Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Mar 11, 2018
    70
    For the asking price ($14.99), Into the Breach is a pretty good buy if you're into strategy games. However, I don't think it'll convert anyone into falling in love with the genre. The gameplay is tight, but not sophisticated enough to warrant more than a few playthroughs. Once you've unlocked most or all of the squads and tried out the different mechs, it loses it's appeal and doesn't retain that "surviving against all odds" feel that FTL has.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 27, 2018
    Into the Breach is just as charming for boiling down similar thrills found in FTL and making them work for pretty much any experience level of computer gamer. [ARS Approved]
  2. Feb 26, 2018
    The follow-up to FTL is just as punishing - and just as elegant. [Recommended]
  3. Feb 27, 2018
    Into the Breach is a hard game, and there will be inevitable losses no matter how well you play. My knowledge built on itself, and I slowly got better. Each of my new runs was inspired and informed by failure; each new success stood atop that. It may be a hard game, but the temptation to improve was irresistible. I didn’t want to stop playing.
  4. I cannot currently think of any reason why I would ever uninstall Into The Breach. [RPS Recommended]
  5. Mar 7, 2018
    There’s nothing wasted here, no unnecessary cutscenes or overblown drama to detract from the places where the game’s purest pleasures lie, whether that’s in pushing your team to the limits to keep their charges safe or just tinkering in the menus, using a precious, hard-won reactor core to unlock a new ability on your favorite mech. Even the game’s frustrations feel designed and deliberate, “That’s not fair!” moments that ultimately only work to highlight the pleasures of a good crisis averted with aplomb.
  6. Feb 26, 2018
    For a strategy game, Into the Breach is remarkably easy to get into. The rules are simple to understand, and the action moves at a brisk pace. But once you get beyond that surface understanding, it reveals itself to be a game of incredible depth and flexibility. When I’m not playing, I find myself thinking about optimal monster-fighting techniques.
  7. Mar 1, 2018
    Just as FTL got to the heart of space opera—the experimental ship, the camaraderie of a ragtag crew, the spiraling of crises—Subset Games has found the core of the mech fantasy with Into the Breach.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 377 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 377
  1. Mar 2, 2018
    10
    I don't get people who say that the game is short, easy, lacking in content, etc.
    I've played for 13h by now and have only finished the game
    I don't get people who say that the game is short, easy, lacking in content, etc.
    I've played for 13h by now and have only finished the game once on Normal (4 islands), once on Easy (3 islands) and am half-way through Hard (2 islands). I've only unlocked a small fraction of the game (there is a whole bunch of different mechs and pilots to unlock - I guess that other reviewer "Rrichard" missed the menu where you can do that...) and playing Hard for the first time, I already had a moment where the grid was down to 1 point (at 0, it's Game Over...) and am not at all sure that I will be able to finish it.

    But even if I will be - it certainly was challenging and I can't wait to try out other mechs and complete all sorts of achievements (which are needed to unlock more stuff ingame). There's also a fairly large amount of variety in the missions you're presented with. Sure, after the 5th playthrough or so, you will probably have tried them all but... that's nothing to sneeze at in my opinion.

    And the more you play it on Hard, the more you realize how incredibly fine-tuned the AI is. I'm not sure whether they always attack in the ideal manner because often times when I thought about my next move for like 5 minutes and at first not seeing how I can pull it off without failing an objective or sacrificing grid power, I thought of a sequence of moves that would resolve those issues. It seems like probably no other combination would have resolved this better and makes me wonder whether NPCs intentionally attack in a way that there is usually a solution that requires very little sacrifice (if any at all). I don't know but I do know that it's a great feeling every time, just like solving a really tough puzzle.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2018
    7
    I dunno, maybe I'm the only one, but after initially being challenging, the game gets kinda boring and repetitive. It's pretty easy once youI dunno, maybe I'm the only one, but after initially being challenging, the game gets kinda boring and repetitive. It's pretty easy once you get the hang of it, and you're just going to roll every round. I got tired of doing the same islands, same final fight, repeat. It's fun, not super replayable. Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2018
    7
    Fun little strategy game but the user reviews going full on fanboy with the 10/10's and the critic review score of a 90 is WAY overblown andFun little strategy game but the user reviews going full on fanboy with the 10/10's and the critic review score of a 90 is WAY overblown and just goes to show how ridiculously disingenuous the gaming industry is. It's a fun game, but it's not anything super special. Barely any story, which doesn't really matter because gameplay can make up for that and the gameplay is there, but after playing through a few maps you've basically already experienced everything the game has to offer in terms of gameplay. Sure, there are different types of units that you can eventually buy and play with, but the core gameplay loop is always the same. Good as a little time-killer but 10/10 territory this is NOT. Full Review »