Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 13, 2018
    100
    Turn-based strategy game with exceptionally original game mechanics, well-designed maps, and great core gameplay that guarantees a long entertainment. [Issue#284]
  2. Apr 7, 2018
    100
    More puzzle than strategy, Into the Breach comes with enough bells, whistles and giant robots to keep the formula fresh over repeat plays.
  3. Mar 6, 2018
    100
    Subset games has achieved a mastery of the microdrama, and as such, Into The Breach is about as essential as indie games get.
  4. Mar 5, 2018
    100
    Perhaps the biggest surprise, at least for anyone who played its brilliant but cruel predecessor FTL: Faster Than Light, is how overwhelmingly fair Into the Breach is. There are no random events that unexpectedly handicap you. Instead, every situation is winnable from the outset (though poor first-turn decisions will change that), and you are shown the consequences of any action before you commit to it.
  5. Mar 2, 2018
    100
    With Into the Breach Subset Games rewrites the tactical gameplay rulebook by removing most of its pages. In doing so, it has created a superlative strategy game.
  6. Feb 26, 2018
    100
    We dare say that Subset has outdone itself, surpassing FTL with a game that is even more focused, interesting, and repeatable.
  7. Apr 6, 2018
    98
    Into the Breach is a marvel of "board-game" design, its components organically tied together to form a game with immense tactical depth. Everything seems to have fallen into place. One could claim that Into the Breach is a complex, evolved form of chess. We would not have it any other way.
  8. Mar 10, 2018
    95
    One of the best strategy games on the market, bringing a unique sense of fun to the genre. A must-play title.
  9. Mar 7, 2018
    95
    Into The Breach blends turn-based strategy and puzzles games on such a tiny, yet perfect scale that it has raised the bar for both genres at the same time.
  10. Feb 27, 2018
    95
    Incredibly complex, deep and challenging, Into the Breach is a title that begs to be played and experienced by any individual even slightly into turn-based strategy. An instant classic that won't be easily forgotten.
  11. Feb 26, 2018
    93
    The result is a cleaner and tighter game than FTL, and one that is more fun, strategically complex, and consistently rewarding.
  12. Feb 26, 2018
    93
    Exacting, agonising, challenging, and intensely rewarding, Into the Breach delivers in the tiniest package the most perfectly formed tactics around.
  13. Mar 1, 2018
    92
    A magical mixture of Advance Wars, Chess and FTL that will keep every turn based tactician glued to the screen for weeks and months.
  14. Apr 24, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach is based on the brilliant minimalism of FTL and not only does it refine its mechanics to perfection but adds its own sophisticated turn-based system, a more balanced difficulty and an extreme addiction, where the RNG frustration recedes the joy of playing. And in addition you will enjoy a breathtaking music of Ben Punty. Subsects did it, they overcame themselves.
  15. Apr 4, 2018
    90
    Unlike many games that have big ambitions and big budgets, only to falter at the most fundamental level, Into the Breach under-promises and over-delivers. Its modest look and surface simplicity belie an addictive and really satisfying gameplay loop that is deep without being overly complicated and rewarding in perfect, bite size moments.
  16. Mar 30, 2018
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Edge Magazine
    Mar 29, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach balances its action on a knife-edge while giving you extraordinary latitude to make choices, an astonishing feat of focused game design with the capacity to enthral as few tactics games have ever managed. [May 2018, p.108]
  18. Mar 29, 2018
    90
    To master all the missions and complete all levels of difficulty is a challenging, but riveting task. That’s why Into the Breach is worth playing over and over; just like chess, you play it not just to win the game, but to experience the process and see new situations unfold.
  19. Mar 25, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach is a prime example that shows no matter the budget, not matter the technology, no matter the graphics, you can always make a great game if you have that wonderful idea. Focusing solely on gameplay at the expense of everything else, Into the Breach is just one of the most entertaining games you’ve ever experienced.
  20. Mar 19, 2018
    90
    Those hankering for something reminiscent of Advance Wars or Valkyria Chronicles will find much to enjoy, and players looking to challenge their grey matter should absolutely give it a try.
  21. Mar 18, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach shows that strategy games don’t need to do anything new because they can create some of the most memorable gaming experiences to be had if done correctly. Into the Breach is a game that is being played even when away from the computer, because it can’t help but fill the mind with possibility.
  22. Mar 17, 2018
    90
    Subset Games returns with another utterly clever game, after the amazing FTL. Into the Breach will keep your interest for hours upon hours, thanks to its unique gameplay elements and enormous replayability.
  23. Mar 17, 2018
    90
    Subset Studio has once again proved that they are masters of gameplay, UI and style design. In moments when FTL was hectic and chaotic, Into the Breach is precise and tactical while preserving the same feel of tension, danger and adrenaline rush. Simply brilliant.
  24. Mar 15, 2018
    90
    Subset Games are the leading authority of addictive puzzle games, and Into the Breach is their magnum opus: game over after game over, you'll discover a puzzle game capable of keeping you engaged and entertained. Into the Breach needs to be slowly savoured, tasted and finally loved. Unless you hate the genre, that is.
  25. Mar 14, 2018
    90
    A fun but challenging strategy game that blends a fun time-travel aesthetic with great turn-based mechanics. Interesting time pressure gameplay makes every battle rewarding. Heartily recommended.
  26. Mar 13, 2018
    90
    It’s very good. Addictive, too.
  27. Mar 13, 2018
    90
    The new game from the creators of FTL: Faster Than Light gives you the best tactical experience you can imagine.
  28. Mar 8, 2018
    90
    Into the breach is a shiny little gem of an indie game, with an almost perfect gameplay, a huge level of customisation and an endless replayability. In just a few days it has become one of the most addictive gaming drugs ever.
  29. Mar 7, 2018
    90
    Even though a 8x8 battle grid seems like small area, it can hold a lot of tactical decisions. The biggest strength in Into the Breach is the great variety of mechs, weapons and thus strategies. It is comparable with Sunset Games' first game, FTL: Faster Than Light, but is improved by featuring a deterministic battle system, where chance no longer plays any role. It is a game where you'll die often, but still want to play again and again.
  30. Mar 5, 2018
    90
    An amazing strategy game that won't let us stop playing thanks to its amazing design, outstanding replayability and deep gameplay.
  31. Mar 5, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach sticks with you even when you're not playing it. You rewind every step you'd made thinking about different solutions while you reset the time line once more thinking "this time will be the good one". Spoiler: "it won't".
  32. Mar 4, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach is brilliant: a concentrated display of strategy and well-thought mechanics, perfectly fused in a little marvel of a game.
  33. Mar 4, 2018
    90
    Not like other SLG, pushing is much more important than damage in Into the Breach. Your strategies must change significantly to fit the new rules, which makes the game interesting and unique. Besides, you can find roguelike elements, a great variety of mechs, and challenging enemies in it as well. It is definitely one of the biggest surprise you can buy these days.
  34. Mar 2, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach is brilliant in how it approaches the strategy game genre. By giving the player all the information they need, it’s easy to see where exactly you went wrong, and what you could’ve done to prevent it. Failure itself becomes the core gameplay loop. Every death is a valuable lesson learned, every pilot lost is a scarring reminder of what happens when you’re too impatient with your moves.
  35. Feb 28, 2018
    90
    An almost perfectly formed strategy game, that hides near infinite variety and depth beneath its deceptively simple presentation.
  36. Feb 28, 2018
    90
    This turn-based game is worth every penny: the developers have created a superb and minimalistic strategy game, which has an excellent system of achievements making you crave for more and more and more... Remember - defeat is only a beginning and the satisfaction is great.
  37. Feb 26, 2018
    90
    The wide variety of mech and pilot abilities make Into The Breach’s tactical combat deep, satisfying, and replayable. Every turn creates a new complex puzzle, and though sometimes there’s no perfect solution, finding the best way to minimize damage creates frequent eureka moments as you learn to make the most of the abilities you’re given to work with. It’s a small-looking tactics game that’s kept me playing more intently than most big ones.
  38. Feb 26, 2018
    90
    Into The Breach is a pristine and pragmatic tactical gem with dynamic conflicts that will inspire you to jump back in again, and again, and again.
  39. 90
    Into the Breach borrows confidently from FTL's successes, but differentiates itself as a tight, highly replayable tactics game built around avoiding non-combatant casualties and collateral damage.
  40. Mar 8, 2018
    88
    Into the Breach is a small miracle: complex, challenging, comprehensive and a lot of fun, so exactly what you desire from a strategy game. Not every session is as much fun as the next, though, and it could use a bit more narrative, but these are very, almost petty, gripes.
  41. Feb 28, 2018
    88
    Into the Breach is challenging and ruthless in exploiting your errors, but in the best way. It creates a tactical depth that keeps you motivated to master your strategies and do it better in the next attempt to save the world.
  42. Feb 27, 2018
    88
    The fact that I delivered this test on time for the deadline is close to a miracle. After all, I had to stop playing Into the Breach to write about it. It's been a long time since I've had such a difficult time putting a game down.
  43. Mar 10, 2018
    86
    It’s a kick-ass retro turn-based strategy game that constantly flexes your brain muscles, and punishes your idiocy with a quick death. What it lacks in encounter diversity it makes up for with an excellent stable of mechs to play around with, a bad ass soundtrack, and a vibe that sucked me down the rabbit hole something fierce.
  44. Games Master UK
    Mar 22, 2018
    85
    A tough, precise strategy-puzzle game that punishes human error with a stomping from alien bugs. [Apr 2018, p.77]
  45. Mar 8, 2018
    85
    Something every strategy fan should try.
  46. Mar 6, 2018
    85
    Into the Breach es a well-thought strategy game. Quick matches where every move and action counts. It seems a little less deep than FTL, but it causes the same amount of fun and addiction.
  47. Mar 29, 2018
    82
    Into the Breach presses all the right buttons to keep tactical strategy fans hooked, and many will come back over and over again despite any shortcomings they may perceive. I, for one, plan to waste away many more afternoons saving the world from an infestation of bugs. Then, once I finish spraying my house and yard, I plan to play some more Into the Breach.
  48. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    80
    I’m very happy that FTL’s developer returned with a new game, as I spent almost 30 hours with Into the Breach and I feel like it was just a moment. [05/2018, p.76]
  49. games(TM)
    Apr 20, 2018
    80
    An exceptional strategy game, but needs more variety. [Issue#199, p.80]
  50. Mar 11, 2018
    80
    The ease of access and quick time to beat each mission is what separates this game from other turn-based strategy games and makes it more appealing for those who don't necessarily have 30 minutes or an hour to complete a map.
  51. Mar 9, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach is a mechanically perfect game that is surrounded by mediocre design decisions. I absolutely adore the tactics-style gameplay and how simplistically the game can convey so much information. But with the only run variance being the three pilotable mechs and the potential upgrades, things just start to feel "same-y" after not too long. For those, like myself, who can easily fall in love with intelligently designed mechanics, there is a lot to love about Into the Breach, but it's not as well-rounded as it could be.
  52. Mar 8, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach is an excellent tactical game. It feels like a game of chess with robots and aliens, and it offers very deep gameplay behind its simplistic looks.
  53. Mar 5, 2018
    80
    A good roguelite strategic game with focus on tactics and on the rise of the personal ability. Unfortunately there are same balancing problems, but nothing that could ruin the experience.
  54. Mar 1, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach really nails the idea of “flow” — making a game not too hard, not too simple, maintaining just the right about of stress and excitement. Its main Vek-thumping loop ranges from “I might actually do this” to “Yikes I’m barely hanging on.” But in the rare case of comfort, there are additional challenges to ensure you’re in that sweet spot of stress.
  55. Mar 11, 2018
    70
    For the asking price ($14.99), Into the Breach is a pretty good buy if you're into strategy games. However, I don't think it'll convert anyone into falling in love with the genre. The gameplay is tight, but not sophisticated enough to warrant more than a few playthroughs. Once you've unlocked most or all of the squads and tried out the different mechs, it loses it's appeal and doesn't retain that "surviving against all odds" feel that FTL has.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 27, 2018
    Into the Breach is just as charming for boiling down similar thrills found in FTL and making them work for pretty much any experience level of computer gamer. [ARS Approved]
  2. Feb 26, 2018
    The follow-up to FTL is just as punishing - and just as elegant. [Recommended]
  3. Feb 27, 2018
    Into the Breach is a hard game, and there will be inevitable losses no matter how well you play. My knowledge built on itself, and I slowly got better. Each of my new runs was inspired and informed by failure; each new success stood atop that. It may be a hard game, but the temptation to improve was irresistible. I didn’t want to stop playing.
  4. I cannot currently think of any reason why I would ever uninstall Into The Breach. [RPS Recommended]
  5. Mar 7, 2018
    There’s nothing wasted here, no unnecessary cutscenes or overblown drama to detract from the places where the game’s purest pleasures lie, whether that’s in pushing your team to the limits to keep their charges safe or just tinkering in the menus, using a precious, hard-won reactor core to unlock a new ability on your favorite mech. Even the game’s frustrations feel designed and deliberate, “That’s not fair!” moments that ultimately only work to highlight the pleasures of a good crisis averted with aplomb.
  6. Feb 26, 2018
    For a strategy game, Into the Breach is remarkably easy to get into. The rules are simple to understand, and the action moves at a brisk pace. But once you get beyond that surface understanding, it reveals itself to be a game of incredible depth and flexibility. When I’m not playing, I find myself thinking about optimal monster-fighting techniques.
  7. Mar 1, 2018
    Just as FTL got to the heart of space opera—the experimental ship, the camaraderie of a ragtag crew, the spiraling of crises—Subset Games has found the core of the mech fantasy with Into the Breach.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 382 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 382
  1. Mar 2, 2018
    10
    I don't get people who say that the game is short, easy, lacking in content, etc.
    I've played for 13h by now and have only finished the game
    I don't get people who say that the game is short, easy, lacking in content, etc.
    I've played for 13h by now and have only finished the game once on Normal (4 islands), once on Easy (3 islands) and am half-way through Hard (2 islands). I've only unlocked a small fraction of the game (there is a whole bunch of different mechs and pilots to unlock - I guess that other reviewer "Rrichard" missed the menu where you can do that...) and playing Hard for the first time, I already had a moment where the grid was down to 1 point (at 0, it's Game Over...) and am not at all sure that I will be able to finish it.

    But even if I will be - it certainly was challenging and I can't wait to try out other mechs and complete all sorts of achievements (which are needed to unlock more stuff ingame). There's also a fairly large amount of variety in the missions you're presented with. Sure, after the 5th playthrough or so, you will probably have tried them all but... that's nothing to sneeze at in my opinion.

    And the more you play it on Hard, the more you realize how incredibly fine-tuned the AI is. I'm not sure whether they always attack in the ideal manner because often times when I thought about my next move for like 5 minutes and at first not seeing how I can pull it off without failing an objective or sacrificing grid power, I thought of a sequence of moves that would resolve those issues. It seems like probably no other combination would have resolved this better and makes me wonder whether NPCs intentionally attack in a way that there is usually a solution that requires very little sacrifice (if any at all). I don't know but I do know that it's a great feeling every time, just like solving a really tough puzzle.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2018
    7
    I dunno, maybe I'm the only one, but after initially being challenging, the game gets kinda boring and repetitive. It's pretty easy once youI dunno, maybe I'm the only one, but after initially being challenging, the game gets kinda boring and repetitive. It's pretty easy once you get the hang of it, and you're just going to roll every round. I got tired of doing the same islands, same final fight, repeat. It's fun, not super replayable. Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2018
    7
    Fun little strategy game but the user reviews going full on fanboy with the 10/10's and the critic review score of a 90 is WAY overblown andFun little strategy game but the user reviews going full on fanboy with the 10/10's and the critic review score of a 90 is WAY overblown and just goes to show how ridiculously disingenuous the gaming industry is. It's a fun game, but it's not anything super special. Barely any story, which doesn't really matter because gameplay can make up for that and the gameplay is there, but after playing through a few maps you've basically already experienced everything the game has to offer in terms of gameplay. Sure, there are different types of units that you can eventually buy and play with, but the core gameplay loop is always the same. Good as a little time-killer but 10/10 territory this is NOT. Full Review »