My Time At Portia Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Start a new life in the enchanting town of Portia! Restore your Pa's neglected workshop to its former glory, grow crops, raise animals, befriend the towns quirky inhabitants and uncover the mysteries this charming post-apocalyptic land has forgotten!

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
My Time At Portia - PC Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jan 15, 2019
    90
    It is safe to say that even after a dozens of hours of play, I only scratched the surface of what there is to do in My Time At Portia. Combine hunting, mining, building and romancing with a fascinating setting and an involved narrative, and I can see myself continuing to go back to play more. My Time at Portia is more than a worthy alternative to Stardew Valley and one of the first must have games of 2019. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some more mining to do.
  2. Jan 31, 2019
    90
    My Time At Portia is a beautiful experience that has a lot of content to offer players. Be it farming or fighting, you'll find something to enjoy in this carefully crafted title.
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia takes a lot of positive notes from popular farming simulators like Stardew Valley and Minecraft, and puts its own creative spin on things. It might seem just like any other farming sim at first glance, but the more you play the more you’ll discover its unique story and engaging gameplay elements.
  4. Apr 24, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia is a beautiful, relaxing experience. With the charming art style and plenty of activities to go through, players will easily lose themselves in the game's pleasant setting for hours and hours.
  5. Jan 16, 2019
    70
    There’s a lot to love here, and if you’re a fan of the farm-sim RPG you’ll feel right at home in Portia. Sadly, the overall presentation leaves a little to be desired - by easing back on scope and placing a greater focus on polishing what has already been achieved, there could be something great here, but as it stands, it’s a very solid concept built on unsteady ground.
  6. Feb 8, 2019
    70
    This is a game with a ton of content, but too much time is spent in less rewarding downtime or grinding for materials in environments that simply aren’t that fun. It’s obvious that My Time at Portia would love to be both a dream game for the building/crafting fans as well as offer a substantial narrative. The slow pace of the former undercuts the momentum of the latter but My Time at Portia does offer a legitimately different variation on what has become a pretty formulaic genre.
  7. Jan 15, 2019
    50
    My Time at Portia wears its influences on its sleeve but fails to build both a compelling world and charming inhabitants to engage with when reaching for the same lofty heights. Its loop of resource gathering and intricate building is implemented well, but it lacks the charm to make it all cohesive enough to be alluring.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    f you like to craft, quest, gain relationships, have kids this is for you. The background music is very peaceful and happy and some builds aref you like to craft, quest, gain relationships, have kids this is for you. The background music is very peaceful and happy and some builds are actually a challenge. I also love the art style and so many different possibilities in this game. I highly recommend this game. It is worth buying it. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2019
    10
    This game includes all kind of material, its survival craft and sandbox and olsa third person game play, farming, lively neighborhood full ofThis game includes all kind of material, its survival craft and sandbox and olsa third person game play, farming, lively neighborhood full of events, dungeons, exploring lots of stuff to do in this game, i really liked the game with all features, i really really wish that developers wont stop adding stuff in this game like maps items creatures npcs and so. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2019
    8
    As of Jan 22, 2019... great game, but potential is not quite realized. Didn't experience any game breaking bugs, but I don't think the gameAs of Jan 22, 2019... great game, but potential is not quite realized. Didn't experience any game breaking bugs, but I don't think the game was ready for release due to lack of refinement and polish all over the place (you'll know it when you see it). Combat mechanics and feedback are almost so bad they might have been better off leaving it out completely until ready. With that said, you can find hours of enjoyment in this game despite its shortcomings. This does have potential to be amazing if the developers keep refining and refining. The graphics are also pretty poor for 2019, but fortunately doesn't detract from core gameplay. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2019
    6
    Ugh I wish this game had an online feature :/
    The game is very fun when you start off but it makes you wonder what it'd be like if you can
    Ugh I wish this game had an online feature :/
    The game is very fun when you start off but it makes you wonder what it'd be like if you can invite a buddy to hop on with you.
    Collapse
  5. Feb 15, 2019
    6
    Not sure why this gets compared to Stardew Valley. Graphics and 2D-2.5D aside I see little resemblance.

    I'm sure this will appeal to a
    Not sure why this gets compared to Stardew Valley. Graphics and 2D-2.5D aside I see little resemblance.

    I'm sure this will appeal to a large number of people, but it's much too linear that you think it is when you start, and that's unfortunate because with more freedom it could suck me in further.

    The game is great fun in the beginning. By the middle of the first in-game year I started to realize it was becoming a chore. Every time you want to accomplish anything and set out to do it (build this, deliver that, fetch quests) you spend huge amounts of time gearing up... because time is major asset / constraint in this game and then realize you can't go on because you have to do some other massively time wasting stuff to make the things you need to actually make the things you need to make the things you need, to you know.. progress through the story arc. I'm starting to find nothing more than a time sink here with little reward.

    All that said, the game play is generally fun but it quickly turns into a slog-fest, especially finding characters to complete quests.
    Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2019
    5
    Bland artstyle.
    Trash combat.
    Slightly interesting characters. Ok crafting. Atrocious SFX. No voiceovers on release. Several bad
    Bland artstyle.
    Trash combat.
    Slightly interesting characters.
    Ok crafting.
    Atrocious SFX.
    No voiceovers on release.
    Several bad translations.
    The game looks like its still in early access.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2019
    0
    Edited: 1st of Febuary

    I'm really suspicious of the high scores and loving reviews from small sites. It's still missing its sound, still
    Edited: 1st of Febuary

    I'm really suspicious of the high scores and loving reviews from small sites. It's still missing its sound, still buggy, still crashes a lot, still more grindy than a Korean MMO, still poorly written, still has flat characters with less personality than a British politician, and the company still hasn't paid their employees. I sense shifty dealings, which will only hurt the reputation of these smaller sites. The highest scoring "critic" reviews here are an accurate treatise on which sites you shouldn't trust.

    I mean, the highest scoring "critic" review is from Game Grin, who even are they? Whereas Destructoid scored this as 55% (trash, essentially).

    Be wary, and trust the sites you know over aggregates that include no-name critics.

    Review Date: 25th of January

    These devs have been outright refusing to pay their employees (especially their voice actors), using shadily worded 'sorry not sorry' excuses as damage control. That's the first thing wrong with this game, and it should be enough for anyone with a conscience to not support it.

    The second thing is that their marketing team is review bombing other, similar games (Little Dragons Cafe, Harvest Life, and others) to try and reduce the competition. A lot of very similarly worded negative reviews for their competition always ending in 'try My Time at Portia instead.' Yes, try the game made by a shifty developer who pulls this unconscionable nonsense.

    The third point against the game is that it's incredibly average, as depicted partly by its more believable big name critic reviews. Yet Steam reviews are unwaveringly positive and similarly worded, how interesting. Considering how buggy the game is, with its content, at this time, STILL failing to work right coupled with constant crashing (as noted by the other negative review here)? I'm even a little suspicious by the most positive "critic" reviews from no-name/mostly unknown sites. Were it not for them, the overall score would be sitting somewhere around 40-50, which is much more accurate. And considering the hot mess the game is in, it's even more odd, don't you think? I'm not suggesting fabrication here, just paid reviews, which does happen with these lesser known sites (kind of like how shady, lesser known science journals will publish anything if paid enough).

    Fourth point is that they're still failing to properly patch their mediocre, supremely buggy game. Probably because their employees are fed up of not getting paid.

    Fifth point is that the game is still missing almost all of its audio. The majority of sound effects and voices aren't in (due to unpaid employees), yet they still released the game out of early access. It's not a release if your game is almost silent and entirely missing its sound design!

    Sixth point is thst the game just isn't fun. It's one slog of a grind after another. It's nice if you want to play World of Warcraft in single-player, but otherwise the soul-sucking repetition and padding in lieu of real content will likely leave you feeling exhausted and cynical. There are better titles out there for all that My Time at Portia does, there's truly nothing it does better than any given alternative.

    Seventh point is that it's really soulless and feels designed by committee. With the dev having had 57 (mostly unpaid) employees, the game is hardly by a small developer, let alone an indie dev. This isn't some spunky small studio looking to make their mark, they have more employees than some triple-A studios. Too many chefs have spoiled the broth, resulting in a bland experience rife with truly flat, one-dimensional characters you can't wait to get away from (I really can't get over how bad the writing is).

    Basically? This game is a con. One that's conning its buyers with shady marketing tactics, and one that wven conned its creators by stiffing them a paycheck. It seems like those paychecks went to paying off a ridiculous marketing campaign of misinformation. This is not something you should be supporting, and you should be very wary of those who do.

    You can't say you weren't warned.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers