Devil May Cry 5 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 956 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story is set several years after Devil May Cry 4.
    Legendary DMC action returns, made all the more stylish by the power modern gaming has to offer.
    Behold stunning visuals built upon the technology that brought you Resident Evil 7 biohazard. High framerate graphics and flexible design
    The story is set several years after Devil May Cry 4.
    Legendary DMC action returns, made all the more stylish by the power modern gaming has to offer.

    Behold stunning visuals built upon the technology that brought you Resident Evil 7 biohazard. High framerate graphics and flexible design give our creators what they need to offer fans the latest and greatest DMC experience.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Devil May Cry 5 - Mega Buster Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    100
    Dropping the puzzles in favor of a more streamlined, combat focused experience is another good change, and really helps the game have more of a laser focus. With plenty of content to keep you busy, as well as both free and paid DLC in the works, Devil May Cry 5 is well worth your time, and hard earned dollars.
  2. Mar 6, 2019
    98
    Devil May Cry V is the best entry in the series and one of the best character action games ever released. In addition to its excellent combat mechanics and level design, which expand greatly on the elements introduced in past games, the story and characters had never before received such focus in Devil May Cry. The game may be lacking in extra content such as the fan-favorite Bloody Palace mode at launch, but don't let this small flaw prevent you from getting what will surely be one of the 2019 Game of the Year contenders.
  3. Mar 11, 2019
    92
    Devil May Cry 5 is yet another exquisite game from Capcom. True to its roots, but also with attractive innovations, surprisingly gorgeous and fun, it is probably the ideal sequel to a classic action series.
  4. Mar 6, 2019
    90
    Three great characters and a beautiful, fluid combat system make this a must-buy for hack-and-slash fans.
  5. Mar 6, 2019
    90
    Without being perfect, especially with respect to the camera handling and lock system, Devil May Cry 5 is an amazing action game with strong playable characters and a great sense of challenge and polish.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 20, 2019
    85
    DMC 5 takes the best from previous titles, like over the top action and nuanced battle system, adds a great new character and makes the best use of modern technologies. [Issue#236, p.20]
  7. Mar 6, 2019
    80
    Devil May Cry 5 might not be the best entry in the series, but it's a good time with great gameplay, in spite of the middling story and bland art direction.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 134
  1. Mar 8, 2019
    10
    It is very, VERY rare that a game is able to out shine it's predecessors, especially a game like DMC which has a game base spanning back toIt is very, VERY rare that a game is able to out shine it's predecessors, especially a game like DMC which has a game base spanning back to the PS2 days, but this in my opinion is the best in the series so far. The combat is slick, the story is great, Dante is exactly how you expect Dante to be years after DMC 3/4, there is just no aspect of the game that hasn't been improved on.

    Capcom are doing a great job at the moment with both their remakes (Resi 2) and new games (this). The game is very well optimised on PC, no signs of a generic "PC port" and actually feels like they put in effort in for the PC community.

    Fans of the series will feel right at home, new players may be a little confused at first, but I am sure YouTube by now has a "everything you need to know before playing DMC5" or something to catch you right up.

    All in all I highly recommend the game to anyone who is a fan of the genre, this is definitely going to be a GOTY contender for 2019.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2019
    10
    DMC 5 one of the best games in 2019, after RE2 Remake and Metro Exodus. Looks like Capcom became one of the best developers soon.
  3. Mar 23, 2019
    10
    Absolutely amazzing best dmc game and one of my Favourite Hack And Slash game
  4. Mar 10, 2019
    10
    Back in 2002 when i finally got my PS2 (took a while to save up money as a 13/14 year old) Devil May Cry was first game i got for it, beenBack in 2002 when i finally got my PS2 (took a while to save up money as a 13/14 year old) Devil May Cry was first game i got for it, been psyched about it for a year and was one of the main motivators for me to get a PS2 in the first place.
    As i suspected when i finally played it DMC was everything i hoped for, and it instantly skyrocketed to the top of my favorite games list.
    Bar DMC2 which was a "slight" disappointment, DMC games always held a special place in my mind.
    DMC reboot wasn't a bad game, on the contrary it was pretty good, alas it was not what fans wanted and what we waited for.
    I'm glad to say DMC5 is a return to form for Capcom and for DMC franchise, all the main characters are back with a vengeance, and i can honestly say that the game is everything i've been hoping for from a new main line DMC sequel.

    Graphics 10/10

    Not much to say here, RE engine looks incredible, game seems well optimized, and it ran great on my system (Ryzen 2600X, 16GB RAM, GTX 1080, at 3440x1440), only small gripe i had was that game doesn't support ultra-wide (atm) so i had 2 grey bars on the sides of the monitor.

    Audio: 9/10

    OST is as expected great, game's main anthem Devil Trigger, which is also Nero's battle music is a departure from usual heavy metal songs. But it fits Nero much better imho.
    Rest of the soundtrack especially Dante's battle theme are more in line with older OSTs.
    DMC3 OST still stands as best in the series for me, 5 isn't far tho.
    Played with English dub, and voice actors did great work, not much else to say, there are some scenes where lip sync doesn't sync very well, but luckily it doesn't detract much from game, and it's doesn't happen very often.

    Gameplay 10/10

    Nailed it, and nailed it so much.
    Everything just "feels" right, way Nero and Dante control is just like i remember from old games, and any veterans returning should feel right at home in DMC5.
    V is a fresh take on combat in DMC where he doesn't fight directly, Instead you control his "pets".
    It's weird at the start but you get used to it, altho i quickly found a way to cheat my way to SSS with him and it's rather easy to pull off.

    Story 9/10

    I'm rating it within "DMC sphere" of storytelling, anyone who played older DMCs knows that DMC story can be weird to say the least, like a fun B movie.
    And that's fine, DMC never took itself very seriously and DMC5 is no exception.
    If you are new just relax don't engage your brain too much and enjoy the ride.

    Overall I loved every second of new DMC, I'm gonna play higher difficulties now, and hunt some achievements.
    And here's hoping Capcom makes a proper DMC6 in a couple years and we don't have to wait 10+ years for a new mainline DMC again.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2019
    9
    Top of its class. Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.TopTop of its class. Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class.Top of its class. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2019
    9
    I love the game so far, even though Devil Hunter (Normal) is kinda easy compared to previous games, later difficulties like Son of Sparda getI love the game so far, even though Devil Hunter (Normal) is kinda easy compared to previous games, later difficulties like Son of Sparda get really hellish, comparing to the nightmare that was Devil May Cry 3's Dante Must Die, which was full of powered up enemies and better AI that standard difficulties.
    The controls are just beautiful, pretty responsive, and all combos/special moves are really satisfying to pull off, i even thought that playing with keyboard felt great (most action games like this leave keyboard as an afterthought and focus on improving controls with normal Playstation, Generic USB or XBOX controllers) and i love the fact that this game has full support for switch pro controller (which in my opinion is one of the best controllers ever made).

    The game runs at a stable 60+ FPS with high settings & 720p on an outdated Intel I5 & a Nvidia GTX 1050, which means almost every current computer can run the game at a stable framerate on lower settings.

    The only things that bring the game down for me are the lack of turbo mode, Denuvo and the fact that we don't play as the new character "V" that much.

    all in all one of the best, if not the best Devil May Cry games.
    Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2019
    1
    AMAZING Graphics! But thats it! The game is so boring and repetitive. How can this game get so high score is beyond me.

See all 134 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.