F.E.A.R. 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, aAlma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, a genetically enhanced super soldier originally introduced in F.E.A.R., or they can play cooperatively as his conniving brother Paxton Fettel, whose incredible telekinetic power has given him life beyond the grave. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
F.E.A.R. 3 Divergent Co-Op Video
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    In the end, F.E.A.R. 3 is a great game.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Whether you're looking for a new, solid shooter to play or something set in a unique, horror-filled atmosphere, F.E.A.R. 3 has something for you. You won't find the be-all, end-all shooter experience with F.E.A.R. 3, but you're still bound to have a lot of fun.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Jul 21, 2011
    80
    F.E.A.R. 3 will hardly scare you. But despite some flawed graphics and weak storyline, it's a surprisingly solid and satisfying shooter, which only gets better if played in co-op. [August 2011, p.97]
  4. Jul 1, 2011
    75
    FEAR 3 would just be considered an okay shooter with a terrible story and poor attempts at horror, if it wasn't for the wealth of unique side-options it brings to the FPS table.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    72
    So nobody on Fear 3 has reinvented the wheel, but they've sure gussied it up.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    The game makes no major missteps, but neither does it surprise, innovate or evolve the genre in any significant way.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    This game would have been a lot more exciting if it either way genuinely scary or embraces its action parts a lot more. Instead it's stuck in purgatory, as a generic shooter with superficial horror elements.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 119
  2. Negative: 40 out of 119
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique andI have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE:This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    This game isn't perfect but it isn't bad either and I don't regret buying and playing through it. The graphics aren't as great as F.E.A.R. 2This game isn't perfect but it isn't bad either and I don't regret buying and playing through it. The graphics aren't as great as F.E.A.R. 2 but it was a bit more challenging if only because you ran out of ammo faster than in previous games causing you to do more risky maneuvers to get more/survive. Where I thought F.E.A.R. was more action/psycologoically scaryand F.E.A.R. 2 was more in your face scary/action , F.E.A.R. 3 is more action than scary but the scary parts are pretty well done and interesting. I would recommend playing it just to see how the story ends. As that's one part of the game they did a great job on. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    I remember when I first played the original FEAR on the PC and how much it scared the crap out of me. That was in 2004 and FEAR offered aI remember when I first played the original FEAR on the PC and how much it scared the crap out of me. That was in 2004 and FEAR offered a really unique experience for its time. Then FEAR 2 came out 5 years later and had pretty much the same mechanics, but it was just...not nearly as scary and had a bland plot. Don't get me wrong, I loved FEAR 2. It was full of awesome action and I never get tired of wiping out an entire room of cloned super-soldiers in slow motion. Oh, and don't forget the awesome melee combat. I was afraid they removed it in FEAR 3 until I leveled up for the first time and unlocked the slide kick. It felt good to know that Monolith hadn't abandoned one of the best things about the series.

    Anyway, FEAR 3 is like FEAR 2, except it's...even less scary and the story is even less interesting. However, I didn't buy the game expecting it to scare me whilst keeping me enthralled in its story, but I certainly hoped it would. FEAR 3's multiplayer features are definitely the highlight of the game. The contraction scenario is definitely my favorite.

    In shot, if you buy this game expecting it to match the charm of the first game in every way, you will definitely be disappointed. But if you're in to cooperative and other awesome multiplayer game modes, topped with the core features that make every FEAR game unique from other shooters, then you will like this game.


    Some other tidbits I should mention are performance. The game runs great on my PC with max settings, but I have anti-aliasing off, otherwise it's a slide show. My specs are as follows:

    Nvidia GTS 250 512mb

    Intel Core2Duo E6400 2.13 ghz CPU

    3GB RAM

    Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit


    If you can run FEAR 2, then you can run this game just as easily, if not better.
    Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    I recently acquired all the FEAR games through the 2012 Steam Summer Sale having never played any of them before. I played them all in orderI recently acquired all the FEAR games through the 2012 Steam Summer Sale having never played any of them before. I played them all in order and FEAR 3 is not as bad as people on metacritic make it out to be. In fact, it's somewhat comparable to FEAR 2 in terms of gameplay with the twist that it incentivizes replayability in allowing players to control Fettel. The story mode is similar in length to FEAR 1 and 2 and is more similar to FEAR 2 in terms of gameplay. The player will fight hordes of Armacham goons and mechs and bland supernatural enemies that do nothing but lunge at you. As you play through each level as Point Man or Fettel, you earn huge score bonuses by completing challenges a la Call of Duty. Each level is scored and your final score tallied after the last boss fight. Depending on who has the higher score, Point Man or Fettel, one of multiple endings will be unlocked. This encourages players to replay the game as Fettel, attempt to top their previous high score as Point Man, and view the game's alternate ending. I find this a very creative approach to unlocking multiple endings and preferable to pressing a magic button during the last few minutes of play. Playing as Point Man, players must use slomo, cover, and a slim but solid variety of weapons to get through the game. Playing as Fettel, players can shoot psychic energy from their hands, possess enemy soldiers and slaughter their friends, and use telekinesis to throw objects. Despite the games linear level design, I was impressed by how well the layouts supported both drastically different styles of play. The gameplay, while fun, does nothing to innovate and brings absolutely nothing new to the series. The game is full of obnoxious scripted moments, blocked off areas players might be eager to explore, and tons of "Hey, player! Look at this and then we'll let you progress!" scenes. The game is also WAY too easy, even on the hardest difficulty. Your health and slomo bar simply regenerates way too fast. Removing health packs was a terrible design choice for FEAR. The enemy AI, as in the previous games, is more than competent, but your slomo lasts forever and your health regenerates super fast, you have no fear of death. The game is not scary at all either. It's full of cheap jump scares. There is never any genuine tension because the enemies are neither difficult to kill nor deadly. I would really recommend FEAR if you want closure to the FEAR story or are looking for a great co-op game. I wouldn't recommend this at all for multiplayer. I was unable to find a multiplayer match of any type running. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    5
    It pains me to give this game such a low score. I love the original F.E.A.R., it was so innovative at the time it came out, and scared theIt pains me to give this game such a low score. I love the original F.E.A.R., it was so innovative at the time it came out, and scared the crap out of me. I had such huge anticipates for the sequels, and both have fallen flat for me. For one, the sequels are not as scary, and while graphically prettier, they have lost the "soul" of what made the original game so great. While F.E.A.R. 2 was a bit of a letdown, F.E.A.R. 3 was a major letdown. I understand that all 3 games where very linear, but at least the first one scared you and enthralled you as to the fusion of shooter and horror. But F.E.A.R. 3 was just dumb, it did not scare me, it was predictable, the premise idiotic, the conclusion left a sour taste in my mouth. It felt like the studios where looking to bank on reputation, and just put a mediocre product on the market knowing that the brand would pull all the suckers in. I was a sucker, but luckily at a discounted price from steam. I hope and prey, somebody brings this Franchise back from the level of mediocrity. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the first title, It had exciting shootouts, great graphics and excellent AI. The second one was average, having nothing really new to say, but as a a hardcore shooter, it was even better. Now we have this disaster made by Day 1 Studios, people who just ported the first F.E.A.R. on the consoles. The story is nonexistent. If F.E.A.R. 2 at least had some sort of story, Here you just run from Point A to Point B, shooting everything on your way, two(the bridge and the market) levels were made just to extend four hour(!) campaign as they have absolutely no other purpose. The same goes for the entire campaign. It's boring, very predictable and uninteresting. Many things just don't make any sense at all. Why Becket is so important to anyone? How capturing him will lead someone to Alma? How do you suddenly teleport from the airport terminal to some vault? Where the hell is the U.S. Military? The game is just so full of plot holes. Graphics are horrible: low quality textures, poor lighting, old animations. As for models, well, The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher bay,released in 2004 , had more detailed models than this abomination( You can check that , if you want).Despite all this, F.E.A.R. 3 runs badly as it is unoptimized. But more importantly, guns (except for the rifle) behave badly and shootouts are boring. As for scares, well, F.E.A.R. series wasn't really scary to begin with, but the horror elements did add unique and interesting atmosphere. Here this atmosphere is gone.The game doesn't even try to scare you. Playing as Fettel is fun for some time, but then you realize, that for the most part it's the same as playing Pointman, only without slow-motion. The co-op seems to be normal, but there are other co-op shooters, much better than this and multiplayer may satisfy someone for a short time. Overall, a very boring Co-op shooter and not worthy of called F.E.A.R. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2017
    0
    Game is really bad. Is a mess, total mess. Is like the company pick all the things that was "cool" that year and put it togheter: Call of dutyGame is really bad. Is a mess, total mess. Is like the company pick all the things that was "cool" that year and put it togheter: Call of duty + Zombies + Infinite help + Collecting + Level UP Expand

See all 119 User Reviews