Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Feb 8, 2021
    80
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse- Earthblood may not be a game that’s going to gain widespread acclaim, but for fans of the World of Darkness franchise it’s great to finally have an outing that dives into the more wild side of things. If Werewolf: The Apocalypse is able to find its footing with Earthblood, then things can only go up from here. The old-school beat-em-up feel of the combat encounters steals the show, proving once again that some things don’t go out of style.
  2. Feb 4, 2021
    80
    Cyanide Studios have proven their mettle with previous games in the supernatural genre. Their previous efforts include Styx: Shards of Darkness and the Call of Cthulhu. Both games were well received. Earthblood is a solid effort that should get werewolf fans howling with glee.
  3. Feb 4, 2021
    79
    A joyful mix of stealth and action, the fun doesn't snag on the rough edges.
  4. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Despite Earthblood’s roughshot ride over opportunities to dive deep into the lore of Werewolf: the Apocalypse, the focused exploration of this end of the World Of Darkness manages to deliver a bloody good time when the claws come out. It's just a shame that some of the loftier ideas are let down by repetitive stealth gameplay and poorly developed mechanics.
  5. Feb 4, 2021
    70
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse Earthblood is an old-school action game launching in a very modern arena. Its simplicity in design may not appeal to everyone, but for those looking for a basic stealth and combat action-adventure, there's a lot to love about the latest dive into the World of Darkness.
  6. Feb 4, 2021
    66
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood is an honest game that might be worth checking out if you're interested in the setting or in its mixture of (light) RPG elements, action and stealth. Just don't expect anything groundbreaking.
  7. Feb 5, 2021
    65
    So is it the perfect game? No, unfortunately, it is not. But if you like werewolves, are familiar with the original Werewolf: The Apocalypse universe, or just want to hulk around as a giant wolf throwing people around like ragdolls then it might be worth your time.
  8. Feb 5, 2021
    65
    Werewolf is firing on all cylinders when it lets you take on a wave of enemies, turning them all into puddles of jam. You don't have to think too much about the gameplay, and that gradually becomes a good thing. If this came out 10 years ago, I'd be thinking about it more during end-of-the-year talks.
  9. Feb 4, 2021
    65
    Good voice acting and cool, bloody werewolf fighting sequences could not fully save the rushed story and flat facial animations of this one-dimensional take on the rich World of Darkness universe.
  10. Feb 4, 2021
    63
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse – Earthblood is as straightforward as an action-adventure game can be. None of its features are broken, but the shallowness of the entire experience makes it a very hard game to recommend for those who are not into the setting to begin with. It does provide moments of fun here and there, but its linear, derivative experience does not stand out in any way.
  11. Feb 5, 2021
    60
    Overall, this is a fascinating disappointment. Earthblood is the bones of several good ideas, awkwardly welded together and thrown out into the world. It feels more like Cyanide had a stealth/action game lying around that they decided on a whim to staple a lot of the Werewolf license onto, and while it does do some justice to its source material, it’s not really much fun.
  12. GameStar
    Feb 4, 2021
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Feb 4, 2021
    60
    Werewolf is an action RPG that entertains with a nice combat system, but it has too many gaps that are impossible to ignore.
  14. Feb 4, 2021
    60
    When I think of games from Spiders, Cyanide, Piranha Bytes, or Reality Pump, I appreciate how often ambition overcomes limited resources. Their games (such as Gothic, Two Worlds, Greedfall, Of Orcs & Men) may have glitches and fall short of triple-A standards, but they tend to be fun, have good stories, and mechanics and systems that I enjoy interacting with. Werewolf: The Apocalypse has most of these. I enjoyed taking on an evil corporation, learning more about how the Garou fit into The World of Darkness, and tearing my foes about. I won’t hide from that. But just don’t ask me to hide from Endron’s guards again.
  15. Feb 5, 2021
    55
    In a world where you can pick up The Last of Us Remastered for a song, there’s no reason to waste your time on Earthblood. Paradox Interactive is no stranger to game development. I wonder which team lead is asleep at the wheel such that Earthblood was allowed to go out the door in its current state.
  16. Feb 4, 2021
    55
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood is not devoid of charm, thanks to its rich universe and the possibility to switch from infiltration to combat with the three different forms. It could have been a good game with a further developed RPG aspect, less repetitions, and a more inspired story. Technically speaking, the graphics and animations — including lip-sync — as well as the AI feel outdated for a recent game. As a result, Werewolf is below average, and that's a shame.
  17. 52
    Whether it’s lack of effort, time or budget, Cyanide Studio does not enough to provide a satisfying combat system, nor an interesting story-telling, nor a decent technical presentation.
  18. Feb 19, 2021
    50
    Cyanide Studios once again manage not to raise the bar. This is a deeply average game reminiscent of cheap B-movies, visually awful and mechanically obsolete. But massacring your enemies as a bloodthirsty werewolf is, not surprisingly, quite fun.
  19. 50
    Most of Werewolf: The Apocalypse — Earthblood feels like a game entering early access, and every element would benefit from more time and more polish. Too shallow for World of Darkness fans, too simple for ARPG aficionados, and too much tedious exploration filler for button mashers, it’s hard to recommend this one, especially for the asking price.
  20. Feb 5, 2021
    50
    The first hour or so of Werewolf the Apocalypse - Earthblood had me intrigued. The story wasn't great, and there were plenty of issues, but I enjoyed the combat. After a while, the game became a slog with repetitive mission design, and no real incentive to do anything other than engaging in one-on-one combat had me longing for the credits to roll. Typically AA games have something to set them apart, but sadly it is not the case in Werewolf the Apocalypse - Earthblood.
  21. Feb 4, 2021
    50
    While the concept of Earthblood is fantastic, the execution is not. From story to visuals to level design, the game feels outdated and uninspired. One thing I really like though is how it lets you choose between action or stealth.
  22. Feb 4, 2021
    45
    While Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood may contain interesting ideas, like being able to shift forms in an instant, its gameplay and story are too generic and boring to be worthwhile.
  23. Feb 5, 2021
    40
    While I may not be interested in replaying Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood any time soon, the game did increase my intrigue to learn more about the World of Darkness universe. I think maybe I’ll steer clear of werewolves for now, though, and instead see what the WoD’s vampires have to offer.
  24. Feb 4, 2021
    40
    Bland, boring, repetitive, tedious, and totally forgettable, Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood is a game that should go back to the doghouse.
  25. Feb 4, 2021
    40
    A fleeting handful of positives to share, for Werewolf: The Apocalypse – Earthblood is a predominantly dull and tonally-misguided addition to the World of Darkness property.
  26. Feb 4, 2021
    40
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood is peak mediocrity and lacks any real meat to make it stand out from the rest of the pack.
  27. Feb 4, 2021
    40
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood has decent stealth going for it, but its weak story forces you into painfully mediocre combat too often to be worthwhile, wasting the potential of the World of Darkness universe.
  28. Feb 4, 2021
    35
    An Action-RPG set in a gothic-fantasy-punk universe starring werewolves that tackles contemporary themes such as ecology was appealing, but Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Earthblood fails everything it does. Both technically and playfully, Cyanide's game is a real disappointment. The adventure is repetitive, the gameplay uninspired, the narrative reduced to its simplest form, and the execution antiquated. Only the soundtrack and the clashes between lycanthropes save this once-mythical creature from complete sinking.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 56
  2. Negative: 27 out of 56
  1. Zha
    Feb 5, 2021
    2
    Graphics look 10+ years old. Combat is flat and repetitive. Not even an RPG since nothing you say matters. The controls are not intuitive andGraphics look 10+ years old. Combat is flat and repetitive. Not even an RPG since nothing you say matters. The controls are not intuitive and are not customizable. The DLC and Champion content are a waste of money. This game could have been amazing with this IP but instead it was picked up by a lackluster developer with a lackluster vision.

    The game could have been any generic fighter game and they just slapped werewolf on it so it would actually sell. I wish I had read the reviews instead of just getting excited and buying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2021
    3
    The problem with the game is that on the surface everything looks... OK. But just okay.
    Once you get into it, however, everything is just bad
    The problem with the game is that on the surface everything looks... OK. But just okay.
    Once you get into it, however, everything is just bad or at the very least meh.

    It's not really an RPG because nothing you do matters.
    It's not really a Stealth game because the stealth is so bad.
    The models would look good if this was a 2012 game. WIth the Werewolves being pretty good if not a little dated, but the humans being just bad. The combat is in and of its self not terrible but the controls are some o the least intuitive I've seen.

    A lot of people are saying that you should not compare this to a AAA game, but to be fair I don't compare anything to AAA games, not even most AAA games anymore. Even when considered as a "Small indie game" Which this is not, Cyanide is a professional game company after all. It's just not every good, it's not the worse thing I have seen, it just not good.

    The soundtrack is easily the best thing about the game...
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2021
    1
    Outdated gameplay, dull animations, main character plot is plain and boring. The whole game is an absurdity. I won't to talk about theOutdated gameplay, dull animations, main character plot is plain and boring. The whole game is an absurdity. I won't to talk about the sneaking mechanics because it's a joke.
    This game has nothing to do with any hack & slash game from now to 10 years back.
    Try to avoid it
    Full Review »