Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jan 31, 2019
    90
    My Time At Portia is a beautiful experience that has a lot of content to offer players. Be it farming or fighting, you'll find something to enjoy in this carefully crafted title.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    90
    I love the lifestyle that My Time at Portia has shown us. I enjoyed every moment I spent there, producing products, earning money, decorating my house, and communicating with other residents. Except for the low quality of voice and sound performance, this game has a lot of fun waiting for you to experience.
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    90
    My Time at Portia cultivates hard work and pays it off with a sense of progression and achievement. When you aren’t searching for materials or crafting a new gadget, you’re off cavorting at festivals or bonding with the friendly townsfolk. There’s always something waiting for you at Portia, and it pulls you back in every time.
  4. Jan 15, 2019
    90
    My Time At Portia isn’t a game as much as it is a holiday, an adventure, and an achievement in indie game production. The intriguing world, compelling systems, and simple gameplay all makes it a fantastic experience.
  5. Jan 15, 2019
    90
    It is safe to say that even after a dozens of hours of play, I only scratched the surface of what there is to do in My Time At Portia. Combine hunting, mining, building and romancing with a fascinating setting and an involved narrative, and I can see myself continuing to go back to play more. My Time at Portia is more than a worthy alternative to Stardew Valley and one of the first must have games of 2019. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some more mining to do.
  6. Mar 4, 2019
    85
    My Time at Portia successfully gives some original touch on the genre, managing to differ from its peers like Stardew Valley or Harvest Moon. While it has some problems with few design mechanics like crafting and small lack of dungeons to delve into, it puts player into interesting role of a builder, all while having a beautiful and cute looking world to explore.
  7. Jan 22, 2019
    85
    My Time at Portia is not just a simulator, it’s an adventure game loaded with things to do, people to talk to (and potentially romance), ruins to explore, and things to create. It’s an addicting romp that keeps you playing the next day in hopes of finally completing that one goal only to create another one in the process.
  8. Jan 15, 2019
    85
    An excellent game on the trails of Harvest Moon and Rune Factory, My Time at Portia is a charming and well developed experience.
  9. Apr 24, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia is a beautiful, relaxing experience. With the charming art style and plenty of activities to go through, players will easily lose themselves in the game's pleasant setting for hours and hours.
  10. Jan 29, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia's many parts don't always shine on their own, but together they make for a pleasant building adventure.
  11. Jan 29, 2019
    80
    The basics of My Time At Portia are very solid. The opposite would have been surprising regarding the inspirations you have seen in this review. If those have already seduced you in the past, you should not be disappointed. However, do not expect to be surprised, because despite its eminently sympathetic appearance My Time at Portia lacks originality and still suffers collisions issues (minor) and polishing regarding translations. Trust is sufficient at Team 17 to announce console versions and even a mac version. Especially since its depth belies its childish aspect. If all the promises of development are kept (marital history, new buildings, pub games, seasonal events ...) it could also hold on the duration. What ? Who said he would fit like a glove to the Switch?
  12. 80
    My Time At Portia is a fantastic life simulation RPG that allows you to build a life in the post-apocalyptic town of Portia. Similar to beloved games like Harvest Moon and Stardew Valley, My Time At Portia brings a charming 3D experience to the life simulation genre and is a must-have for both old and new fans alike.
  13. Jan 21, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia is fun for the whole family, a mix of farm sim and RPG with cute design and easy learning curve.
  14. Jan 21, 2019
    80
    While the basic Harvest Moon concept is fundamentally outdated by now the focus on construction and exploration enhances the experience tremendously.
  15. Jan 16, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia is a decent title in the life simulation genre, and while it brings nothing new to the table, its huge amount of content and addictive gameplay will surely satisfy most of its fans.
  16. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia is a social sim, an rpg, a craf-based adventure game. There are a lot of things to do and a mysterious plot to discover. This is a very ambitious, relaxing and “genuine” game. Everything is well refined and fun: with some constant polish and improvement it could become a must for all lovers of crafting games.
  17. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    With an impressive and diversified amount of content, My Time at Portia is, at release, a very good life simulator. However the studio still have to improve the formula by adding some balancing and fix in order to have one of the most interesting games of the genre.
  18. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    If you're prepared to learn a lot, and have plenty of time to spare, My Time at Portia is very enjoyable. Sporadic use of a guide will allow you to experience it in the fun, relaxed way it was intended.
  19. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia takes a lot of positive notes from popular farming simulators like Stardew Valley and Minecraft, and puts its own creative spin on things. It might seem just like any other farming sim at first glance, but the more you play the more you’ll discover its unique story and engaging gameplay elements.
  20. Mar 30, 2019
    75
    My Time at Portia offers many crafting activities, a vividly colored world that is really pleasant to explore and a main quest line. After a while, crafting requirements might prove to be somewhat of a grinding activity for some people and quests and inhabitants at times feel a bit dry. A pleasant and relaxing experience all in all that could be elevated with a little more invested writing.
  21. Jan 28, 2019
    75
    My Time at Portia is a very big RPG which is filled with a great variety in missions and activities. It is unique and upbeat, though some gameplay is a bit shallow and sometimes things take a bit too long.
  22. Jan 15, 2019
    75
    My Time at Portia is a different RPG. If you liked titles such as Stardew Valley or Harvest Moon, Pathea Games' proposal expands in a remarkable way although leaving fringes.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Newcomers to the genre may find it tedious despite these improvements, but if you’re all about that renovation grind, My Time At Portia is one of the most modern takes on the genre I’ve seen in a long time.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48
  1. Feb 1, 2019
    0
    Edited: 1st of Febuary

    I'm really suspicious of the high scores and loving reviews from small sites. It's still missing its sound, still
    Edited: 1st of Febuary

    I'm really suspicious of the high scores and loving reviews from small sites. It's still missing its sound, still buggy, still crashes a lot, still more grindy than a Korean MMO, still poorly written, still has flat characters with less personality than a British politician, and the company still hasn't paid their employees. I sense shifty dealings, which will only hurt the reputation of these smaller sites. The highest scoring "critic" reviews here are an accurate treatise on which sites you shouldn't trust.

    I mean, the highest scoring "critic" review is from Game Grin, who even are they? Whereas Destructoid scored this as 55% (trash, essentially).

    Be wary, and trust the sites you know over aggregates that include no-name critics.

    Review Date: 25th of January

    These devs have been outright refusing to pay their employees (especially their voice actors), using shadily worded 'sorry not sorry' excuses as damage control. That's the first thing wrong with this game, and it should be enough for anyone with a conscience to not support it.

    The second thing is that their marketing team is review bombing other, similar games (Little Dragons Cafe, Harvest Life, and others) to try and reduce the competition. A lot of very similarly worded negative reviews for their competition always ending in 'try My Time at Portia instead.' Yes, try the game made by a shifty developer who pulls this unconscionable nonsense.

    The third point against the game is that it's incredibly average, as depicted partly by its more believable big name critic reviews. Yet Steam reviews are unwaveringly positive and similarly worded, how interesting. Considering how buggy the game is, with its content, at this time, STILL failing to work right coupled with constant crashing (as noted by the other negative review here)? I'm even a little suspicious by the most positive "critic" reviews from no-name/mostly unknown sites. Were it not for them, the overall score would be sitting somewhere around 40-50, which is much more accurate. And considering the hot mess the game is in, it's even more odd, don't you think? I'm not suggesting fabrication here, just paid reviews, which does happen with these lesser known sites (kind of like how shady, lesser known science journals will publish anything if paid enough).

    Fourth point is that they're still failing to properly patch their mediocre, supremely buggy game. Probably because their employees are fed up of not getting paid.

    Fifth point is that the game is still missing almost all of its audio. The majority of sound effects and voices aren't in (due to unpaid employees), yet they still released the game out of early access. It's not a release if your game is almost silent and entirely missing its sound design!

    Sixth point is thst the game just isn't fun. It's one slog of a grind after another. It's nice if you want to play World of Warcraft in single-player, but otherwise the soul-sucking repetition and padding in lieu of real content will likely leave you feeling exhausted and cynical. There are better titles out there for all that My Time at Portia does, there's truly nothing it does better than any given alternative.

    Seventh point is that it's really soulless and feels designed by committee. With the dev having had 57 (mostly unpaid) employees, the game is hardly by a small developer, let alone an indie dev. This isn't some spunky small studio looking to make their mark, they have more employees than some triple-A studios. Too many chefs have spoiled the broth, resulting in a bland experience rife with truly flat, one-dimensional characters you can't wait to get away from (I really can't get over how bad the writing is).

    Basically? This game is a con. One that's conning its buyers with shady marketing tactics, and one that wven conned its creators by stiffing them a paycheck. It seems like those paychecks went to paying off a ridiculous marketing campaign of misinformation. This is not something you should be supporting, and you should be very wary of those who do.

    You can't say you weren't warned.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2019
    4
    gets real boring, real fast
    at first it looks ok... then the sheer repetitive nature, andunfeeling environment leave me empty
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    f you like to craft, quest, gain relationships, have kids this is for you. The background music is very peaceful and happy and some builds aref you like to craft, quest, gain relationships, have kids this is for you. The background music is very peaceful and happy and some builds are actually a challenge. I also love the art style and so many different possibilities in this game. I highly recommend this game. It is worth buying it. Full Review »