Her Story Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 393 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Her Story is the new game from Sam Barlow, creator of Silent Hill: Shattered Memories and Aisle. A crime fiction game with non-linear storytelling, Her Story revolves around a police database full of live action video footage. It stars Viva Seifert, actress and one half of the band JoeHer Story is the new game from Sam Barlow, creator of Silent Hill: Shattered Memories and Aisle. A crime fiction game with non-linear storytelling, Her Story revolves around a police database full of live action video footage. It stars Viva Seifert, actress and one half of the band Joe Gideon and the Shark. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Jul 2, 2015
    100
    Her Story is likely worth playing if only because it is so profoundly different. When you throw in solid writing, passable acting, and the need for players to reach their own conclusions about what happened, it comes together exceptionally well.
  2. Jun 22, 2015
    95
    An astounding performance by Viva Seifert, immaculate writing by Sam Barlow and a completely innovative concept cement Her Story as one of the most solid and mesmerising releases this year.
  3. Jul 5, 2015
    90
    Her Story is an incredibly interesting twist in the investigative theme. More than that, the work of Sam Barlow could be an illuminating beacon for future games that aim at offering innovative gameplay in police fiction games. A real must.
  4. Impressive performance by Viva Seifert, great job by Sam Barlow. You will definitely feel like a true detective.
  5. Jun 29, 2015
    85
    With a strong script, great use of FMV, and a simple yet empowering core game mechanic, Her Story is the most unique game I’ve played in years.
  6. Jul 9, 2015
    83
    Despite the fact that Her Story barely qualifies as a game, it has a lot to offer, especially when it comes to narrative; having said that, it won't satisfy all tastes, it is a game for the ones looking to be amazed.
  7. Jun 25, 2015
    40
    Despite the addictiveness of a Google-like search for murder clues, neither the artificial screen glare nor actress Viva Seifert's performance lend credibility to Her Story's lady-psychopath clichés.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 63
  2. Negative: 17 out of 63
  1. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Don't care if this fits into peoples definitions of a game it is an entirely irrelevant point - play it if you want and the huge majority thatDon't care if this fits into peoples definitions of a game it is an entirely irrelevant point - play it if you want and the huge majority that do seem to enjoy it. I play games to be entertained and this engaged me and entertained me more than anything I've picked up in years. Real craft and artistry pushes boundaries and does things others haven't tried before and this does that so very wonderfully, it genuinely is something unique and that is so very rare in this world. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    This is a game like no other. It has been a long time since I played a game through without being able to stop. Also like no other movie,This is a game like no other. It has been a long time since I played a game through without being able to stop. Also like no other movie, novel, graphic novel or of course game in a long time, I was staring at the end screen for what felt like hours.
    Of course you need to leave behind, what you learned in the last years about graphics, effects and what not and approach it like a completely new experience. It's hard to call it a game, or a novel either. It shows instead what depth in any media can be like, if you are willing to open your mind.
    Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2017
    9
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give thisI think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2015
    7
    It's a unique experience with a unique story. I think much of the praise given to this game is due to it being so unique and to a lot ofIt's a unique experience with a unique story. I think much of the praise given to this game is due to it being so unique and to a lot of people that breath of fresh air elevates the game to places that it wouldn't normally be at if this was a more established genre. Expand
  5. May 10, 2016
    6
    The actress (Viva Seifert) in the video sequences actually gave a fairly decent performance, but here's the problem : Being "unconventional"The actress (Viva Seifert) in the video sequences actually gave a fairly decent performance, but here's the problem : Being "unconventional" and "artsy" doesn't automatically make engaging gameplay. You basically sit in front of a "screen" and enter search terms as vague as "yes" and "us" to unravel a murder-mystery. A list of up to 5 matching videos is then brought up to watch in out of order sequence. This is interesting and different for the first 50 searches at which point you'll have already figured out the plot long in advance of watching all available videos. Then you have a choice to make : spend the other +400x searches in boredom filling in the gaps awaiting a "proper end" that never comes, or "end" early and treat it as a 30-45min game-less "narrative experience" whose "effect" on you is entirely relative...

    At time of writing, the user score is averaging 5.7, and honestly that's not unreasonable. The acting is well done, and plot fairly interesting so it doesn't deserve a zero, but likewise if you guess the right search terms early and figure out the plot fairly quickly, there really isn't much "game" there at any stage regardless of "narration".
    Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2016
    5
    I had heard so many good things about this game and it had been nominated for so many awards so I thought it must have something going for it.I had heard so many good things about this game and it had been nominated for so many awards so I thought it must have something going for it.

    I jumped in, open minded, but in the end the game just bored me to tears. It is an interesting concept, you search through videos and pick up clues within them to find more videos and within them more clues as the story slowly unravels. The problem here is, for me at least, the story in itself was not enough to keep me engaged. There were a few interesting tidbits here and there, but in the end nothing that hasn't been done before and nothing that really ever gets you to sit down properly think and remain engaged.

    I believe it would have done much better if it incorporated more mechanics within the and investigation. You found these clues? You have an idea of what this woman did or didn't do? Let me use that on something else other than an endless search for more videos. I'm not really one to usually jump on the "this is not a game" bandwagon, but Her Story is on thin ice.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2016
    0
    Why isn't this in the movie section? This is NOT a video game.

    I'm not joking. Look it up on youtube if you don't believe me. This is a
    Why isn't this in the movie section? This is NOT a video game.

    I'm not joking. Look it up on youtube if you don't believe me. This is a movie where you are rarely forced to click your mouse sometimes.

    Interactive movies are not video games, regardless of what some people who like final fantasy might tell you.
    Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring computer games released in 2015.