Dead by Daylight Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 852 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Death Is Not an Escape. Dead by Daylight is an upcoming multiplayer (4vs1) horror game where one player takes on the role of the savage Killer, and the other four players play as Survivors, trying to escape the Killer and avoid being caught, tortured and killed.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead by Daylight | Sadako Rising | Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 24, 2016
    90
    An amazing survival horror experience and my favourite indie game so far this year; you’ll sure as hell see this one on my list of top 5 games of 2016.
  2. Jun 21, 2016
    78
    Dead by Daylight is a good game, but it lacks of content. Hope to see more soon.
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    75
    The slasher genre fits great in a multiplayer game, and Dead by Deadlight is a proof of it. Jason Voorhees approves.
  4. Jun 28, 2016
    70
    Despite of lack of content in its launch, Dead by Daylight is an original adventure multiplayer game that it is worth and captures perfectly the style of classic movies of horror.
  5. Jul 2, 2016
    68
    The idea is great and it's really intense and fun when played with friends. However, it's not the most polished experience, so it might be worth waiting and seeing how it improves in the upcoming months.
  6. Jun 28, 2016
    65
    Dead By Daylight is a fantastic concept that, in practice, needed much more work put into it.
  7. Jul 4, 2016
    60
    Dead by Daylight executes the concept of a competitive horror game well, but only to a point.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 252
  1. Jun 17, 2016
    10
    Dead by daylight will make your heart beat and you will feel the tension when sneaking around or getting chased by a raving psycopath! A mustDead by daylight will make your heart beat and you will feel the tension when sneaking around or getting chased by a raving psycopath! A must have for everyone who like horror! Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    9
    Despite the game's rough start, the game has vastly improved with new characters and updates. Matchmaking has been fixed, as have it's manyDespite the game's rough start, the game has vastly improved with new characters and updates. Matchmaking has been fixed, as have it's many bugs (With many, MANY, less bugs than Friday the 13th: The Game). With iconic characters such as Michael Myers, Laurie Strode, Leatherface, William "Bill" Overbeck, and soon to be Freddy Krueger, as well as original characters such as the Huntress, the Trapper, the Hillbilly, Meg Thomas, Dwight Fairfield, Jake Park, Claudette Morel and many more. I recommend this game to anyone who likes to get scared in a multiplayer experience. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2020
    8
    This is a fantastic game for people who want a thrilling experience that keeps you on your toes. As a horror movie fan, I am so impressed withThis is a fantastic game for people who want a thrilling experience that keeps you on your toes. As a horror movie fan, I am so impressed with the killers they were able to pull into this game and how they implemented their abilities into actions and perks. As with all games, there are issues, but typically the dev team is quick to fix smaller issues and are constantly trying to balance the game. The way the game is set up, you will definitely become very frustrated. With this, you can either get upset and stop playing, or continue playing and get better and better with each match. The game is a hard one to balance, but figuring what perks work for you and pairing them with different items helps make the game more fun. The idea of the game is very original and I can't believe I am only just coming across it in 2020!

    To recap: The game is very fun, but there will be times when it is unfair and you get frustrated. It's a survival horror game, not fairy princess funland. I look forward to the future of this game and new characters they will bring!
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2019
    5
    So I have played this game for a few hours now and I must say... wow... Just wow. I've never seen a game be so fun but also be such trash atSo I have played this game for a few hours now and I must say... wow... Just wow. I've never seen a game be so fun but also be such trash at the same time.

    There are a multitude of issues with this game from balance issue on both survivor and killer side, such as crutch mechanics, broken killer abilities and addons. Same with perks on both sides. Some are not expressly broken but are completely unfun to deal with.

    This game also has massive issues with hitboxes and server connections. The combination of the two will have you getting hit from china by the killer when you play survivor and missing grabs and hits as killer when playing against survivors.

    The community... The community for the most part is toxic af and myself am guilty of this. A lot of the toxicity in this game stems from the broken/unbalanced/straight up unfun aspects of this game.

    Other issues with this game include, poor optimization and ui design. The game does not run very well for a game that is not that graphically intense and from 2016 using the Unreal engine. Menus can be clunky and sometimes broken leading you to be kicked from your lobby just because you activate a challenge within the game. As I post this it's Dec. 15, 2019 and until about two months ago I could not run this game without massive stuttering issues unless I used a Nvidia driver that was almost a year old. I spent a lot of time looking into the issue and the best I could find from a rep from Behavior was that "it's windows 10's fault" But then about two months ago they updated their engine and now my issues is resolved... I still have an issues with crashes if I use the most recent drivers and try to play this game. My gpu is a 970, so if you have a 900 series card be cautious.
    Oh, bugs. Lots and lots of bugs. Every month and a half and two months the have a mid chapter update and a chapter update, and I can not recall an update where they did not break some aspect of the game. Some of the greatest hits include being hit through solid objects, broken sound, falling through the map, being put in a certain part of the map and losing control of your character, getting a black of grey screen, randomly losing the ability use your keyboard in game (could still use it in google and other applications and in the game only after the match had ended), and others I can not recall.

    Another thing I have a personal issues with is, the devs seem more interested in releasing cosmetics in their ingame shop than actually fixing the game. (If you like cosmetics, this game's got em in spades)

    The game 'can' be great fun if played with friends. Though played solo it can also be fun but I would not hedge you bets on that.

    At the end of the day, it's your money. If you want to try it out, go for it.
    Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2019
    2
    Как я люблю повторять задумка классная, даже может быть разработчики эту и задумку впервые и воплотили я не знаю может кто-то раньше иКак я люблю повторять задумка классная, даже может быть разработчики эту и задумку впервые и воплотили я не знаю может кто-то раньше и создавал что-то подобное? Прикол в том что игра дисбаланская и разработчики каждый раз делают какую то хуйню и разрушают игру, разрабам просто поебать они даже не могут пофиксить проблему с лобби в 19 году! Понимаете блять какое свинское отношение? В эту хуйню играют 12 летние дети насмотревшись всяких хуесосов на ютубе. Комьюнити этой игры это отдельная тема для разговора, это пиздец, это настолько кринжовые люди что представить невозможно. Испанский стыд, каждый раз когда я искал лобби для игры в дискорде и когда с ними общался У КАЖДОГО я осмелюсь сказать это был со своими загонами, каждый из них был блять психический не стабильным и нес всякую хуйню. Видимо игра так влияет на людей, игра быстро наскучивает, игра на маньяке невозможна, 4 челика по дискорда выебут в рот и в жопу мана. К слову я апал 1 ранг на сурве 2 раза и 6 ранг на мана так что сосите хуй уебаны. Игра говна. Графика говна, проблемы с фпс, экран в говне, цветовая гамма гавна, движок говна. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2021
    0
    Killer got DC and I got the penalty! Which game bans you for playing it with no reason? The devs are a joke and need therapy! Fix your ****Killer got DC and I got the penalty! Which game bans you for playing it with no reason? The devs are a joke and need therapy! Fix your **** crap! I want to give minus review but there is no option Expand
  7. May 16, 2020
    0
    The only thing good about this game is its concept, everything else is abysmal.
    -P2P hosting making matches a laggy mess or results in
    The only thing good about this game is its concept, everything else is abysmal.
    -P2P hosting making matches a laggy mess or results in disconnects.
    -Balance is a joke, most changes seems rushed.
    -Map design is just badly balanced and really bland.
    -Toxic community, also most of the mechanics in the game reward bad behaviour.
    -New content feels rushed.
    -A lot of buggs and technical aspects in need of fixing.
    -High amout of hackers, cound be contributed to high amount of new Russian players which always ruins games for others.

    These developers are clueless, inexperienced and it shows. To create a game with asymmetrical pvp like this one takes skill and knowledge they seem to lack both.

    This game is even more trash now in 2020, damn 4 years and nothing learned, of pure ignorance and denial of the game's core problems. The game is still an unbalanced mess, while survivors gets 500 billion free-cards out of a bad situation killers gets nothing and realizes that the only way to "win" is to camp survivors(Both sides are cancer trash btw, especially SWF). I'm just astounded by the incompetence here by the development team, truly miserable. But hey more DLC and more battlepasses!
    Expand

See all 252 User Reviews

Trailers