User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 713 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 713
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DBostick
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Graphics could have been better.... shouldn't have opened up the game with all the powers...
  2. EdgarC.
    Jun 11, 2009
    5
    While the game does implement some interesting choices that other free-roaming titles such as Crackdown could have benefited from, the cluttered and context-sensitive controls are unhelpful when the action gets chaotic, and the graphics are distinctly dated. The missions are repetitive and the city, while large and fun to move around as Alex, is visually boring.
  3. CJ
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    This game looks pretty good. Graphics are god because how many Npc's are on the screen at once . Visuals need some working I have to agree
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    7
    This game has worse climbing mechanics than infamous as well as a more simplistic city. In fact this game's city is probably it's worst feature. They reduced the detail on nearly everything so that widespread destruction could take place without nosediving the framerate, the problem with this approach is that you get what is barely a step up from an old flight simulator so that you canThis game has worse climbing mechanics than infamous as well as a more simplistic city. In fact this game's city is probably it's worst feature. They reduced the detail on nearly everything so that widespread destruction could take place without nosediving the framerate, the problem with this approach is that you get what is barely a step up from an old flight simulator so that you can throw a lot of npc's and cars on screen at once. Also the pc version was a quick-port. So it has a lot of problems. Get past these and the core game is very fun, the method of storytelling is hit-and-miss, however most of what is there is interesting. The problem is that these smaller stories don't come together to create a compelling 'whole' all that well. The thing that stands out the most in this entire package is the unlockable powers. There is a absolutely huge amount of them, far higher than any other game can claim. And while this might be overkill, I am fine with that. I think prototype 2 needs to raise the detail levels a bit, change the method of storytelling - or at least tweak it, and make the core city more interesting. As for the powers, they already have a knack for that. So I am comfortable with what they do so long as it's not reducing them. Expand
  5. BenL.
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Brilliant game if you want to hack and slash everything. But there's so much more that could have been done in regards to story line. You have a whole free roam city similar to say Grand Theft Auto 4, yet so many people wandering around minding their own business while the military and zombies etc. are running riot. Makes no sense! Hundreds of taxis all parked up in the middle of Brilliant game if you want to hack and slash everything. But there's so much more that could have been done in regards to story line. You have a whole free roam city similar to say Grand Theft Auto 4, yet so many people wandering around minding their own business while the military and zombies etc. are running riot. Makes no sense! Hundreds of taxis all parked up in the middle of infected zones, half of them with inanimate people at the wheel. Still, makes no sense! You can pick up cars, and still the people in those cars don't seem to care. The playability isn't too great. I enjoyed the game the first time though, was given the ability to start a new game with all my powers, but just couldn't find a reason to start the game again. Brilliant graphics, brilliant concept, but I think GTA 4 has already set a bench mark for free roam cities. Unless this can be matched, or topped, along with the concept of Prototype, I'm simply not satisfied. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    4
    A great hack and slash game. If you are a person that values gameplay way more than graphics, this might be the game for you. Not visually stellar with very dated graphics that the game has, but some really cool combat and abilities.

    Though as much as I did enjoy the hack and slash that this game offered, I did find myself frustrated at times with some difficulty spikes, especially
    A great hack and slash game. If you are a person that values gameplay way more than graphics, this might be the game for you. Not visually stellar with very dated graphics that the game has, but some really cool combat and abilities.

    Though as much as I did enjoy the hack and slash that this game offered, I did find myself frustrated at times with some difficulty spikes, especially towards the end of the game. The game is challenging in its own way and I did enjoy some challenges. I was however often frustrated by some rigidities of the combat the game had, not flowing as much as I would have liked it to.

    I did enjoy some parts of the game. Especially scaling up walls and gliding through the city like a bat, and I do recommend unlocking it as one of your first few upgrades with your EP. I also enjoyed the cool moves like devastator and also slicing away people with your blade or claws. One really cool feature I liked was also hijacking helicopters and the relative ease of piloting the helicopter was really good as well.

    The game did have some enjoyable minigames but not those that you might want to play it over and over again, probably a one-off thing or just trying to achieve a gold status on it. As for the city, it is very dull and there is completely nothing much you can do about it, but you wouldn't really care since you're gliding through the skies most of your time. Exploration is not really of great value here except collecting Blue and Purple balls that give you EP and hints(for the purple ones). The game did not have a really good story line and most of you would start of quite confused at the beginning of the game. Gameplay is somewhat linear and repetitive, though there are levels that require you to use tanks or helicopters to complete them. It felt boring going through some missions with really short cut-scenes in between that don't string that well together.

    The game might not rate highly in me but maybe you might find it otherwise. As much as I tried to not take this game seriously at all, I often found myself just getting through the game rather than enjoying it and that is not how a game should be played. Maybe you may enjoy this game better than I did though I personally would not recommend this game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2012
    0
    Interesting for five minutes. Terrible graphics. Terrible AI. The streets sidewalks are crowded with people that appear to be clones of 6 originals. They aimlessly walk around like zombies. Don't buy it. Grab it from a friend who made the mistake of buying it.
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Perhaps one of the best games I have ever played. Although its in NY and has similar game mechanics as Spiderman, it make Spiderman look like dirt. Graphics are just detailed enough so it looks good but doesn't destroy frame rate on a 8800gt. I get 45+ fps with like 60+ characters on the screen and the entire city of of NY. with choppers flying around and explosions going off.
  9. ChrisReinking
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    This game is rated much higher than it should be, thanks in part due to the overwhelming number of good reviews that obscure sites gave. Ever play one of those games made to go along with a popular movie? I couldn't help but think Spiderman, as the game engine seems identical with mild graphic updates. Yeah you got super transforma-ninja powers but cool fighting moves don'tThis game is rated much higher than it should be, thanks in part due to the overwhelming number of good reviews that obscure sites gave. Ever play one of those games made to go along with a popular movie? I couldn't help but think Spiderman, as the game engine seems identical with mild graphic updates. Yeah you got super transforma-ninja powers but cool fighting moves don't equal a great game. The story is blurry at best, controlling with a keyboard and mouse is annoying, and the gameplay itself just feels like a killfest. If you absolutely love mindless, zombie-killing games then get this...AFTER it goes down in price in a few months. Expand
  10. May 22, 2011
    0
    Do not buy this game, the resolution only goes up to 1280x800, yeah, thats right. The game doesn't bump the resolution any higher than that, and I needed it at 1680x1050, and the anti-aliasing only goes up to x2? I have a ATI Radeon 6950 and it lags on highest settings, its obvious this game has been rushed and the controls suck. You just left click and jump everywhere, and there is noDo not buy this game, the resolution only goes up to 1280x800, yeah, thats right. The game doesn't bump the resolution any higher than that, and I needed it at 1680x1050, and the anti-aliasing only goes up to x2? I have a ATI Radeon 6950 and it lags on highest settings, its obvious this game has been rushed and the controls suck. You just left click and jump everywhere, and there is no satisfaction of killing anything. Expand
  11. JoelM
    Aug 1, 2009
    5
    Could be great, but failed miserably. The graphics are borderline last gen, gameplay and missions are repetitive, the story puts you to sleep. It is fun on occasion but that gets dragged down when all it's obvious flaws appear. If you feel strongly for open-world superhero games, get inFamous, you won't be disappointed.
  12. Jan 12, 2011
    7
    Buggy, ugly graphics, unoriginal plot. But it had some interesting concepts: consuming, shapeshifting, and all the superhero stuff. If you take that a way it's maybe worth a 6.
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Story is great with some nice twists waiting to be uncovered. Gameplay is great as well, with your main guy able to leap across buildings and transform into a bunch of different forms and use disguises. Controls will take some time to get use to when climbing buildings etc. And the target locking can get annoying at times. Graphics are solid, but it does need a bit more color. The city isStory is great with some nice twists waiting to be uncovered. Gameplay is great as well, with your main guy able to leap across buildings and transform into a bunch of different forms and use disguises. Controls will take some time to get use to when climbing buildings etc. And the target locking can get annoying at times. Graphics are solid, but it does need a bit more color. The city is infested and everything but some times it looks like a ps2 game, needs more rich colors. Sound is great, with explosions and voice acting. Know that the game has a save feature but no autosave or checkpoint to go back to AFTER you quit the game. It'll only return to the point where you saved, so if the game crash or freeze for w/e reason then you will have to do the entire missions over... So Overall, Great game but a few things keeping it from a great experience. Its like a mirror's edge meets prince of persia meets gta sandbox style. Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2015
    4
    Bad port, resolution cant go up to 1080, controls are crap, cant aim properly, story is non-existent, city is boring and lacking in character.

    its fun if you want to cause aimless damage, but as far as open world sandbox goes, this is very bad
  15. DaveS
    Jun 12, 2009
    3
    After experiencing Infamous, this game was a total waste of money. The controls are sloppy, and the camera feels limited despite the 360 free look. This game is a real graphic hog... and I just build this computer a month ago. And even though I get ~24-25 FPS, the graphics at their highest detail are lacklustre... explosions are original-Doom cheesy, and the animations are robotic and After experiencing Infamous, this game was a total waste of money. The controls are sloppy, and the camera feels limited despite the 360 free look. This game is a real graphic hog... and I just build this computer a month ago. And even though I get ~24-25 FPS, the graphics at their highest detail are lacklustre... explosions are original-Doom cheesy, and the animations are robotic and uninspiring. Cut-scenes look nice... if they played the way they were supposed to. Sound is slow and buggy. Terrible! The "three" is for potential. Else, ZERO! Expand
  16. Jok`R
    Jun 12, 2009
    4
    For serious PC gamer this game gets boring after 5 minutes. If you like to play xbox or ps, then this would be game for you, but if you like to participate more than console games allow, then just dont buy this.
  17. wildthing
    Jul 22, 2009
    2
    Zzzz when will game writers get the point that we want brilliant stories first (thru ninth)? and then, ok tenth, nice graphics? only a human can write a great plot that's completely absorbing. Prototype is an example, similar in a way to last year's Dead Space, of graphics being light years ahead of what is essentially a boring and cliched story. I find it ..erm.. prototypical Zzzz when will game writers get the point that we want brilliant stories first (thru ninth)? and then, ok tenth, nice graphics? only a human can write a great plot that's completely absorbing. Prototype is an example, similar in a way to last year's Dead Space, of graphics being light years ahead of what is essentially a boring and cliched story. I find it ..erm.. prototypical of a sleepy direction the gaming biz has recently taken (i know.. sry). we want more brilliant human writers! pleeze? Expand
  18. Dec 31, 2010
    4
    This game is mega overrated, huge waste of money. After reading positive reviews, I picked it up just to be assailed with bland graphics, mediocre gameplay, and god-awful AI. Prototype is essentially Spiderman mixed with Grand Theft Auto in a sad attempt at an action game. Some concepts were sound, such as absorbing powers from your enemies and replaying their memories, but it came off asThis game is mega overrated, huge waste of money. After reading positive reviews, I picked it up just to be assailed with bland graphics, mediocre gameplay, and god-awful AI. Prototype is essentially Spiderman mixed with Grand Theft Auto in a sad attempt at an action game. Some concepts were sound, such as absorbing powers from your enemies and replaying their memories, but it came off as a sloppy, repetitive mess. Expand
  19. rex
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    I wont be tl;dr with this so heres the skinny. Game was over in 3 hours. Finished it the night I brought it home. The devs made up for the short story by flooding the game with Mercenaries styled minigames. You can pretty much get all the worthwhile superpowers within an hour of casually playing. I consumed the identity of middleaged woman and nobody cared I was running up the side of the I wont be tl;dr with this so heres the skinny. Game was over in 3 hours. Finished it the night I brought it home. The devs made up for the short story by flooding the game with Mercenaries styled minigames. You can pretty much get all the worthwhile superpowers within an hour of casually playing. I consumed the identity of middleaged woman and nobody cared I was running up the side of the chrysler building. I picked up a truck and the dude inside it was totally cool with it. These "Territory wars" the military and infected have only happen when your involved in it and the gameplay during that is rinse and repeat to the extreme. --- I hate havin' to nail on this game, Ive been following it since I heard about when it was first being developed. I was real giddy about getting it the first day it came out. It was insanely FUN for about 2 hours, and then it ended an hour later. Great concept, just didnt pull it off. Hope they try it again. Expand
  20. Jesse
    Aug 24, 2009
    2
    This game is just bad. Awful! The people who made this game do not know how to tell a story properly. Never mind what kind of story. They just don't know how to tell one properly period. I felt like I was watching a direct to video sci-fi B-movie, and even that statement is giving it credit it does not nearly deserve. Bad voice acting, a game engine that looks like it came out ages This game is just bad. Awful! The people who made this game do not know how to tell a story properly. Never mind what kind of story. They just don't know how to tell one properly period. I felt like I was watching a direct to video sci-fi B-movie, and even that statement is giving it credit it does not nearly deserve. Bad voice acting, a game engine that looks like it came out ages ago, and a character that is impossible to identify with (unless your a mass-murdering sociath who'd enjoy mowing down truckloads of civilians on your questionable path of revenge. Seriously the main character is a bloody ignorant jerk, why am I going to invest in someone as repulsive as this lowlife?! It was horrible. I made it through about four or five levels before it became clear to me that not even the gameplay could redeem this ... this indescribable turd. It was amusing using some of the powers, however that sweet taste quickly turned to a used kitty-litter box in my mouth as I realized I was facing the same. old. enemies. over. and. over. again. Using. the. same. combos. over. and. over. again. There are so many usless upgrades, you'll settle into using the handful of useful ones and--BAM! Boooring. They didn't introduce new enemies with variable attacks, they just threw more and ore of the same units at you. and the city ... I can't believe this company is using that as a marketable feature! It is so bland and repetitive and lifeless. Good lord, what happaned to having some standards people? I think most people would enjoy just about anything nowadays. There's no way in Biggest dissapointment of my year in gaming. I am flabbergasted at the score this game has gotten, but I guess the critics have not had enough decent games this year and their perspectives have become skewed or something. I can't explain it. For a big-budget, hotly anticipated release, this game gets: Ugliest Game Engine of 2009. Worst Voice Acting of 2009. Biggest Jerk-Wad Player Character of 2009. Most Inept Storytelling Mechanics of 2009. Barf! Expand
  21. Aug 18, 2010
    3
    A lot of things work in theory. In theory, communism could be the fantastical wonder ideology that would eradicate all poverty instead of raise a lot of privacy issues. Because of people assuming things worked in theory, Religion is selling like hotcakes, Communist governments are still banging their heads against walls to forget all the horrible things going on in their country, andA lot of things work in theory. In theory, communism could be the fantastical wonder ideology that would eradicate all poverty instead of raise a lot of privacy issues. Because of people assuming things worked in theory, Religion is selling like hotcakes, Communist governments are still banging their heads against walls to forget all the horrible things going on in their country, and people still think GTA 4 and Prototype are actually good.
    You play a forgettable and unlikeable character in one of the laziest plots ever put in the physical realm.
    Maybe if the story was a cave drawing, people would have i'd have some respect for it, but it's not, so i really don't. It's probably personal taste, since there are, at the time of writing, 235 good reviews. In theory, i would really like to play this type of game but in reality, i hate everything about it. The first thing i see is that the publisher is "Activision" otherwise known as evil in video game publisher form, and the developer is "Radical Entertainment", who developed smash hits such as "The Simpsons: Hit and Run", "Hulk" and a plethora, In all senses of the word, of SNES games that are still being played to this day. Like "BeBe's Kids"! OK, every piece of code they write are doomed of sucking but, hey, they did completely rip off "The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction" and "Spiderman: Web Of Shadows" by just repackaging it and making it uglier! Plus, they added WEAPONS that ejaculate bullets at BLAZING FAST SPEEDS, so it'll probably be good, in theory. Of course, having talent makes the discipline of "Completely Ripping Something The F#ck Off" makes it better, a la Disney. So let's start!

    Did i mention the game was ugly? Well, fully comprehend the emotion you get from reading that word and then multiply it by how many times the word **** is used in all "Realistic" and "Gritty" games. You get 37 billion joules of emotion.
    Seriously, look at a video or ANYTHING see how his game looks. But, in this accepting age, we don't care about graphics. But, graphics dictate the atmosphere of a game, so if you're game makes Deus Ex look like Crysis, GTA 4, and a PS3 processor, then the graphics department REALLY screwed you. Max Payne 2 looks better than this.
    And i should know, i actually played it a few seconds after i was finished with that "game". Maybe they did this on purpose to show you helplessness and ignorance the protagonist faces. Then i realize Activision published it, and the people who made "Mario's Time Machine" developed it.

    The Soundtrack really sucks. REALLY.

    GAMEPLAY!
    In theory, the gameplay would be enough for the game occupying 300 GBs of space and costing several billion dollars. IN THEORY. In reality, the gameplay is as boring and unbalanced as the Stock Market. You're given all this POWER and yet this POWER doesn't make this anus of a GAME any FUNNER. (You won't get this reference unless you're black or you pay a very strange amount of attention to Kanye West songs) You're just thinking "This is so cool" instead of "This is so fun." It would be cool if you can run up a tower, jump off, and land on Military Tank. It would, In theory. Play the game and focus on how much fun you're having instead of wondering how cool it would be, in theory.
    Expand
  22. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    Extremely horrible port, does not work properly (not even with user-made fixes) at all and never saw a single patch, despite all the "known issues". This game should not be bought AT ALL!
  23. AlexO
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    I think this is 1 of the most deticated games there is. The many options, weapons and powers can be earned. Hi jack, shape shifting all in 1 game. I defendly hope for a Prototype 2. Where Alex mercer can change his hand in a shooting weapon. And maybe some more options with the weaponst he has now. Like the whip he can us it to pull enamies to him and use spidey webslinging.
  24. MoD
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Gameplayer Sweden, you are very stupid. This is, by far, one of the best releases ever made in the gaming world. The graphics are great. The gameplay is stunning. And the game does not have a 100% designed story that you have to follow every single bit by bit, unlike 90% of games out there. Get this game if you can afford it. It WILL BE worth it.
  25. SlybriM
    Sep 9, 2009
    6
    It's an okay game. They kinda ripped off a lot from Spider-man: Web of Shadows. It's the same game basically, just more violent melee combat and no web swinging. Definitly not for kids though. Lots of cursing and bloody murder of innocents. Spiderman was more fun I think.
  26. WhatDoYouCare
    Jul 1, 2009
    4
    An utter disappointment. A bland game which was obviously not game tested all through the story mode, compossed of several parts, none of which are beyond mediocre. Despite the quantity of "powers" in your arsenal, most of them become obsolete later in the game, with tanks and helis spawning everywhere every minute, and the fact that you ALWAYS start at half health, this game, as a tonne An utter disappointment. A bland game which was obviously not game tested all through the story mode, compossed of several parts, none of which are beyond mediocre. Despite the quantity of "powers" in your arsenal, most of them become obsolete later in the game, with tanks and helis spawning everywhere every minute, and the fact that you ALWAYS start at half health, this game, as a tonne others before it, mistake CHALLENGE with TEDIUM. The only thing worth noticing in it is your range of movement, but of course, if all you do is run around a city which has the life of a braindead ants' farm, you'll get bored real quick. It's a good thing Sierra died before attaching its name to this mediocrity of a game. Go play Web of Shadows to go see where the "developers" copied their ideas (ironically, Spider Man's movement control is less than that of protocrap). Expand
  27. NotYourbusiness
    Jul 29, 2009
    3
    Do not reccomend. It is not that good at all. Just like every other game thats superhero in the world (hulk, spiderman, ect.) very dumb. It is ok for a while. It is very hard to kill people without flying around so dont get it all i have to say
  28. JaredJ.
    Jun 11, 2009
    2
    This game is proof that all developers care about are graphics. Once again another game that riped the famous G.T.A. free exploration. I have a computer that can't get anymore faster for games, it has all the newest cards etc. and this game is impossible to play even with settings as low as possible. The sound quality is horrorfying, it doesn't come out in clear words for This game is proof that all developers care about are graphics. Once again another game that riped the famous G.T.A. free exploration. I have a computer that can't get anymore faster for games, it has all the newest cards etc. and this game is impossible to play even with settings as low as possible. The sound quality is horrorfying, it doesn't come out in clear words for example; "Mmmm-m-MY- MY MY n-n-nnnn-n-n-naaaaaaa-ame is Al-A-is -ALEX" UGH!! And it's like that for the whole game. The blood is terrible looking because it's the same as in Dead Space. FILLED WITH BUGS!! I can't even begin to describe how many bugs there are! Camera angle is worst I've seen because you are prevented from seeing any danger until it finds you. Characters all look like they have Downs, the list goes on and on. Graphics are all that developers care about today. I don't care if a game used graphics from '99 as long as everything else is good, like GUN. I wouldn't advise anybody to purchase this with a $49.99 price tag and I still won't in a year after it is lowered to $19.99 or $29.99. The two is only for the idea and one cool weapon. This not worth your time and NOT worth your money. Expand
  29. PierreH
    Jun 15, 2009
    1
    1 for the idea and nothing for everything else. Another hype in a rushed product that is unfinished. Lots of bugs, no joy ride here. Test drive a pirate copy before sinking your teeth into the biased ratings it received. Most of the 10's and 9's are sadly from guys working for this game company.
  30. Mar 18, 2011
    2
    The powers that the game gives you makes the game too easy to be accomplished....even in hard mode without (+)
  31. May 6, 2012
    1
    This is one of the few games I never finished the reason being is for a character that is "so overpowered" he's incredibly weak. the story did not keep me interested. main boss battles were hideous. If you maxed out your character as I did with mine and still in the end you found yourself going little to no damage in boss fights. And were taking way to much damage you would understand whyThis is one of the few games I never finished the reason being is for a character that is "so overpowered" he's incredibly weak. the story did not keep me interested. main boss battles were hideous. If you maxed out your character as I did with mine and still in the end you found yourself going little to no damage in boss fights. And were taking way to much damage you would understand why I didn't finish this game. cause it lacks one basic thing, being fun. Expand
  32. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Truly epic game, the free-roam mode is what makes it beast, you really feel badass jumping skyscrapers and watching entire US Army trying to stop you and fail miserably.
    RPGish progress where you spent evolution points on power upgrades and new tricks is well done.
    Surprisingly the story is pretty good as well, Mercer HAS A PERSONALITY on his own although he is not a guy you'd like to be
    Truly epic game, the free-roam mode is what makes it beast, you really feel badass jumping skyscrapers and watching entire US Army trying to stop you and fail miserably.
    RPGish progress where you spent evolution points on power upgrades and new tricks is well done.
    Surprisingly the story is pretty good as well, Mercer HAS A PERSONALITY on his own although he is not a guy you'd like to be friends with Lol, and there is a decent plot twist as well.
    The graphics were dated when this game was released now they are pretty crappy but that does not take from awesomeness of the game and it can run on low-end computers.
    Flaws? Well the graphic for once, dumb side-missions, repetetive NPC models making you feel like in clone wars. Nothing major.
    It gets a solid 9/10.
    Expand
  33. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
  34. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Feels like an "anti-hero" version of Prince of Persia set in Manhattan. I was expecting more of a roaming aspect like GTA but most of the side quests are boring or just not worth the time (I did maybe 20% of them and still maxed almost all my skills by the end of the game). There's three sets of collectables in the city: landmarks (200 blue orbs that give exp), hints (50 loading screenFeels like an "anti-hero" version of Prince of Persia set in Manhattan. I was expecting more of a roaming aspect like GTA but most of the side quests are boring or just not worth the time (I did maybe 20% of them and still maxed almost all my skills by the end of the game). There's three sets of collectables in the city: landmarks (200 blue orbs that give exp), hints (50 loading screen "protips" which are really pointless), and web of intrigue targets. WoI targets are the most interesting because they add more depth to the story but they are hit or miss. Sometimes you get insight into past story events, sometimes you get militant chest beating. The graphics are pretty bland and boring in a city full of grey but I guess there's only so much you can do with Manhattan. Overall this game is solidly average but a definite console port. If you can get it cheaper on a console go for it. Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2012
    1
    The game starts out pretty nice: large areas to explore, lots of action and suprisingly fluent gameplay. For some reason after the initial teaser of what the game could have been, it strips you of everything that was fun and drops you in a small building where you get to experience all the game's shortcomings all at once.

    Controls are okay to run around aimlessly. However once you have
    The game starts out pretty nice: large areas to explore, lots of action and suprisingly fluent gameplay. For some reason after the initial teaser of what the game could have been, it strips you of everything that was fun and drops you in a small building where you get to experience all the game's shortcomings all at once.

    Controls are okay to run around aimlessly. However once you have to actually do something (e.g. fight or navigate enclosed spaces) it all comes crashing down. Combat is horribly clunky and uncontrollable. You'll constantly get stuck in corners, jump into the wrong direction, fail to pick up a weapon even after half a dozen tries or curse at the camera because it blocks your view.

    Combat requires you to do complicated combos and perfectly timed attacks. However the game tries too hard to predict what you want to do, and it gets it wrong more often than not. The control scheme is an exercise in frustration and just doesn't work.
    Expand
  36. May 15, 2013
    10
    I love this game, it is my favorite game even now, I wish I would of bought it... I should go buy it off of steam right now I recommend it very much has an awesome story and I prefer this one over prototype 2 because the story is better on this one and it is the original. I was actually excited for prototype 2, but I didn't really like it as much as the original.
  37. Dec 30, 2014
    9
    this game is amazing. no doubts
    the game is easy and fun. great graphics.amazing story and voice acting. awesome powers that are sometimes overpowered and unilimited.
    great combination between open world and survival horror. activision done great here. despite i hate them
  38. JoelL
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    Great game, awesome, fun, interesting. However it was too short, it only has 31 missions and the missions were either really easy or really hard. Many people say that they are having issues with the game but it works perfectly for me. Except maybe that the sound is a little quiet and i have to turn it up, but great game overall
  39. D.S,
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    This title, while very,very entertaining (in fact, maybe the most fun title scince GTA) , is not recommended for a number of reasons. 1. TERRIBLE graphics (sorry eye candy junkies) 2. Can get old very quick for some, so you must have high tolerance for repetition. 3. VERY EASY (I was very dissapointed in this aspect) 4. For console players controls (for me) were UNBEARABLE (I highly This title, while very,very entertaining (in fact, maybe the most fun title scince GTA) , is not recommended for a number of reasons. 1. TERRIBLE graphics (sorry eye candy junkies) 2. Can get old very quick for some, so you must have high tolerance for repetition. 3. VERY EASY (I was very dissapointed in this aspect) 4. For console players controls (for me) were UNBEARABLE (I highly reccomend keyboard&mouse) And thats about it. If none of these things apply to you, you MUST buy this title. If not, AVOID. Expand
  40. JustinL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Fast, furious, addictive fun. I find myself wanting to be more stealth then anything, but the game doesn't seem to be really geared towards that. It's geared towards alerting everyone around yout that you exist and the demolishing everything in sight. So far it's not the most beautiful game I've seen lately, but definitely one of the most fun.
  41. AlessioP.
    Jul 18, 2009
    8
    Very nice.... but its hard to get to the ending without being tired. Basic core is a mix between assassin creed (with the ability to reach every inch of the map, stealth-kill the enemies, carrying on numerous -and all similar- submission) and GTAs (tank-elicopter driving, firearms, ecc). Point is, in the end you are doing always the same thing and once you get a grip of the story and of Very nice.... but its hard to get to the ending without being tired. Basic core is a mix between assassin creed (with the ability to reach every inch of the map, stealth-kill the enemies, carrying on numerous -and all similar- submission) and GTAs (tank-elicopter driving, firearms, ecc). Point is, in the end you are doing always the same thing and once you get a grip of the story and of the power it start being repetitive. Visuals are ok, so the acting; no soundtrack worth mentioning. A very good game, but not a masterpiece. Worth its 25 Expand
  42. ChrisO
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    I must say it's more of a 8.5 than my selected nine- the game is utterly amazing when it comes to graphics, and gameplay. Very gorey, with lots of special abilities that just keep you coming back for more. There are always more upgrades to be had, which keeps you in this game unlike the utterly drab storyline. It's sketchy, and slow. The minigame-missions are very hard, but also I must say it's more of a 8.5 than my selected nine- the game is utterly amazing when it comes to graphics, and gameplay. Very gorey, with lots of special abilities that just keep you coming back for more. There are always more upgrades to be had, which keeps you in this game unlike the utterly drab storyline. It's sketchy, and slow. The minigame-missions are very hard, but also very fun. You'll never believe they actually thought of something this awesome when you feel yourself exploding tanks with your fists or flying off skyscrapers, or defying gravity and landing on the ground safely. The military NPC's are dumb, but there's enough of them to keep the difficulty up, where as half of the zombie "Infected" NPC's take well over 40 slashes from your claws to take down. It is about ten times easier to take a tank down than a zombie, which IMO is kinda gay. Overall, it's great. I found it for 39.99 and am very glad I bought it despite the fact I'm saving for Aion and Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  43. NathenS.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Purely amazing game, whatever flaws critics may find can easily be forgiven!
  44. ColinD.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    I was unsure what to expect from the hype, I was in no way ready for my first half hour, I was left speechless and over awed. There never has been a game comes even close to this. This will rate as one of the all time greats, this will change the genre for better, it's a must experience.
  45. Blake
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, people who scored this a 5 and a 2 obviously play boring games like sims or have a crap computer to see this games full potential.. played for hours and still enjoy slicing people in half and stealth consuming the military :D paid $80 in australia and was worth every cent.
  46. KevinL
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    Okay, this game is awesome but what shocks me is what Jared J. said. If in reality you have the best system you can get to play games, this game is no challange. I have an XPS M1730, fully decked out, Dual 9800 GTX GFX cards, with 1GB total vram and 8GB of on board ram and the core 2 extreme 9000 processor, OCed to 3.2GHz. The game runs flawless, no lag, no sound erros, no nothing. Before Okay, this game is awesome but what shocks me is what Jared J. said. If in reality you have the best system you can get to play games, this game is no challange. I have an XPS M1730, fully decked out, Dual 9800 GTX GFX cards, with 1GB total vram and 8GB of on board ram and the core 2 extreme 9000 processor, OCed to 3.2GHz. The game runs flawless, no lag, no sound erros, no nothing. Before you review a game perhaps you need to check your system, and make sure it's up to date (if you really do have the rig you say you have, which I don't think you do or you'd not be complaining about how this runs). Other then that small rant, the game is f'ing awesome. Graphics are good, but not really today's standards, so despite what SOME say, it's not all about the graphics with this game. The game runs smooth on midrange to high range systems. Expand
  47. AntonS.
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    This game is GREAT. Graphics arent too good but who cares. slaugthering thousands of people is good enough for me. they learned alot from the Hulk game they made a while ago.
  48. TedR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype or don't, whichever. Fast paced, action packed, in your face CARNAGE! Runs great, has great movement, and the senseless killing NEVER gets old. IMagine GTA meets DC Universe with a R rating. A must have for any true gamer.
  49. BrianS
    Jun 13, 2009
    8
    The game is fun, and is as in depth as you want to make it -- do you want to search out the web of intrigue, or just get through the main plot line? I've had a couple of issues with graphics (GTX 260) but nothing that wasn't recoverable, and certainly nothing unexpected for an initial game release. The free roam is fun, and gives you the ability to mindlessly slaughter if you The game is fun, and is as in depth as you want to make it -- do you want to search out the web of intrigue, or just get through the main plot line? I've had a couple of issues with graphics (GTX 260) but nothing that wasn't recoverable, and certainly nothing unexpected for an initial game release. The free roam is fun, and gives you the ability to mindlessly slaughter if you want, or pursue the plot. I'm a bit disappointed there is no "good path" - but I'm one of the goody two shoes who always plays the good guy, and knew it wasn't there when I bought it, so I have no right to complain. Worth the cash, and worth supporting the developers. Expand
  50. DanielM
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    Firstly Jared J... really? i thought the graphics were Fair crappy considering its a 2009 game, youve only given it a 2 due to your poor performance computer, and it hasnt ripped off GTA free exploration, Free Explorations been around longer than GTA. im only Halfway thru this game and im having so much fun, i literally could not put it down the first day i got it, though the graphics are Firstly Jared J... really? i thought the graphics were Fair crappy considering its a 2009 game, youve only given it a 2 due to your poor performance computer, and it hasnt ripped off GTA free exploration, Free Explorations been around longer than GTA. im only Halfway thru this game and im having so much fun, i literally could not put it down the first day i got it, though the graphics are so-so the gameplay is beautiful, and theres not more fun than jumping from high rooftops into a crowded area an watching the shockwave knock people on their asses, or using your Critical Mass Devastating moves in a crowed, i'd give this game a solid 10 but i just didnt feel the story mode was all too gripping, i didnt get the enjoyment i got from Mass Effect or GTA IV, but the free mode is much more fun, i give it an 8. Expand
  51. AnonymousMC
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    A complete rush! The sense of power this game generates is like nothing you've ever played. The jump+glide combo is actually more fun than even the best Spider-man swinging mechanic. JaredJ is full of crap. NO bugs. NO crashes. And that's refreshingly rare in a pc game now days. And if anything. GRAPHICS are what were sacrificed for the sake of game play.
    Too many
    A complete rush! The sense of power this game generates is like nothing you've ever played. The jump+glide combo is actually more fun than even the best Spider-man swinging mechanic. JaredJ is full of crap. NO bugs. NO crashes. And that's refreshingly rare in a pc game now days. And if anything. GRAPHICS are what were sacrificed for the sake of game play.
    Too many reviewers played this right after getting used to the inFamous controls and didn't give it a fair chance. And since when is a "B-" grade translated to a "67" numerical score. That's what Metacritic did with 1Up's review and the reviewer, Garnett Lee, was complaining about it on his podcast himself.
    Expand
  52. DOODME
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    All I can say is its ridiculous. From start to finish you are in a non stop killing fun spree, with enough variations to destroy anything or anyone. The graphics are intense, the gameplay makes you feel like you've drank 2 Redlines, and the storyline was good enough to make me actually pay attention to it. Free roam or go with the story. I have to say if alex was to fight the All I can say is its ridiculous. From start to finish you are in a non stop killing fun spree, with enough variations to destroy anything or anyone. The graphics are intense, the gameplay makes you feel like you've drank 2 Redlines, and the storyline was good enough to make me actually pay attention to it. Free roam or go with the story. I have to say if alex was to fight the infamous guy, he would win hands down. YA! Expand
  53. Sean
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    This game is definitely repetitive but who says thats necessarily a bad thing? This game is more sandbox than anything, but with the amount of super powers they allow a person to play with, man its fun. I won't say they did anything groundbreaking, but its definitely a game I will continue to play, its fun, nuff said. Think assassins creed meets bad marvel games like spiderman and This game is definitely repetitive but who says thats necessarily a bad thing? This game is more sandbox than anything, but with the amount of super powers they allow a person to play with, man its fun. I won't say they did anything groundbreaking, but its definitely a game I will continue to play, its fun, nuff said. Think assassins creed meets bad marvel games like spiderman and hulk, without the BAD part. I'll admit though that the sound is a little messed up, its quite low in some parts, but nothing is missed. And to Jared J., your review doesn't make any sense. The graphics aren't that great so your topic sentence doesn't really make the rest of your paragraph arguable. If anything I wish they had worked on the graphics a bit more. However if you're computer can't run this then you do not have a "good" computer by any means. I'm running this game at max settings with no framerate drops. Please troll somewhere else thanks. Expand
  54. BaalL
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    That game is awesome. It has much action scenes and u can go wherever u want in manhattan. Like in gta. U have superhuman powers and u can disguise as military or civilian. It means u can play it as a shooter game. the movement is great, too, parkour, like in "Assassin's Creed" is it called. This game is for everyone who like plenty of action, fenomenal graphics and a bit of Sci-Fi. Baal.
  55. KrisM
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    @Jared J Don't know what you call "newest cards" - I got an E8400, 4Gigs of RAM and a HD4870X2 an I'm able to play this nice game in Full HD at highest settings without any sign of laggs... so you should think about whats wrong with YOUR system ^^ I guess there are some things which are quite buggy e.g. the AI - if you climb up a wall they will discover and attack you but if you @Jared J Don't know what you call "newest cards" - I got an E8400, 4Gigs of RAM and a HD4870X2 an I'm able to play this nice game in Full HD at highest settings without any sign of laggs... so you should think about whats wrong with YOUR system ^^ I guess there are some things which are quite buggy e.g. the AI - if you climb up a wall they will discover and attack you but if you run up the wall they don't do anything... The way of movement is nice - in my opinnion Spiderman was harder to handel than Prototype. The graphic isn't that good and I think the programmers tried to make it look good but they still had an eye on compability for weaker systems. What they've done is telling a nice story - k everyone will say "Oh it isn't that great as the story of GTA" - Prototype doesn't want to be like GTA - there were other games like GTA 3 even before GTA 3 was released and noone said oh look its's GTA 3 - how boring it's like "...." Prototype is a good game and I'm glad to own this it. It's just funny to run through Manhatten and fight Zombies or destroy Hives, military bases or steal Helicopters(while they're flying^^)....so for me Prototype is one of my favorite games and better than GTA 4 which was a big smoking piece of shit with huge hardware requestions and without any long-term motivation. Expand
  56. MikeJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This game is thee best game i've played, i don't care what the other lower scores say, they are wrong. Prototype is the best game.
  57. ZacharyB
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    This game may not have a good storyline, but it is still an incredible experience to enjoy. The game has so many upgrades, combos, side missions (not even counting the "web of intrigue" memory stuff) that even if your not a big fan of the B-movie plot you can still get lost endlessly in tons of fun stuff to do. I dont understand why people are hating on it because it matches GTA somewhat, This game may not have a good storyline, but it is still an incredible experience to enjoy. The game has so many upgrades, combos, side missions (not even counting the "web of intrigue" memory stuff) that even if your not a big fan of the B-movie plot you can still get lost endlessly in tons of fun stuff to do. I dont understand why people are hating on it because it matches GTA somewhat, they are both based on New york but prototype is so much different. Overall, its a great game and in my opinion its definitly worth the cost Expand
  58. PHilP
    Jun 21, 2009
    8
    Don't bother waiting for the price drop - you can play this game now, have an absolute blast and giggle like a maniac tearing up NYC. Please only use a 360 controller or gamepad though, many of the people complaining about it are stuck with keyboard and mouse which frankly isn't as much fun!
  59. JonG
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    I had a lot of fun playing this game. Not only can you be practically omnipotent, but you can also play as an average joe soldier, fighting hordes of enemies, forgoing your powers unless you get into trouble. I would've given it a ten, but it is so impossible to be "good" in this game that I'd feel guilty giving it a perfect rating. Yes it's brutally violent. Yes you will I had a lot of fun playing this game. Not only can you be practically omnipotent, but you can also play as an average joe soldier, fighting hordes of enemies, forgoing your powers unless you get into trouble. I would've given it a ten, but it is so impossible to be "good" in this game that I'd feel guilty giving it a perfect rating. Yes it's brutally violent. Yes you will kill innocents. And yes, somehow, that will be fun (my wife thinks I'm evil - just for destroying Manhattan!) If you have technical difficulties with this game, try disabling HID's in your device manager (that works for most). Once again, great game. Expand
  60. SeanA
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Prototype is a sandbox game that focuses on pure fun. The city you play in is big, but Alex, the main character, can move around it quickly with some exceptionally well designed parkour. Combat is fast, intense and violent. There isn't the worry of moral choices to get in your way either. Civilian casualties are part of the game and part of the fun, your on a revenge spree. Last but Prototype is a sandbox game that focuses on pure fun. The city you play in is big, but Alex, the main character, can move around it quickly with some exceptionally well designed parkour. Combat is fast, intense and violent. There isn't the worry of moral choices to get in your way either. Civilian casualties are part of the game and part of the fun, your on a revenge spree. Last but not least, Prototype gives you options. Ask your friends how they tackled certain objectives and you'd be shocked at the wide variety of different strategies they all used. A must play of 2009! Expand
  61. IlyaP.
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Well i pre-ordered this game on steam, with big hopes and the will to enjoy it----- and let me tell you one thing THIS game made me go wild in all definitions . i finished it in like 2 days but those 2 days of gameplay cannot be forgotten in a year or 2. This game stands in the same category of enjoyment as HL2, Bioshock or GTA4. They offer u so much fun in Prototype that you dont care Well i pre-ordered this game on steam, with big hopes and the will to enjoy it----- and let me tell you one thing THIS game made me go wild in all definitions . i finished it in like 2 days but those 2 days of gameplay cannot be forgotten in a year or 2. This game stands in the same category of enjoyment as HL2, Bioshock or GTA4. They offer u so much fun in Prototype that you dont care about latest technologies and graphics or physics at all. This game is a must!! for every self respecting gamer. Expand
  62. seanm
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This is the kind of game i've been looking for. Being able to transfor into different things and use your eneies as disguises, this is a very fun, if short, game.
  63. BS
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Great game. The open nature of this game may be shallow when it comes to straight storyline, but the sheer fact that you can do pretty much anything such as drive tanks, fly, fly helicopters, infiltrate bases, or just straight chop them up; makes up for it. The story line portion of the game is interesting if a tad short ~15 hours depending on focus. I would definitely advise anyone who Great game. The open nature of this game may be shallow when it comes to straight storyline, but the sheer fact that you can do pretty much anything such as drive tanks, fly, fly helicopters, infiltrate bases, or just straight chop them up; makes up for it. The story line portion of the game is interesting if a tad short ~15 hours depending on focus. I would definitely advise anyone who loves gory sci-fi games to pick this up; its a must have! Expand
  64. AndrewD.
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    I loved this game, to say the least. My first impression was that the graphics were sub-par, but you actually get used to them and basically forget about them. The city is huge and the concept of the infected zones and military zones is brilliant. You won't get bored of this game for a long, long, time. Far more fun than inFAMOUS if you ask me. A must buy for 2009.
  65. HenryI
    Jul 8, 2009
    8
    The game itself is one that is both good and bad. This can be confusing - after all, I do have to take a position somewhere. Firstly, the game is one for gameplay and mechanics. This is where it's strengths lie. The crowd/civilians, the cutscenes, the amazing Mise-En-Scene and a decent (if disjointed/confusing) storyline serve as great strengths. The dept of combat was also a The game itself is one that is both good and bad. This can be confusing - after all, I do have to take a position somewhere. Firstly, the game is one for gameplay and mechanics. This is where it's strengths lie. The crowd/civilians, the cutscenes, the amazing Mise-En-Scene and a decent (if disjointed/confusing) storyline serve as great strengths. The dept of combat was also a highlight. All of these aspects, the mechanical, programming side, was fantastic. The let-down for me was on two major fronts: graphics and polish. On the polish side, there were some major bugs that I ran into, locking up a number of times in game, invulnerabile bosses, ect. Some of the models were a bit buggy, and some of the models/animations weren't lined up perfectly. Small things, but they really do irk you after a while. The side-missions could have used some variety as well, if only to help replayability. Graphically is where this game is weak. Despite the great gameplay, the graphics let it down on its longevity and its effect on the player. Whether it be from messy textures, messy models, or repetitive modeling, as well as ugly physics, it just detracts from the gameplays look and realism. I wonder if it was an intentional aspect to create a more cartoony effect, but I don't think so. To me, it felt like Mercenaries 2 because of the graphics. All in all its a good game, one that should be tried. What it lacks graphically will be made up for in the gameplay aspects. Expand
  66. RC
    Aug 9, 2009
    7
    This is a good example of a console import. Graphics are mediocre and storyline is kinda lame. Let's start with graphics. They're ok, but mostly they're dumbed down because of the intense action and the simplicity of consoles. Storyline has potential, but the ending just completely sucks. Game play however, is awesome. Probably one of the most addicting games I played. All This is a good example of a console import. Graphics are mediocre and storyline is kinda lame. Let's start with graphics. They're ok, but mostly they're dumbed down because of the intense action and the simplicity of consoles. Storyline has potential, but the ending just completely sucks. Game play however, is awesome. Probably one of the most addicting games I played. All in all if you have the money lying around, buy it. It's a good game despite being a console import. 7 out of 10. Expand
  67. SophiaGru
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game ever! I love the gameplay, voice-acting and Storyline!
  68. JamesS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome and is a lot of fun, one of the only single player games I actually really enjoyed.
  69. ChesterH.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    This game is so much fun to play I can't stand it. Any game where you can throw trucks at helicopters in an NYC overrun by zombies can't not be awesome. I'm a little disappointed in the graphics. My PC has all of the settings all maxed out and it doesn't so much as hiccup, so I would like to see this game push it a bit farther, but again it's so much fun to play This game is so much fun to play I can't stand it. Any game where you can throw trucks at helicopters in an NYC overrun by zombies can't not be awesome. I'm a little disappointed in the graphics. My PC has all of the settings all maxed out and it doesn't so much as hiccup, so I would like to see this game push it a bit farther, but again it's so much fun to play that I really don't care what it looks like. Expand
  70. MarioN.
    Jun 11, 2009
    5
    Don't believe the hype. This game may look fun but it gets old very fast. Get it when the price drops to 10$ or less.
  71. ChaseC.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    amazing game, love the free roam and the ability to steal any weapon as well as mimic any opponent. the variety of game-play and fighting is really good too
  72. CharlesG
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    I first want to comment on Jared's review. I don't know what kind of computer he has but something is terribly wrong with it. The game plays flawlessly for me on all the highest settings. I don't even have the latest hardware either. Now on to the actual review. I love this game. Although not the greatest game ever it is fun to play. The controls are a little difficult at I first want to comment on Jared's review. I don't know what kind of computer he has but something is terribly wrong with it. The game plays flawlessly for me on all the highest settings. I don't even have the latest hardware either. Now on to the actual review. I love this game. Although not the greatest game ever it is fun to play. The controls are a little difficult at times but they can be changed. The graphics are not the greatest but it doesn't matter much. I'd rather have a game that looks decent and runs flawlessly then look spectacular but can barely play. The script is horrendous. They could have gotten better writers. I'm not sure what it is but the acting feels awkward either because of the script or the actors. In spite of the poor writing the gameplay completely makes up for it. Running up buildings then jumping off of them and gliding around the city is stunning. It was difficult to get the hang of it at first with the weird controls but once you get the hang of it it's a blast. I'd definitely recommend it to anyeone. Expand
  73. SvarturS
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    Don't believe all the whining about controls. After I got immersed in this gem I was hooked. Sure, sometimes I was cursing my own shortcomings, but I'm not going to blame the developers for my own failings. This game is smooth, sexy, and just bloody carnage wrapped up into a world of fun. Get it, or be jealous of those with it.
  74. Travis
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    Amazing, couldn't wipe the stupid grin off my face for the first hour. The array of powers at your disposal is utterly lethal, eviserating enemies never seems to get old. Save system is a little wunky, which is for me what kept it from a 10, being able to save mid mission would have been nice. Honestly, one of THE BEST games to come out this decade, why some of these "professional" Amazing, couldn't wipe the stupid grin off my face for the first hour. The array of powers at your disposal is utterly lethal, eviserating enemies never seems to get old. Save system is a little wunky, which is for me what kept it from a 10, being able to save mid mission would have been nice. Honestly, one of THE BEST games to come out this decade, why some of these "professional" reviewers rated it so low is beyond me, obviously they're up on their GTA high horse One stated that "the world is far from engaging" well neither is GTA's where one minute you're running over pedestrians in a park, being chastd by the Police, the next you out run them and no one asks questions about the beat up car with bullet holes. At least in Prototype if you so much as shapeshift in plain sight, they're on you with everything they got from the word go", This is a wise investment in both time and money, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  75. GaryM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    1Up couldn't be more wrong on this one. This game is not only fun, but enthralling. A revenge story and a supernatural thriller, this game has so many elements many games only dream of executing perfectly. I found myself gasping and staring at the screen, mouth agape more times than i did with Gears of War, GTA4 or Crackdown. The only qualm i have with the game is the level of 1Up couldn't be more wrong on this one. This game is not only fun, but enthralling. A revenge story and a supernatural thriller, this game has so many elements many games only dream of executing perfectly. I found myself gasping and staring at the screen, mouth agape more times than i did with Gears of War, GTA4 or Crackdown. The only qualm i have with the game is the level of detail. On the queue above the door of a building, the lights stream simply COMING UP NEXT: WEATHER. Stuff like that should have more in depth detail. Also, the people wander like mindless zombies, making the city not only NOT feel alive, but simply a mechanized playground on which you have your gruesome fun. Furthermore, why are there so many people wandering around when a known madman is running around murdering everyone? And given the military presence, why don't i see protesters or something? Aside from that, I feel incredible playing this game. The challenge exists despite your immense power, and it is too much fun to do the little challenges and find all of the point markers for hints and pieces of the story. Not only will you have a good time with this game, but you'll realize that GTA4 can't match up to the level of fun and quality this game does. A purchase well warranted. Expand
  76. HectorO.Jr
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect, great gameplay, great wonderful story, and gives a lot of replay value, i would recommend it to anyone, even as a rental, its something every gamer who ever wished they could tear the sh!t out of anyone/anything should try. Be warned! it does have a lot of gore so its not something to be played near children ages 1-12 since they may cause nightmares.
  77. joshp
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing, fast, action packed, bloody. But what got me most was how everyone was against you, i mean it gives you plenty of people to kill, but really? it ran just as well as GTA4 or Assassins creed on my PC, smooth animation. there is almost no way you can give this game a 7 or 6 (unless you don't like action games then don't play it) and IGN and 1UP got this game Absolutely amazing, fast, action packed, bloody. But what got me most was how everyone was against you, i mean it gives you plenty of people to kill, but really? it ran just as well as GTA4 or Assassins creed on my PC, smooth animation. there is almost no way you can give this game a 7 or 6 (unless you don't like action games then don't play it) and IGN and 1UP got this game completely wrong. the graphics and the engine do not need work, they are perfectly fine. Expand
  78. WordW.
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Extremely fun, gameplay is like GTA and along with that you got superpowers. If you like the GTA series, you'll like [Prototype] as well! Although the graphics aren't too amazing, but its a great game nonetheless. Very exhilarating.
  79. Panzer_XL4DPRO
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    Jared J is a f*cking retard 1.His comp. obviously sucks dick if he cant play this game at max settings if he in fact has a top of the line PC (Bullshit). 2. Dead Space blood was fucking amazing (maybe his shitty comp. would not let his see it properly). 3. the sound compliant is probably due to his shitty on board sound and not a stand alone sound card.
  80. Yourfather
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    The best game I have plaied in a long time (not including the upcoming MMORPG Aion. ) Prototype has a mix of free roaming such as the videogame Assasins creed 1/2 and GTA (but Prototype is more like assasins creed..) You can change your arms and bodies intodifferent weapons and armors, you can go in tanks, hellicoptors, Have weapons, bazookas, Transform into a military agent, go in a base,The best game I have plaied in a long time (not including the upcoming MMORPG Aion. ) Prototype has a mix of free roaming such as the videogame Assasins creed 1/2 and GTA (but Prototype is more like assasins creed..) You can change your arms and bodies intodifferent weapons and armors, you can go in tanks, hellicoptors, Have weapons, bazookas, Transform into a military agent, go in a base, and destroy everything. And much much more. WELL WORTH THE MONEY! Expand
  81. juliom
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This game was incredible there was almost too much action that sometimes i needed a break. the game was very addicting and also had a well driven story line but the cut scenes were not the greatest same with the graphics. you should not have a problem running it if you have a standered computer. I do think that its worth the money if you like total destruction or just really fast paced action.
  82. JaredH
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    A fine take on the "free-roaming superpower" idea, Prototype is simply fun on a bun. Moving about in the city hasn't been this fun since Spider Man 2, and the brutal, bloody attacks and abilities are simply a blast. Storytelling is a bit sparse, unless you like looking for people to fill in your "Web of Intrigue" (revealing small snippets of the current situation and backstory for A fine take on the "free-roaming superpower" idea, Prototype is simply fun on a bun. Moving about in the city hasn't been this fun since Spider Man 2, and the brutal, bloody attacks and abilities are simply a blast. Storytelling is a bit sparse, unless you like looking for people to fill in your "Web of Intrigue" (revealing small snippets of the current situation and backstory for the player to piece together). The cutscenes would be the biggest weakness, being too short to fit in anything but the basic justifications for you to move on to your next objective. Expand
  83. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2009
    5
    Jeu assez décevant dans son ensemble. Graphismes vraiment pas terrible pour un jeu récent. Phases de jeu répétitives et linéaires.Missions chiantes (course etc ...) J'attendais beaucoup mieux de ce jeu, qui m'avait fait bonne impression lors des aperçus. Mais là après avoir passé quelques heures dessus. C'est unJeu assez décevant dans son ensemble. Graphismes vraiment pas terrible pour un jeu récent. Phases de jeu répétitives et linéaires.Missions chiantes (course etc ...) J'attendais beaucoup mieux de ce jeu, qui m'avait fait bonne impression lors des aperçus. Mais là après avoir passé quelques heures dessus. C'est un peu la douche froide. A acheter en occasion et si on a du temps à perdre... Cela ne vaut pas 50 euro (Steam) Dificulté trés mal géré pas fun du tout. Expand
  84. WaekB
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    First off this game is incredibly fun, it's the first game I've played where you feel so powerful and yet it remains a bit challenging. There is an immense variety of weapons and attacks and each one is more than the other. The most fun part for me at least has to be the movement, you can spend hours just jumping and gliding from building to building without getting bored. Sure First off this game is incredibly fun, it's the first game I've played where you feel so powerful and yet it remains a bit challenging. There is an immense variety of weapons and attacks and each one is more than the other. The most fun part for me at least has to be the movement, you can spend hours just jumping and gliding from building to building without getting bored. Sure the stealth mechanic feels tacked on but it doesn't hinder your enjoyment in any way. The graphics aren't spectacular but you won't notice it most of the time because of this game's speed and mayhem. Performance wise this game is PC friendly I'm able to run it at maximum graphics without a hitch on my modest laptop (4gigs of ram 9600 geforce and 2.2 core 2 duo) so you shouldn't have any problems running this if your PC isn't more than 2 years old. The story could have been a bit more fleshed out, but it's enough to keep you interested given how fun this game is. My main gripe is that the main missions feel too short and loose, but there are plenty of side missions. So all in all this is the most fun game to come out in years and it is definitely worth the price tag. Expand
  85. EricL
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Thing game is really something else, I have not see any games with such a unique game style. There are so many things you can do, you can even tour the virtual world rather than take on quests. The movement is smooth but the speed at which you can move later in the game does make exact movements difficult luckily targeting objects helps a lot. For me this is going to be game of the year Thing game is really something else, I have not see any games with such a unique game style. There are so many things you can do, you can even tour the virtual world rather than take on quests. The movement is smooth but the speed at which you can move later in the game does make exact movements difficult luckily targeting objects helps a lot. For me this is going to be game of the year for me, I am happy it was released for PC. Expand
  86. SaitX
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    In the best Newyork sand-box so far. You got wolverine,spiderman,hulk, and few more xmen powers. You can glide and travel however you want. You can hijack planes and tanks ( - Reminded me of Merchanaries 2- ) Fight the government fight the zombies , and hell you wonder if i will ever die . Great game , must buy , enjoy . -Cant play with Microsoft Xwinder mouse :P gotto disable HID feature In the best Newyork sand-box so far. You got wolverine,spiderman,hulk, and few more xmen powers. You can glide and travel however you want. You can hijack planes and tanks ( - Reminded me of Merchanaries 2- ) Fight the government fight the zombies , and hell you wonder if i will ever die . Great game , must buy , enjoy . -Cant play with Microsoft Xwinder mouse :P gotto disable HID feature of the mouse. Expand
  87. Sren
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    Prototype is definately a fantastic game, however in some areas the game is lacking. For instance the models and animations of the game are fantastic but stick out amoungst the lower grade buidling visuals. This said though, the game does sacrifice visuals for gameplay and pulls the gameplay off very well. I have heard many complaints about visuals affecting gameplay. For me this is just Prototype is definately a fantastic game, however in some areas the game is lacking. For instance the models and animations of the game are fantastic but stick out amoungst the lower grade buidling visuals. This said though, the game does sacrifice visuals for gameplay and pulls the gameplay off very well. I have heard many complaints about visuals affecting gameplay. For me this is just not true in prototype. One of the comments is the draw distance, the draw distance i thought was brilliant considering everything else that is going on in the game, and it does not affect the game for me because i have never been one for collecting missions. I think they are a waste of time that could be spent giving more to the game itself. Overall Prototype is a great game and is definatley worth a look, also it is a game to be played with a controller rather than a mouse and keyboard. Expand
  88. ChrisV.
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    This game is possibly the best I have played in a few years. The powers are awesome fun to use, theres a million different ways to kill anything, hijacking helicopters right out of the sky is a blast, the list goes on. My only problem with it, is that I prefer the clean pristine city to jump around in, and lets just say it dosn't stay that way for long.
  89. HawkEyeS
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    Man. Prototype is a very good game. Let me start out by saying i'm a hardcore gamer and it's a long time since i played 9 hours in just 1 day of a single game. Graphics: 9/10 Very pretty game indeed also quite smooth, the only time my frames dropped was when i got in a heli second time, but this is just a bug i think. Sound: 8/10 not amazing sound but still solid and quite good, Man. Prototype is a very good game. Let me start out by saying i'm a hardcore gamer and it's a long time since i played 9 hours in just 1 day of a single game. Graphics: 9/10 Very pretty game indeed also quite smooth, the only time my frames dropped was when i got in a heli second time, but this is just a bug i think. Sound: 8/10 not amazing sound but still solid and quite good, dialouge is usually very good except a few comments from Alex (the main character) Story: 10/10 Stunning story, it is VERY good in my oppinion if you are into this sort anyway. A solid interesting and complex story, with some things which is ACTUALLY unexpected, rare indeed for games thease days. Gameplay: 10/10 GTA.. meh been done... shooter? with targeting system even.. meh. Run 70 mph sideways on building then jumbing on to a helicopter hijacking it and using it to blast through hundreds of zombies and Marines ? Pretty damn awesome. Presentation: 9/10 A good interface which is not confusing at all, the way the story is told is great, and i mean really great. It's hard to explain though without revealing plot. Controls are sort of stiff though. That gotta be the only real downside of the game. It's a tad confusing on the PC to begin with but once you get used to it it's really not a problem at all. AI: 7/10 The AI is easyly tricked and don't appear to be doing alot when not fighting, however fighting wise they can pose a real challenge. Conclusion: 9/10 This game is a must have if you conspiracies, hordes of zombies, marines, superpowers or just any free roam game. If the controls had been better and perhaps been First person like Mirrors Edge this would probably have been one of the best games of the decade. Quite a few small flaws but no serious ones and you barely notice them once you get into the amazing story. Expand
  90. Anonymous
    Jun 16, 2009
    6
    The 10's are giving it too much, the 2's are giving it too little. This is a fairly good game, good story, decent graphics, gameplay is good, but gets a little stiff after the first few hours. Worth the $50 for it? I say no. The game -is- short but gives you a good run for the time. A good one to rent, or borrow from a buddy. But don't feel bad putting it off until the The 10's are giving it too much, the 2's are giving it too little. This is a fairly good game, good story, decent graphics, gameplay is good, but gets a little stiff after the first few hours. Worth the $50 for it? I say no. The game -is- short but gives you a good run for the time. A good one to rent, or borrow from a buddy. But don't feel bad putting it off until the price drops, you're not missing the greatest thing ever. Expand
  91. Ed
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    It annoys me how low of a score 1up gave it, because reading the 1up review you do not get the vibe that it was that low
  92. joels
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Over-the-top GORE FEST!!!! Incredible action in this open world game. Taking down chopper with your hand transformed as a whip. or crushing tanks with your hands as boulders, running up building to jump up in the sky and then gliding down between the building in new york city while searching for your next prey :) Absolutely amazing game!!! Gameplay is everything, tired of doing the story Over-the-top GORE FEST!!!! Incredible action in this open world game. Taking down chopper with your hand transformed as a whip. or crushing tanks with your hands as boulders, running up building to jump up in the sky and then gliding down between the building in new york city while searching for your next prey :) Absolutely amazing game!!! Gameplay is everything, tired of doing the story mission? lots of side missions to do or just wreak havok in an infected new york city. Oh lets not forget shape shifting!! this game really has everything you'd want in a Superhero game. Though id like to mention that if you buy the pc version (wich kicks ass btw) there's a couple of annoying bugs that can be quickly fixed by going to the game's official forum. Expand
  93. ZdenekZ
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    I've really enjoyed the game, although I was not so satisfied with the targeting system (which got me into trouble several times). The idea of composing the story by consuming people was truly amazing. The Must-Have for any gamer.
  94. WebsterB
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This game knows it priorities. It puts FUN at the top of its list and makes no concessions. It never forgets that its primary focus is to entertain and as such it never penalizes the player or arbitrarily restricts you. It gives you the abilities to create believable chaos in the world's most recognizable city from the get-go and only rewards you with greater control, destruction, This game knows it priorities. It puts FUN at the top of its list and makes no concessions. It never forgets that its primary focus is to entertain and as such it never penalizes the player or arbitrarily restricts you. It gives you the abilities to create believable chaos in the world's most recognizable city from the get-go and only rewards you with greater control, destruction, and finesse as the game goes on. Nor does it sacrifice subtleties. The small touches in terms of animation, ambient sound and art design generate a believable atmosphere of a slowly decaying metropolis. Disregard statements of poor controls or performance problems- I have a mid level PC and play with keyboard and mouse and the game is a dream to play on high settings. These comments are not written naively I have been playing games of all genres consistently for the past 20 years and own all three current gen systems as well as a self-built pc, and I can honestly say that this game is one of the most fun titles I have ever played. Buy it, play it, you won't be disappointed. One of my favorite all time games. Expand
  95. AngeloJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    6
    The game gives off mixed feelings to me. While screwing around in Free Roam is the only fun part of the game, It's story line is impossible to follow, and Alex Mercer is possibly the most cheesiest character I've seen in-game ever. If you plan on just screwing around and not to follow the story, I advise you do just that because the games story is pretty poor.
  96. Alexd
    Jun 18, 2009
    6
    While this game wont win any oscars for storytelling, mission design, character development & etc, this game can be incredibly fun if you ignore your objectives and just go on rampage in the city with all the special powers that the main character has... Too bad that this fun wont last long when the helicopter strike-tream comes, because your character feels VERY underpowered (even after While this game wont win any oscars for storytelling, mission design, character development & etc, this game can be incredibly fun if you ignore your objectives and just go on rampage in the city with all the special powers that the main character has... Too bad that this fun wont last long when the helicopter strike-tream comes, because your character feels VERY underpowered (even after you get all your powers) when fighting multiple helicopters and tough enemies at once. Crappy targeting system makes such encounters to a very annoying expirience and in most cases you'll have to flee to survive :/. Yep, the difficulty curve in this game is one ridiculous roller coaster... While i really love all the cool and fun powers of the main character, there is not much praiseworthy in this game except those. I suggest to wait for a price drop before getting this. 6.5/10 Expand
  97. DavidH.
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    Really fun game! If you like going around a free roamed world and being able to kill w/e u liked and see lots of gore, you'll enjoy this. Graphics are pretty decent if you have a good enough system to pump them out. I like it a lot though!
  98. ChrisR
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Think grand theft auto without the car jacking and super powers. This game does what it's suppose to and is hours of fun with plenty to do. This game is a good buy.
  99. Syathan
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    This game is probably the most fun since GTA 3. The Mix from open world and location based missions is very exciting. The best thing about this is that you dont need the best pc. It works with just a normal 2 years old gamer pc on highest graphic. The effect-dialog soundmix is a bit unbalanced so you had to play it loud. It's brutal, overpowered and gets not soon boring like other This game is probably the most fun since GTA 3. The Mix from open world and location based missions is very exciting. The best thing about this is that you dont need the best pc. It works with just a normal 2 years old gamer pc on highest graphic. The effect-dialog soundmix is a bit unbalanced so you had to play it loud. It's brutal, overpowered and gets not soon boring like other free roaming games. Expand
  100. Tom
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    This game blew me away. The story is confusing (though actually quite a good one if you figure it out) and the plot twists hardly revolutionary. The AI is quite predictable, the graphics is average, the physics is less than brilliant. But the game is SO FUN. The character is designed to be invincible and is just hard enough to take on some massive firefights but not so awesome you can This game blew me away. The story is confusing (though actually quite a good one if you figure it out) and the plot twists hardly revolutionary. The AI is quite predictable, the graphics is average, the physics is less than brilliant. But the game is SO FUN. The character is designed to be invincible and is just hard enough to take on some massive firefights but not so awesome you can make it through with no effort. The best fun is when a strike team is called down on you - it takes skill and determination to take them apart in the latter stages of the game. DONT PLAY IT ON A CONSOLE. It will ruin it for you. The long (10+) combos are impossible to get period and the control is a lot less dexterous. A keyboard and mouse allow much more diversity and make the game leaps and bounds more fun (the PC porting is done extremely well so it doesn't feel a bit like a port). Oh, the Physics is a LOT better on the PC - on a PS3 it's horrible making some battles next to impossible. Far and away the most fun and immersive game of the year. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Prototype isn’t the type of game that shines despite of all it’s flaws. No, Prototype is the kind of game that surprises us that it isn’t in a worse shape just because of all it’s shortcomings. A mediocre game that tried so hard to be cool that it got lost in shallowness.
  2. It is absolutely the best game for wasting away those hot summer days. If you’re a fan of superhero games or just love gratuitous violence, you can’t go wrong with Prototype.
  3. 60
    Prototype's combat and world traversal alone can provide more than a few hours of entertainment, I just can't get over how cheap a lot of the game feels. Whether it's the dated looks, its frustratingly difficult latter portion, or its awkward storytelling, Prototype often feels like a budget title that unfortunately doesn't have a budget price.