The Forest Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 558 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the lone survivor of a passenger jet crash, you find yourself in a mysterious forest battling to stay alive against a society of cannibalistic mutants. Build, explore, survive in this terrifying first person survival horror simulator.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Forest - Official Trailer 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jul 16, 2018
    90
    The Forest is an awkward open-world survival game. It's thrilling to play because of the intense atmosphere, but confusing maps and annoying enemies make it really hard for me to immerse into the game.
  2. May 3, 2018
    90
    It’s a brilliant game that blends survival and horror into one terrifying, tense experience. The story it weaves is well-written, the gameplay — particularly the progression — is perfectly refined, and there are few games as hilariously engaging in their co-op.
  3. May 14, 2018
    90
    The Forest frequently flirts with perfection. A fantastic and engrossing survival-horror experience from start to finish.
  4. May 8, 2018
    80
    The Forest is one of the best survival games to date, especially because of its interesting story, inspired by horror movies like The Descent. Everything is here to remind you that the surrounding nature will do everything to destroy your morale and your life. Oppressive, stressful, but so exhilarating, The Forest is made for any survival games' fans, even if it suffers from weird physics and perfectible AI.
  5. Jun 21, 2018
    80
    In a crowded landscape littered with a few too many survival crafting games, The Forest makes a pretty strong case for itself. With an open-ended world balanced by a story that moves forward, The Forest contains both freedom and mounting tension and provides not just the means for the player to survive, but a compelling reason to do so.
  6. May 17, 2018
    80
    If you were already tired of fighting horrendous mutants, the alternative ending is the only valid reason to return to the forest. If, on the contrary, you have lived under a rock until now and you missed it, we warmly invite you to pack and board ... but watch out for the turmoil!
  7. May 8, 2018
    50
    The Forest begins as a great survival game, but soon becomes mediocre due to its dull action. The poor gameplay mechanics and narrative are some of the elements that make it hard to recommend this game.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 134
  2. Negative: 13 out of 134
  1. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This game is Insane, is just the 0.01 alpha version, and looks amazing. Yeah it IS buggy, but c'mon, the game is in ALPHA, when people willThis game is Insane, is just the 0.01 alpha version, and looks amazing. Yeah it IS buggy, but c'mon, the game is in ALPHA, when people will understand that Alpha = Bug/glitch. The game is being developed by 4 people, so, if you are looking for an AAA game, go somewhere else Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2020
    10
    Before, I didn't find the game attractive. But I was mistaken. You stay several hours even after the game is over. I recommend it to anyoneBefore, I didn't find the game attractive. But I was mistaken. You stay several hours even after the game is over. I recommend it to anyone who likes an open world and survival. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2019
    9
    Amazing !

    Seriously half the people including myself initially don't understand this game. Anyone who claims there isn't enough crafting
    Amazing !

    Seriously half the people including myself initially don't understand this game. Anyone who claims there isn't enough crafting is wrong , as after 55 days in im still finding cool stuff from a secret evil church to a full on glider. It's not minecraft but once you finish it you'll get that mode which is cool. Or the horde mode that's crazy. Because its not Ark it actually works and works well which means it's a scary horror story which has two endgames based on choices.

    The optimisation isn't great and there's a few glitches but nothing bad considering how much is going on.
    The music is none existent outside of musical tapes but the sound is terrifying ..truly scary.
    The gameplay is high mearning curve and finickity at times bur plenty of options.
    Lastability is months or years as every time you play its different with random starts and locations and new updates. No microtransactions at all.

    The combat isnt destiny but its brutal and fast with awesome weapons.
    Overall the attention to detail is spectacular with many stories told through the environment as much as the lore through collectibles.
    The multiplayer is a little buggy but amazing fun and an entirely different experience.
    So i'd say buy it as it's cheap and play it and dont give up.
    Use your second device as a game support tool as there are interactive map apps. And the wiki is cool though don't spoil many of the brilliant secrets and surprises.

    I've played games for 20 plus years on all formats and across every genre and i was amazed to find it is one of the best game experiences i've every played and beyond value for money. Give it a chance and you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2021
    8
    Fun survival game best to do online since its a little unclear how to complete the game and being honest the ending is sort of like an easterFun survival game best to do online since its a little unclear how to complete the game and being honest the ending is sort of like an easter egg its a fun game to play online to go explore and build massive fortresses. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2022
    7
    Relatively, I haven't played it much. But I enjoyed the game. It was scary to experience every night. But the games have problems andRelatively, I haven't played it much. But I enjoyed the game. It was scary to experience every night. But the games have problems and disadvantages. One of which is a small variety. The first days everything happens very quickly, but later everything abruptly becomes a routine and the game becomes very boring. Expand
  6. May 31, 2018
    7
    The Forest gets off to a strong start, throwing you onto an island fraught with cannibals, with naught but an axe, backpack, and a couple TVThe Forest gets off to a strong start, throwing you onto an island fraught with cannibals, with naught but an axe, backpack, and a couple TV dinners to your name. The first few nights are spent desperately scavenging materials for tools with which to build, hunt, and defend yourself; construction (or discovery) of emergency shelters is required to be able to sleep or save the game, and doing all this while trying to stay out of sight of the roving cannibals is a wonderfully tense and even strategic experience.

    After about a week on the island, you should be well enough equipped to actually take on two or three cannibals in a fight if need be, and begin descending into the island's many cave systems which are dense with more powerful mobs but also peppered with more powerful tools. You start feeling capable of tackling the challenges both above and underground.

    After two weeks on the island, the surface will have gradually become populated exclusively by 12-foot mutants and Dr. Manhattan clones, who can all outrun you like you were standing still and two-shot you once they catch up. Attempting combat is complete suicide, and most of the weaponry you've spent your time building up is now effectively worthless, save your precious limited supply of explosives. Any base you may have built on the surface won't be worth attempting to return to as you are forced underground into a winding array of tunnel mazes, fumbling around in constant near-zero-light conditions as your sole feasible means of egress. God help you if you haven't yet found all the most important equipment by this point.

    It's also still fairly buggy.

    In short it has a strong start, but a lategame that I could only recommend to a C.H.U.D.
    Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2022
    0
    33 hours on record, worst game that I have played to date. The gameplay is awful, and it is a sorry excuse for a horror game.

See all 134 User Reviews