
  4. Nov 9, 2017
    75
    In terms of bringing old-school Call of Duty up to modern standards, Call of Duty: WWII does fairly admirably, but at the same time every end of it feels like something is missing. The campaign is a tour and spectacle of the terror and intensity of the conflict as the Allies fought their way into to the Eagle’s Nest, but the forgoing of nearly all outside perspectives in favor of an all-American campaign feels narrow in comparison to previous COD outings that have tackled this subject matter. Likewise, multiplayer is as tight as ever and War mode is a solid addition that we hope to see built upon in all further Call of Duty content, but the hub feels tacked on. Zombie Mode is still Zombie Mode and fans will find a lot to discover and challenge in the new scenario, but the stark tones might put off the more lighthearted fans of the mode in its previous incarnations. COD: WWII is far from the worst of the series and players will find a wealth of well-crafted moments and design here, but a few too many oddities and omissions keep it from being the best that Call of Duty has ever offered.
  5. Jan 2, 2018
    70
    A magnificent, but also a sympathetic, unpretentious return to the roots of the series. Yet the campaign is short-lived, and your next experience depends on how much you enjoy the multiplayer and/or shooting Nazi zombies.
  6. Nov 9, 2017
    70
    Shallow story combined with historic inaccuracies and very buggy multiplayer gave us a game that leaves a bitter taste in stark contrast with big expectations. War Mode is a bright spot and is currently the only thing really worth playing, but there’s still hope that the game might improve over time with patches.
  7. Nov 7, 2017
    40
    Call of Duty: WWII gives the impression of being prematurely published, and has a plethora of serious flaws. It’s return to the series roots is in setting only, and the game pales in comparison to the classics it draws inspiration from.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 139
  2. Negative: 89 out of 139
  1. Nov 6, 2017
    10
    Finalmente voltaram as origens, a campanha apesar de ser pequena é simplesmente fantastica a história, Jogabilidade, Multiplayer gráficos tudoFinalmente voltaram as origens, a campanha apesar de ser pequena é simplesmente fantastica a história, Jogabilidade, Multiplayer gráficos tudo muito fodaa, isso é call of duty. Expand
  2. May 2, 2019
    8
    After having played a good portion of the campaign I came here expecting glowing reviews! WTF?!
    The campaign doesn't quite live up to World
    After having played a good portion of the campaign I came here expecting glowing reviews! WTF?!
    The campaign doesn't quite live up to World at War but it still definitely holds its own in the set pieces. The stealth isn't overdone like in Battlefield and even though the premise of it even existing in a World War game it's a welcome change of pace and doesn't overstay its welcome (like in Battlefield where every other mission is a stealth one!!!)
    Yeah I guess you could say the guns don't sound that great and there's not a whole lot of variety but they still feel good (if a bit weak though... except the Kark98 that sh*t is fu**ing amazing!).
    The characters are a hit and miss for me... Pierson is kinda bland and the writing's a bit too cliched but Zussman is still pretty entertaining but I'd say characters are a weak point of the game (so far at least!).
    I also didn't care for the new medkit system at all! I think it's too distracting and breaks the immersion (one reason would be there's no option to for example hold down the medkit button and use 2 at the same time so it's a long wait to get back to the action)
    But overall the best things about the campaign are the set pieces and the over the top in-between segments that are genuinely exciting.
    In the end I'd say it's no World at War... but it comes damn close to it... if only it made us care more about the characters and had better writing.
    Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2017
    6
    I know I’ll probably get crap for writing this, but it’s just my personal opinion. I should also add that this review is solely based on theI know I’ll probably get crap for writing this, but it’s just my personal opinion. I should also add that this review is solely based on the multiplayer content! I only buy CoD games for their multiplayer, so I haven’t touch the single player campaign (I know, I’m a disgrace). Anyways, not sure what all the gripe is about as far as the game goes. Yes, things are out of place (obvious SJW crap) but if you put that all aside, the multiplayer that this installation of CoD offers is actually some of the best it’s been in a while. Now that’s not to say it’s perfect, because it isn’t. Just another standard run of the mill CoD game, but the way it’s presented to you is a lot more exciting. I really do enjoy the social hub and the different objectives you can pick up and complete. Not going to sugar coat it though, those features feel sort of like a rip off of Destiny 1. To keep this review short I’ll sum up by saying that CoD WW2 is not as amazing as intended, but still one of the best “new” CoD multiplayer experiences you’re going to get on PC (this is based on my experience which has thankfully been free of performance issues though). I do however advise against buying it solely for the multiplayer. That price point is nowhere near fair. As for the campaign, I cannot say.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2017
    2
    Pretty well optimized, decent graphics. At first it seemed they overhauled the audio, and added realistic sfx finally. But then after I tookPretty well optimized, decent graphics. At first it seemed they overhauled the audio, and added realistic sfx finally. But then after I took my first shot, I realized nope it was still the same crappy gun sounds. I don't know why its so hard for a AAA studio to add good gun sounds.

    The gameplay feels basically identity to every other COD game, including the old original WW2 ones. And that is a major problem. The originals were good....for their time. But its 2017 and games have evolved since then, but not COD. The physics engine is poor, the ragdoll effects are nonexistent. The death animations feel the same as all the other COD games, and it completely kills the game. When you blow up a group of enemies they just slouch over and die in their scripted death animations, instead of going flying or ragdolling. The gunplay is too fast and feels like the character has no "weight" to him. Other than a few scenes, it doesnt feel like you are really in WW2, because so many scenes are just completely unrealistic. Like using sniper rifle to shoot 60 enemies in 5 minutes. Or using a flak gun to shoot down 10 planes in under a minute. Or the endless waves of germans running at you with no intelligence. The explosions are very pixelated.

    The voice acting is okay, but some of the lines are cheesy or out of place for the scene. For the amount of money they spent on this game, there really is no excuse for how generic it is. The engine feels massively outdated and arcadey.
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2018
    1
    Разработчику, который делал миссию с танками, я бы вырвал руки и засунул их прямо в ***!!!
    Единица, только 1, большего эта игра недостойна
    Разработчику, который делал миссию с танками, я бы вырвал руки и засунул их прямо в ***!!!
    Единица, только 1, большего эта игра недостойна
  6. Sep 13, 2018
    0
    A cheap rehash of Medal of Honor Allied Assault made out of jealousy of Battlefield 1's success,this series is already beaten to theA cheap rehash of Medal of Honor Allied Assault made out of jealousy of Battlefield 1's success,this series is already beaten to the ground,the only series more stupid and repetive i can think of is Grand Theft Auto because of forced controversies.Call of Duty on the other hand is playing safe all the time not trying anything new really. All guns in the game sounds like airsoft guns, the violence is so tuned down it makes me wonder why is it 18+?Because of zombies or killing?With violence tuned down this low it should atleast 16+ unless we are still living in 90s and everything with a smallest drop of blood makes the game 18+....
    Don't even get me started on the upcoming Black Ops 4 this is pure embarrassment,jumping on a bandwagon of one weakest genre's of video games battle royal. If that won't teach them something then there is no hope for either series nor FPS genre as a whole.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2017
    0
    This game is so bad, I had to write a review here, to express how much bad it is. it doesn't even deserve to be rated with 1. No no no, ZeroThis game is so bad, I had to write a review here, to express how much bad it is. it doesn't even deserve to be rated with 1. No no no, Zero is what this piece of incredible dullness deserves. For 60$ you get a retextured typical COD gameplay, with empty characters and empty story. A conveyer at its finest. Zero new mechanincs, zero inventions, zero creativity. Zero joy is what you get, with buying this game. It tries to be Battlefield, but behind nice screenshots is a plastic world, with tight corridor like levels, and empty background. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews