Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Feb 5, 2020
    90
    As the complexity increases, the time you’ll spend with puzzles grows, as you start out on multi-part endeavours within one screen, trying to wire up circuits to open barriers to be able to restart the puzzle over with more freedom to rearrange the pieces, in order to wire up circuits to open bar… You get the idea. And yet it never feels obtuse, nor perhaps most importantly, smug. Instead there’s a cheery demeanour throughout, even when the puzzling has teeth.
  2. Feb 4, 2020
    90
    Taking a more relaxing approach to the classic puzzle platformer genre leads The Pedestrian to a big win here.
  3. Feb 1, 2020
    90
    The Pedestrian is a wonderfully crafted puzzle game. As it shines visually and with its very pleasant soundtrack, it offers a simple but brilliant concept, with a great difficulty curve and new ideas that make it simply unique and absolutely lovely.
  4. Jan 29, 2020
    90
    The Pedestrian is visually, audibly, and almost completely mechanically sound. Be warned, though, there isn't much in terms of hints along the way. But in the end, you'll be surprised at how far you can make it with drive and a little brainpower.
  5. Feb 10, 2020
    89
    The Pedestrian is one of the most enjoyable games you can play this year, even if you are not a big fan of platform/puzzle games. It is original, fun and it will extensively test your mind.
  6. Feb 8, 2020
    88
    The Pedestrian is a great puzzle game that any fan of the genre should try. It’s smart, challenging and looks fantastic.
  7. Feb 13, 2020
    85
    The Pedestrian may look like another simple skill-platformer, but the sum of all ofits additional elements —setting, aesthetics, original mechanics— makes it a great game for every fan of the genre.
  8. Jan 29, 2020
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Feb 20, 2020
    80
    Whether it’s the complimentary add-on of its voyage through the environment — and the way the game makes one’s trip a pleasant scurry from one city region to the next — or the ample ways the game adds-to, subtracts-from and so easily flips former rules/conventions on their head, The Pedestrian taps terrifically into the many joys, frustrations and epiphanies that this genre of video game is so good at carving out. Clever, confident and a fine debut for Skookum Arts, The Pedestrian has established a clear high bar — marking itself down as this year’s first must-play for puzzle enthusiasts far and wide.
  10. Feb 18, 2020
    80
    The Pedestrian is a very inventive puzzle game with a lovely graphic design and an engrossing gameplay. Too bad it’s a pretty brief experience that is over too soon.
  11. Feb 12, 2020
    80
    I thoroughly enjoyed The Pedestrian, a clever puzzle game that skillfully interweaves its concise puzzles with the game world. This clever game is more than worth a few hours for twenty euros.
  12. 80
    Solving puzzles and exploring my way through the vast network of road signs within The Pedestrian’s fictionalised city I found to be a complete blast and an experience that I will likely revisit in future. I found that it managed to strike a solid balance with its difficulty and it constantly introduced new elements to help keep its novel concept from feeling one dimensional. I did encounter some minor issues with the audio and I wish chapters were present to revisit stages but this fortunately didn’t prevent it from being one of the first standout indies I have played in 2020.
  13. Jan 29, 2020
    80
    I’ve nothing but praise for The Pedestrian. Its fantastic concept shines through, but beautiful graphics and excellent, inclusive game design make it something quite special. If you enjoy platforming games and want something with a bit of a twist, you could do a lot worse than The Pedestrian.
  14. Feb 14, 2020
    75
    It’s a charming platformer filled with clever environmental puzzles. The concept of having a stick figure character walking around the many signs found in a city, provides an interesting backdrop that brings a unique aesthetic, albeit with not much participation in gameplay terms.
  15. Feb 10, 2020
    75
    Novel presentation and a masterful complexity curve, but The Pedestrian's very shy about storytelling.
  16. Feb 18, 2020
    70
    Having the player advance through environments by rearranging rooms, The Pedestrian succeeds in creating a puzzle game with simple rules that is visually interesting at the same time. The difficulty is always well balanced, and the surprising climax makes great use of the game’s features. Yet, at the same time, The Pedestrian never manages to truly stand out of the crowd, resulting in a game that feels like a role-model student who lacks real personality.
  17. 70
    Narrative misgivings aside, The Pedestrian would make a solid introduction to puzzle-platformers for the uninitiated and an enjoyable diversion for genre veterans. It’s hard to find fault with the originality or functionality of its puzzles or the charm of its presentation. It even has a few surprises in store for players of all types, although if you’re like me, those surprises might sour the overall impression a bit.
  18. Feb 7, 2020
    70
    There’s a real freshness to The Pedestrian's take on puzzle-platforming and world manipulation. The constant introduction of new, sometimes surprisingly complex ideas means there’s enough to keep you moving through the nicely segmented challenges. The levels themselves can be quite repetitive in both look and feel, making the game tiresome during long play sessions, but it lends itself well to short-burst experiences and never lets you feel too lost. The Pedestrian executes its charming premise well, with just enough complexity to keep your brain pleasantly stimulated.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 30, 2020
    A serene, quietly uplifting afternoon's entertainment for urban explorers and platform fans alike.
  2. The Pedestrian is surprising and astonishing and delighting, it’s true. But for about the first hour and the last. Still, in complete fairness, that does add up to about half of the total play time – and 50% surprising and delighting is pretty good going.
  3. Feb 2, 2020
    It’s this aspect that makes The Pedestrian great. It treats almost every puzzle not just as something to be solved, but a way to teach you to be better at play and understand the game. It provides this sense of improvement and progress that isn’t just tied to where you are in the game. Instead, it feels as though you spent a few hours exercising your brain as if you had taken it to the gym.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Feb 3, 2020
    9
    The Pedestrian is a puzzle game very much in the vein of The Witness. The puzzles are somewhat similar, as is just the feel of wanderingThe Pedestrian is a puzzle game very much in the vein of The Witness. The puzzles are somewhat similar, as is just the feel of wandering through a world where you encounter only puzzles. It is much more linear though, you aren't freely moving through a world of puzzles to solve in any order you choose, instead you are on rails (literally at times) solving puzzles in order to progress.

    In The Pedestrian you are a stick figure who must find your way through signs to progress. The signs are the puzzles, and you must move them around and alter the connections between the signs to solve the puzzles. This is a hard game to describe! Suffice it to say that the basic puzzle concept in this game is fresh and works very well, and they are on a pleasing challenge level. They seem impossible at first, but after 5 or maybe 10 minutes I was solving them all and it felt so rewarding.

    The game does a great job of onboarding. It has systems that are complicated to the point that I am not even going to try to explain them here, yet it teaches them to you in a very comprehensible way without any text. It's quite brilliant design really. It also has a brilliant menu system that is a pleasure to use, it's very conceptualized and fits in with the game world and even gameplay, yet it's easy to use. I want whoever designed this game to design my car, my phone, everything!

    I think anyone who's enjoys puzzle games will like this one. It never really blew me away like Gorogoa a few years ago, another puzzle classic this one reminded me of, but it's a very solid experience for gamers like me enjoy nothing more than a nice puzzle to sink their teeth into.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2020
    8
    Cool and slick, and a wealth of ideas for puzzles based around the seemingly constraining subject of pedestrian road signs.
    The Pedestrian is
    Cool and slick, and a wealth of ideas for puzzles based around the seemingly constraining subject of pedestrian road signs.
    The Pedestrian is surprisingly addictive and engaging, despite it superficially appearing to be repetitive puzzling,with a nice smooth learning curve that never ends up with the puzzles being too oblique or difficult.
    Graphics are snappy and intelligent, a nice soundtrack, and a subtle shift in the final puzzle set that is genius.
    Maybe a bit on the short side, but well worth the pounds in my opinion.
    One of my top puzzle games of the last few years.
    recommended
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2020
    10
    the pedestrian is a game that bring very unexpected moments, very nice puzzles and a very strange ending

    i 100% recommend this game