Resident Evil 5 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 875 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Resident Evil 5, returning hero Chris Redfield is sent to Africa to investigate a biological weapon that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind theIn Resident Evil 5, returning hero Chris Redfield is sent to Africa to investigate a biological weapon that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind the frightening turn of events. Featuring a revolutionary new co-op mode of gameplay, Resident Evil 5 will let players experience fear together as terror moves out of the shadows and into the light of day. The PC version of Resident Evil 5 features online play for co-operative play sessions over the internet and will also take advantage of NVIDIA’s new GeForce 3D Vision technology (wireless 3D Vision glasses sold separately). [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 5 Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 93
    It may not be a radically new Resident Evil 5, but the PC version of the game still manages to hold its own with an improved control scheme and extra Mercenaries mode.
  2. Resident Evil 5 isn't exactly perfect, but it's so close, none of its flaws upset the experience as a whole. Buy it for yourself, but bring a friend for maximum enjoyment.
  3. There a few things that we do not like on the PC (controls for example). But this conversion is a lot better than the catastrophe that Resident Evil 4 was on the PC.
  4. Resident Evil 5 is "only" an amazing game, a label that the 90% of the third person shooters would want for themselves. The cooperative mode is just sensational and the story mode is plenty filled with non-stop action. The huge amount of contents will make you forget the lack of any kind of innovation in its concept.
  5. The single-player and co-op intertwine really well.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    84
    Although not as good a game as four, five is still extremely entertaining and this time even very well converted! [Nov 2010]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    70
    Where did this famous horror go? RE5 still could have been a great action game. If only the controls were suited for the action game. Co-op mode is worth trying you can curse level design and A.I. all together. [Oct 2009]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 141
  2. Negative: 33 out of 141
  1. T.L.
    Apr 22, 2010
    10
    I have played a bit of this on PS3 then on PC and it looks a lot better, especially the resolution causing the image to be more crisp instead I have played a bit of this on PS3 then on PC and it looks a lot better, especially the resolution causing the image to be more crisp instead of upscaled 720P. Also the framerate is no problem, the engine is very optimized and I can run this maxed out in DX10 easily. The controls aren't that bad, I've played other pc ports like Dead Space, Lost Planet, etc. You should just customize controls or simply learn it. I don't know why others complain about not being able to run and shoot when all the RE games have been like that, and it'll probably stay like that for quite a while. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2020
    9
    Some of the best action games to play coop, very different from the classic ps1 trilogy, if you are looking for classic puzzle and horror fromSome of the best action games to play coop, very different from the classic ps1 trilogy, if you are looking for classic puzzle and horror from the beginning of the series, this is not the ideal game. But it is still a great game with an exceptional villain, in my opinion it is worth checking out. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    While Resident Evil 5 brings no new innovations to the table and the horror element seems permanently lost in the ether, number 5 is a greatWhile Resident Evil 5 brings no new innovations to the table and the horror element seems permanently lost in the ether, number 5 is a great game. A great action/adventure game anyway. The graphics are lush, the plot is solid and the gameplay has had a much needed facelift since RE 4. While the new co-op is something to be desired, with another player its heaps of fun. One of my own favorite in the franchise, with the replay ability and loads of unlockables it wont satisfy everyone. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    Wasn't playing resident evil series since RE 3 because of some personal life reasons. I knew RE 4 was good though. Recently I got a chance toWasn't playing resident evil series since RE 3 because of some personal life reasons. I knew RE 4 was good though. Recently I got a chance to play with the RE revaluation and it recovered my interest. This game is fit for a score of 8 just not as good as I expected. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    A good game, but very dull in many areas. The graphics are excellent and the game runs great on the PC. The controls can get very annoying andA good game, but very dull in many areas. The graphics are excellent and the game runs great on the PC. The controls can get very annoying and it feels like your feet are glued to the ground. Some of the spur-of-the-moment "press to dodge" parts of the game were well done, while others were pointless. The story feels a little rushed and bland, but still holds up. The dialogue is very generic. The inventory system is kinda stupid, because items can stack/not stack in an unrealistic manner in a vain attempt to keep game balance. The AI is lacking, be it friend or foe AI, so make sure to only play this game with another player, and not with the stupid friendly AI. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Good game. Dated (ok) graphics and ok/bad performance. Gameplay is very bad, and when you aim, you can't move. Plot is good, but not deep.Good game. Dated (ok) graphics and ok/bad performance. Gameplay is very bad, and when you aim, you can't move. Plot is good, but not deep. Sound is good, although there are some words that can't be understood, and there aren't the subs for them. The game can be completed in a little time. Graphics and performance: 5+ (5.25); Longevity: 4 ½; Gameplay: 3 ½; Plot: 5 ½; Sound: 6. OVERALL SCORE: 5 [4.95] (5 out of 10 [Pretty good]) Expand
  7. GordonF
    Dec 13, 2009
    0
    The controls alone make this game a waste of time. I can't believe the user reviews are so high.

See all 141 User Reviews