Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3482 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: StarCraft II continues the epic saga of the Protoss, Terran, and Zerg. These three distinct and powerful races clash once again in the fast-paced real-time strategy sequel to the legendary original, StarCraft. Legions of veteran, upgraded, and brand-new unit types do battle across theStarCraft II continues the epic saga of the Protoss, Terran, and Zerg. These three distinct and powerful races clash once again in the fast-paced real-time strategy sequel to the legendary original, StarCraft. Legions of veteran, upgraded, and brand-new unit types do battle across the galaxy, as each faction struggles for survival. Featuring a unique single-player campaign that picks up where StarCraft: Brood War left off, StarCraft II presents a cast of new heroes and familiar faces in an edgy sci-fi story filled with adventure and intrigue. In addition, Blizzard again offers unparalleled online play through Battle.net, the company's world-renowned gaming service, with several enhancements and new features to make StarCraft II the ultimate competitive real-time strategy game. Features fast-paced, hard-hitting, tightly balanced competitive real-time strategy gameplay that recaptures and improves on the magic of the original game. New units and gameplay mechanics further distinguish each race. Vibrant new 3D-graphics engine with support for dazzling visual effects and massive unit and army sizes. Full map-making and scripting tools to give players incredible freedom in customizing and personalizing their gameplay experience. [Blizzard] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Starcraft II Official Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    100
    For anyone else interested in or already on board with RTS games, Starcraft II isn't just an amazing, it's required reading.
  2. While it manages to pull off pathos, it's also filled with laugh-out-loud jokes, including the traditional ludicrous dialogue from your units.
  3. Blizzard was facing a monumental challenge when it came to releasing a sequel for the genre-defining Starcraft, and they have answered that challenge magnificently.
  4. Starcraft II has certainly been long overdue, but the immense waiting has really paid off. Blizzard have another jewel to add to their crown, and it's easy to see why. By not veering too far away from the original formula, Blizzard haven't at all 'played it safe' – they've recognized a gaming model that works and then given it a much needed 21st century polish.
  5. By building off the foundations and bolstering the series with memorable missions, an incredible story, and awe-inspiring visuals, Blizzard has assured StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty's status as one of the best RTS games ever created.
  6. An excellent game that you can consider the chess of the 21st century.
  7. Don't get me wrong. Starcraft II is a fine game. It's just not great.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    this game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returdedthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRRthis game is so returded MINECR%AFT IS BETTAER RRRRRRRR Expand
  2. GlennJ
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    This game deserves nothing but the highest praise possible, the Multiplayer is dead on and the Single player is absolutely fantastic and well This game deserves nothing but the highest praise possible, the Multiplayer is dead on and the Single player is absolutely fantastic and well worth multiple playthrough's. The game runs fine on highest settings on my 3 year old computer (running 8800GTX and a Core2Duo. The only thing that I don't like about Starcraft 2 are some of the Battle.net features such as there being no lobbies, but nothing that can detract from the final score. Great work Blizzard. 12 years of wait, well served. Expand
  3. DanD
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game balance. The new units add a lot of new strategies as do new mechanics such as destructible rocks, xel'naga watch towers and the addition of a second gas node at every base. As a die hard fan of SC:BW I went into this game with very high expectations and I can tell you that it lived up to every bit of it. The campaign, im sure is fun if youre into that sort of thing, I myself went straight for the multiplayer, which is excellent with the brand new ladder system. Gone are the days where you play against people significantly below or beyond you in terms of skill . My only complaint is the lack of clan support which the original enjoyed. I think it'd be great if people could make clans to make it easier to connect with other skilled people for team matches, such as 3v3s and 4v4s. All in all, if you even sort of enjoyed BW you will love SC2. Stop reading this and buy it now. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    Ok so Starcraft 2 Wings of Liberty aint anything new for RTS but hell do any of you know what it takes to creat flawless gameplay? I mean youOk so Starcraft 2 Wings of Liberty aint anything new for RTS but hell do any of you know what it takes to creat flawless gameplay? I mean you all got to remember Starcraft was and still is one of their best works there wasn't a real need to change much. The graphics alone is what people wanted out of Starcraft and Broodwar. And not to mention Blizzard sets standards to the highest and makes games that don't need tons and tons of patches. All those that give the game less than a 7 need to realize you put your standards too high. Why recreate the wheel on this beautiful game? ALL RTS's are just about the same no matter what. Look at all the Diablo games not much changed from Diablo to Diablo 2 or that matter of Diablo 2 LOD. Diablo 3 is going to be just about the same just better graphics, new characters, and maps. Starcraft 2 Wings of Liderty should get at least a 7 but I give it a 9 for the fact its beautifuly made flawless and the few new things it brings to the table for other RTS's out there need to compete with. Blizzard is the best company out there hands down and I barely play anyother games out there from other companies. In fact I want to work for Blizzard once I get out of collage because I want to set a new bar with RPG's/MMORPG's. Blizzard themselves ARE THE BEST! Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    First and foremost, I am an avid Starcraft fan and have played the original Starcraft as well as Brood War countless times for many days worthFirst and foremost, I am an avid Starcraft fan and have played the original Starcraft as well as Brood War countless times for many days worth of hours played. That said, I was also a little skeptical at first about how the new Starcraft game would turn out. The campaign was... not as great as I thought it would be. The story was somewhat blah and predictable. As far as presentation and graphics, the game gets an A+ (at least compared to the old Starcraft; in terms of comparisons to other games today, it's about average I'd say). Multiplayer is still fun, but one thing I really did not like was the inability to have local LAN play instead of having to connect to the Blizzard servers all the time. The greatest thing about Starcraft's continued replayability all these years was that you could get a bunch of your buddies together or go to an internet gaming cafe (anywhere besides the US) and play Starcraft on a local network without having to deal with lag or server downtimes or malfunctions. You used to be able to play offline, even though it was supposed to be a online-only experience. Now it appears they've taken away offline play, so that docks more points from the rating. You shouldn't need an internet connection in order to play the game, it's that simple.
    To conclude, I am happy with the game but not as happy as I expected to be. Still would recommend getting this game, and hopefully with Heart of the Swarm they will have made a better game.
    Expand
  6. KostasI.
    Jul 28, 2010
    7
    Ok lets get down to bussiness. Long story short the game is very well done and it does worth your money somewhat. What i like about this Ok lets get down to bussiness. Long story short the game is very well done and it does worth your money somewhat. What i like about this game. It has awesome cut scenes and videos in as high standards as you would expect from Blizzard. The campaign is lengthy which will last you about 15 - 17 hours in normal difficulty and while you play the campaign you are going to use all units both from the old days and the new ones. Sound is also at a very high standard. Intercace is also a notch above anything else i have seen in the genre. Gameplay is what you expect, nothing has changed from the old days WHICH IS GOOD and speaks loud at how far ahead was Starcraft 1 from the competition. What i did not like about the game. The engine is very unstable and does not seem to perfom as good as other engines even if the graficks are not nearly on the same level as current strategy games. The story is just not what i expected. I wanted it to be really epic with the characters being developed even more but no....Its not bad but it could have been so much better and so much "to the point", it feels like a blabbermouth is telling it. Keep it simple and focused people. Overall the game, while very good and very well done, fails to capture the essence and heritage of the old game and slows down the story much more than it should. Expand
  7. JacobG
    Jul 31, 2010
    0
    Sc2, same crap, different day with shinier graphics. Gameplay from last decade that is extremely boring. Where are the tactics from the Sc2, same crap, different day with shinier graphics. Gameplay from last decade that is extremely boring. Where are the tactics from the RTS's we have come to love like Company of Heroes. SC2 SP campaign is only interesting because of the story, you dont play it because the missions are engrossing, you play it to get to the next cutscene. Expand

See all 851 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.