Evil Genius 2: World Domination Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A satirical spy-fi lair builder where YOU are the criminal mastermind! Construct your base, train your minions, defend your operations from the Forces of Justice, and achieve global domination.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Evil Genius 2 - Official Gameplay With Developer Commentary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mar 29, 2021
    100
    The balance of needing to manage your lair and check your world map is particularly well done. As your network grows it can get harder to avoid lockdowns, but upgrades bring it back in line. My only minor gripe is that you can’t properly micromanage minions. They have auto-assigned tasks and if you need things prioritizing - for instance, the removal of dead agents blocking the corridor - you need to get your Genius to step in, which can be dangerous. If you love building games, creating elaborate strings of traps, playing the bad guy, and generally living your best island life scamming tourists, Evil Genius 2 is for you.
  2. Mar 29, 2021
    85
    A great sequel for a great classic. Management can be tricky and some items can feel unbalanced, but all in all Evil Genius 2 is stylish, delightfully comedic and a blast to play.
  3. Mar 29, 2021
    80
    Anyone who ever dreamed of being the villain building an island base to rival Dr. No should give Evil Genius 2: World Domination a fair shot.
  4. Mar 30, 2021
    80
    Overall, Evil Genius 2 is a worthy successor to Elixir Studio's cult classic. Despite some minor pacing and quality-of-life issues, the game delivers a compelling and detailed management sim with an engaging theme. Its excellent use of tongue-in-cheek humor and bold style do a great job of capturing the feel of an over-the-top 1960s spy spoof, allowing players to fully immerse themselves in the world of super spies and doomsday devices.
  5. Mar 29, 2021
    75
    Without ever seeking to upset the original formula established by Evil Genius, this second episode ultimately offers few changes in the face of its 17-year-old elder.
  6. Apr 26, 2021
    70
    Even though Evil Genius 2 has not developed that much in terms of gameplay and story, the visual improvements are so good that can actually lift the game and fully satisfy the hardcore fans of Base Building genre.
  7. Mar 29, 2021
    60
    Evil Genius 2: World Domination has a certain nostalgic charm, and not just because of its retro 007 stylings. It feels like something you might have found on your dad or friend’s computer back in the Windows 3.1 era and sunk a few diverting hours into. Unfortunately, a lack of depth, challenge, and modern features makes the game hard to fully recommend in 2021. Some fun can be had if you keep your expectations in check, but don’t count on Evil Genius 2 taking over your world.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 10 out of 23
  1. Apr 2, 2021
    9
    Великолепная игра. Чувство как будто снова вернулся в 2004 год.
  2. Apr 12, 2021
    8
    Thus, the developers of Evil Genius 2: World Domination created a great second spin-off. The storyline is successful and always brings funnyThus, the developers of Evil Genius 2: World Domination created a great second spin-off. The storyline is successful and always brings funny ideas and dialogs to you. Thus, the seizure of power and the many possibilities is well done. Unfortunately, some tasks repeat themselves too much. Still, it's a lot of fun to be the villain and gradually take over the world. If you would like to play a successful title with such a theme, you can gladly take a look at "Evil Genius 2: World Domination".

    (https://www.playmoregames.de/post/evil-genius-2-world-domination-pc-im-test)
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2021
    8
    Being a big fan of Evil Genius I was early on the bandwagon but skeptical that the lightning could be put back in the bottle for the sequel. IBeing a big fan of Evil Genius I was early on the bandwagon but skeptical that the lightning could be put back in the bottle for the sequel. I am glad to say that after my first 10 hours playing the game I am not disappointed.

    Getting into the visuals:
    The visual style is updated but true to the original. I enjoy the cleaner asset design that adds to the satirical flare and creates a very readable visual for your base. The updates to the visuals of the world map are again spot on with the vibe of the original while updating it to fit with the modern aesthetics.

    Getting into the mechanics:
    My favorite aspect of building my base in the original was the creation of diabolical trap combinations that made it nearly impossible for the Forces of Justice to penetrate my defenses. I would say my greatest disappointment is the fact that traps are not as customizable and therefore less effective than they were in the original. I would have loved to be able to control the placement of trap triggers like I used to. The traps in Evil Genius 2 are more engaging as a bit of comedic relief than they are truly deadly for the Agents of Justice. Perhaps as I unlock more advanced traps I will find a way to kill an entire team of enemy agents with a diabolical chain reaction, but I am not optimistic.

    Missions in Evil Genius were always a bit cumbersome. Having to remember exactly which minions needed to be sent on each mission when that information would disappear when you started to select the minions to deploy was a hassle. This problem has been elegantly addressed in Evil Genius 2. Simply click on the mission icon and select "Deploy". I also like the fact that the requirements for a mission are always clearly listed in the mission description. In Evil Genius the triggers to make a mission appear on the map were not always clear. It is very possible that there are missions that I never even saw on the world map and I have no way of knowing what I missed.
    One big problem with the missions in Evil Genius 2 is the fact that minions do not give mission deployment top priority. They seem to deploy only after they have maxed out all of their stats. This is frustrating because it can take 15 minutes for a minion to go to the helipad and many missions have a limited mission availability. On top of that, the missions are always one way trips, so there is no reason to require that the minions are at max on all stats before deploying.
    In Evil Genius the effectiveness of your command center was always ambiguous. This has been cleared up in Evil Genius 2 by listing clearly what resources are produced by the command center and what is needed to establish a criminal network and the passive income that is generated is far more manageable than having to deploy minions to territories whenever more income is needed. This is probably one of the greatest improvements over Evil Genius, from a mechanics perspective.
    Research is much clearer to understand in Evil Genius 2 than it was in Evil Genius, but the tech tree approach is very expensive in resources and time. In Evil Genius research was essentially flat and it could evolve organically. That simply is not possible with the tech tree. It is also frustrating to have to spend time and resources on tech that I would prefer not to research, to get to the tech that I want.

    Final Appraisal:
    Being a fan of Evil Genius it is very difficult not to see this game through the lense of comparison. I have spent hundreds of hours on Evil Genius and based on what I have seen so far, I will spend hundreds of hours on Evil Genius 2 as well. It is enjoyable and stays true to it's roots. While there are some changes that are net minuses, the majority of the changes are positive and it is just as enjoyable for me as it's predecessor.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2021
    5
    Un juego peculiar para muchos seguramente, algo original incluso, aunque a mí me recuerda a un theme hospital que no llega a encajar del todo.Un juego peculiar para muchos seguramente, algo original incluso, aunque a mí me recuerda a un theme hospital que no llega a encajar del todo.

    A nivel visual cumple e intenta ser gracioso, aunque para mí no lo consigue como sí hacía el theme en su día.

    Respecto al gameplay... he intentado varias mecánicas y me parece algo lento y repetitivo, a la vez de falto de opciones.

    El tutorial en concreto es muy aburrido y creo que deberían haberlo hecho algo más libre, para el juego que es te obligan en exceso a seguir un camino predeterminado y aburrido.

    Aprueba porque para los fans del género puede dar bastantes horas, para el resto de personas creo que no es una gran opción, esperaba algo más sinceramente.
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2021
    4
    Après 15 heures de jeux, j'ai trouvé ce jeu très moyen. J'ai donc rejoué au premier épisode et cela me conforte dans mon idée. Ce secondAprès 15 heures de jeux, j'ai trouvé ce jeu très moyen. J'ai donc rejoué au premier épisode et cela me conforte dans mon idée. Ce second épisode est mauvais

    Il y a de bonne chose sa premiere vu :

    - Les nouveau graphisme sont très bien
    - L'idée du casino est excellente et donne de bonne technique de gestion des ennemis
    - Base sur plusieurs étage et système de dureté de la roche pour laisser une évolution de la base par étape : une idée super

    Mais trop de mauvaise chose :

    - Système de recherche bien moins évolué que dans le précédent épisode.
    - système de carte mondiale moins lisible et moins pratique
    - On passe notre temps a attendre et on s'ennuie
    - Campagne artificiellement longue avec des objectifs a rallonge pour rien.
    - On s'ennuie, et on s'ennuie encore

    Bref a fuir.

    Mais si des modeur géniaux veulent refaire le 1 avec les graphisme du 2, je signe de suite !
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2021
    3
    So here we are

    EG2 finally came out A whole bunch of socially awkward gamers awaited this ever since, the first one was a masterpiece!!!
    So here we are

    EG2 finally came out

    A whole bunch of socially awkward gamers awaited this ever since, the first one was a masterpiece!!!
    This one here does not live up to its legacy however.

    Pro:
    - Nicely overhauled building system allows you to preplan your entire base (if you want) and allows you to fix smaller parts of your lair by adding material,
    - Recruitment system is easy to understand. Nothing to master here.
    - Fancy new "Protocols" allow you to deal with invaders quick
    - Different Armaments for your Minions allow you to focus on certain tasks, either capturing, or killing them
    - Corpse disposal has become much easier, unlike back in the days, where you had to wait for "years" until the freezers were free again
    - Looks nice

    Cons:
    - It lacks the kind of humor of the old one - EG1 was funny, but in a serious way. EG2 is TRYING to be funny, but in a childish, really not funny way, e.g. you only have the one chair for questioning, unlike EG1 where you could extract intel by putting your enemies into the bowl at the mess hall...
    - Minions are portrayed as incompetent fools, rather than actually pros
    - The Dialogue scenes ridicul your avatar in many ways, making it lose the seriousness of the entire thing overall
    - Making money ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ sucks, passive income is low, and you just grind schemes to make cash
    - They removed the reknown system
    - Super agents are not a real threat since there is only one entry, and you just place all your guard tables there, and it's GG
    - There is no outside world anymore
    - "MORE POWER NEEDED"
    - The AI voice is annoying
    -...

    Tl;Dr
    Overall, it did not live up to the expectations. Some parts included quality of life changes, but it is overall simplified in ways that are just a letdown for old veterans like me.
    The Cons overweigh the pros on so many ways. Hands off this game, as much as it hurts.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2021
    0
    Could be a good game, but are completely ruined with severe game breaking bugs. Not the “how annoying” kind, but the kind where you can notCould be a good game, but are completely ruined with severe game breaking bugs. Not the “how annoying” kind, but the kind where you can not continue the game. So you spend 30+ hours building your lair, and that’s it game over try again due to a bug Expand

See all 23 User Reviews