Maid of Sker Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Maid of Sker is a first-person survival horror, set in a remote hotel with a gory and macabre history from British folklore. Brave the nightmares of the Quiet Ones. Do not panic…don’t even breathe!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aug 3, 2020
    90
    Maid of Sker doesn’t have terribly complex gameplay, but it’s a tightly-made game that succeeds in more than enough areas to make it worth checking out. The Sker hotel is haunting, filled with detail and character that makes it a joy to explore. The choral soundtrack is absolutely beautiful, befitting both the game’s plot and atmosphere. Horror fans have been absolutely spoiled with high quality games over the last few years, and genre fans would do well to add Maid of Sker to their list of must-plays.
  2. Aug 17, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker had a few jump scares here and there, but it was the tension and curiosity of the unknown that kept me invested in moving forward. After the first hour or so of my playthrough, it stopped being quite as scary, and had me hooked into the narrative, struggling to piece together what was real. Like the beautifully haunting siren’s song that persists throughout Maid of Sker, I was lulled into a trance, needing to see Thomas’s journey through to the end. There are few games that have captured my attention as much as Maid of Sker, and I think for any fan of the horror genre, especially those that love to explore, it would be an absolute disservice not to give this game a try if not for the story alone.
  3. Sep 12, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker is a very beautiful and interesting adventure with horror elements, which suffers from unkillable opponents and several strange design solutions. The sound and graphics create an incredible atmosphere that should please all fans of the genre.
  4. Jul 28, 2020
    73
    Maid of Sker comes with all the features of a good survival-horror game, such as a well-designed eerie location, a great atmosphere, an engaging story, fearsome enemies, well-implemented 3D audio and the right amount of scares, but it does not try to break from the mold of the Resident Evil formula in any significant way. The lack of any real innovation may put off some, but if expectations are kept in check, Maid of Sker can provide a few hours of enjoyable horror fun.
  5. Jul 28, 2020
    70
    A good horror movie for fans of the genre.
  6. Jul 28, 2020
    70
    Maid of Sker is a great addition to the survival horror genre and offers a wonderfully intimate and local threat that takes its influences from Welsh folktales. Eschewing the combat and weaponry of many entries into the genre, its gameplay loop of sneaking and hiding proves compelling and successfully manages to keep you feeling in danger at all times. When you add in some excellent sound design and atmosphere you have a Victorian horror that deserves a rousing reception. There may not be a welcome in these valleys but this is one vacation that genre fans should have no reservations about taking.
  7. Jul 29, 2020
    40
    Maid of Sker has very strong visuals and the hotel itself is well designed. But everything else, from its gameplay systems to its progression and foes, is so weak and ill-considered that I can't imagine most people enjoying what little it has to offer.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Aug 5, 2020
    10
    One of the best horror games ever! An interesting, extraordinary story, magnificent music, excellent graphics, frightening enemies.
  2. Aug 3, 2020
    8
    Very Short game.
    Im not good at Sly or Die games like these, but i finished it after 4 Houres at first time on Nornal.
    Awsome Graphik and
    Very Short game.
    Im not good at Sly or Die games like these, but i finished it after 4 Houres at first time on Nornal.
    Awsome Graphik and Atmosphäre but only Stereo Sound o.O
    Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2020
    8
    Gostei muito da mecânica na situação do silêncio e uma novidade pôde colocar a mão na boca esperando sair uma nova série desse jogo.
  4. Aug 9, 2020
    7
    A nivel gráfico no es gran cosa, tiene sus partes buenas y sus zonas cutres, no es un juego visualmente apabullante, la historia mas allá deA nivel gráfico no es gran cosa, tiene sus partes buenas y sus zonas cutres, no es un juego visualmente apabullante, la historia mas allá de que esta basado en una leyenda del folclore galés tampoco es nada del otro mundo, tienes que buscar a tu novia por un hotel apartado y sus alrededores , tiene un poco de Outlast pues todo el juego es sigilo, sin opciones de lucha y un poco de Resident con sus puzzles y demás.
    Los malos son un poco genéricos y no hay nada que aterrorice en exceso pero todos sus defectos y sin que destaque demasiado en nada en concreto, el juego es entretenido, si te gustan los survival horror no es un gran exponente del genero pero si te pasa como a mi que no tienes nada mejor que jugar en este momento y no exiges la excelencia en el genero, te hace pasar un buen rato...que no es poco.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2020
    7
    visual: 8/10
    audio: 8/10
    gameplay: 8/10 narrative: 8/10 challenge: 8/10 replayability: 6/10 value: 8/10 personal grade: 8/10 was it
    visual: 8/10
    audio: 8/10
    gameplay: 8/10
    narrative: 8/10
    challenge: 8/10
    replayability: 6/10
    value: 8/10
    personal grade: 8/10
    was it scary? not really so -1
    total score: 7.63/10
    buy at full price, sale, never: sale
    hours spent on the game: 10 hours
    platinumed? no
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2020
    6
    I recommend this game. If you like Outlast or Home Sweet Home Episode 1 or Araya or First Amnesia probably you will like it. MAID OF SKER isI recommend this game. If you like Outlast or Home Sweet Home Episode 1 or Araya or First Amnesia probably you will like it. MAID OF SKER is not super scary but tense. NICE GAMEPLAY - quite a lot and decently exploration + key items, solving puzzles to move on and possible backtracking - open world. Enemies are good for me, walking and chasing you in different ways, it seems like a random event (I love hotel, gardens).
    FINE STORY, GOOD MUSIC and GRAPHICS - so dark but adds a dark atmosphere.
    Normal mode - 8/10, Hard mode 9/10.

    3/10 - MAID OF SKER after updates (1.01, 1.02 - positive, 1.03)
    "The main culprit in the incident" is update 1.01 and the changes made there.
    - Normal & Hard modes v1.01 are funny compared to the previous version.
    - Update 1.03 - Adjusted player noise levels - I'm afraid here too.

    On Hard mode - 100% of the game and I got one hit from the enemy and I had 12 health bottles in my inventory. Generally the games got "disgustingly easier" Enemies/AI/Detection it's a joke.
    It's like Normal is no longer Normal and Hard is not Hard.
    Only the inscriptions in the difficulty level selection field remain.

    The rest of the fixes are positive (1.01, 1.02, 1.03)
    Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2020
    4
    Walk around spooky houses, pres E on everything, press and press walk and walk , spooky. Jump Scare, walk and press E more. Spooky , itsWalk around spooky houses, pres E on everything, press and press walk and walk , spooky. Jump Scare, walk and press E more. Spooky , its soooooooooooo scary.
    This is "Another" low effort horror walking simulator trying to cash in on the You Tuber being scared craze, but is not a game. It boredom in digital form, like these game always are. If you like games that require minimum effort, skill, attention or intelligence from the player, you will like this.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews