Outlast Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip fromIn the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something entirely different. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
OUTLAST Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    93
    Red Barrels have done a fantastic job combining an intensely disquieting setting, a unique visual look, and an incredibly effective camera gimmick to ensure that nobody escapes Mount Massive without a few nightmares.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Outlast perfects this self-inflicted madness in every area of its design, and it's absolutely petrifying. I love it.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    85
    It’s certain not to appeal to all gamers, and while I often personally use games to relax and blow off steam, I find that after playing an hour or so of Outlast I’m too wound up to play anymore. Good thing then that the whole game is about five hours long.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Outlast is the pinnacle of a less is more design philosophy. While other horror titles use jump scares and musical cues Outlast utilizes startling imagery and precision timing to make you call for mommy.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    A little but perfectly accessible, even greatly playable game. It puts forward its hero protagonist and his helplessness, its whimsical hazard, and its great number of properly placed scripts. While playing Outlast you will relive plenty of convulsive experiences, but you will chuckle at the very same time. Gameplay aside, if the game was a bit more creative, it could get a better grade.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    78
    The initial hours, when played with a survivor’s unsure intent are electrifying, illuminating a slice of fast, animal terror. Before long, it settles into the mechanical, methodical, human realm, challenged by a few creative late-game curves. By all means check in, get a physical, but you might want to opt for outpatient care.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    As a budget Steam release, Outlast offers some cheap thrills for fans of the survival horror genre. Unfortunately its underwhelming visuals, combined with Red Barrel Games’ over-reliance on jump-scares ahead of more psychological frights, made my experience with it feel similar to walking through a haunted house: It’s scary, but not in a very clever way.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 309
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game is... excellent! It's a horror based on crazy people which is a good idea and the Asylum is well done. Very good graphics, I likeThis game is... excellent! It's a horror based on crazy people which is a good idea and the Asylum is well done. Very good graphics, I like them most, also the story is exciting, but sometimes it's really, really scary and intense. I hope you will make some more games like this one in the future! Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    10
    The game together with the dlc makes a wonderful and incredibly spooky gaming experience. The plot is well made, the scary atmosphere isThe game together with the dlc makes a wonderful and incredibly spooky gaming experience. The plot is well made, the scary atmosphere is fantastic and the graphics is outstanding! At first I wasn't that happy with the ending, but the dlc took care of that problem!:) Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Absolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is afterAbsolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is after nightfall. Lights off and undisturbed. Turn up the AC for a chilly room. Then blast the surround sound. You will not be disappointed. Collapse
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    All I can really say is you defiantly get your bang for your buck. I would pay upwards of $60 for this and I may not have finished it yet, butAll I can really say is you defiantly get your bang for your buck. I would pay upwards of $60 for this and I may not have finished it yet, but just wow. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2016
    8
    [Russian] Outlast - прорыв в мире хорроров, а его создатели - толпа психов и, возможно, неадекватов!!! Сюжет и стиль игры очень сильно[Russian] Outlast - прорыв в мире хорроров, а его создатели - толпа психов и, возможно, неадекватов!!! Сюжет и стиль игры очень сильно отличаются от всех других игр, здесь не надо ждать, что вашему персонажу в какой-то момент может повезти или что он лишний раз останется цел, такого здесь не будет никогда! Только хардкор! Все неудачи, которые могли бы случиться - случаются. У главного героя (как и у нас) постепенно опускаются руки, но все же, что-то внутри шепчет : "Ни в коем случае не сдавайся. Вставай и иди вперед", и мы, вместе с ним, встаем и идем вперед.
    Дополнение к Outlast получилось менее интересным в моментах, однако сама история просто шикарная, хотя бы мы узнаем, откуда Майлз получает письмо, которое показывают в самом начале основной сюжетной линии. Не ожидал, что хотя бы для Парка все "хорошо" закончится. Поэтому смело утверждаю, что сюжет шикарен и такое должно показываться в фильме ужасов на экранах (разработчики, подумайте об этом, это был бы БУМ)

    ВНИМАНИЕ! Следующий абзац - спойлер к концовке.
    Когда первый раз прошел Outlast очень сильно разочаровался в концовке (не в плохом смысле). Не, ну правда, уважаемые разработчики, это слишком сурово. Вот так вот... Я прочувствовал всю ту боль, которую чувствовал мой персонаж, я видел его глазами, думал его головой, я помню каждый момент, когда его дыхание утяжелялось и становилось более интенсивным... И вот так вот... Просто какие-то два недоумка СВАТовца (или кто там был) взяли и расстреляли? Это было очень обидно! Я плачу!

    Изначально морально сложно настроиться на прохождение игры, но потом, спустя какое-то время входишь в раш и теряешься в ней с головой. Этот сюжет затягивает на все 100%. Достижения в игре получились не простыми, но и не совсем уж сложными, что тоже не может не радовать.

    Из минусов могу явно выделить документы, которые мы собираем по ходу игры, они очень утомительные и скучные, я понимаю, что разработчики хотели добавить серьезности в игру (типа документы должны быть написаны официально), но я сложно настраивался на то, чтобы полностью прочитать некоторые архивы, уж слишком долго и скучно. Так же, ужасно - отсутствие русской озвучки, были в игре моменты, когда за титрами не успеваешь, та и вообще, в любой момент можно отвлечься на пару секунд и уже упустить пару фраз (которые, кстати, не так уж и важны в игре). Ну и последнее, стоило бы "открыть несколько дверей" на локации, потому что, в целом, игра получилась очень линейной, и мы может идти только туда, куда надо по сюжету, а остальные все двери закрыты, не считая некоторых мелких комнат. Негде бродить.

    Из плюсов могу сказать так, эта игра заставит вас погрузиться в свою атмосферу и как бы вам страшно ни было, эта атмосфера будет затягивать в себя снова и снова. Графика и стилистика - самое то хоррор, так же радует некоторое стилистическое отличие между дополнением и основной линией, например, в первом случае - на улице туман, в другом - темень. И то, и другое очень красиво и ужасающе смотрится.

    В общем, если бы у меня была возможность стереть себе память и повторить прохождение Outlast, то я так бы и сделал, а пока мне остается довольствоваться одним неполученным достижением (которое я рано или поздно получу) и тизером к Outlast II.

    Моя оценка: 8/10.
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2018
    7
    Она не страшная.
    Бегать и прятаться от глупых ботов страшно может быть только ребенку. Типичный инди хоррор, который удачно раскрутился. В
    Она не страшная.
    Бегать и прятаться от глупых ботов страшно может быть только ребенку. Типичный инди хоррор, который удачно раскрутился. В целом разработчики сделали неплохой продукт, но не фееричный.
    Возможно попадание произошло из-за малого количества игр, которые дают ощущение полной слабости и беззащитности.
    Точно говорить не скажу такой статистики не знаю.
    Продукт на любителя.
    Expand
  7. May 22, 2019
    0
    A shi**y attempt at creating something resembling a horror game, but failing so hard, it might as well be called an abomination. The firstA shi**y attempt at creating something resembling a horror game, but failing so hard, it might as well be called an abomination. The first 5-10 minutes of this game will show you everything, what this "product" is about... awful jumpscares, no atmosphere whatsoever. The creators don't know what is "atmosphere" or "climate", so you won't find it here. Instead you get chased by naked s*itheads every now and then and try to move into another room and so on and so on. There is nothing interesting or fun here. I'm not even gonna talk about the camera and the green color that makes me want to watch Shrek instead of playing this filth ever again. Jumpscares do not equal horror. There is nothing scary about this game. it's a waste of time, sh**y walking/running simulator in an asylum... which is probably filled with people, that had to test this game before releasing it. Boring s*itstain... that's what Outcast is. And sadly, I need to inform you, that I've also played and finished the "expansion pack" to it, so be ready for that review, which might be just a copy of this review... it's still gonna be more work, than those a**holes did while making this game. Pickens laughs at this. Expand

See all 309 User Reviews

Trailers