We Happy Few Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: We Happy Few is the tale of a plucky bunch of moderately terrible people trying to escape from a lifetime of cheerful denial. Set in a drug-fuelled, retrofuturistic city in an alternative 1960s England, you’ll have to blend in with its other inhabitants, who have their own set ofWe Happy Few is the tale of a plucky bunch of moderately terrible people trying to escape from a lifetime of cheerful denial. Set in a drug-fuelled, retrofuturistic city in an alternative 1960s England, you’ll have to blend in with its other inhabitants, who have their own set of not-so-normal rules. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
We Happy Few - 'The ABCs of Happiness' Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. Aug 9, 2018
    90
    Despite the performance issues, We Happy Few is a must-own title for any gamer who loves survival open world titles and quality world building.
  2. Aug 20, 2018
    75
    We are always attracted by dystopian worlds, and We Happy Few’s is a hell of a ride. In spite of some gameplay issues, including the combat, Compulsion’s new game is a great experience to enjoy.
  3. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    It’s hard to criticize a game that offers so much originality, humor and satirical atmosphere. We Happy Few, unfortunately, lets its narrative and characters get bogged down in a desperate and, at times, tedious struggle to survive the game’s brutal environment.
  4. Aug 9, 2018
    65
    We Happy Few is going to go down as a cult hit. If you can muster the strength to get past its janky gameplay, there's a whole lot to love here in the world and characters. But the fact remains that this adventure is one that could have used a bit more refinement.
  5. Aug 23, 2018
    60
    If you can see past the casually designed mechanics and truly immerse yourself in the environment and narrative aspects of We Happy Few, there’s plenty to see here. Unfortunately for those probing a more wholesome experience, We Happy Few falls short.
  6. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    Much like Contrast before it, We Happy Few shows off plenty of potential with its original and engaging world from a team whose passion and heart clearly shines through. Unfortunately, the random nature of the world ultimately hampers this ambition, and is held back further by lackluster stealth and inconsistent dialogue.
  7. Aug 10, 2018
    40
    There are just too many hurdles to overcome to enjoy We Happy Few, and not enough Joy in the world to cast them aside.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 45
  2. Negative: 18 out of 45
  1. Aug 10, 2018
    10
    I am so surprised to see any negative or mixed reviews on here... The game is so unique, utterly bonkers, and really great to play. It suckedI am so surprised to see any negative or mixed reviews on here... The game is so unique, utterly bonkers, and really great to play. It sucked me in from the first second, and I have been playing for hours since. Hopefully people will come to realise and love the game like I and others in the future - it is really great. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2018
    10
    Made an account to give this game a 10. Reminds me of the beginnings of most of my favorite RPG series. Ambitious and I want more content likeMade an account to give this game a 10. Reminds me of the beginnings of most of my favorite RPG series. Ambitious and I want more content like this. Go buy it. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2018
    9
    Es un grandissimo juego obviando los problemas de rendimiento. La mayoria de críticas tienen un criterio estúpido y simplista, que denota queEs un grandissimo juego obviando los problemas de rendimiento. La mayoria de críticas tienen un criterio estúpido y simplista, que denota que no han jugado mas de 2h. Qualquier missión secundaria de este juego le da patadas a qualquier main quest de un assassin's creed. Grandíssima relación horas/€. A mi me costó 30€ en una pagina de claves i me ha dado 30€. Genial. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2019
    7
    esse jogo é incrível!!!! mas a inteligência artificial deste game é terrível,os guardas parecem cegos,você correndo na frente deles e mesmoesse jogo é incrível!!!! mas a inteligência artificial deste game é terrível,os guardas parecem cegos,você correndo na frente deles e mesmo assim nem liga,e se liga é só esconder no arbusto e pronto,só a inteligência artificial que incomodou um pouco,mas tirando isso o jogo é incrível!!!!!! Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2018
    4
    This game is just boring. All the survival elements have been reduced to be of no consequence to the point i wonder why are still kept. TheThis game is just boring. All the survival elements have been reduced to be of no consequence to the point i wonder why are still kept. The chances to get infected or plagued or bleeding so small one can go through the game without ever being afflicted and there is no reason to eat anything rotten anyway so why?

    This game is like a Fallout knockoff. Trying to keep you with stories and such, but lacks any of the exciting game-play instead having stealth against a rather stupid AI. The bobbies are hardly a threat, The nosy old ladies are just regular npc now. Only the doctors can be a bother, but you have to actually walk into them for them to start noticing and even then just walking away gets them off your back 9/10 times. Once you peeve somebody off it becomes night impossible to get rid in a busy area as EVERY npc you encounter goes berserk even if the one you peeved off is nowhere close.

    It doesn't take long before you just end up walking from one point to the other over and over to get tiny bits of story before being sent of on the 1000th "Fetch this item for me!". The randomness of the maps has no consequence either sometimes putting kilometers between 2 objectives and being generally uninteresting... again it is just downright boring.

    It feels like a waste of time to play this game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2019
    4
    Just plain boring. Get to this Bridge, get to that Bridge, go there, ...

    The story wears out fast i mean this could have been a great
    Just plain boring. Get to this Bridge, get to that Bridge, go there, ...

    The story wears out fast i mean this could have been a great setting, something like Bioshock.
    Instead it is a crafting game, not really driven by anything.

    Couldn't bear it anymore after 10 hours.
    Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2020
    0
    Bad.
    Just. Plain. Bad.
    Not worth even on sale, heck, not even worth your time to play this garbage.

See all 45 User Reviews