Night in the Woods Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Night In The Woods is a 2D story-focused adventure/exploration game with many extracurricular activities to enjoy, characters to meet, and secrets to discover. Run, jump and use astral projection to explore the many sides of town of Possum Springs and the surrounding environs. Waste timeNight In The Woods is a 2D story-focused adventure/exploration game with many extracurricular activities to enjoy, characters to meet, and secrets to discover. Run, jump and use astral projection to explore the many sides of town of Possum Springs and the surrounding environs. Waste time around town with your crew of loser friends. Gain abilities that grant passage to new areas. Discover the secrets of a large cast of characters and the town itself. Experience a big crazy world and the remarkable events unfolding there. Play bass. Break stuff. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Night in the Woods - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2017
    100
    A warm, moving tale of alienation and redemption in the era of late stage capitalism.
  2. Mar 14, 2017
    100
    While slow in patches when it deviates from its core strengths, or occasionally fiddly in its mini-games, the game is buoyed by its dialogue, warm and charming art style, and Holowka’s soundtrack, which keeps even the occasionally clunky platforming from feeling too tedious.
  3. Apr 2, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Feb 25, 2017
    87
    Its ability to swerve from the amusing hijinks of its vibrant heroes into very real, and very serious subject matter without feeling forced or unnatural was a pleasant surprise that kept me invested in its character drama long after I’d said goodbye to Possum Springs for the first time. But just like Mae, I know I’ll be back soon.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 24, 2017
    85
    Anthropomorphic animals of Night in the Woods are far more humane, honest and touching than human-like robots of many other games that try to tell a simple, down-to-earth story. [Issue#218, p.58]
  6. Mar 2, 2017
    85
    Witty, smart and great to look at, there are many worse ways to spend your time than a Night in with Night in the Woods.
  7. Mar 1, 2017
    75
    Night in the Woods is a charming game. I was fascinated by its general atmosphere, graphics and music, which I found amazing. It’s a good adventure overall, with very well written dialogue, but its bare mechanics made it relatively boring for me. The player doesn’t really have to do that much, remaining extremely passive. It’s interesting how the designers were able to deal with difficult themes such as depression, anxiety and child abuse in a very congenial way, without sounding too inane or obnoxious, but they did put a lot of accent on these aspects making the real plot marginal.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 81
  2. Negative: 15 out of 81
  1. Sep 18, 2019
    10
    The game is amazing and captivating, i have spent some amazing time on it. The characters are well developed throught history and make youThe game is amazing and captivating, i have spent some amazing time on it. The characters are well developed throught history and make you like them just like the history. The art of the game is another thing that makes the game so amazing.
    I Love it and i enjoy it
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2020
    10
    Игра превосходная.Сюжет,персонажи,рисовка и саундтрек.Всё это даёт не описываемый восторг.Но есть одно но.Это поступок со стороны командыИгра превосходная.Сюжет,персонажи,рисовка и саундтрек.Всё это даёт не описываемый восторг.Но есть одно но.Это поступок со стороны команды разработчиков.Они предали того человека,которого называли другом.Поверили шлюхе без доказательств.Выгнали Алека Холовку из своей команды дабы на них не начали жаловаться,мол они покрывают насильника.
    Спустя несколько дней после этого,Алек скончался.31.09.19.
    Как по итогу выяснилось,все слова Зои оказались наглой ложью.Алек только помогал ей.По итогу она свела человека в гроб.Надеюсь эта тупая сука довольна и будет мучительно умирать.
    Rest in Peace Alec Holowka.
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    This is amazing indie games of 2017 I have a huge blast playing it. I like the characters in the game. The art is to dead for it so stuckThis is amazing indie games of 2017 I have a huge blast playing it. I like the characters in the game. The art is to dead for it so stuck in my head. I give these game a awesome 10/10 best kick starter game! Expand
  4. May 13, 2022
    8
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good
  5. Fuz
    Aug 25, 2018
    7
    Amazing art style, fantastic narrative, witty writing and dialogues, great characters and setting. All of this game's outline is adorable.Amazing art style, fantastic narrative, witty writing and dialogues, great characters and setting. All of this game's outline is adorable.
    The problem is... it's not really a game. It plays itself, you just have to hold left or right, and click during dialogues. It's just a tale that you spectate. It's still a very enjoyable experience, but it's a shame there's not an actual game inside this beautiful package. It would have been a great P&C adventure.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2020
    6
    Night in the woods is an artsy point&click. The story is attractive, even sometimes boring.
  7. Jan 24, 2022
    0
    Quite possibly the worse game I have ever played. How is a night in the woods even considered a game when the game consists of boring walkingQuite possibly the worse game I have ever played. How is a night in the woods even considered a game when the game consists of boring walking from place to place, boring talking to characters, and boring overall story. The only part where the game is actually a game is when you play rejected Mario Party mini games that aren't even fun. Anyone who gives this game above a 5 has never experienced an actual good game and its honestly kinda sad. Please don't get this game, there are so many other games that are masterpieces and have so much love and care put into them unlike the failure that is a night in the woods Expand

See all 81 User Reviews