• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
MotorStorm: Pacific Rift Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The brutal offroad racing festival is back, with players this time attempting to tackle the diversity and unpredictability of a remote Pacific island environment. MotorStorm: Pacific Rift revisits the intense racing action introduced in last year's MotorStorm, this time allowing players toThe brutal offroad racing festival is back, with players this time attempting to tackle the diversity and unpredictability of a remote Pacific island environment. MotorStorm: Pacific Rift revisits the intense racing action introduced in last year's MotorStorm, this time allowing players to navigate a radically different tropical environment chock full of lush jungle, towering peaks, and crystal-clear water. Players experience a greater selection of tracks and vehicles to choose, as well as extensive multiplayer options including four player split screen and races with up to 20 players online. Additionally players can utilize a new photo mode to save images within the game and for the first time be able to take music from their PS3's HDD to create a customized soundtrack. [Sony] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Play UK
    93
    The PS3's most dramatic and beautiful racing game. [Issue#172, p.72]
  2. A very good racing game worth any attention you have left in this very busy gaming season. If you have a break from work or school anytime soon though, keep this game on your shopping list. Racing game fans? Pick it up right now!
  3. 88
    It's the multiplayer that perhaps been given the most love since the last game.
  4. The game makes many improvements over the original – it’s just hard to now recommend this title over the many superior racers that arrived in the wake of the first MotorStorm.
  5. It's not a huge departure from the original but you'll be hard pressed to find a game that delivers such frantic pace, diverse courses and realistic AI as effortlessly as Pacific Rift.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    Not fussy like GT or exhaustively varied like Grid, just simple, metal-crunching competition that delivers tons of reckless fun. [Dec 2008, p.96]
  7. The major issue here is one of expectations; Pacific Rift falls well short of them. Motorstorm was a stellar introduction to the PS3 and the sequel feels like a watered-down, consumer-friendly game that doesn’t add up to the sum of its parts. If you’re looking for an arcade racer there’s more on the market than back in March 2007, and many of these have made advances while Pacific Rift is stuck in Motorstorm’s beautifully realised mud.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 53
  2. Negative: 3 out of 53
  1. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    The best racing game on PS3, 40 electronic music tracks, very intuitive transports' classes, driving balanced between arcade'ish andThe best racing game on PS3, 40 electronic music tracks, very intuitive transports' classes, driving balanced between arcade'ish and realistic, just enough to be engaged, but not to suffer too much. Highly recommended even for those, who is not into racing games Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    the best driving arcade game of the gaming history. It is wild and frenetic, you can feel the motor and gasoline running in your blood to andthe best driving arcade game of the gaming history. It is wild and frenetic, you can feel the motor and gasoline running in your blood to and you can fly the heavier metal. Its simply the best Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Maxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3DMaxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3D (you'll need a 3D capable TV and a high-speed HDMI cable) or 2D. A very cheap buy from the PSN store but disappointing that you have to pay for it if you already have Pacific Rift (unlike a couple of other games that have free 3D patches/updates). The jumps, corners and crashes are simply amazing in 3D (The Edge track is superb) and it's the best 3D game out now (Super Stardust HD is a close second). If you have a 3D TV it's a MUST BUY! Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who'sI have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who's motorstorm mad. In festival it is hard so you need to be very skilled to get to rank 8. I think if it would have had better online and more variety in cars and tracks so then i would have given it a 10. I think that in motorstorm apocalypse it will have better online and more variety so when i get that and review that i think I'll give it a 10. I think pacific rift is worth buying and i think it will be worth getting apocalypse in the future Expand
  5. barryb
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    "The game stutters", "I am on my 5th PS3"- doubt you had one ps3 in the first place Frank B., cos although not the perfect, motorstorm runs "The game stutters", "I am on my 5th PS3"- doubt you had one ps3 in the first place Frank B., cos although not the perfect, motorstorm runs at the very smooth rate, at least 30 fps. and Ps3's don't BREAK DOWN ALL THE TIME, i don't wanna get all patronising or fanboy but everybody knows that xbox breakdown way more frequently. one last thing, I'd like to know this Wii game thats got better graphics as I'm interested in purchasing it??!!!? Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2018
    8
    Продолжение убер-мега скоростной гонки на Playstation 3. Хочется верить что концепция таких гонок не канет в лету, с переходом на новоеПродолжение убер-мега скоростной гонки на Playstation 3. Хочется верить что концепция таких гонок не канет в лету, с переходом на новое поколение консолей. Expand
  7. FrankB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    Worst game ever, the Wii has racing game with better graphics. The game stutters all over the place as the PS3 can't run game. I am on Worst game ever, the Wii has racing game with better graphics. The game stutters all over the place as the PS3 can't run game. I am on my 5th PS3, as PS3's break down all the time. All my friends had to ship back all of their PS3's because they broke. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews