Republic: The Revolution Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Novistrana, an ex-Soviet state, ruled by a corrupt and brutal dictator. With a personal vendetta against the President and discontent spreading throughout the nation, now is the moment to seize power. Time to start a revolution - will it be to liberate the masses or to become their newNovistrana, an ex-Soviet state, ruled by a corrupt and brutal dictator. With a personal vendetta against the President and discontent spreading throughout the nation, now is the moment to seize power. Time to start a revolution - will it be to liberate the masses or to become their new oppressor? Starting with a single loyal supporter create a powerful nationwide faction strong enough to oust the President and take control. Using either your Influence, Wealth and Force, gain the allegiance of prominent public figures including members of the Secret Police, Councillors, Celebrities, Priests, and Criminals. Hundreds of diverse actions enable you to order and manipulate the masses from rallies and riots to constructing crime syndicates, holding charity galas, organising secret police 'hits' or broadcasting news propaganda. Threats come from seven other factions, all vying for supreme control. Over-shadowing everything is the President who will do anything to hold onto power. Be as ruthless or as compassionate as you want, but beware, as every action can have untold repercussions and consequences on the future of your Republic. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. It’s certainly not for everyone because of the poor design, weak interface and completely unfriendly learning curve, however those who like their strategy first and foremost and those interested in the games settings will likely gain enjoyment - just remember to scratch beneath the surface.
  2. The rather clunky and standoffish interface, combined with the fact that gamers will be required to actually learn things before they are comfortable with the game might put off a fair amount of people who were initially excited about the game.
  3. 72
    Unintuitive game controls can't wreck an engrossing game experience based on an imaginative adaptation of the old expansion/dirty tricks strategy design.
  4. The problem that I had with Republic was the steep learning curve that came with the game, accompanied by a long read of the manual to get your bearings.
  5. It just seems that the team spent a lot more time coming up with ideas for the game than they did executing them properly. [Dec 2003, p.183]
  6. Republic would quite probably work excellently as a well-implemented "spreadsheet" style game; the 3D element is worse than pointless, and just gets in the way of the gameplay.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    Republic is further hobbled by a linear storyline that discourages replay. [Dec 2003, p.93]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. [Anonymous]
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    A classic in the political strategy genre.
  2. Sims
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    It's a unique game!
  3. Sims
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    It's a unique game!
  4. luigi
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    appassionante la storia, soprattutto per i più incalliti sostenitori dei giochi di strategia storico-politica anche se riesce adappassionante la storia, soprattutto per i più incalliti sostenitori dei giochi di strategia storico-politica anche se riesce ad attirare anche i giocatori neutrali grazie alla giocabilità ed alla varietà di azioni disponibili (di tutti i tipi).
    Le musiche sono straordinarie ed emozionanti.
    L'unico neo è la grafica ed i movimenti dei personaggi, a tratti eccessivamente lento e statico
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2018
    7
    이 텍스트는 내 프로필에 점수가 표시되도록하기위한 것입니다.
  6. Mark
    Jan 31, 2005
    7
    I think that the 3D interface is entirely unnecessary and slows the game down. A strategy game designed in 2002 should not require 256-512 MB I think that the 3D interface is entirely unnecessary and slows the game down. A strategy game designed in 2002 should not require 256-512 MB of memory. I have 768 MB and more than double the processor speed than recommended, but the game still runs slowly (at least the 3D parts of it). It all looks pretty nice, although not as nice as Mafia, for example, and the cutscenes and conversation dialogues get old quickly once the novelty wears off. This is unfortunate, because the heart of the game is played in 2D and takes a unique approach to strategy gaming. Unlike other reviewers, I enjoyed the plot of the game and didn't feel restricted by the mission-based structure. Whereas the missions might make the game feel linear, the strategy makes Republic far more open-ended than on first glance, while also moving the story along. Republic could have benefitted from a patch or a tweak to the graphics engine (such as fog or limiting the view distance) to make the game more playable on most systems. It is regrettable that I cannot rate this higher than 7-- it could have easily been an outstanding strategy masterpiece. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2021
    0
    C’est une sorte de jeu… de gestion politique révolutionaire, Camarade ! mais le jeu n’a rien de révolutionnaire, il serait plutôt langue deC’est une sorte de jeu… de gestion politique révolutionaire, Camarade ! mais le jeu n’a rien de révolutionnaire, il serait plutôt langue de bois et complètement abscons pour tout dire. On voit une espèce de ville en 3d, des bâtiments et une interface obscure dont la majorité des boutons sont flous : on ne sait même pas ce qu’ils représentent, tellement ils sont flous ! déjà qu’on y comprend rien à cette daube, mais alors là…!

    La résolution peut monter au 1024×768 mais pas l’interface qui reste floue… en VGA, je suppose. Je l’ai lancé sous XP alors qu’il est censé plutôt fonctionner sur 95/98, je suppose… mais tout de même. Il « fonctionne » très bien à part ça… peut-être est-ce un bug ou une incompatibilité mais j’ai pas trouvé de patch, cela dit.

    Bref, cette « chose » a été bricolée par des stagiaires gauchistes qui ont trop fumé de cannabis, je ne vois que ça comme explication, Camarade ! je préconise donc sa déportation immédiate à l’archipel du goulag pour rééducation politique. Et accessoirement leur faire comprendre à ces branques ce que « jeu vidéo » peut bien vouloir dire… parce qu’ils n’en ont pas la moindre idée !
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews