Resident Evil 5 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 767 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Resident Evil 5, returning hero Chris Redfield is sent to Africa to investigate a biological weapon that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind theIn Resident Evil 5, returning hero Chris Redfield is sent to Africa to investigate a biological weapon that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind the frightening turn of events. Featuring a revolutionary new co-op mode of gameplay, Resident Evil 5 will let players experience fear together as terror moves out of the shadows and into the light of day. The PC version of Resident Evil 5 features online play for co-operative play sessions over the internet and will also take advantage of NVIDIA’s new GeForce 3D Vision technology (wireless 3D Vision glasses sold separately). [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 5 Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 93
    It may not be a radically new Resident Evil 5, but the PC version of the game still manages to hold its own with an improved control scheme and extra Mercenaries mode.
  2. Resident Evil 5 isn't exactly perfect, but it's so close, none of its flaws upset the experience as a whole. Buy it for yourself, but bring a friend for maximum enjoyment.
  3. There a few things that we do not like on the PC (controls for example). But this conversion is a lot better than the catastrophe that Resident Evil 4 was on the PC.
  4. Resident Evil 5 is "only" an amazing game, a label that the 90% of the third person shooters would want for themselves. The cooperative mode is just sensational and the story mode is plenty filled with non-stop action. The huge amount of contents will make you forget the lack of any kind of innovation in its concept.
  5. The single-player and co-op intertwine really well.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    84
    Although not as good a game as four, five is still extremely entertaining and this time even very well converted! [Nov 2010]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    70
    Where did this famous horror go? RE5 still could have been a great action game. If only the controls were suited for the action game. Co-op mode is worth trying you can curse level design and A.I. all together. [Oct 2009]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 125
  2. Negative: 32 out of 125
  1. T.L.
    Apr 22, 2010
    10
    I have played a bit of this on PS3 then on PC and it looks a lot better, especially the resolution causing the image to be more crisp instead I have played a bit of this on PS3 then on PC and it looks a lot better, especially the resolution causing the image to be more crisp instead of upscaled 720P. Also the framerate is no problem, the engine is very optimized and I can run this maxed out in DX10 easily. The controls aren't that bad, I've played other pc ports like Dead Space, Lost Planet, etc. You should just customize controls or simply learn it. I don't know why others complain about not being able to run and shoot when all the RE games have been like that, and it'll probably stay like that for quite a while. Expand
  2. ChristopherB
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 is sucha fun game to play. The graphics are really good. Gameplay is great. Sound and music is also good. The storyline isResident Evil 5 is sucha fun game to play. The graphics are really good. Gameplay is great. Sound and music is also good. The storyline is very good. And the thing that makes this game so great is ofcoure the Co-op. I gave it 9 becouse everything is just perfect with this game, but I gave it - 1 becouse of the not so long campaign. Otherwise its awsome. Buy it!! Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Este es un gran juego,con unas graficas increibles y mejores,aunque me guste mas el resident evil 4,el resident evil 5 tiene buenaEste es un gran juego,con unas graficas increibles y mejores,aunque me guste mas el resident evil 4,el resident evil 5 tiene buena historia,personajes y trama yo lo recomiendo para que lo juegen. Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    What is this? Capcom, are you kidding me? This is not Resident Evil. Resident Evil is a survival horror game with ZOMBIES and with some logicWhat is this? Capcom, are you kidding me? This is not Resident Evil. Resident Evil is a survival horror game with ZOMBIES and with some logic exercises and with dark atmosphere . And this? This is an action game with sunny atmosphere. You have to kill LIVING HUMANS instead of ZOMBIES. There are not logical exercises. I think they made this game for retarded players (like COD players), because you don't have to think about anything, you don't have to think about the strategy or what to do. The only objective is shooting. DAFUQ? Where is the old Resident Evil atmosphere? Where is the felling "I am alone"? Now you can play online with your friend or play with that retarded AI. That would be good, but you just can't fear. Thank you Capcom for ruining the Resident Evil lineage. Expand
  5. sft
    May 22, 2013
    6
    Death by reloading

    RE5 is a great game spoiled by atrocious controls. I mean the worst ever. These are the main problems: You can’t move
    Death by reloading

    RE5 is a great game spoiled by atrocious controls. I mean the worst ever. These are the main problems: You can’t move while reloading, aiming, or shooting; instead you become rooted to the spot and therefore hopelessly vulnerable to attack. When aiming the sight is often (although, oddly, not always) wrenched away from the point already centred so you have to find your target again. And you can’t jump or crouch unless prompted. What the hell is that all about? Also the AI is pretty poor. Sheva gets in the way more often than not. The UI looks like something out of the 90s and is clunky to say the least. And you can’t access the inventory during gameplay (although I understand the reasoning behind this it is frustrating at times). So what is there to like? Well it looks amazing. The graphics are among the best I’ve ever seen, with particularly impressive character models and animations. And, controls aside, the gameplay is enjoyable, with a good selection of environments, some pretty tough bosses, and a range of simple but enjoyable puzzles to solve. Ammo is often scarce so you have to be more thoughtful about your approach to the combat than in many games. Overall it’s a top-flight game marred only but it’s poorly designed controls and interface. Sadly these are so bad I can only give it 3 out of 5, which is a real shame.
    Expand
  6. Dylan
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    This game looks great. Probably has a great story line too. I would be able to comment on that if I got past the first level. The controls This game looks great. Probably has a great story line too. I would be able to comment on that if I got past the first level. The controls and interface for this game are so terrible I had to throw in the towel. I will assure you, I'm not a beginner to FPS's on the PC by any means, yet I had nothing but difficulty with the controls and item interface. Another thing I found it odd is that my tricked out system, which ran the game at 60ish fps on full settings, seemed to produce "lag" when you turn your character from left to right. Then there is the constant lack of supplies (ammo, health etc). Which I guess should have expected this from the last resident evil I purchased. I can't comment the PS3 or 360 version, maybe they work. I find it somewhat funny that the enemies come at you in slow motion because if they attacked any faster you wouldn't be able to aim at them fast enough. I've played a lot of different PC games this year and this one ranks right up there with other terrible games like 'East India Company'. If you are a fan of poorly ported console games or you have played the previous ResEvil games on PC then I'm sure you will have no complaints. If you just want to shoot zombies, go buy Left for Dead. Honestly when I read all the official scores for this game on Metacritic I'm left a little bewildered. Expand
  7. GordonF
    Dec 13, 2009
    0
    The controls alone make this game a waste of time. I can't believe the user reviews are so high.

See all 125 User Reviews