Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Jun 24, 2016
    70
    If a little more effort and refinement had gone into the game’s level design, those feelings would have been stronger.
  2. May 11, 2016
    70
    It won't blow you away, but you should be entertained enough to appreciate the effort.
  3. Apr 3, 2016
    70
    It’s simple, but simplicity can be handled in a classy way and I think that Soul Axiom does a great job with something pretty barebones.
  4. Mar 4, 2016
    70
    Environmentally diverse, and largely consistent in the quality of its conundrums, Soul Axiom is an imperfect but distinct first-person puzzler.
  5. Feb 29, 2016
    70
    Simplistic and often jarring its intended design may seem, Soul Axiom is a game that requires, as much cunningly desires, the player’s warranted need to look beyond the surface that’s initially presented. Whether that be in its puzzle design or the ample conflict of environments, Wales Interactive do just enough with the overarching themes of simulation and replication to make its superficial locales feel that extra bit suspicious.
  6. Mar 22, 2016
    65
    With interesting ideas and settings, Soul Axiom doesn't manage to have a narrative compelling enough. The puzzles, whereas integrated with the environment, feel contrived, and parts of the universe are too disjointed to make sense. It'll make you think, though, although sometimes with pain.
  7. Feb 28, 2016
    62
    Soul Axiom is a puzzle adventure set in an evocative cyberpunk universe. There are some good ideas here and there, but it also has some design flaws and storytelling problems.
  8. Feb 28, 2016
    60
    Soul Axiom is an atmospheric experience that looks and sounds great. It’s a shame that the puzzles feel unoriginal and the world can feel a little sparse at times.
  9. Mar 7, 2016
    55
    Despite an impressive variety in art direction and environments, Soul Axiom’s puzzle design is shallow and frustrating.
  10. Jun 6, 2016
    50
    The highly erratic Soul Axiom is a love-hate kind of game – you’ll love it until you hate it, and vice versa. If only it knew when enough was enough.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Brilliant game, this is my surprise hit of the year! It's basically a cyberpunk BioShock with cool, non-repetitive puzzles instead of theBrilliant game, this is my surprise hit of the year! It's basically a cyberpunk BioShock with cool, non-repetitive puzzles instead of the fighting. Simply love the style an exploration focus. Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2016
    0
    Bland, boring and low resolution.

    In essence, this game is a walking simulator with puzzles, However, where most walking simulators have
    Bland, boring and low resolution.

    In essence, this game is a walking simulator with puzzles, However, where most walking simulators have good stories, this one does not.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2016
    4
    Cons:
    The puzzles are not engaging or difficult. The only thing that takes time is figuring out how to actually interact with them.
    The
    Cons:
    The puzzles are not engaging or difficult. The only thing that takes time is figuring out how to actually interact with them.
    The gameplay is boring.
    The power mechanics are boring AND slow AND are unreliable AND SOME OF THE "PUZZLES" RELY ON YOU BEING FAST AND ACCURATE WITH THEM LIKE WHY!?
    The levels are boring.
    Most of the models don't even look like they belong in the same game.
    The sound will randomly BLAST you during completely random moments no matter how low you have it turned. I destroy one block? Sound is fine. The next block? Horrible ear death.

    No matter how DESPERATELY I tried to immerse myself in the story and enjoy it...it was boring and I had to take frequent breaks in order to force myself to pay attention. I just didn't care at all, it felt so forced and generic.
    The lighting is so unbearable. Every area is so dark that you can't see any detail whatsoever. They obviously did this to discourage you from looking around so you wouldn't realize how empty the game is. This point is proven when you FINALLY get respite from darkness imprisoning you in the form of a sunny level...and the level is barren and uninteresting.
    When I say "empty" I don't mean short either. They have added levels since this games release, and even show you where you missed collectibles to encourage you to go back to try and find them...but I couldn't even make it through all of the levels ONCE, why would i want to do it AGAIN? Its empty because there's just nothing to it. Just another bland "transcendental" puzzle game with absolutely nothing remarkable or special about it.
    The game tries so hard to be transcendental I almost feel bad for it.

    I didn't notice any game breaking bugs like some of the other reviewers, so maybe they ironed them out? Even then, its not worth your time to play this chore of a game. I did notice one time when I could sequence break the game, but it didn't matter because I would have been without an essential power for the next part.

    Pros:
    At least the way you interact with the world was almost creative...maybe if they would have let you interact with anything besides the extremely context sensitive puzzle components this would have turned out to be a cooler mechanic

    Other thoughts:
    You get an achievement for like everything you do in this game. Did they literally just add fluff achievements to try and make the game look like it had actual content?

    Was Elysia really the most creative name they could think of for their program? How many times do I need to hear that word before it dies. At least Dust: An Elysian Tale was cute and fun and interesting. AND IT WAS 2D. I LIKED THE GRAPHICS OF A 2D PLATFORM SIDESCROLLER MORE THAN A FULLY MODELED 3D GAME WHAT DOES THAT SAY!?

    I've seen some of the positive reviews of this game saying how they are going to play it forever and ever and it makes me wonder if these people are masochists or something? I am willing to give A LOT of breaks to indy companies. Short game, low resolution, muddy sound, bugs, limited animation...thats all okay you didn't have a huge budget. But for the love of god at least make your art UNIQUE, your levels INTERESTING, your story ENGAGING, and your gameplay FUN. You don't need to have a huge production value to make a great game, plenty of indy companies have made worse looking games that still CAPTIVATE people with their art direction and story.
    I've read a lot of the reviews in order to help me formulate what I want to say, and let me tell you I completely disagree with so many of them. The graphics are not interesting or beautiful AT ALL. Its all VERY generic. Sometimes I feel like the critics and users that review these games somehow got a different version.

    If you want a game that centers around a simulated universe or consciousness...go play SOMA, it may be a horror game but you'll certainly enjoy it more than this. This game just feels so generic I am literally FORCING myself to try and enjoy it.

    I really wish I could say I at least finished the game before giving it a review but I just can't force myself to play this anymore. I would literally rather go to work for a 12 hour shift than play this game at this point.
    Full Review »