Thimbleweed Park Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thimbleweed Park is the curious story of two washed up federal agents called in to investigate a dead body found in the river just outside of town, bloated and pixelated from a death come too soon.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Thimbleweed Park - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 16, 2017
    100
    Thimbleweed Park is the finest example of a graphical adventure: an outstanding game full charm and personality. Every aspect is great work and this game is a true masterpiece.
  2. Apr 3, 2017
    95
    Thimbleweed Park is one of those games that speaks to those people who enjoy the genre, and it’s certainly good enough that it will hopefully attract newcomers as well. It’s fan service and an all new exciting game at the same time. Hopefully this is the first of more from Terrible Toybox; regardless, this is a gem and a must-have for anyone that likes games that are story, character, and puzzle-driven adventures.
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Apr 7, 2017
    85
    Thimbleweed Park is built on a foundation of nostalgia and reinforced with pop culture references, but it's the clever puzzles, funny characters, and stellar design that hold it all together. It reminds us what's great about classic point-and-click adventures while showing that there's still a place for the genre in modern gaming. Lucasfilm Games and its beloved IP may be lost to us, but the creative forces behind those classics still know what it takes to make a compelling, funny, clever adventure.
  5. Mar 30, 2017
    82
    Nostalgic attack incoming! Thimbleweed Park is a complete and funny tribute to graphic adventures. It will touch the hearts of the most veteran gamers.
  6. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    Despite a few rough edges this is easily the best new graphic adventure since the ‘90s, and a game that can stand toe-to-toe with the rest of the LucasArts pantheon. More importantly, it’s a game who’s focus on dialogue and character has an awful lot to teach modern games when it comes to telling a ripping yarn.
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    60
    Thimbleweed Park doesn't need to explain the appeal of adventure games. When it gets out of its own way, it does a fine job of introducing a vibrant community that's genuinely fun to explore.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. May 10, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Full game 10/10
    Staying true to original adventure games and joke style that I fell in love with in the 80's/90's 10/10
    Sound/voice acting/story 10/10
    Ending 5/10
    Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2017
    10
    What a fantastic game.

    It has all the atmosphere, charm and gameplay of the original Monkey Islands, Manic Mansions etc but subtly updated
    What a fantastic game.

    It has all the atmosphere, charm and gameplay of the original Monkey Islands, Manic Mansions etc but subtly updated with more logical puzzles, graphic effects and more. The addition of the hint line is excellent as it doesn't give you the answer but gently points you in the right direction.

    Please please please make more of this type of game please.

    Genuinely sad when it was over!

    Just Diggin'
    Expand
  3. Fuz
    Oct 11, 2018
    10
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super frustrating. And you always have something to do or something to check, so getting stumped is rare.
    The story and its delivery are fantastic. The characters are tons of fun. The mistery/humor mix is spot on (well, I like Ron's kind of humor). The whole writing is superb - except for the *really* excessive metatext, self-referentiality and the breaking of the fourth wall. It's way too much. This is its worst flaw. And if something like this is the worst flaw... well...
    This game is EXACTLY what I wanted to play in an adventure game.
    Hope Ron (and the rest of his team) keeps making games like this.

    Absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2017
    9
    Loved almost everything about it. I'm part of the 'grew up with Maniac Mansion'-generation and I love to get some more Lucasfilm/ArtsLoved almost everything about it. I'm part of the 'grew up with Maniac Mansion'-generation and I love to get some more Lucasfilm/Arts goodness. Thimbleweed Park was pretty much exactly what I was longing for. Beautiful graphics, dense and weird atmosphere, a story that turns lovely bizarre and (for some) unexpected later on. It's just a whole lot of fun to immerse yourself in its world. Doesn't matter if you wanna relive some nostalgia from 'the old days' or haven't played something like this ever in your life. If you're after a good time in a special kind of world filled with beautiful retro art and that humor/investigation/mystery/weird -mix, this will be for you. It's a lot of fun for the money. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2017
    8
    Upon finishing the game, I have somehow mixed impressions about Thimbleweed Park. For me, Maniac Mansion will forever be the most importantUpon finishing the game, I have somehow mixed impressions about Thimbleweed Park. For me, Maniac Mansion will forever be the most important video game ever made, but... let's face it ; in 2017, point and click adventures is a type of game that didn't age very well... There is nothing that much fun in being stuck for hours on a puzzle. Nothing much fun in finally solving that puzzle and already fearing of getting stuck on the next one. That really is the main concern here. I also agree with some critics I've read elsewhere ; the caracters in Thimbleweed Park are too much cliché (I loved Dolores, but hated Ransome the clown...) and the overall humor too childish. Well, that was for the down side.

    On the other hand, everything else about this game is awesome. The voice acting is top notch, the story is very good, extremely good I'd say, just about the best I've seen in the Point and click genre.
    The investigation going on suits the game type very well. The overall ideas makes you feel that this game is everything Ron Gilbert and co. were aiming for in the first place. The graphics are perfect, retro enough and really classy. Finally the music and sounds gets the job done alright.

    So, yes, Thimbleweed Park is charming and clever. But in the end I feel like I love the game much more than I actually had fun playing it. That's all.
    Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2018
    7
    it's great to have a new point and click adventure from the creators of Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion of The Fate of Atlantis, but i thinkit's great to have a new point and click adventure from the creators of Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion of The Fate of Atlantis, but i think that this game has lights and shadows.

    In one hand (the good one) it has beautiful graphics, great music and some interesting plot twist. But, in the other hand, i have a big problem with the characters of this game. I like Dolores and Randsome and i can understand the ghost, but i cant empathize with the rest (specially with the feds, and they are only characters that you can play during the 50% of the game)
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2017
    4
    Not funny, seriously, there are no funny jokes like in Monkey Island or similar.
    Underused characters. Many characters that do only one or
    Not funny, seriously, there are no funny jokes like in Monkey Island or similar.
    Underused characters. Many characters that do only one or two things in the whole story.
    Poor ending (looks like someone didn't wanted to spend more money and closed it too fast). You are waiting to see the ending of all the storys and suddenly everything finish stupidly.
    Most of the puzles are Ilogical and boring. There are not many actions to do and one character (Ray) is almost useless during the whole play.

    The more you advance the easier it is. You can resolve last chapters in one hour or less.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 19, 2017
    We wrap up our annual games preview with a look at 2017's most promising original titles.