• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The player will become a stalker, a guy who earns money from shoveling embers out of infernal oven of Chernobyl Zone. Returning from the radioactivity-blazing Zone, he will sell anomalous formations to underground dealers and scientists in research camps on the Zone border. With the moneyThe player will become a stalker, a guy who earns money from shoveling embers out of infernal oven of Chernobyl Zone. Returning from the radioactivity-blazing Zone, he will sell anomalous formations to underground dealers and scientists in research camps on the Zone border. With the money procured, the player will purchase equipment, weapons and protective suits allowing him to reach previously inaccessible areas. This is a role-playing game without growing experience of your character, without changing characteristics and levels. We want the player to develop his real mastery, moreover Stalker is an FPS/RPG game and much depends on his ability to fight. [GSC Game World] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: GSC Game World
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC Format
    93
    Broken. Absolutely and utterly broken. Not the game, oh no, it's my fragile nerves that have been shattered. Adrenalin is still coursing through my veins as I type, and what's more, I absolutely love it. STALKER is a thoroughly affecting game, and it's got me by the short hairs. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  2. AceGamez
    90
    I loved every single challenging, compelling, atmosphere-laden moment of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. It's just so different from everything else that's out there.
  3. From its alternate reality setting and realistic gun mechanics to its trading system and action horror formula, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. is radioactive rareness.
  4. 82
    By itself, the game is a fascinating achievement, even if you trip over technical cracks more than you should.
  5. 80
    The game's "exclusion zone" setting, a no-man's-land roughly 30 square kilometers surrounding the Chernobyl nuclear reactor, is very much "Mad Maxim": post-Soviet road warriors just beyond the containment dome. Bleak as the end of the world (or at least life as we know it), it's an invention as gorgeous as years-old graphics overhauled for a late launch get.
  6. 80
    The clunky interface, numerous bugs, fractured story telling and underdeveloped ideas do distract from what could well have been a real classic, but the fact that GSC have come through development hell to produce a game as memorable as this is quite an achievement.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 283
  1. ArikR.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    The game is gooood! Anyone who likes not just to go straight and shoot anything that moves should try it (at least once:). And yeah, about The game is gooood! Anyone who likes not just to go straight and shoot anything that moves should try it (at least once:). And yeah, about the graphics design. I was born in Ukraine like 50 miles from the place you play the game in, so i know how it looks in real life (approximately, thanks God). I can assure you that every smallest detail, every tree, every car or what's written on damn helicopter is 100% copied from real life (in best meaning of word 'copied'). So even if you'd like to go to some ex-soviet country, play the game just to see how possibly your trip would look like.) Pretty real. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time. Yes it's buggy, and horrendously difficult in some places as you die by tripping over a rock... and theOne of my favourite games of all time. Yes it's buggy, and horrendously difficult in some places as you die by tripping over a rock... and the enemies need nothing short of a tactical nuke to kill. But lovably so. Some great hair raising moments, and a good sense of "pphhew" at the end. Great game Expand
  3. EricR.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    This is probably one of the most amazing and extreme first person shooters i have ever played, yes it has its bugs and coding issues but once This is probably one of the most amazing and extreme first person shooters i have ever played, yes it has its bugs and coding issues but once you patch the game and get everything up to speed, the game had me playing for hours and hours. so many different things and possibilitys you can explore and proceed in many different ways. Just has me playing and playing just because of the several ways you can play through it, and many different and interesting endings and gameplay route within it. Its sort of like Deus ex and BioShock , so if your a fan of the Dues ex or BioShock i highly recommend this game. With the types of game play thats implemented in this game you'll just be blown away by the story and and environmental surrounding of this hostile world of Chernobyl! Expand
  4. OzymandiasD
    Jul 2, 2008
    9
    Without a doubt one of the finest dystopian shooter/RPG's ever, this game enters you into the sad world of the Chernobyl incident.

    The
    Without a doubt one of the finest dystopian shooter/RPG's ever, this game enters you into the sad world of the Chernobyl incident.

    The depth of the environments is amaing, with various traps and suprises. Whether or not these are caused by the incident will be known in due time.

    The only issue is the base storyline is a bit weak, but with mods like AMK or Oblivion Lost, it becomes a totally different beast.
    Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    As much as I want to give SoC a 10/10, I have to be real about it. The game is definitely a solid 8/10 without mods, WITH mods it is easily aAs much as I want to give SoC a 10/10, I have to be real about it. The game is definitely a solid 8/10 without mods, WITH mods it is easily a 9/10.

    There could honestly be more mutants in ALL STALKER games, but there is definitely a charm about the mutants that are already in the game. There's nothing like being out at night when it's PITCH black and you hear a bloodsucker breathing and you don't know WHAT the f*** is going on

    The games atmosphere is a 10/10, no doubt about it

    The STALKER series is easily my favorite game series, and if you enjoy a challenging FPS with RPG elements, brilliant atmosphere, with plenty of scariness thrown in the mix. You will adore STALKER
    Expand
  6. mez
    Dec 18, 2011
    7
    If ever a game needs mods, it's this one. The atmosphere and setting are absolutely incredible, but the whole thing feels like an alphaIf ever a game needs mods, it's this one. The atmosphere and setting are absolutely incredible, but the whole thing feels like an alpha release. The balancing is all over the place and there many serious bugs and annoyances that really should have been dealt with before the game hit the shelves. And forget all the talk of RPG elements - this is a straight up FPS set in larger than usual environments. Yeah, you have an inventory and there are side missions you can do in any order, but if you're hoping for character development or flexible ways to complete objectives, you'll be disappointed. It's like Far Cry in the sense that you have these big open levels, but you can only ever play one way; in the end you always have to go in guns blazing. It's a waste really, because the Zone is the true star of the game, yet there's rarely a reason to just go and explore it. I do recommend the game for the atmosphere alone, but with serious reservations about the rest of it. Wait until it's on sale before putting your money down... Expand
  7. B.O.S.Kuro-chan
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    This game is 2D, not worth any upgrades to Vista. I would rather drink pig urine that was pooped in by a Gorilla with hemorrhoids than playThis game is 2D, not worth any upgrades to Vista. I would rather drink pig urine that was pooped in by a Gorilla with hemorrhoids than play this game. It is ugly, sounds horrible, has bad controls, horrible gameplay, retarded story line, and, to top it off, it installs about 20 viruses when you boot it up. Avoid this game at all costs. Expand

See all 283 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.