Thimbleweed Park Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thimbleweed Park is the curious story of two washed up federal agents called in to investigate a dead body found in the river just outside of town, bloated and pixelated from a death come too soon.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Thimbleweed Park - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 16, 2017
    100
    Thimbleweed Park is the finest example of a graphical adventure: an outstanding game full charm and personality. Every aspect is great work and this game is a true masterpiece.
  2. Apr 3, 2017
    95
    Thimbleweed Park is one of those games that speaks to those people who enjoy the genre, and it’s certainly good enough that it will hopefully attract newcomers as well. It’s fan service and an all new exciting game at the same time. Hopefully this is the first of more from Terrible Toybox; regardless, this is a gem and a must-have for anyone that likes games that are story, character, and puzzle-driven adventures.
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Apr 7, 2017
    85
    Thimbleweed Park is built on a foundation of nostalgia and reinforced with pop culture references, but it's the clever puzzles, funny characters, and stellar design that hold it all together. It reminds us what's great about classic point-and-click adventures while showing that there's still a place for the genre in modern gaming. Lucasfilm Games and its beloved IP may be lost to us, but the creative forces behind those classics still know what it takes to make a compelling, funny, clever adventure.
  5. Mar 30, 2017
    82
    Nostalgic attack incoming! Thimbleweed Park is a complete and funny tribute to graphic adventures. It will touch the hearts of the most veteran gamers.
  6. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    Despite a few rough edges this is easily the best new graphic adventure since the ‘90s, and a game that can stand toe-to-toe with the rest of the LucasArts pantheon. More importantly, it’s a game who’s focus on dialogue and character has an awful lot to teach modern games when it comes to telling a ripping yarn.
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    60
    Thimbleweed Park doesn't need to explain the appeal of adventure games. When it gets out of its own way, it does a fine job of introducing a vibrant community that's genuinely fun to explore.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Fuz
    Oct 11, 2018
    10
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super frustrating. And you always have something to do or something to check, so getting stumped is rare.
    The story and its delivery are fantastic. The characters are tons of fun. The mistery/humor mix is spot on (well, I like Ron's kind of humor). The whole writing is superb - except for the *really* excessive metatext, self-referentiality and the breaking of the fourth wall. It's way too much. This is its worst flaw. And if something like this is the worst flaw... well...
    This game is EXACTLY what I wanted to play in an adventure game.
    Hope Ron (and the rest of his team) keeps making games like this.

    Absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2017
    10
    Yes, adventure games are still alive.
    Props and many heartfelt thanks to Mr. Gilbert, Mr. Winnick et. al. on a gorgeous, armospheric, funny
    Yes, adventure games are still alive.
    Props and many heartfelt thanks to Mr. Gilbert, Mr. Winnick et. al. on a gorgeous, armospheric, funny and HUGE adventure game.
    Also a big shout out to te philosophical and moral challenges to the team, from properly managing kickstarter funds and providing value to backers to game design choices and the recent update featuring inter character dialogue and an integrated hint line. I agree with all choices, recognizing they were hard and I think that by making these choices, some essential next steps have been made to "upgrade" the genre.
    Full 10/10 -- for story, characters, writing, effort and production.

    PS-- thanks for including our books, it is so fun to discover the epic take of moksie among some of the first listings :)
    Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2017
    10
    Es un clásico desde el primer día es digno de llamarse aventura gráfica point and click y postularse como una de los mejores juegos de estaEs un clásico desde el primer día es digno de llamarse aventura gráfica point and click y postularse como una de los mejores juegos de esta generación Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good to have Ron back! the ending it was a bit... off... but in general the puzzles are cool, the dialog is well scripted... and lots of fun Expand
  5. May 2, 2017
    9
    + excellent old-school LucasArts-style point & click adventure
    + wacky characters and events
    + the nostalgia + some fairly challenging
    + excellent old-school LucasArts-style point & click adventure
    + wacky characters and events
    + the nostalgia
    + some fairly challenging puzzles in hard mode (i got stuck twice)
    + beautiful backgrounds and great music
    + funny

    - characters and story feel somewhat randomly stitched together and don't form a whole. The main (playable) characters barely interact. The ending was a big let down.
    - pixel art style is not "pixel-perfect", especially when scaling actors. It looks bad to mix different size pixels on screen.
    - a couple of times the game made it too easy (even in hard mode!) by telling me the solution to a puzzle before I had a chance to try for myself

    overall highly recommended! let's hope they make another.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2017
    7
    I grew up on Maniac Mansion. I’ve made pixel art versions of myself in Maniac Mansion style, my ringtone is the Edison Theme, I even tried toI grew up on Maniac Mansion. I’ve made pixel art versions of myself in Maniac Mansion style, my ringtone is the Edison Theme, I even tried to watch the TV show during the brief time it was on. I’m a big fan. I really enjoyed Thimbleweed. I thought it was great they threw back to Maniac Mansion, rather than some of the newer point/click games.

    I’ve read the team really tried to give us a rose-tinted experience of nostalgia rather than a direct copy of the style back then. Still, I found some things left in that bothered me. The first being the long unskippable dialogue. I remember back when audio/video on computers was new it was a delight to click on everything. Now, I’m like “get on with it!” Doesn’t help the voice acting is pretty bad (intentional?) or that the jokes are old (also intentional?). I turned on the voice only when Ransom was talking and then only because it’s hard to read a million “BLEEPS.” I don’t get the censorship. There’s already sex, drugs, theremin music, and murders.

    Another thing that bothered me was the occasional long convoluted walks around the background. The cemetery was the worst. This is probably another in-joke, taking a common complaint to absurd levels. That doesn’t make it enjoyable, though. “What fun! The developers are intentionally irritating me! Ha-ha. I see you through the 4th wall there!” Another example was the amount of hotel floors mixed with the super slow elevator. A virtual elevator would have thrilled me in the 80s, but here it’s tedious and really unnecessary. The amount of rooms used in the game only takes up a single floor. Could have made the hotel rooms on one floor and made the elevator only go to the penthouse, which would be instant after you solved the only puzzle in the elevator itself.

    The next annoying part: Specks of dust. They even say in the game the specks of dust are there to annoy OCD-like players. The joke could have made with just a single piece and it would have been mildly amusing. Instead it’s a blight, painting nearly every room with the throwaway joke. Imagine watching a funny movie you love but now someone says “that’s what she said” after every line. That’s kind of what it’s like. Even if you’re not of the “collect everything” variety, they still demand your attention and incrementally ruin the scenery. Super annoying. Really. The options need a “dust-off” setting, or something. See how my review is yellow instead of that pleasing green? That's me messing right back with the developers.

    While paying homage to Maniac Mansion, they left out some things, the most glaring of which is multiple endings. I really think that’s why Maniac Mansion was such a classic and something like Day of the Tentacle wasn’t. You could play Maniac Mansion multiple times, with entirely different styles, and get a new outcome. Thimbleweed really only has one solution, and I think that's a shame.

    Another thing dropped from Maniac Mansion is the deaths. In game they say deaths are just a cheap way to extend gameplay, but I think they were essential to the vibe of Maniac Mansion and could be considered “endings” themselves.

    I like the “wireframe” art style a little better than the real mode. I wish they would have ran with that art style instead. I don’t know. If you’re doing old school, do school. When Day of the Tentacle came out, I remember thinking the same thing. "Where's my MM graphics? What is this?"

    Ok, that sounds like a lot of complaining, don’t get me wrong, I love the game and hope they keep making them. I just thought that some of their ideas in this new indie config fell flat or could have done better to get my 10. Does Thimbleweed dethrone Maniac Mansion? No. Is it worth your time? Yup.
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2017
    4
    Not funny, seriously, there are no funny jokes like in Monkey Island or similar.
    Underused characters. Many characters that do only one or
    Not funny, seriously, there are no funny jokes like in Monkey Island or similar.
    Underused characters. Many characters that do only one or two things in the whole story.
    Poor ending (looks like someone didn't wanted to spend more money and closed it too fast). You are waiting to see the ending of all the storys and suddenly everything finish stupidly.
    Most of the puzles are Ilogical and boring. There are not many actions to do and one character (Ray) is almost useless during the whole play.

    The more you advance the easier it is. You can resolve last chapters in one hour or less.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 19, 2017
    We wrap up our annual games preview with a look at 2017's most promising original titles.