I Am Alive Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: I Am Alive thrusts you into the role of a lone survivor in a believable, dark and insecure post-apocalyptic world. One year after the Event, a worldwide cataclysmic event that wiped most of the human race, a man struggles for survival in a desolate city as he tries to reunite with his longI Am Alive thrusts you into the role of a lone survivor in a believable, dark and insecure post-apocalyptic world. One year after the Event, a worldwide cataclysmic event that wiped most of the human race, a man struggles for survival in a desolate city as he tries to reunite with his long lost wife and daughter. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rules - I Am Alive Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    I Am Alive is brutal; gripping; captivating; depressing; miserable; and almost always utterly brilliant. An unforgettable game that reminds you why we all love this medium.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    81
    I Am Alive gives players a pure survival experience at a low price.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Even with its irritating design decisions I am Alive gives you intense, well-presented survival action in an apocalyptic setting.
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    73
    A dark action-platformer which shows fleeting signs of life, but lacks the vivacity to climb above the competition.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 4, 2012
    70
    Original survival horror is perfect in setting up a grim atmosphere. You can find many flaws in the game but there are very strong moments which make the game worth trying. [Nov 2012]
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    The end of the world has been portrayed in many ways, but no one has done in a way so grey and bland as I Am Alive. The concept itself is quite good, and at times it's really enjoyable to traverse the dusty town of Haventon, playing a psychological game with it's pesky inhabitants. Most times though, it simply is a clumsy and mediocre experience.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2012
    40
    I may be alive, but I am completely dead inside. [Nov 2012, p.82]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 33 out of 71
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Truly one of the best games I've ever seen. The game is a sweet Survival game with well thought out linear maps. The cool replay feature isTruly one of the best games I've ever seen. The game is a sweet Survival game with well thought out linear maps. The cool replay feature is fun, giving you time to think of other options to replay a scene - cool!. Graphix are decent, and the price was right . Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Excellent! Game to come closest yet to The Road, really nails the survival element. And no it is not purely linear, you have a lot of freedomExcellent! Game to come closest yet to The Road, really nails the survival element. And no it is not purely linear, you have a lot of freedom within places and particularly in the centre of town (using the overhead railways as a starting point). Personally I liked the dust/fog that makes you not exactly sure of what is in the distance and forces you to climb up every so often. It could have been made a bit easier and a few more checkpoints, but that's the only fault I can think of. The way it presents the horror and grimness of immediate post apocalyptic life where someone's life is worth a couple of bullets is quite unique. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2015
    5
    this game shows the mood of barren background. and it gives experience the tension from a few of bullet and battle system. but, too manythis game shows the mood of barren background. and it gives experience the tension from a few of bullet and battle system. but, too many constituent are lack. and it is boring in latter part. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2014
    4
    I really liked the ideas behind the game, especially the mechanics and interacting with the AI enemies -- ie scaring ppl away by waving a gunI really liked the ideas behind the game, especially the mechanics and interacting with the AI enemies -- ie scaring ppl away by waving a gun around. The execution of said ideas is what really let it down. Combat and exploration is very sad. The full gameplay is only a couple of hrs, so you COULD get it anyway and just suck it up when dealing with the auto-aim-adjust nonsense, the target swap nonsense, and more. Nonsense combat, that is. Case in point; In the tutorial, it told the protag to point the gun and scare a thug into surrendering. After that, pressing E would knock him out pretty quick - no cutscenes - no struggles. From then on though, this trick never works again because the E will trigger a struggle cutscene of mouse mashing. This means it is crap against multiple enemies. What is the game doing? The worst by far is aim-assist though. You may have seen it before. In Borderlands 1, this feature is automatically turned on. It's impossible to headshot someone with the feature on.

    Besides combat, you have climbing and resource management. If you've played or read Metro 2033/Metro Last Light, Tomb Raider, and Amnesia (with your light sources), I Am Alive has nothing challenging or scary once you turn off the music. The music is REALLY good.

    The best things about this game is its environment. It's done a great job of that. Though if you wanted that kind of feel, Alan Wake does an equally good job too. With less GPU bugs.

    Yeah. It's a good idea that never delivered. Not worth your time and money. May be worth a demo play though, to get a vague concept what they did do well.
    Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2012
    2
    Playing the game feels like you are playing it through thick gloves. The controls are very clunky, every action is simple button-smashingPlaying the game feels like you are playing it through thick gloves. The controls are very clunky, every action is simple button-smashing (why do I need to ruin my mouse just to open a simple door?) and the combat is very repetitive. There are way too much useless game flow interruptions. For example these hint boxes that stop the game just to tell you something that is obvious or the game already told you at least 10 times before. And it takes ages until the game gives you back control of your character.
    The level design is ultra linear, no choices to make. And after climbing up to locations that can only be reached by professional free climbers you will find a gang of people who are waiting for you. And thanks to the stamina system climbing makes no fun at all.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Watch out for that old lady she is a nut case and oh man there just happens to be a med kit on the ground in the middle of the street. HowWatch out for that old lady she is a nut case and oh man there just happens to be a med kit on the ground in the middle of the street. How did anyone miss that?? Expand

See all 71 User Reviews